Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bishops Inn Guest House 3 stars

14 Killarney Road, 6001 Port Elizabeth, South Africa

#79 of 113 B&Bs and Inns in Port Elizabeth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 144 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The other visitors were making loud noises till early morning. Purpose of going there was to get away from all the noise at home and that was even worse at the guesthouse.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircondition in the toilet was really loud and the sea view wasn't as expected.

    The room was nice and enough space for 2 days. The balcony and the pool were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the second day my bed sheets were not properly done in terms of making sure dust or dirt of the previous night has been cleaned. NOT NECESSARY CHANGING THE SHEETS

    Friendly receptionist staff. EXCELLENT WELCOMING. PROPERTY NEAR ENTERTAINMENT FACILITIES. etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i had booked a self catering room but was not aware that the room i had did not have kitchen facilities. i was disappointed.

    the pool so close to the room and very convenient and the location of the property is appropriate to access the sea very easily.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony on top of our room, people were there till the early hours of the morning because it's wood the stomping was unbearable.

    The place was clean. The facilities were great. Secured. Big rooms easy to find

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came to the property the lady had a attitude about making copies of our credit cards which we paid by EFT in Jan this year we paid for breakfast and the gave us old bread that was expired the breakfast was not worth paying for as they had it ready when we came there two eggs two bacon and toast not worth R95 The bathroom door was broken and the aircon and tv was not working instead of fixing they recommend that we upgrade to other room and pay more money

    Close to the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The stuff was very friendly and welcoming,made me feel like I was home.The bed was comfortable, the rooms were beautiful I would definitely recommend the place to someone else

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    for the value ... great spot looking forward to going back again

    their hospitality... receptionist was very accommodating and happy to share information. space is decent and they allow you to be you. they were never in our space at all it felt like I was in a hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our next door neighbors were very noisy and disturbing from 11pm to 3h30am.No sleep for me and my family. I suggest security guard to control this during night time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our return flight back into port Elizabeth we rebooked the same flat 1a but was told it was in use until the next day. The occupants book out by 10.30am but we had to wait until 3pm to move back into original room we were supposed to have, the reason for our unhappiness was of lateness of being moved from flat/room3A to 1A . room /flat 3a was in an unhabital state, the sink and drains from the kitchen smelt awful and had to ask the lady who's husband owned the place to come over for herself and she agreed it was an awful smell. Also we didn't realise until she left, when we were ready for bed that the bedding hadn't been changed and the towels. The back door into the balcony were you are allowed to smoke was jammed and frame was damaged, when we told staff that ran the place about it over the phone they said we were able to move back to Room/ flat 1a. We had to wait until 3pm even though the occupants had booked out by or before 10.30am , we had to ring on numerous times to get moved. We weren't very happy as we paid good money to stay and even though what had happened they didn't even offer any compensation which was very disappointing as we hinted many times but nothing was done.

    I liked the accommodation that we stayed in as it was​ disabled friendly, and it had a kitchen that you could cook in plus the bathroom was a wetroom which was a very good size. You also had a safe in room free of charge. You had maids that came in every day to change towels, make beds and clean.our maid was bullet and she was fantastic and very friendly. We actually rebooked for our last few days as we traveled to cape town for 17 days and the only thing on our return we couldn't get flat 1a and was put into flat 3a. Other than that our stay was positive and we would return only if we could book the same room 1A. Also the breakfast was well worth the price especially if you're a big eater as you can have as much cereal, toast tea and coffee plus fruit and to top it off you get a fry up for 90 rand. onsite there's a pool and a place you can do brias ie barbecue. Staff were very pleasant but needed to take into consideration what we told them.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. There could have been a little more tea, coffee, sugar and milk. 2.More television channels there is not much to watch. 3.There were also no hairdryer.

    1.The bed was really comfy it felt like I was at home. 2.The outside table with chairs was really nice. 3.We had a nice flatscreen television. 4.The room was so neat and tidy, you feel at home. 5.The swimming pool is a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning started a bit early in the morning and didn't really care for if we were sleeping

    Very nice staff and very helpful. Good WiFi and nice pool. Beautiful view

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facility is centrally located and with easy access to everywhere we wanted to be. The friendliness and professionalism of the staff was an added bonus. Thanks Guys!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small oven or hob or a two plate stove would be great, in the self -catering room. Need to start a fire to cook meat.

    The comfortable yet professional feeling with receptionist. Excellent facilities.ie pool, braai area. Beds and rooms very HaPpY. Great staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other guests were very loud, we could hear a word for word they were saying.

    Lea is such a Happy being. Made us feel very welcomed and appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was too small we could hardly fit in there

    The staff was very nice but our room bathroom was too small we could hardly fit otherwise it was very nice room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specific

    Great stay, comfortable, spacious and homey!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, small beds Tiny bathroom

    Close to airport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ice in the fridge. TV channels worse, you don't have any afrikaans channel, therefore I wont stay there again.

    The bed was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower.

    The place is clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty-poor breakfast-very slow Wi-Fi. Bad smell- very old TV

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets

    In a nice quiet area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility delapidated

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What could have been better? everything was perfect

    great breakfast, juice was fresh , stafff very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of any thing

    Walking distance from the beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dstv connection didn't have channels throughout our stay.

    Comfort

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Very clean and beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty. The bedding was dirty. The bathroom and the towels were very dirty.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your wifi didn't work as promised

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Extremely nice and helpful staff, spacious and clean room, big balcony

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Staff were excellent!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    cleanliness space view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Privacy ... own bath tv etc and was airconditioned

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the place

    The rooms are beautiful , friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautiful and accommodating for my fiance and I. Breakfast was nice and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very poor view...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomodation is really shabby and it is advertised as luxury accomodation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV (old TV style)

    Room and comfort.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were short in our room.

    Free Wifi, water kept in the fridge. Most of all cleanliness.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it because it's close to the beach and nice restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints.

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff was very welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Attitude of the staff members and comfort of the Beds

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just perfect for the purpose and the period of stay

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The friendleness of all the staff and the people that run the Bishops Inn. Thanks for making me feel at home.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom tap was broken. The carpet was a bit dirty.

    The staff are so helpful and friendly. Very welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The space and the rooms and also the fact that minimal interference from staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Just a perfect place, everythin in the walking distance😍

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice pool area. Friendly staff .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wodrobe in my room had mould So I could not hang my clothes.

    I did not have breakfast at the facility

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bigger bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit grubby.... definitely needed a good clean!

    Rooms nicely laid out.... basic but comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NAD

    Privacy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My family was quite happy with this accomodation and will be back here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist very friendly. Bed comfortable .Bathroom spacious and tidy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the rooms was not clean.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 18 nights

    Very poor lighting in room, cannot read documents. Requested reading lamp numerous times but none provided during three week stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing patio with other guests.

    I would recommend this place to friend and family. We are definately coming back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, no problems.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was on point!!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this place was Great!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful with airport transfer and a last minute addition to our booking

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Out of anyone's control due to our late booking, but would have liked a better room, or a bigger bed.

    It's not the flashiest place in the world; the whole of PE was booked out and this was one of a few places left... Very happy we got to stay there. The staff were super friendly and welcoming. The place simply has a really good feel to it that stems directly from the owners. Has all the bits and pieces that you need in a place like this

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    why is my rating calculated based on 2 questions. this is misleading public. apartments not well maintained carpets very dirty, linen not clean towels yellow not white.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More plug sockets required as we had to unplug the refrigerator to plug in the kettle and whist there was air con and a ceiling fan, we wanted to use the fan at night but could not turn off the light which was part of it. We told management of these items and they were grateful

    It was reasonably convenient by taxi (not expensive) to St Georges Park for the ODI cricket, South Africa and England also walking distance to a choice of rrstaurants

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lady at the reception when we arrived was not very friendly, maybe she was having a bad day. We had a problem with a channel on the tv which my husband reported and nothing was done about it. We had to spend more time in the room as we normally do as I fractured my foot and could not walk too much. No microwave and its advertised as 'self catering'. We thought R80 each for breakfast was a little high. They should rather put the price of the room a little higher and include breakfast

    The room was fine. It was clean and so was the bathroom. Having an iron to use right there was good! The air conditioning was good. Having tea and coffee in the room and a fridge was good.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They put us into the dungen like room which was smelling dumpness just below carports and fumes goes in. (GH 9) 2. The air conditioner was not working over two to three months. 3. When I complain to the owner he told me there is nothing he can do as the companies are closed and they cannot move me to other rooms as they are fully booked with attitude. I then told the receptionist that I will check out and find a comfortable place to stay. She promise to do something for me and after an hour the cleaner was sent with they key for other room (GH 15) which was comfortable and the aircon was working. I didn't even receive any apology from the establishment. I will not book myself in the in future. Thanks

    The cleaning staff were friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No complains for our overnight stay.

    The room and facilities were ideal for a family with young children. The friendly staff and facilities added to a comfortable overnight stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Family with older children

    My car and 2 others were broken into and many valuables were stolen so we had to return home. Good security was advertised but CCTV cameras were broken. The fence alarm was also not working and aeroplanes flew about 50m over our heads the whole time.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Booking was not listed when arrived. Had used Booking.com so seems to be delay. Luckily we went there early so could be sorted out as there was shortage of accommodation in city.

    Very clean and spacious Close to airport Friendly staff Secure parking

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was allocated in a room that have no ventilation and had to move about three time before settling into a room, which I was then asked to pay more for. There is no provision for ice cubes and the establishment leaving me with only an option to spend more money just to go buy ice.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel claims that its a bed and breakfast only to find out that there's no breakfast, worse thing the breakfast is served between 6 and 9 The receptionist wasn't friendly

    The hotel is centrally situated

There are also 70 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: