Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Blackheath Lodge 4 stars

6 Blackheath Road, Sea Point, 8005 Cape Town, South Africa

#5 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 139 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    It’s located centrally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking your vehicle becomes an issue. The rooms are very close to each other... some of the other guests staying in other rooms were very rude...

    It’s located centrally... it’s sweet little place .... clean and nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Outstanding property with friendly personalised staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor negative was the distance from the waterfront area and downtown- required a taxi.

    Excellent facilities. Very helpful staff who arranged restaurant bookings and tours. Delicious, substantial breakfast. Large and well equipped room. Close to the Hop On Hop Off bus stop. Within walking distance to some restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great first night stay in Blackheath and simply love the style of its quirky yet simple design. Riano, the manager on shift was extremely helpful and informative. Though we have checked in earlier than expected and room was not ready, he was kind enough to let us freshen up in the guest bathroom and guided us to potential places to visit. Room was simple but has everything one could possibly need. Breakfast was really good! On top of the range of freshly made pastries and fruits, they also have a full menu of made to order breakfast. Yum they tasted good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Loved it-would definitely stay there again. Thanks to all for your expert care!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cannot think of a thing!

    Lovely property, super friendly and helpful staff, quiet comfortable room. The phone provided to call taxis was very helpful. Breakfast was delicious and the available goodies around all day were a thoughtful touch. We had a great stay and would return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Service at this hotel is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service at this hotel is incredible. The staff really takes their time and met with us each morning to discuss our plans for the day. They are wonderful. Excellent breakfasts too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Last minute booking - great final couple of nights to out Cape Town stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a little difficult - ok if you were lucky enough to park on their frontage.

    Nothing was to much trouble for the guys hosting the hotel. Can recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Best service in Cape Town
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be a bit difficult with a big vehicle. Staff very helpful though and helped us get a great parking spot

    Loved the complimentary glass of wine, it was top quality wine served in an good glass Helpful staff and make you feel right at home. Nothing is too much effort OUTSTANDING service. The best I've ever experienced in Cape Town. The entire staff team impressed. Well done

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    A Capetown treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Karin and staff were extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations. Anything we asked for they delivered. Property was immaculate, beautifully furnished and landscaped. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Attention to detail was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail was fantastic Staff amazing -always around but never intrusive. Absolutely loved this hotel would definitely recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Had a lovely stay & liked everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a lovely stay & liked everything! The kindness of the Blackheath Lodge team was overwhelming and genuine. We felt super welcome and comfortable during our entire stay, and were looked after in the best possible way including receiving some great tips for restaurants etc. THANK YOU Karen & co., you're the best!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Very good, but consider your room choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room lacked charm compared to the overall cuteness of the hotel. We had pretty basic decor and no view except out onto an enclosed space with two loungers. The bed was also a bit hard and could have used a pillow-topper. The staff was friendly and helpful, but SA has such a high standard, we weren't wowed.

    We thought the hotel was quite pretty overall, but I think the rooms are of uneven quality. A friend had stayed previously and raved about their room, but my partner and I were somewhat underwhelmed based on those expectations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Cool boutique hotel with beach feeling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    more electric plugs in the room would have been useful

    This beautifully designed boutique hotel was our last stop of our South Africa trip and the perfect place to relax. The hip and relaxing pool area is the center of the property and we loved the chill-out music, wine and attentive and fun staff. Fantastic spot to meet other cosmopolitan people but it's great for families too. The tasty and varying breakfast is served on a lovely sunny terrace and the staff never stops surprising the guests. On our departure day we could store our bags, take a shower and even enjoy the pool facilities for the whole day! A place to return to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Beautiful facilities. Lovely, friendly staff. Easy location and parking on site
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Would happily stay again and probably will

    Extremely freindly, clean and amazing value for money. Great location easy walk to sea and sea point open air gym. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to enjoy Cape Town and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice hotel with beautiful rooms and garden. An excellent place to relax after visiting the sights of Cape Town. Very helpful staff. You get at free mobile phone to take with you for calling the hotel or taxi. We really enjoyed the breakfasts and had a very good dinner at the hotel. We especially liked that the staff tries to reduce the hotels use of water and encourages the guests to save water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.5
    Cosy, relaxed place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a bit overpriced, the room no 1 is very noisy with a big windows just on the street, near reception and on the wall where the bed is , on the outside, there are some AC exterior units that make a lot of noise ...

    good location, nice and friendly staff, very good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with location. I was only mistaken for a waiter by other guest on 2 occasions, I wonder why - hint.

    The food was excellent. The staff too kind. Big call out the Geoffrey, Karen and Poppy. I’m definitely coming back. Room was fab

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Recommemded!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't open a window to the street. We missed a coffee kettle in the room. Coffee could be ordered phoning from the room but it is nice to be able to make some yourself. However the ordered coffee was very good.

    We were happy with our stay at Blackheath Lodge. We enjoyed the room (8) despite the fact that it was at the street side of the hotel. Quiet and narrow street. Pleasantly surprised by the choice of dvd's of which many were of my taste. Just no time to watch any... The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Perfect place for a single woman to stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I cant think of anything

    Room very nice. Reception very helpful. Great breakfast. Good location. Quiet. They lend you a SA mobile phone, with some money on it, to be able to call them or call a cab. Between meals fruit and home made cake was left out (free).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Great choice for Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Really enjoyed our stay. Boutique hotel with very personal touches, elegant decor and convenient location - excellent breakfast, bar for evening drinks, really friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Our favourite CT spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were amazing, when they heard that we'd last stayed there the night before we got engaged - they brought a bottle of complementary sparkling wine to our room to enjoy before we headed out for dinner. We were blown away by their kindness and attention!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Home from Home for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was tastefully decorated but the highlight was the amazing staff who went the extra mile to accommodate all my requirements. Will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    BEST!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave to go home!

    Everything!!!! The breathtakingly amazing rooms! MOST delicious breakfast and the kindest most attentive staff! Just awesome!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    Great start to our trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were happy with everything!

    very friendly staff and a warm welcome after a long flight! Very comfortable room and good breakfast (including great tea!) they also recommended a place for dinner which we loved!(The duchess of wisbeach)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Perfect start to our South Africa trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room needed some maintenance, cracked tiles in the shower and leaky shower, but very small point as room was otherwise fine.

    Very good staff team. Excellent guidance on local area. Thoughtful touches, like mobile phone and i pad in room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.8
    A great stay in Cape Town near the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Maybe our room was on the small side and at times felt a little bit stuffy as the weather was hot outside

    -Pool area is bright and full of flowers. Lovely garden furniture and very comfy sunbeds -Staff was amazing, everyone so polite and well spoken. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable -Breakfast is yummi! -Lovely, imaginative decor throughout all the areas of the lodge

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay in Sea Point Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all

    Such friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble Refreshment drink on check in too recommendation of first night meal Lovely cooked to order breakfast to snacks and cake in the afternoon A very stylish well decorated place with enormous flair Replacement towels on sun beds

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Great Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodations were great, but what makes Blackheath Lodge exceptional is the staff. From the moment we checked in until they hugged us goodbye, the employees went out of their way to make our Cape Town stay wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    9.6
    Small and luxury hide-away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very nice breakfast, very friendly staff. A little oasis close to VA Waterfront and Camps Bay. The room was great, the heated pool and garden area invited to relax after a long day of sightseeing and shopping. We would definitely come back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Rustic Elegance and Cozy Charm... my new Cape Town favorite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attention to customer service detail was so wonderful. From the warm staff to the courtesy mobile phones and ipads in each room to the surprise flowers for my mother's birthday to the complimentary sweets bar and the delicious breakfast, my mom and I had a wonderful time. We also loved the rustic elegance and charm of the place. THANK YOU so much, Blackheath Lodge! This gem is going to be my regular spot while in Cape Town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Loved this Guesthouse!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    What a welcome experience with this friendly & helpful staff. Enjoyed our 3 days of touring with Carl, one of the Blackheath Lodges excellent guides... Best breakfast every day and always a cold beer or glass of wine available at the bar. Thank You for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    One of the best Boutique Hotels in the world situated in one of the worlds most beautiful cities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike

    We have stayed in many hotels around the world and this quaint Boutique Hotel tops 5 star luxury hotels due to their genuine passion for looking after guests. From the moment you arrive until you leave the staff ensure your every needs are met . Better than any Tourist Pamphlet on what's on or where to go! We cannot give this superb hotel higher praise. You must experience this and further what amazing value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    I cannot speak highly enough of this place and its wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would like to have stayed longer.

    This place is fantastic! I have travelled throughout the world and this place has to be in a class of its own. Anthony, Josh and all the other staff just couldn't do enough to make our stay outstanding. Wonderful apartment with ocean views. Anthony is also a whizz with a screwdriver if you lock your keys in your suitcase!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Feel pampered in a friendly, attentive environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot find anything to not like!

    Attentive staff, helpful and respectful. An intimate, family feeling with excellent amenities and food. Great location, close to the city centre in a mixed neighbourhood with numerous restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    8.8
    A warm welcomg ing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    There was not much privacy between the bedroom and the bathroom - just a sliding glass door.

    The staff was amazing!! They made you feel right at home. They were always there to welcome you in the morning at the beginning of the day and to talk about your adventures at the end of the day. The food was phenomenal - their chef (Godfrey) was wonderful and it is definitely worth staying in for a few nights for dinner. Additionally their tour guides were incredibly personable, knowledgeable, and make each tour personal to the couple.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Warm and cozy room, perfect for a chilly night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm and cozy room, perfect for a chilly night. Sumptuous breakfast, served by attentive and friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean room and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room and friendly staff. Tasty eggs Benedict for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, clean fresh decor and fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff very friendly and helpful organised a tour guide for the day and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    Familiar and friendly cosy boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms (nr 11) are very small.

    Very personal and cosy place with a nice breakfast area and possibility to chill at the pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff absolutely friendly and making all efforts to make our stay perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    To a large extent relied on the previous good reviews and we were not disappointed
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very cool boutique style B& B with an absolutely marvelous team.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    Service of personnel was exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Loft Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was somewhat noicy once in a while

    Service of personnel was exceptional

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderfully relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were amazing, the staff were very friendly and helped us to plan out our days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent and personal service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent and personal service! Will for sure try to come back

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Great Hotel with great personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The personal was lovely, very helpful with all our querys. Suggested and booked great restaurants, ordered taxis etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful place to stay in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly local run guest house with a lot of care and attention to detail.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Kristan's service and attention to detail were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kristan's service and attention to detail were exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice cozy place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place to stay for a few days in Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have a dressing table area to get ready at in the rooms

    The staff were all very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Relaxing with fantastic service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect service at all times! Quiet location, fantastic breakfast, free coffee/tea and cake in the afternoon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    Congenial, professional and helpful staff at a homely,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Congenial, professional and helpful staff at a homely, well-appointed boutique hotel. We hope to return

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location, perfect boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always welcoming

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    Staff are excellent - made it feel like being at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff are excellent - made it feel like being at home....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice and cozy place, really friendly and helpful staff, just perfect!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    6.7
    Not what we had anticipated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and room size

    Antony was very helpful and it was very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel with fantastic service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Best hotel we have ever stayed at and the staff was outstanding, so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The crew is very helpful, friendly and charming! The Location, setting, rooms beautiful, the breakfast rich, tasty and fresh.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfect B&B for Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Brakefast was really great. All staff members are so friendly, the Pool is heated, the rooms cozy, parking free. Nothing more to ask for.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful place because of the excellent staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Wonderful place because of the excellent staff; the rooms are very comfortable. The breakfasts are fantastic!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    Loved this gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this gem! The staff, accommodations and location was perfect. Highly recommend to anyone visiting!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Excellent stay in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was excellent. These two guys were so knowledgeable and pointed everybody in the right direction for trips, visits and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Fabulous service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous service. Felt very safe. Food was excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast cooked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was very happy with everything

    Very friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast cooked to personalised order. Room was extremely comfortable and spacious. I would be delighted to stay there anytime

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    10
    We left already at 6.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We left already at 6.30 a.m which was prior to the breakfast at the hotel, however they arranged a beautiful buffé with coffee and nice things to snack on before departure. Very nice gesture! They also gave us very nice choices for an evening restaurant which was excellent. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    10
    The attentiveness of the staff and knowledge of the area was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The attentiveness of the staff and knowledge of the area was fantastic. Always willing to help, no request was too big or small. We felt very welcomed and relaxed during our stay. Beautiful ambience and attention to detail, we were even given little personalized luggage tags for our bags when we arrived. Perfect place to unwind with shopping amenities close by. Do try their cheese board in the evening with a glass of port by the pool :)

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    10
    Their attention to detail and the provision of quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We have been to a number of guest houses in Cape Town but this was the best, simple as that.

    Their attention to detail and the provision of quality bedding, and all round service. The daily tea, coffee and cake buffet throughout the day, as well as picks was excellent. The provision of pre-programmed mobile phones was an excellent idea.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    10
    I have never stayed somewhere where everything has been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything - and I mean everything - was of the highest possible standard . I really can't think of even the tiniest thing to criticise .

    I have never stayed somewhere where everything has been thought of. Incredibly good service and care. This place is in a league of its own. They even provide guests with mobile phones with useful pre-programmed numbers eg taxis. Food, accommodation and overall facilities are truly superb. I can't emphasise enough how wonderful this place is.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    10
    This guest house was recommended by our daughter and we are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stay not long enough.

    This guest house was recommended by our daughter and we are so glad we followed her choice. Out of this world. Only stopped one night but staff and accommodation excellent. Would book again tomorrow when visiting Cape Town again. The Guesthouse's attention to detail was excellent

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    10
    We love this lovely hotel - the staff, the location and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast area is lovely but access to the breakfast buffet is tight and queues are not unusual.

    We love this lovely hotel - the staff, the location and the service are top drawer. Room 6 is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our standard double room was a touch on the small side (although perfectly formed with ample storage).We stayed 5 nights and were out a lot/used communal areas so didn't have an issue, but if you like to relax in room perhaps try an upgrade

    Everything! Beautifully furnished, lovely pool area, delicious breakfast and complimentary snacks. Staff are wonderful; everyone seems really happy to be there and nothing is too much trouble. Anthony is so helpful, a font of all knowledge. It's a great location to explore Cape Town and surrounding areas - we had a fabulous day trip to Franschoek perfectly coordinated by Anthony!

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    10
    Delightful accomodation and extra special attention by all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delightful accomodation and extra special attention by all staff. Lovely breakfast. They couldn't have done more for us if we had been regulars for years.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.6
    Blackheath Lodge was the perfect place for us in Capetown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Blackheath Lodge was the perfect place for us in Capetown. Antony and Josh were the perfect hosts - providing help and guidance when needed while managing the 17 room bed and breakfast impeccably. The breakfasts were wonderful with crepes, made to order eggs and bacon, exquisite french toast, fruits, cheeses, cereals, and yogurts. The coffee was french pressed at your table underneath the tea kettle chandelier. Antony even offered an unexpected but excellent South African style dinner during our stay. Service was wonderful. Unobtrusive but always done right. While this may not be the perfect hotel for those who like massive lobbies and nameless personnel, for us it was just right.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    10
    The cozy feeling as soon as you walk into the lobby And pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The cozy feeling as soon as you walk into the lobby And pool area The rooms are spacious and offer comfy beds , great tv cable large shower hair dryer robe The breakfast every morning was special Travelling alone I felt at home The staff went out of their way

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    8.8
    The staff, everyone of them was, extremely helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff, everyone of them was, extremely helpful and friendly. Anything we asked for or about was explained or gotten as requested. They went above and beyond to make our stay very comfortable!!

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    8.8
    Nice property, very welcoming staff and owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In my opinion dinner was a bit too expensive what was offered.

    Nice property, very welcoming staff and owner. Nice touches such as a check list for things to do in Cape town, local cell phone to take along on your trips

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    the staff are incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    the staff are incredible! I have never in all my travels experienced such lovely, hospitible hosts, Nothing was too much trouble, they have literally thought of everything. The place is just beautiful too. Location was great, rooms incredible - I would not stay anywhere else.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: