Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Berg en Zee Guesthouse 4 stars

135 Beach Road, 7140 Gordonʼs Bay, South Africa

#3 of 21 B&Bs and Inns in Gordonʼs Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 125 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Being 'elderly', we would have appreciated grab bars in the shower. There was nothing to hang onto, to prevent falling. This is mandatory for safety.

    Comfy beds, friendly staff, places to put suitcases, excellent breakfasts, help with securing shuttle to airport, thick towels, secure safe in the room, balcony,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an early start for the airport on our last day and as it was before breakfast was served, we were provided with a toaster and bread in our room so that we could have something to eat before we left to drive to Cape Town Airport. This was much appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect, incl. owner&staff, location, room, seaview, safety etc. Absolutely 10. The allocated to the property street parking is very spacious, but the access to some parking lots may be a bit difficult for less experienced drivers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location is on a busy road and early morning noise was a bit irritating. Can be avoided if you shut all the windows and sleep with airconditioner on.

    Loved the size of the room and comfort of the beds and pure cotton bedding as well as views from the balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    this is an excelent guest house..with great character and charm..room had a balcony with a super view out over the sea and all the way down to table mountain.jackie was a wonderful hoast ,as were all the staff..highly recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - we had a great stay.

    Lovely room with comfortable bed and great view from the balcony. Superb home cooked breakfast. Well stocked honesty bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor slightly outdated

    Wonderful friendly host with lots of local information. Good quality accommodation with lots of extras such as diy meals, library and option to have food delivered.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed in the quality and overall feel of the guesthouse. The room does not at all live up to the rating of "superb" by any means. The furniture and fixtures are dated. The mirror was dirty. The view is okay from the balcony but you are directly facing the street. The place needs a definite re-vamping before it deserves the rating you see. Don't believe the rating! If you want a more deserved room, try 185 Beach road or Krystal Beach Hotel for the true meaning of "superb"!!!! Hope this information helps any future vacationer travelling to Gordon's Bay.

    Nothing as we only decided to stay 1 out of the 10 days I booked here. I ended up losing 50% of my deposit but it was worth the loss as we ended up staying in a much better guesthouse.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to leave and go home. We would have loved to stay longer.

    Berg en Zee Guesthouse is the BEST. I will always recommend. The venue is so perfect to just go and relax. Excellent, efficient and friendly service and good quality food. Walking distance to beach and restaurants. Just awesome. Cannot wait for our next visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not that it is the guesthouse fault, it is just very steep to park the car, and carry luggage. I would not recommend it for an elderly couple, as it is a bit uncomfortable. For our holiday it was perfect!

    It is a homely guesthouse, with sea view balcony, and close to the beach for a walk. It is a very nice place to enjoy a holiday. Would stay there again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The balcony door couldn't close tightly so traffic noise came in.

    The room is spacious with balcony. Breakfast was good. The hostess and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Penthouse Suite - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only salty snacks in the minibar, no sweet snacks.

    Spectacular sea view; the spacious room; we loved the cosy outside porch area. The bed was comfortable; the bathroom up to standard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite - 1
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An iron & ironing board in the wardrobe would have been nice, but I'm scraping the bottom of the barrel!

    Beautiful large bright modern room, more like a studio flat than a guest bedroom. The balcony area was fantastic giving spectacular views. Lots of nice options for breakfast & the lady who runs it is lovely with tips & expertise knowledge of the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A handle-bar on the wall at the bath would be a great help to make an older guest like myself feel safe when getting into the bath.

    There is a lovely relaxed atmosphere at this guest house. Everyone smiles including guests. The best selection of breakfast choices that I personally have ever experienced. A lot of attention is given to making the stay of a guest as pleasant as possible.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be fair, we arrived late at night , so could not really enjoy the view until morning ,but the room was delightful, love that there is coffee and tea in the room as we sure needed a cup when we arrived exhausted. Beds and pillows were super comfy , and the room very English in decor , I could have been in Devon ! Breakfast buffet was more than enough and the menu ticked all the boxes .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice breakfast and strong coffee special made for Swedish guests! Good location with nice view. Hosts very informative with good suggestions for excursion around Cape.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could be better

    Jacky, is an amazing hostess. She went all out to ensure the comfort of our family. The rooms were beautiful with an amazing location. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I spent a fabulous weekend at Berg en Zee. Rooms were gorgeous with a stunning view over the sea. Everything was spotless and the staff incredibly helpful. Breakfasts were delicious. Looking forward to going back. Would highly recommend it everyone.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    better access to spare plug sockets

    Great tasty choice at breakfast, large rooms with wonderful views, friendly and helpful staff, honesty bar and ready meals available, room with character and comfort, full size fridge with complimentary water and ice maker for drinks, excellent bathroom with power shower.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect,Jackie the owner and her staff made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. We would highly recommend Berg En Zee to anybody thinking of a stay in Gordons Bay,SA

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. It has such a fantastic atmosphere - cosy and warm. The view and bedroom we slept in is spectacular. I would definately stay there again and recommend it to friends and family.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI

    Staff friendliness and helpfulness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It just gets better so no complaints.

    Friendly hosts and very flexible even with rates.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wiew

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road traffic was noisy - perhaps because we had a room on the lower level.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, just lovely.

    All in all a beaatiful place to stay. would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in this area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was the way we expected.

    Hi there our stay was excellent.Will be back soon .Thank you so much.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite - 2
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The penthouse studio was spacious with every need catered for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    The room was extremely clean and the service was extremely friendly. All our expectations were exceeded.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing...it was all very good

    excellent service..will stay again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The venue was very comfortable as we were traveling with children, the family rooms are to die for.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of the property, walking distance to restaurants

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil.

    Great service. Very helpful advice re being a tourist in the region. Friendly,knowledgeable not overbearing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con situated in the wrong spot Add some more TV channels Softer bed will do

    View

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room to crowded ..... we booked for two people only. kitchenette tiny

    beautiful décor , well kept, excellent security, wonderful hostess.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More tv channels

    Great hospitality Delicious breakfasts Clean and comfortable accommodation

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fantastic service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite - 2
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The view, the privacy and the attentiveness of the owner and staff were brilliant!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    comfortable chairs to relax in on the patio

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic in main road

    Location Atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect.

    We liked everything. The rooms, the food and especially the service and friendlyness.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was flawless and faultless. Shining example of how a guesthouse should be run.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Warm welcome, beautiful location, super breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beautiful place, good location, nice and kind staff!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I didnt find the chairs in the room particularly comfortable, but that is the only thing I can find to criticise

    i particularly liked the atmosphere of the place. Very friendly and helpful staff, who seem to work so well together. The beds were extremely comfortable, with lovely bedding. The breakfasts were most enjoyable, with fresh home-baked muffins every day. We loved the balcony, and also loved the fact that we could see the sea from the beds. The antique furniture in the room was great. The communal lounge was very comfy, with two big comfy large sofas. We watched a dvd in there one evening, and were very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed the friendly welcome, the beautiful room, the amazing view of the bay and the delicious breakfasts. The omelets are a must. We will never look any further if we need a place to stay in Gordons Bay again.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beach Road is a very busy street with a lot of street noise all day - more quiet at night, but still too noisy to leave the windows open at night. The aircon is noisy as well. The mattress is terrible.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice hotel with located close to beaches and restaurants. Gordon's Bay is excellent location for making daytrips to Franshoek, Stellenbosch, Stony Point, Betty's Bay and Hermanus The staff was very friendly, helpful and happily answered questions and gave advice on where to go, what to do and how to get there. The rooms were beautiful and felt like a home away. Of the three places where we stayed during out trip to Cape Town, this was by far the best.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The view from our room was breathe taking. The staff were all so accommodating and made a special arrangement for an extra bed for my teenage son. Thank you-We'll be back again.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there was not a single thing we did not like!

    Accommodation: Location for nice trips, view, room, bathroom, breakfast buffett, all details just perfect Host / Staff: extremely nice, attentive, helpful

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Street parking

    The view, the comfort, the food. All excellent

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast,bathroom to small.

    Bed nice,view great.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing !

    Everything. Jackie is really the hostess with the moistest, and the staff couldn't have been better - both pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to make better

    Everything to like, from greeting to room, from location to breakfast. So good that we are going back!

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everthing was fine

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent place. Lovely staff and delicious breakfast. The Rooms are wonderful with amazing View over the Bay. We will come back.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Jackie was fantastic. We all felt very welcome. The location was great. Food was very good.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Staff awesome, breakfast excellent

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very close to the road and very noisey with motorbikes racing past early in the morning late at night.

    Superb view

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent accommodation, food, and hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad room but could be better sound-isolated from other rooms.

    The room with twinshower. Nice surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bedrooms nice but very old-school. I felt pricing was a little high

    Good location. Excellent views

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not so much to do with the property, but I thought Gordon's bay was a bit too windy and small.

    Breakfast was good. Room was large with balcony.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Felt more like an apartment than a B & B room! Lovely decor.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Big rooms, great view and delicious breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small area of broken tile grout on part of bedroom floor

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact thatvthe rooms are so close to eachother and that it is not sound proof

    The location, the view and the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great host and within walking distance from the beach

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and attentive service.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Rooms had a good view of Gordon's Bay, simply decorated and spotless. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great staff..Jackie went above and beyond to make sure we had what we needed.The views were gorgeous and it was close to restaurants. Wonderful stay.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: