Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Silverbirch @ Birchwood Hotel OR Tambo 4 stars

14 View Point Street, 1106 Boksburg, South Africa

#5 of 8 hotels in Boksburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 294 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None. All were excellent. The room were very clean and comfortable though I did not meet the housekeeping staff. All was too good for the eye. The cleanliness could be spotted even at night.

    The welcoming faces from all. The shuttle driver, the staff at reception anf the porters. Wow. No words can explain. Since my last visit at the facilities there service improved more than I expected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1.Very unstable Wi-Fi. 2.The selection of selected TV channels is totally ridiculous. Not every guest is sport mad. Believe me, if I want to watch UEFA Cup games I will not pay R1,700 a night, with no breakfast nogal, to watch it in a hotel room. Please, address this and add more entertainment and Discovery channels.

    Close vicinity to entertainment and shopping malls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of the rooms are far from the reception, the room that they book for me was dirty , looked liked they have booked it for someone else, then I had to go back and rebook, which showed the unsafety of the propoerty, I was able to unlock someone's room with the key they gave me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was good, I had asked for an executive room which I didn't get, there was a shower only no bath tub and I had towait for 2 hours to get the room and when the room was ready I was told there is a system problem with the keys

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    500MB for internet that was consumed within an hour and I needed to buy extra MB @ 300 Rand . Oh no!!! I was using the internet just for what's up and it just ran out very fast.

    The room was roomy and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a bit of a miscommunication regarding the card keys on departure at the gate and we had to go back to reception in order to make copies of our drivers licences. They should mention the drop-off procedure in respect of keys more clearly (maybe at reception when you initially check-in)

    Lovely units with beautiful gardens and water features. The shuttle service was very convenient to transport delegates to and from the conference facilities. Close proximity to the airport is a plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym needs a revamp. Looks old.

    The golf carts for transporting guests quickly to different parts of the hotel especially when running late are quite handy as the facilities are far apart.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A buggy should be per room. Sometimes you are in a hurry, say for the shuttle, and other guests want to go pick stuff elsewhere and this delays you.

    They gave extra water when they noticed the day before our water was finished. Really observant and nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff service and receptionists and manager to have proper guest relations. It was poor from them especially the manager.

    The Bed was amazing ,the room itself was a safe haven,the golf carts for transportation around the hotel was great, awesome location around malls and easy access to them through shuttles. Airport shuttle was also a big plus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast was monotonous and boring always the same things on the buffet internet of 500MB too littler foe business travelers electric sockets not working

    beddings were comfortable and the environment was good, nice to have golf carts shuttle you around and good that they have a shuttle to the mall and airport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    The rooms are good. The shuttle service was horrendous. Service at The Grill was very slow and that there is no room service when its busy is simply wrong.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Service at BC Cafe aint to great even in the not busy time of day 2. The people that drives the golf carts are rude when ask for a lift to somewhere they wont politely say sorry cant right now 3. When called for shuttle always waited more then 30min few times even walked to where we wanted to go! 4. We asked for new towels only got 1 of each back 5. Didnt bring new water to the room we had to buy new one 6. For the price of the room I would say to have atleast drinks in fridge even I have to pay for it... because now have to buy drinks and to have room service is very expensive... and have breakfast included and when they came and clean the room they put only 1 chocolate on the bed... But will definitely stay there again hopefully next time it will be different...

    Reception was fantastic... and rooms nice and clean! The grill is fantastic!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool was a disappointment - it was too small given the size of the entire 'township'.

    The hotel is a part of 'mini township'. What I liked was an apartment feel giving flexibility to source food from nearby Spar and do your own stuff. Room and bathroom size were very comfortable. Best suited for air travellers out of Joberg.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lengthen the hours in the night! LOL!

    I stayed for one night on a business trip. The bed was so comfy that I overslept and almost missed my ride to Pretoria! Coming back again next month for three nights!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was too spread out. There were major problems with locks on rear doors not closing representing a security risk. After breakfast we could not reenter our room because the door was somehow locked on the inside. It took ages and much stress before this was addressed.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed badly done no sistem to put the business name and address, the skate house restaurant whas closed, the bathroom badly clean, the floor poorly clean

    The organization and gardens were good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were not so polite and the services checking in took long

    Comfortable beds,clean environment,microwave,free shuttle not only to and from the airport but also to Eastrand mall

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet service is bad. In this modern time why should it be difficult to access internet in a hotel and why should clients be given 350MB. It should be unlimited access. I slept in room 848, the air-condition does not work properly

    Good Reception at check in. Shuttle to Mall and Airport; clean room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet in the room was very poor. Food in buffet was not very good

    The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The facilities were very nice. The location convenient

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the front desk attention was not very professional. upon arrival they informed me that the wifi was free, and it wasnt at all , they gave limited access daily and as i needed the wifi for doing my business, i had to buy extra bonus for the internet. another problem , i asked for a late check out , they informed me by phone that was 40 usd , when i went to the front desk they told me 61usd because of the exchange rate they used, when i refused, they said they had made a mistake. As I paid cash , they want my passport to take a copy, I said , you have taken a copy upon arrival. They do not accept and I have to go to my room , take my passport and go again to the front desk. it was unnecerary.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The airport shuttle was once an hour and our experience was that this could possibly be increased at peak times, it certainly was very popular.

    Great hotel, large sprawling complex, but a call to reception and a golf buggy or complimentary shuttle will attend in a short waiting time and take you to wherever on the complex you wish to go. Staff were more than happy to arrange this for the return journey as well. The on site Grill Restaurant at 120 was a great place to eat and relax.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Capped wifi and wifi only working occasionally Very noisy due to conference participants who seem to have little regard for other visitors. The same could be said for staff who walk and talk in between the accommodation. Made having a decent sleep a problem

    Proximity to airport and highways

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though the hotel is a few miles from the airport terminal, it is just at the end of the runway and is noisy with planes taking off and landing.

    The staff were welcoming and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafes at the resort need upgrading as does the pool and other amenities. It’s not a place you’d choose to spend a day there.

    Helpful staff at reception. Rooms comfortable, showers good. Near to airport. Convenient..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brilliant setting and amazing facilities. From the staff to the restaurants, we had a great business trip. The Grill restaurant is a must for the meat lover. Only downside is 500mb doesnt last long for the business traveller - how long till free wifi?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The BC cafe food was not great, my pork chop tasted off. I heard from other patrons over the weekend, that their food was not very nice. The Chef/Cook, food storage and supply need attention. There is no excuse for off food. The waitress service was speedy, the decor and overall look of the cafe was upmarket.

    The hotel room was well run, could not fault it. The Concierge was atttentive. The maid service was excellent and friendly. The entire staff at Silverbirch from check in, security and maid service was top class.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggled to get WiFi to work. When I connected my device, the WiFi still didn’t work, although my device showed it was connected. Over priced, had to still buy breakfast and dinner and had to pay extra for late check out. Safe wasn’t working, security took 20 minutes to come then didn’t have the right key which made me late for my arrangements. Porter service poor. More efficient to walk every where

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows weren't great 😞 Flat as a pancake...

    Excellent proximity, staff were super friendly and accommodating, the restaurant on site - The Grill Toom was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculous limit for Internet use, even when the hotel is not cheap. The double gate for cars requires key card that never works. Their key cards are useless.

    Close to the airport and aesthetically appealing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room service dinner, a huge let down.

    The shuttle service is great. The choice of breakfast is good and the in room tea facilities were very welcome. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The comfort of the mattresses also the size of the room. The fridge is a lifesaver and the iron and ironing board. The staff are VERY VERY VERY friendly and helpful. I always enjoy my stay at Silverbirch and do not even look at other accommodation!!! I love it!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AGAIN a 5 star stay at Silverbirch! I've stayed in many hotels but Silverbirch is the best by far! I'll only be visiting Silverbirch when I'm in that area!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for improvement The Restaurant Twenty One Is it possible to get food as take away ?? Maybe there is a reason you can't though. Maybe for Pestana control issues??

    The hospitality is great and the staff is always smilling. We will visit the place again soon. The golf cart around the complex, Great idea in fact awesome idea.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only let down was that the onsite restaurants didn’t have many vegetarian options.

    I had a very relaxing stay. The shuttle service was convenient and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel had nice gardens you could walk though and there was a shopping centre within walking distance. There are also 2 restaurants and a bar on site. The rooms were very clean. Although housekeeping comes around at 8 am they do respect the "Do Not Disturb" sign - Late sleepers will know this is not always the case at most hotels.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a smoking room and we don't smoke, would have been good if they asked on check in did we want a smoking room

    The resort itself is amazing with excellent facilities I just wish I'd had more time to enjoy it! and the friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wanted a refund of my money for the night I did not stay I.E. I checked out on 2/3/2017, the hotel could not assist me. The online booking should have a provision to refund unutilised funds. Even the rate charged to me was so high 7005 rands compared to my fellow participants that attended the same conference and paid 5000rands only. I think it is better to deal with the hotel directly instead of booking.com. Next time I will not use your services because of those two reasons.

    The facility was convenient for the conference attendence.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no 24 hour room service. Could a bit more generous with body shampoo - currently you place enough body shampoo for only one shower/bath. Perhaps the different dining rooms could offer different cuisine's - eg. African, Indian , Seafood, Portuguese etc. etc.

    Prompt transportation around; A variety of dining room - excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Minor issues. Kettle wasn't working and the hair dryer was missing from the room. Both replaced fairly quickly though.

    Loved being able to drive right up to my room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The service in the grill needs improvement. Not much attention was given to clients especillay with the menu. I hate when there is so much gravy poured on my food.

    The staff very welcoming and helpful. All facilities are around the corner. A short drive to the airport and very close to East Rand mall and other outlets. I will not change Silverbirch for any other hotels in Johannesburg

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your pillows very uncomfortable I had to use four pillows to sleep and did have a good night rest. I had to borrow pillows from my friends who leaves nearby. Please upgrade the aircon it's very old. Gym needs an upgrade also , more water cups please.

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bad place to stay when raining as there is no undercover neither a shelter over the doors.rain was coming under the doors.showers are designed poorly as the water still goes everywhere.maybe more breakfast options.

    the bed was comfy and nice surroundings.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very dark outside at night, i booked king room on booking.com but believe gave me a double room, which is obviously not 48m2, furniture is a little old fashion, or we can say furniture is a little old... but clean enough

    good location, close to the airport, shopping mall not far away, free airport shuttle bus, clean, have golf car to the rooms, nice staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to complain about it. Everything was good

    Yes. I would tell all my friends to visit there as a group. I hope we will enjoy also. The venue , the pool , the gardens bo like it a lot.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed 1 night only. no complain nor discomfortness i could dare to comment on here. however, I will figure that out when and if i stay there for longer.

    great hospitality, freindly staffs, fresh and quality foods. everything was very well harmonised.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I think this hotel suitable not only for the people looks to be near to the airport Also for others looks for nice location with nearby mall centre Restaurants Safe area And good value of money Free shuttle bus to the airport Strongly recommended

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rates very high with no Breakfast included. Breakfast very expensive

    Close to the Airport Complimentary shuttle service Being close to the East Rand shopping Mall Friendly satff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay R40 for delivery even when I had ordered from one of the restaurants

    It's conveniently located around the malls and closer to the airport

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like it when when one of the cleaners woke us up shouting 'house keeping' and knocking at our door in the morning.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The people were very friendly. Free shuttle bus to airport and the shopping mall. Grill restaurant is great. It is very safe, surrounded by a wall and security on the premises.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no complaints at all and will like to make use of your facilities again.

    I was welcomed in a warm way, and my apartment was super. What I liked the most, was when they come and picked me up in a car to take me to the site where the wedding was taking place that afternoon.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast should be standard with all rooms bearing in mind the price per night.

    The room was lovely and the beds and facilities were excellent. Staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and out process a bit long. Rooms very dark. When I got to my room there was a trolley in my parking, I had to move it. Bedroom didn't look like room online

    Private rooms and parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Music at The Grill - it will be nice having your supper with some music playing

    Wow everything was perfect, set up of the room, cleanliness, supper and breakfast was fresh and healthy. I will definitely come back to the place and recommend the friends and family to come to Birchwood. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water in my room at 1st, this was resolved eventually but it caused delays for me. The bath leaked - the entire entrance hall was flooded. They could not arrange a shuttle to airport for my family - we needed to leave at 05h00 (our flight was scheduled for 06h00) - they were not able to offer a shuttle for that time of the morning which is not reasonable since their key selling point is that they are very close to the airport and can provide a shuttle service. I booked a room for a family of 3 - but cutlery and tea/coffee supplies was only for 2 people even though my son was charged for a full price they did not seem to cater for him. The DSTV channel selection does not cater for children and people not interested in sports and news channels.

    The room was spacious, well laid out and comfortable. The site is located close to other attractions and easy access to the airport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a sprawling complex and you need some orientation as to what is where!

    As a gay couple when we book a double it is not so I can explain it in detail when I get told that "there is a mistake" it is a double bed!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar Fridge was hot and the air conditioner I had to call the maintenance people to help out but nothing serious for me though

    The food was awesome and the stuff "out of this world" though my omelet was not good the first morning however the second morning it was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi is limited to 350MB per day; not enough for business travellers from my point of view. The premises are very large; it might take a long walk to reach your room.

    Birchwood is a good option for a function, conference or when looking for accommodation close to O.R. Tambo Intl Airport. I would not recommend it for leisure purposes. There is a selection of restaurants on-site and once can easily access the neighboring Hi-Flyerz bar, which has a nice view on the airport's runway.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your internet offer is too restrictive for a business traveller You also need to redo your your airconfitioning heating / heating system

    It was comfortabke

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My bathroom floor was not cleaned everyday. foot marks i made on the floor the first day were not cleaned throughout my stay. cause of concern on the cleanliness of the bathroom.

    the bed is comfortable and clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had two doors and I didn't like the locking system on the second door, it seemed too easy to open. There also wasn't a key for me to use if from the outside.

    The booking staff were extremely accommodating with my request and changed my booked room to one closer to the venue with no trouble! I LOVED the bathroom and the bed was really comfy. I will definitely recommend this hotel should you have a conference at the Birchwood. The hotel shuttle from the airport was also very convenient and it ran on time!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchen sink needs a plug, it is wasteful to just run water without a plug.

    The four-star rating for this section is well deserved – a charming room that has been designed for the business traveller. A large desk space with adequate international plug points of varying sizes; a desk lamp that is small but powerful and no mirror in front of the desk shows forethought. It is one of very few rooms I have seen with excellent lighting – each lounge chair had its own floor lamp, there were dedicated reading lamps on each side of the bed, concealed lighting behind the bed and TV and overhead lights for work – a restful change from the usual ceiling glare or dim corners. Even more useful was the kitchenette - a microwave, fridge, toaster & kettle with crockery and cutlery made it possible to make light snacks, a relief from heavy conference meals. A superb Checkers & Woolworths Food just across the road make it very convenient to find such snacks. I found this excellent value for the price.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airport flights go directly over your room and it sounds like they are landing in the room through the night. The wifi is diabolical you get next to nothing and when you buy a voucher online the sale goes through and you receive a login that tells you you need to buy again as you have used it already.

    Good rooms Clean and large

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suddenly told to pay for breakfastn

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Privacy , cleanliness and good food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More info if breakfast is included

    I loved the duvet and sheets

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and shuttle services very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unavailability of room service.

    Very comfortable, neat and cosy rooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Shuttle service is a life saver! Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness , calm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of neighbours could be heard through the interleading door.Airplane noise.

    Comfortable beds.Enjoyed food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor wifi access in the rooms. The dry leaves outside the rooms which were not raked every day gives the place an untidy look.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping didn’t or forgot to do dishes

    Spacious clean room, lovely gardens and grounds. Very friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping was very pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in time

    We could only access our rooms at 18:00 instead of 14:00

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They care about each detail. Everything well organized and works like a charm. Succeeded to be a very classy place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: