Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. Free State hotel reviews
  4. Philippolis hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Guesthouse Birdshaven

Reviews of Guesthouse Birdshaven

301 Philip Street , 9970 Philippolis, South Africa

#1 of 2 hotels in Philippolis

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 97 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    7.5
    Owner very responsive, knowledgable and friendly. Beautiful nature scenes right outside the window
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirt road little uncomfortable with a low profile vehicle. Family room didnt have an aircon

    Meals where traditional and amazing. She accommodated us in a family room for our extra travel companions at the last minute.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    7.1
    Staff friendly, house clean and neat, just a problem with no off-street parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two double rooms, and upon arrival were asked if we would transfer to a house 400m down the road. the house had only one bathroom and being two couples was a bit difficult to share. There was no off street parking for our motorbikes, we had to take them up to the main accommodation and walk back and forth to get the bikes.

    Friendly greeting upon arrival, accommodation clean and neat. Dinner and Breakfast were fabulous.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    10
    Unexpected excellence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely clean, friendly owners, super garden with happy ducks, very quiet and wonderfully fluffy clean smelling towels. Owners also arranged a delicious steak dinner at the last minute for us.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    9.6
    Great stay over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to complain about.

    Lovely atmosphere and friendly hosts. Lots of ducks and a cute piglet was pleasant entertainment for small kids. Very neat and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a one night sleep over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there were no places open to eat in Philippolis, as we arrived there on Sunday afternoon but Annelie did warn us in advance. We did however have facilities to have a braai.

    Lovely peaceful country location. An oasis in the middle of the Karoo/Free State. Lovely comfortable beds. Our hostess (Annelie) made us really feel at home.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable bed and spacious room, friendly host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No TV, no WiFi, no fridge Dinner was indicated on the site but does not apply to this time of the year

    Very comfortable bed and spacious room, friendly host

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    10
    Good, clean and large room. The local eatery is well worth a visit imbued with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the location being on the outskirts of the village and adjacent to open fields. The local shepherd (goats) was rounding up all the goats early morning for milking and such a fascinating site to watch with his method of calling the goats.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    10
    Peaceful and pleasant place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The room was spacious, clean and comfortable! The garden is beautiful and very peaceful with all the birds and ducks! Our host and her staff were very friendly and ensured that we had a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    9.6
    The drive from Colesberg to Philippolis in the late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The drive from Colesberg to Philippolis in the late afternoon was one we will always treasure. The friendliness of the hostess was the making of this short stay. We were fortunate to buy meat from the Philippolis Deli and with the help of our hostess had a wonderful braai under the boma, surrounded by ducks and peacocks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    10
    Value for money, friendly, comfortable, peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Bird Haven. The hosts are wonderful and make you feel totally at home. The onsite restaurant is a wonderful addition and the food delicious. We will be back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    7.5
    Loved our stay and will recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hosts were friendly and helpful, giving personal attention. Beautiful tranquil garden. Child friendly. Family room spacious and lovely, comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Restaurant on premises, with good well priced meals.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    10
    Would DEFINITELY stay here again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome hosts! Lovely on site restaurant. HUGE rooms. A little off the beaten track, but well worth it! Fortunate enough to experience baby ducks & geese - great farm feel. No problem with water or electricity.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay at a Karoo oasis
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm a non coffee drinker and caffeinated tea drinker and there was no rooibos (I'd brought my own). Also I'm a vegetarian and the emphasis seemed to be on meat.

    Attitude of Louis and Annelie

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    10
    Great place in a small forgotten town to unwind after a long trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming. The family room was huge! Beds clean and comfortable. Children enjoyed all the ducks and ducklings. Perfect stopover after a long drive from the coast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    Thank you Annelie and Leon. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hosts were amazing. We arrived late but dinner was cooked for us. We had trouble with the caravan we were towing and they helped fix it. The boerewors with the breakfast was delicious. Wonderful family hospitality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    9.6
    Great place for a stopover or for a couple of nights of relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was cool.

    Well-appointed, comfortable bedroom, tastefully decorated. Excellent shower and loo. The garden is beautiful - literally picture-perfect! The ducks are very cute:)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    10
    A gem find! Loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That they were fully booked for our return trip... Warning: they book up fast!

    Lovely family run guest house. Accomodation clean and spacious, tastefully decorated. Food at onsite restaurant is superb. Staff friendly and professional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    9.6
    Hospitable and delightful, we'll definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic place to stay overnight enroute to holiday. Very friendly and welcoming hosts. Fantastic restaurant next door. Comfortable and well presented accommodation. We'll definitely be back. Thanks

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely country stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street light outside the bedroom wind because the curtains were light weight and did not block it out.

    Wonderful country style breakfast. Loved bottle feeding the springbok babies.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2017

    9.6
    Warm and welcoming stay in Phillipolis
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower door was very tricky and did not function properly. But the rest was very good!!

    The warm and welcoming athmosfere. The coutry life was wonderful. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. Because we had to leave very early the day of our departure, we each received as wonderful picnic hamper with all healthy food. Excellent!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    8.8
    Gem in little Free State town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast, while being delicious, was served in the outside dining area and got cold very quickly. I would recommend an outside heater and hot plate to keep the food warm.

    Our hostess, Annelie, was lovely. We got to bottle feed rescued springbuck calves of only 3 weeks old, which was a very special experience. Will definitely stay over again when in the area

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    7.1
    For a stopover o.k.
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress in one single bed needs to be changed. Restaurants in the village are very poor.

    Friendly owners, garden with animals, walking directly behind the property.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    9.6
    Hidden gem off the beaten track
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Annelie was an outstanding host-met us at the gate,chatted without being intrusive&was warm considerate&friendly.The room was decorated with taste&care, impeccably clean with lovely embroidered linen. Pretty country garden&baby springbok&ducks were an added pleasure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    10
    Birds Haven was a little piece of heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Birds Haven was a little piece of heaven. Annelie was the most amazing host, so welcoming and warm, a proper home away from home. The little baby springboks were gorgeous and such a treat to feed them. Wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2017

    7.1
    more than sleep and eat - a pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    No need - value for money/experience.

    Host and hostess most friendly; breakfast good and atmosphere, in the country - even a tortoise on the gravel road outside the property.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    9.6
    Must amazing garden and friendly host and hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Must amazing garden and friendly host and hostess. V comfortable beds.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    10
    relaxing and great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much Maybe slightly bigger rooms Better shower pressure

    Little oasis in Phillipolis Very friendly owners Ducks! Restaurant next door

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    there could have been a radio or TV but we didnt miss it too much!

    the friendliness of all the staff we encountered

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    I will definately recommend Birdshaven / Phillipolis for a stay off the beaten track!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    House not aired (windows closed) on arrival. Open windows and open back door can address this.

    loved the location!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    10
    Great value, very welcoming host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great value, very welcoming host.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely bright, clean and airy room, friendly and helpful owner

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    10
    Restaurant and accommodation.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant and accommodation. This place is a gem in this area. And hosts are very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    9.6
    The lamb chops were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lamb chops were great!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.5
    Host was extremely frieydly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Host was extremely frieydly and helpful. It was 37° outside and the room was lovely and cool eith aircon!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    9.6
    The garden was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The garden was beautiful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    10
    Annelie couldn’t have been nicer or more friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Annelie couldn’t have been nicer or more friendly. She was very helpful and went above and beyond during my stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    Wonderful host, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great host, great environment, comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    7.1
    Countryside.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was extremely cold and there wasn't a heater available .

    The couple running the guesthouse were very sweet .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    An excellent spot to deflate after a long drive. Comfortable and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Friendly hosts and a lovely garden for kids to shake of road weariness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    10
    Oasis on the outskirts of Philippolis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly and accommodating hostess. Fabulous size room. Exquisite farm style garden with a touch of an English rose garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    10
    Best experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything and have no complaints

    Exelent service. Owners and staff friendly. Accomodation clean and well kept

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    6.7
    lots of insects in the room, no tv for kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lots of insects in the room, no tv for kids

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    8.8
    Good comfortable sleepover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was really pleasant and the ducks were fascinating. Hospitality of host

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a lovely little town and worth the stop over to visit this lively B&B.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful place for a stopover while travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quiet and very tranquil. Clean and very secure. Very homely and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    8.3
    Real oasis of the beaten track!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Real oasis of the beaten track! Host very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the small restaurant in this remote location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean and comfortable facilities. Very friendly owners and very accommodating. Very secure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    10
    Lovely people and place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the homyness of it all. Feeling like you're on the farm, like when you were young.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    7.5
    The friendliness of the owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spiders

    The friendliness of the owners

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    10
    More than satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very welcoming, very clean, very accommodating, friendly all in all a great experience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    10
    Lovely warm atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds very comfortable. Owners going out of their way to make stay pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    9.6
    Farm frienfly hosts and staff, clean room and excellent meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff, clean room, warm greeting, fantastic hosts, farm setting, excellent food and all round excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    8.8
    To find a place in the middle of the arid karoo, what appear...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To find a place in the middle of the arid karoo, what appear like an oasis, was a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    10
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very quaint

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    7.5
    That is the first and last time we see Phillipolous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    It was very nice. A bit out of the way. Very dissappointed with the review of Phillopolous via The Getaway Magazine. We expected more.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.6
    Friendly owner -well organised. Enjoyed a stroll around this interesting small town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you are not getting up early the noise from peacocks could be a problem but we were warned

    Lovely garden setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    10
    Wonderful hostess and her friendly family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hostess and her friendly family

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    7.9
    Friendly comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee in the rooms

    Comfortable beds and spacious bedrooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    8.8
    Great oasis after long day on the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit remote

    Amazing large room - beautiful white crisp bedding and fluffy towels. Friendly hosts.

    Stayed in March 2017

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!