Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Blue Jay Lodge 4 stars

Blue Jay Lane, 1242 Hazyview, South Africa

#2 of 17 B&Bs and Inns in Hazyview

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 166 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful time in hazyview
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful quiet place run by very nice couple who helped us with everything we needed and more. The breakfast was great and the rooms are clean and beautiful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Premium I paid did not meet expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a local I was hoping for "a magnificent subtropical estate experience" in "a very unique setting" with "walkways meander past the main lodge" It was not what I expected - in suburbia of Hazyview as a local residential home. Was in a noisy suburb,

    Nice patio and room size but we that was in the price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    We spent two nights at Blue Jay Lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent two nights at Blue Jay Lodge. The rooms have a really beautiful style, they are very spacious with comfortable large bed. The garden that surrounds the rooms hosts several different plants and trees and makes the location really exotic. Breakfasts are excellent. Philip and his wife are very friendly and lovely people. They booked for us a safari trip at Kruger with an expert guide and they gave us good advice for our stay. highly recommended if you are going to stay in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Hosts are extremely friendly and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can get a bit noisy sometimes, but it's not a bother.

    Hosts are extremely friendly and informative. The Lodge is relaxing and the rooms are very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful B&B in Hazyview!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet was weak.

    The hot breakfast was perfect and on the days we had to leave early we were given a breakfast to go! We loved the beautiful, quiet setting yet it was very close to Kruger park and some great restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife and I went to Blue Jay as art of our Honeymoon, the hosts were excellent and took extra care of every need we had. I would definitely recommend this lodge to anybody. Phil and Margie made our stay worth while and we would love to return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay, easy access to the Kruger. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road leading to the property was not in great repair and the signage was a bit lacking. We initially had a bit of difficulty finding the place.

    Hosts were great and had a lot of recommendations for things to do in the area, and food recommendations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing, proximity to KNP and Blyde River Canyon, among other truly magnificent places in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Luxury Lodge
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gerda was replacing the owners and she was exceptionally knowledgeable and an really good host. The lodge also uses a company called Elephant Herd for tours and we were very pleased with their service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    My stay at Blue Jay Lodge was wonderful. Phil and Margi are very good hosts. They really make you feel at home. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast is amazing (at the balcony, with a beautiful view). The property is pretty close to Kruger National Park (10 minutes driving). I definitely recommend this place!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Please I want to come Back! ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    The lodge ia very close to Kruger Park - we spend 10 minutes driving. The propriety is wonderful and rooms are too big and very confortable. Brekfast was served on a balcony with a great view where you can enjoy nature. The breakfast produts are always fresh and very well prepaired. Finaly Phill and Margi are really good hosts. They are very kind and offer a lot of sugestions about roots and places to visit, that we have to follow!! Our stay was incredible

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Superb safe welcoming comfo place to stay and base yourself to visit Kruger and Blyde River Canyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot fault the hospitality, location, security or stay in general - not forgetting the beautiful breakfasts. The Hazyview location proved a perfect location for game parks and other really interesting attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay, would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Blue Jay Lodge is a beautiful place to relax and a perfect base to go to Kruger Park and the Blyde River Canyon. It is located a few minutes outside Hazyview, you will need a car to get here. There are no taxis in the area. The owners Phil & Margi couldn’t have done more for us. They organised our safari in Kruger with Elephant Herd excursions, who were fantastic. They recommended day trips, great restaurants and ensured everything was perfect during our stay. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I hope we can return and stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We relied on signage, but failed utterly. No signage until the very last minute. So GPS is essential to find this place. Overall the place could have done with a bit more attention to detail; also room was very stuffy. Had a so so view.

    The breakfast was really outstanding - suspecting that the owner might be a chef? The room was spacious, especially the bathroom. The lodge is also super close to Phabeni gate - but need to make sure it is not fully booked. Super comfy bed with mosquito net.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    One of the best guesthouses we stayed in during our seven week tour. Phil and Margi were very welcoming , full of advice and always ready for a chat and a glass of vino. Lovely room overlooking beautiful gardens, full of birdlife

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    The very best place to stay when you want to visit the Kruger Park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all.

    We were on cloud nine. The room was very very (almost too) large. We were in the Self-catering Luxury Lodge. The bathroom, kitchen, living room were so well equipped, we couldn't find anything missing there. The owners were extremely helpful, e.g. to recommend restaurants, shops, the best gate to get into Kruger Park, ... and they offered us a very nice wine on arrival. We felt really welcome! When we came 'home' from a whole day at Kruger Park, the lights in our room were on to welcome us. It was such a good and peaceful experience to stay at Blue Jay Lodge!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    We couldn’t have asked for more, Margie and Phil have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t have asked for more, Margie and Phil have been amazing hosts and we would come back or recommend to friends without any hesitation. Super close to Kruger and easy to get to from JBurg Airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to stay longer!

    Phil and Margi are great hosts-warm and friendly. Accommodation is stunning and breakfasts lovely. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Stunning rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little tricky to find in the dark.

    Very welcoming hosts who were knowledgeable about the area and directed us to an excellent restaurant. The rooms were stunning and well equipped.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodations near Kruger Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not applicable.

    Phil and Margi were excellent hosts - warm, friendly and engaging. The accommodations were very comfortable and our overall experience was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Simply superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Large, well furnished room, very comfortable bed with lovely bed linen, great bathroom, nice balcony with garden outlook, friendly and helpful hosts, excellent breakfast and lots of places to eat in close proximity. Added bonus is its only a very easy and quick drive to Phabeni Gate into the Kruger Park.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The surrounding place can get a bit noisy with music, which can either be a pleasure or pain depending on a person - we personally didn't mind.

    The room was big, have a natural feel and very clean. Big shower and bath. Great breakfast. And most importantly, we loved the hospitality of Phil and Margi. Great hosts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Very recomendable for a stay in Hazyview
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They said it may be sometimes difficult to find with some GPS Navigators but we found if fine with our free NavMii South Africa Navigator that we downloaded on our iPhone. Following Phil & Margi's instructions will surely also work but we recommend this free option too.

    Phil & Margi, the owners do really take care of you personally, from a personal welcome to cook breakfast for you every morning. Our room was fantastic with our own bath and a incredible design with a traditional African sealing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    The hosts, the location, the tranquility and the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it's ideal for a couples retreat, for people wanting a gateway to Kruger National Park

    The hosts, the location, the tranquility and the food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Amazing lodge and hosts !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge is well placed, very beautiful and authentic. The hosts were very nice and helpful in advising activities in Kruger park (safaris) but also outside the park. Would recommend to anyone looking for amazing lodge and various activities !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    A Good Choice near to Kruger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Luxury Lodge
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The approach up the lane was a bit daunting as recent rains had caused some damage but don't let that put you off. The bumpy ride was well worth it.

    Our hosts, Philip and Margi were super friendly and helpful And we enjoyed their company. Our lodge was roomy, comfortable and well equipped in a lovely garden setting. Very convenient for Kruger and the Blyde River Canyon.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    Highly reccommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi in the room is a bit unstable, the hosts explained to us that they pay per MB so it makes sense! :)

    Phil and Margie are excellent hosts! They made us feel very welcome. Rooms are lovely and very private.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    5.8
    Nice accommodation space but location to township lets it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Luxury Lodge
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise from the township over 4km away was pretty bad, nothing the owners could do but it definitely impacted the tranquility of the place. The pool is a plunge pool, not a swimming pool and is overlooked by all accommodation. The road accessing the property was also poor with limited signage to the gate - GPS wasn't enough. Mozzies were also abundant here because of the tree canopy environment so you need repellent for the entire time if you go outside. Lack of privacy lets this place down along with the location. We wouldn't return there sadly.

    The self catering facilities were excellent and Margi and Phil made us welcome. Cleanliness and environment was beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    10
    Grrat stay and trip advice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were exceptionally nice and helpful. They really took an interest in making sure we enjoyed our time at the lodge and our tour of Kruger. They also gave us great tips for a half day adventure before our trip back to Johannesburg.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent room and hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in fortunately raining, and there isn't really an area to sit outside and relax and keep dry

    The whole room was excellent- a lot of attention to detail

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.6
    Margi and Phil fabulous hosts, fantastic rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like !!!!

    Margi and Phil fabulous hosts, fantastic rooms and surroundings. Also the breakfast cooked to order was a big hit. They made us feel so welcome and nothing was a problem.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.9
    Ok for Kruger Park visit but shouldn't advertise for some unethical activites with animals !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Pool was dirty. - Very loud during the night (frogs in the pool next to our room) - But the thing that annoyed us the most is that the hotel is advertising for some unethical activities such as riding on elephants

    Good location Spacious room and comfortable beds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Absolutely perfect! A magnificent relaxation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved everything about our stay - our welcome by the friendly hosts, their help and suggestions of where to visit - everything was wonderful. We really enjoyed meeting Phil and Marji and would love to go back again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Very nice place to stay , very kind owners , I recommend...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place to stay , very kind owners , I recommend this place 👌 Thank you Philippe and Maud for the good service , were coming back xxx

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We experienced the warmest welcome and had an excellent stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Phil and Margie are great hosts, our room was spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phil and Margie are great hosts, our room was spacious and beautiful!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    A fair stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not of high standard with limited options.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Adventurers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very quite n friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice apartment, friendly hosts, good location close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice apartment, friendly hosts, good location close to Kruger, air conditioning, mosquito nets. Overall a nice experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Self Catering Luxury Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not have all the utensils to braai

    Very spacious, loved the braai and pool area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    perfect location in a beautiful settimg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Luxury Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    great property & the owners went out of their way to make you feel welcome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    A lovely stay in Hazyview!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely secluded accomodation Beautiful, spacious rooms Breakfast with lots of choices Very friendly owners

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Amazing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relax feeling and friendly staff and an amazing breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    2.9
    NO HOT WATER AT THE FIRST PLACE,WEAK WIFI,BAD BREAKFAST,LOUD...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO HOT WATER AT THE FIRST PLACE,WEAK WIFI,BAD BREAKFAST,LOUD NOICE AT THE NIGHT BECAUSE SOME PUB WAS PLAYING MUSIC.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Large, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy at night (loud music from nearby settlement).

    Location close to the Kruger Park, nice large rooms, excellent reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    What a blessed stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Friendly staff,everything you need.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Phil and Margi are genuine and extremely welcoming, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phil and Margi are genuine and extremely welcoming, helpful hosts The room outdid our expectations The location is lovely and tucked away, glorious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hosts, beautiful location/buildings/rooms, convenient location from which to visit Kruger. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    It was fulfilling and interesting experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine no complains

    It was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Luxury Lodge
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    really good place great hosts very helpfull

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    Great hosts!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phil was incredibly helpful with directions and dinner reservations. We highly recommend this beautiful place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.2
    Amazing and friendly owners! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting in the bathroom could be brighter. It was hard to see when trying to shave (or put on make-up)

    The owners were fantastic!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.5
    calmness, hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    calmness, hospitality

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad road, otherwise great. Very nice rooms, helpful staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    Great place on stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hospitality with friendly advice from Margi &Phillip.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    8.8
    Friendly welcome with far more pros than cons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room. No shaving / make up mirror.

    Spacious room. Good hosts.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    3.8
    The bed was comfortable, the rooms are nicely appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place was advertised as a up market lodge on booking.com, the reality is it is nothing but a glorified B&B. There is no view to talk of and the place is in small property in a dodgy area of Hazyview close to the squatter camp. The bedrooms look out over the main residence. The roads to the lodge are shocking and the drive way is a nightmare. There are no suitcase racks to put our cases down. The area the lodge was in was very noisy, neighbours were angle grinding while we tried to eat breakfast. The place is over priced for what you get and the location.

    The bed was comfortable, the rooms are nicely appointed. Welcome bottle of wine.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hosts and great access to the Kruger Park — 15min to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hosts and great access to the Kruger Park — 15min to the Phabeni gate and access to two more gates, not too far away, gives you a flexible routes within the Kruger Park.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    10
    Phil and Margie were very friendly and very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Phil and Margie were very friendly and very nice. Had we known that they would us help with the local booking of tours we would have contacted them more.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    10
    Truly excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only complaint is that there were technology (satellite tv and credit card machine) issues during our stay. But, this was no fault of the resort.

    Truly excellent!!! Personalized service. Margie personally fixed breakfast for us. Owners had very good deal on prearranged tour of Kruger.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    10
    We had a tremendous stay at Blue Jay Lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a tremendous stay at Blue Jay Lodge. Hosts Phil and Margi welcome you personally and the love and dedication they put in their efforts to ensure you have a wonderful holiday, is infinite. Whether it is organising your Safari in Kruger or preparing you a delicious breakfast. They also hold a daily open bar in the afternoon on their veranda and this really is a nice opportunity to hear one of their great stories. The superb facilities and accommodation, including jungle sounds, makes this a place we would highly recommend to all travelers.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    9.6
    Phil and Margi welcome you like family, offer advice on all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Phil and Margi welcome you like family, offer advice on all aspects related to the area , could find nothing not supplied in the accommodation. Would go nowhere else in the Hazyview area.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Margo and Phil welcomed us with a cold beer and a glass of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Maybe the frogs which were noisy but that's how it is in the bush

    Margo and Phil welcomed us with a cold beer and a glass of white wine. This was already a good sign ;). Then we discovered a great lodge, fully equipped. Perfect start for our trip and some rest after the long flight and drive

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.2
    Very beautiful, clean and spacious room (Lourie Suite),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very beautiful, clean and spacious room (Lourie Suite), really well equipped with everything we could possibly need. Nice garden and very friendly and attentive hosts.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Staying at Blue Jay is an amazing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we only stayed 2 nights. Would have loved to have stayed longer.

    Staying at Blue Jay is an amazing experience. The garden surrounds are stunning. The rooms are extremely comfortable with everything you need & look out over the pool & garden. Phil & Margie were great hosts & could not do enough for us. Awesome breakfasts by "dentist" chef Phil!

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.2
    Very nice guesthouse, comfortable rooms, in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi is slow.

    Very nice guesthouse, comfortable rooms, in a "tropical" environment. Small swimming pool available. Tour in the Kruger park can be organized by the host. Day tour can be easily done by ourselves. Night tour is a great experience but can only be done with Kruger Park guides, with prior reservation possible through the guesthouse.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    10
    The hosts were welcoming and warm, and ready to help in any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hosts were welcoming and warm, and ready to help in any way they could. The property was lovely, well-kept, clean, beautifully furnished, quiet and comfortable. Well situated for Kruger park and the Panorama route.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    9.6
    Outstanding hosts with a hands on approach and an eye for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing that we didn't like

    Outstanding hosts with a hands on approach and an eye for detail make you feel like you are in your own home. Spacious and nicely designed private rooms, excellent breakfast, tranquil gardens. Would definitely stay at the Blue Jay again if the opportunity arises.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    9.6
    Friendliness and helpfulness of the owners,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendliness and helpfulness of the owners, Room comfort and beauty of the hotel, Location near the Kruger National, Partnerships with efficient tourist activities.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    That bed??!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That bed??!!! AMAZING! Such a beautiful property and our hosts, Phil and Margie, made us feel so comfortable and welcome!

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    9.6
    Curtains in room don't quite close properly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Curtains in room don't quite close properly.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    10
    Absolute great hospitality, loved every minute of our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolute great hospitality, loved every minute of our stay and lovely sundowners chats :-)

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    10
    Owners were very friendly and helpfull and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!! All ok!

    Owners were very friendly and helpfull and the room was awesome, same as breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    8.3
    Hospitality, comfort and a breakfast to die for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, location, location... Besides the garden...

    Hospitality, comfort and a breakfast to die for...

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    10
    WONDERFULL ROOM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THE ENTRANCE TO THE PARKING IS DIFFICULT

    WONDERFULL ROOM. FRIENDLY HOSTS

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Lovely rooms with great ensuite bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely rooms with great ensuite bathroom. Very helpful and friendly owners

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: