Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bluebottle Guesthouse

18 Mount Road, 7945 Muizenberg, South Africa

#4 of 7 B&Bs and Inns in Muizenberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 97 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Muizenberg reloaded
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a high number of steps to climb to get to the property as it is too steep for road access. So plan your day carefully.

    Fantastic views over the sea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    I love the homey feeling and the cosy atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    I love the homey feeling and the cosy atmosphere. Megan made us definitely feel at home. We felt so at ease. We loved the hearing the waves of the ocean which made it extra special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    We are looking forward to coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communication about the drinks and sweets in the kitchen was not well communicated. You actually not being told that you will pay for them when you check out

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    amazing views, wonderful hostess and 5 star bedroom, my only regret is not staying longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    many steps to climb to access the property

    my Host Megan, was absolute pleasure, professional, kind and more than willing to help make my stay wonderful. Megan is a good cook and an ace photographer . I felt relaxed, safe and the views are amazing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    I loved the personal touches like the welcome message with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the personal touches like the welcome message with my name on it. The host was extremely friendly and the place was as beautiful as it is in the pics as advertised and the view was truly amazing. I would highly recommend this awesome place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Magnificent views, but not accessible to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs and access to the property. No access for paraplegics and no mentions thereof on the internet. Also not suitable if you have health issues as there's more than 100 steep steps to climb to get to the place.

    The views from the balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Owner very kind and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating nor a/c, too cold inside the room. Long stair to reach the house, to be taken in consideration.

    Owner very kind and friendly. Beautiful house.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.3
    130 steps 😳
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too close to little kitchen. Tv makes it too noisy - My view was obscured by a building - room smelt of food cooked in little kitchen

    Dee was awesome !!!!! So productive and lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Excellent guesthouse and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 99 stairs to reach the guesthouse..could be small problem with your large bags. However it 100%worth as the view is excellent !!

    Location is on the hill..Large homy bedroom with terrace overlooking the beach. The fresh made breakfast are delicious and staff (Dee) is very nice! Bravo!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely guesthouse with spectacular views, but caution: > 99 stairs to reach it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The description on the web page should mention that the hotel is not actually on a road and can only be accessed by a very significant set of stairs from the street below!! The following note is included in the booking confirmation: "Please note that a long set of stairs leads from the road up to the guesthouse". But this is too little too late and is easily missed (and we missed it). Fortunately, we are just able-bodied enough to make it up the 100 odd stairs but suitcases can be a problem!

    - The lady who was running the guesthouse (not the owner) was ever so helpful and very efficient when it came to serving excellent breakfasts for the many guests - Views from the rooms and balconies are fantastic (though the balconies are shared) - Spacious, comfortable room - Found a lively bar/restaurant, called Tiger's Milk, with excellent food, about a 10 minute walk away

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful views but steep steps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hauling luggage up the 99 steep steps was burdensome, but part of the charm of the property. Also, best to call before you arrive to make sure someone is there to let you in. We arrived at 16:00 and had to wait 30 minutes for staff to return to let us into the property.

    The views of the ocean and the town from the deck off the top floor were stunning. Dee's breakfasts in the morning were delicious!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    3.8
    Great place for youngsters
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was lead to believe there was parking. Didn't realise it was in the street. Being a business trip I had a lot of valuables in my car and all had to be taken up the stairs. I did notify Dee that we'd be arriving after dark. I was astounded by the long staircase and total lack of lighting. I also found the signage very poor for the evening. Although the beds were fairly comfortable the pillows were really worn. We were 2 adults and a child, booked accordingly and received 2 towels only for the night. I found the shower and toilet super small. I was taken aback by the staff member on duty. I didn't feel particularly welcome. In retrospect I'd like to say that had I known about the parking and steps I would not have stayed at Bluebottle Guesthouse.

    Don't recall be served croissants. I loved the view and the fresh sea air.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Like Japanese Service Level
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is fine, but for elder people, they must accept to climb up over 100 steps from the road where to park a car.

    Everything is fantastic. Owner is so kind with good hospitality. This accommodation gives you a nice memory of Muizenberg. and the service level is like Japan, so sophisticated. We highly reccommend you to stay and R900 for a night with family is worth spending.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    A little gem at the top of the stsirs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some hair in the bathroom.

    Amazing view, very comfortable bedding, lovely friendly staff, great breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely manager and knowledgeable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs

    The comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Cozy, comfortable, great sea views and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street parking and too many stairs to walk to get to the property

    Cozy, comfortable, great sea views and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic service; thoughtful and beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fanastic service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Short but enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs & no Dstv.

    Comfortable environment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    It is cosy, home away from home feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is cosy, home away from home feel. It is cental and safe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs to get there lol

    Absolutely amazing view Good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Views and staff are excellent
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk and steps are a bit too much

    Views and staff are excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access via staircase only comprising in excess of 100 steps along a mountain slope.

    .....excellent views, comfortable accommodation, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    awesome stay.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    steps haha

    great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    Will return for next stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tv in the room but tv in public lounge area only.

    All good no problem at all lovely view walking distance to many facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Incredible place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place with lively people and incredible view!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The Bluebottle guesthouse was amazing. Very spacious and nice rooms. Close to town and the beach!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Excellent view, beautiful homely feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and view was superb

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.5
    Clean, comfortable and great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is to light at night. The curtains does not cover the full glass sliding door.

    Dee was very friendly and breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Just a big THANKS to Dee, Patricia, Tanryne and Andrew for the hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going up on stairs while carring my kids and when coming back from a long outside day 😂

    Nice breakfast and all varieties 👍🏼

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.9
    The view, breakfast, the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs

    The view, breakfast, the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, amazing location and very friendly host! We even booked an extra night.. :) We would love to come back one day!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Friendly, peaceful B&B, with views over Muizenberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, peaceful vibe and extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    5.8
    131 stairs, like really?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hated walking up the stairs so much that I left in the morning and only came back at night to sleep.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very small

    Friendly service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Wonderfull!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    The entire stay was great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    What a good night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs...and there was no complimentary biscuits

    Beds comfy,nice homey vibe

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    Place to relax and enjoy!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extraordinary sea view from breakfast room and from guest rooms. Very nice people. Feels like home!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.2
    Liked everything, except the steps were tiring.
    • Solo traveller

    The steps. The sliding doors' glass in the bedroom was not clean - some dog-licks.

    Liked everything, except the steps were tiring. Apart from which, it was very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    10
    I really admired the location and the overlooks.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The stairs was very provoking from the onset but later found it very useful to enhancing a healthy active lifestyle.

    I really admired the location and the overlooks.The area is quiet peaceful and adorable

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    10
    The views as everyone mention are amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The views as everyone mention are amazing !!!! The room are beautiful and unique ! Taney and Andrew are so helpful and friendly ! Definitely would stay there again Muizenberg is funky and great beginners surf what more could you want

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    10
    Extra comfy bed, very hot water, clean towels, fresh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Walking up the stairs after running two ocean marathon

    Extra comfy bed, very hot water, clean towels, fresh breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    9.6
    Everything but Air-con plus free adaptor lol
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Will be better if there's air-con in the room

    Everything but Air-con plus free adaptor lol

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    Up the hill, great view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Up the hill, great view Real hospitality from staff very big and clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    9.2
    Comfortable and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No plug near the desk for laptop

    Comfortable and friendly

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    9.2
    Relaxed family home with children and dogs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only the 131 steps up the the door!

    Relaxed family home with children and dogs. Made to feel very welcome. Good value for money

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: