Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge

9 Portswood Road, Victoria & Alfred, Waterfront, 8002 Cape Town, South Africa

#117 of 172 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1561 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    Very satisfied with room and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Lighting poor for reading in bed. No shower door or curtain Beds not that comfortable when compared to Oude Werf in Stellenbosch Aircon did not appear to be working

    Location and parking. We always try to stay at the Breakwater Hotel when we are in Cape Town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is in great location, close safe walking distance to shops, restaurant & tourist info
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed for 2 people is too small, queen size is preferable.

    Walking proximity to V&A waterfront. 2 levels meant no waiting for lifts and stair access. Free carpark Cannot rate food as did not eat in hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights and unfortunately they said there is only one room in the actual dates (for.my colleague) and the other room (in my name) is available only in the coming week . Then I had to call the booking.com to clear this. Later When I checked in and entered my room, there was a welcome letter addressed in my name on the actual date I had booked. So I understand it's a clear mistake from the hotel booking staff.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay at the Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The lack of a flexible shower (as it was permantly fitted on the wall) The view from the room The distance between the room and the elevator (~ 80 m)

    Comfortable bed Spacious room Location (5 mins from the waterfront!)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was beautifully clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was the bathroom which was a glass cubicle in the room so a somewhat lack of privacy.

    The hotel was beautifully clean. The staff were very friendly and the location was brilliant, a stone's throw from the V&A Waterfront.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    5.0
    The room was really small and the bed was too short for both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really small and the bed was too short for both my wife and I. Wifi signal was erratic and slow, and no breakfast included. Its a great area and accommodation is expensive in the V&A dock area, but I'd recommend spending a bit more and getting a bit more. The room was clean and adequate, but poor value given the price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location and pleasant rooms
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My shower was unusable, reported to front desk. Not fixed or moved. For this price, the room should have a shower that works!

    Great location and pleasant rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Well located, with quiet rooms and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The admin at this hotel is disastrous. We booked through booking.com and this was a lot better than the hotel's own website which we used last time, but there were still hitches. A few days before we arrived, they charged my card for 1 nights stay as expected, but when we arrived, they did not charge a deposit on the card for the rest of the stay. Then on day two, we get a letter asking me to contact reception which I did and was asked for the credit card reservation which should have been done on check-in, which I did. Come day three, we got a call to ask again for the same deposit! We really should not have had to go to reception after check-in! The staff all along were really friendly, its just the process and systems that are inefficient and do not aid them in their duties. I also wanted to pre-reserve breakfast so that the process was simpler in the morning. This option was not available on the website (their own or any third party), so after booking, I called the property and asked for breakfast to be added. They told me this was not possible and they did not do breakfast inclusive bookings (?). However, the restaurant does have a long list of rooms that did have breakfast included! Still trying to work out how to prepay and get onto that exclusive list! Despite these hitches though, we had a really great stay.

    The property is excellently located - it is a very short walk to the V&A Waterfront so that you can go out and enjoy supper (at a wide variety of restaurants) and a few drinks without having to drive back. It is also very close to the major freeways into Cape Town. Our rooms were above the old prison - very spacious and quiet, so we had a really great sleep. The sitting area was also nice to relax after a day of site seeing. The breakfast as always was excellent - wide selection and all good quality. It isn't cheap but the price is in line with other similar hotels

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really though the fact that you walk through the GBS to get to the restaurant could be stated more directly.

    Room was OK . Up grade meant that we were not in a small space

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location and very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t very big and wasn’t regularly serviced. Noisy as you can hear guests through go walls.

    Location near V & A water front allowed me to walk there day or night. The restaurant was good and not expensive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent position for a short stay in Cape aTown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy bed. Very friendly and helpful staff , always ready to book things for us or run out with an umbrella in the rain. Delicious breakfast at Stonebreaker

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    HORRENDOUS HOTEL
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is the worse hotel I have stayed in in my life. I will NEVER stay there again and shall NEVER recommend it to anyone. The staff is rude and not helpful at all , the facilities are dreadful. Just an awful experience all round!

    Walking distance to V&A and this is the only thing going for this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.0
    Tiny freezing rooms but niceness location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was freezing in the hotel. We went to Cape Town in September and were hoping to warm up inside of the room after freezing weather - but it was cold in all the premises. The rooms are extremely small and the water in the shower is either very cold or extremely hot. At some point a lamp in the bathroom blew up and we were lucky we weren’t inside it at the moment. Hotel stuff replaced the bulb the same day though. It was impossible to book an appointment in the spa

    The hotel is in the Waterfront - very convenient. The gym has nice equipment (but very small).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a couple of very minor issues that required maintenance, but nothing that impacted on our comfort.

    The location was fantastic, and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    The set up of the rooms and hotel was very different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The set up of the rooms and hotel was very different. There was not a sitting area with sofas only 2 bedrooms. It didn’t fit a family even though the location was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Not perfect but reasonable value and handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A better response to our complaint about cold showers on day one, eg. try using the blue mark for hot and the red for cold on the mixer tap (go figure); despite working it out, still having a tepid shower at 3am on day 4. Having only two sets of towels for 3 guests on arrival and having only one set on day two!! Also note that the breakfast room is a considerable distance away from the accommodation area and there was no restaurant available for evening meals due to renovations.

    Very comfortable bed, separate bedrooms and segregated spaces for shower and toilet in our family room, good sized safe, very good breakfast selection and delightful staff at breakfast. Probably the best thing though was the location and ability for us (3 women) to safely walk to the V&A Waterfront during the day and evening. Interesting building as it’s an old gaol.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Was a wonderful stay and would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pity we couldn't bath due to the water crisis but this was not in the hotels control. All rooms booked at the same time through booking.com but not all rooms included breakfast and this was not an option given so this was disappointing and not sure who was at fault.

    Food was absolutely wonderful. Rooms was nice and comfortable. Showers is nice and big and has a lot of room. Beds very very comfortable and has more than enough room to sleep on.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Great location, but rooms so small that it was uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a family room with four single beds, which were incredibly small. It was really just four beds and two tiny desks. We could not even find a proper place for the suitcases and had to put them on the desks. There was also no way to spend time together in the room, we had to sit on two beds in one part of the room. Really only suitable for if you only want to sleep there.

    The location was stunning, just a few minutes walk to the VA waterfront. Staff was also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Great location for V & A Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a deluxe suite. Very roomy. Good location to access Waterfront. Nice view in the mornings. Excellent breakfast. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay, the breakfast and dinner as we had it from the hotel restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for accommodation including breakfast in advance but I was made to pay again even though I was refunded when check out on departure. I was not happy about it. Secondly being a member I was expecting to be accommodated in a suit but it was not the case.

    The location of the property. The view of the Table Mountain from my room. The cleanliness of the property and hospitality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location for Cape Town attractions especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast location was a bit far from main hotel. Frosted glass door in shower room and toilet did not give sufficient privacy as too see through, especially if you have teenagers and adults sharing. Family rooms were very small with no space for suitcases.

    Perfect location for Cape Town attractions especially the Hop On Hop Off bus. Staff were really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    It's a great place and worth staying at.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Include more variety of teas, like the ginger, lemon and strawberry flavored ones in the room.

    It's a great place and worth staying at. Historical background is amazing too. I love the extra touch of having an iron in the room, worked well especially since i forgot my own.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    The location was perfect , easy to get the hop on hop off...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect , easy to get the hop on hop off bus , and to the waterfront . Staff were friendly and so efficient. Stonebreakers Restaurant was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    Safe place to sleep near the waterfront with good wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny room, very overpriced for what it was, photos had loked luxurious but it was more like budget

    Location convenient and they allowed us to continue parking after we checked out

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Short and sweat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t get to stay in the converted prison. Actual hotel is just a chain. Standard quality and facilities. Nothing special, just does what it says on the box.

    Location location location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Accommodating staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a wee bit cluttered. Several sports teams were in the hotel creating a great deal of noise. I might suggest placing them all in one wing on the next occasion.

    Accommodating staff, great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, clean but extremely small layout of room/bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When the other nearby rooms opened/closed their doors, our own door also shook loudly. The bathroom door could not even open completely due to lack of space (opening against toilet), that made it hard to enter and exit bathroom.

    Great location, safe walking distance to V&A, room/bathroom layout very small.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a bit small, space to move in front of the beds area issue. With small children, this could be issue, should better disclose the rooms layout....but was great stay! Would visit again for sure! Directions to the V& A waterfront not clear...could improve signage.

    The location of the hotel are perfect! Close proximity to the Waterfront, Good Parking spaces. Staff are friendly, clean and well kept hotel. Very good experience and will stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Awesome Place by the Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are two other Protea hotels nearby so it can be confusing for tour agencies to know exactly which hotel to pick you up at.

    I was upgraded to a junior suite and was given a complimentary late checkout for 4 pm. Awesome! The hotel is an old prison so the layout is a bit quirky. It is also shared facilities with the graduate business school so you can get turned around a bit. Breakfast was good and the staff was quite helpful. It's close to the V&A Waterfront and highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice near Waterfront!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was a bit bent, like a banana, so we were both "rolled" to the middle of the bed. Not good for back pains. Breakfast was a bit crowded sometimes so it was difficult to get a table, since they have students from the University living there.

    The hotel is very well located and the staff was super kind and helpful. Upon arrival, since the hotel was going thru some construction and it was off-season, they gave us an upgrade for a bigger room and a 20% discount for the spa which was a nice gesture. I booked the rejuvenating package and my therapist was Yaya, it was excellent. I would definitely recommend it. Breakfast was abundant and had lots of options to choose from.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Hard to beat location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location near the Waterfront restaurants and other activities. Very interesting history of the building, having been a prison in the past. Great room design and size, the decor was excellent. Food at breakfast was excellent too. Very helpful front desk staff - thank you to Glen for sorting out the room booking mix up.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Great location, helpful staff, very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room size small but decor and cleanliness excellent

    Loved the location, easy walking to the V and A Waterfront, loved the quirky set up of the hotel in an old prison building with an active graduate school of business as part of the property. Our room was quite small, adequate if you were out all day, but a bit too compact for two people. It did have a great view of Table Mountain, and the surrounding area. The breakfast buffet was great and the service excellent at the front desk and in the restaurant. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Good Location. Small rooms. "Hostel-like"
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very friendly staff. (Except Restaurant) Kind of a solution between Hotel and Hostel...Very suitable for the short stay.

    Great location, good breakfast, clean rooms....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Great location for easy 10 min walking access to waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room doors do not have muffling to prevent loud noise when being closed. Very annoying hearing the doors banging when in the room.

    Great location for easy 10 min walking access to waterfront.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little firm for my liking, but I’m sure some people would absolutely love it!

    Excellent buffet breakfasts, incredibly friendly staff! The location is also excellent for walking to the waterfront or getting a quick ride to the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not efficient lighting in room - quite dark and the room is a bit small

    Staff very professional and friendly - very helpful specially Eugene - shuttle service very efficient - very nice breakfast! - secure and spacious parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    I am not sure if it a problem with Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not sure if it a problem with Booking.com or the Hotel. The photo and advertisement indicated a room with a view and at special requests we also added that we need a room with view. Upon our arrival we were so disappointed with the room as there were no view - well courtyard view. Our guest from New York was truely not happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay very close to the V&A
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toolet anf shower doors a bit see thru with a gap. Not good for family with older teenage boys.

    Great having two rooms. Beds were super comfortable. Excellent location in walking distance from the V&A. Friendly staff. Good wifi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, family rooms were small but enough for a family of 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    we stayed for 7 nights, 2 of those nights we asked for ice that never came. We knew better next time to get it ourselves at the front desk.

    Really good location at the V&A Waterfront area, very safe surroundings. Bonus that the hotel building had some history to it--it used to be the Breakwater Prison! We did not get spooked at all, even with 2 kids under 12.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Reception staff were very good at their job, Wanda was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too small for 2 people!

    Reception staff were very good at their job, Wanda was extremely helpful, thank you for all your help. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Astonishing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were nothing that we've disliked about this hotel,it was amazing!!!

    It was a 4 night stay for my fiance and myself. Firstly the staff were extremely friendly on both arrival and departure, secondly the hotel is central to almost everything with a 2 minute walk to the V&A waterfront (convenience). Our room exceeded our expectations and the bed was incredibly comfi!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a convenient, safe, friendly staffed, great food,super clean and great value for money hotel. I would like to thank Eugene Henriks for making our stay special as well as all the staff who were on the shifts between 7-10 May 2018!!! You guys are amazing!!! :):)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, a few meters from V&A.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we had a great time during our 3-day stay.

    Excellent location, a few meters from V&A. They gave us a free upgrade so we had a nice and big bedroom. Staff was very nice and kind, willing to help. Would definitely stay there again and recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can improve on the breakfast, add less buttery and non sugar coated croussants.

    Located short walking distance to VA Waterfront. Block C , had partial sea view and table mountain view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location and friendly staff. Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door leading to patio in room 3102 was very hard to open and close. The shower door either didn't seal properly or perhaps the height of the shower head needs adjusting so the water doesn't spray out the cubicle. Just maintenance issues that they would be able to sort out easily I'm sure.

    The location was very good. Could walk to v&a if needed. Breakfast was top class. Block C can be found after walking through a building that has lecture theatres etc. Perhaps specify if you want to stay in the main hotel building which is Block A.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The family room was too small, no space to keep the suitcases. And for 2 rooms there was only 1 bathroom and 1 toilet which was very inconvenient. The rooms were also not cleaned properly. The staff were too noisy early in the morning with no concern for the guests.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Dissapointing. Expected more based on the pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Family room is not very spacious. Bad design. Difficult if you have lots of luggage Bathroom design is terrible. No shower door so all the water runs onto the floor.

    Location of the hotel near the V&A Waterfront

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a really bad end to a a good holiday, we should have stayed in Franschhoek

    Nothing, we booked a double family room after looking at your website which misrepresents your brand. The room was so small we couldn’t even move past each other. I then complained and we were moved to a business suite which had a double bed and a sleeper couch which defeated what we wanted originally but at least we could move around. We went to breakfast in the morning and were told it wasn’t included in the rate only after we had eaten ! I could have booked next door at the Commodore and got a better room and service We will never use a Protea Horel again and probably not Booking.com either

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Best value across V&A waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small but comfortable.

    You can't find a better location at this price. It is literally cross the steer V&A waterfront. If you travel with car this is your best option. If you want your kids in a separate bedroom at no extra charge this is your place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Price was better than other hotels in the area; room very comforatable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, really.

    Location was good, close to V&A waterfront (tourist area) and within walking distance (1-2 kilometers) of museums near Company's Garden. Very good restaurant on the property. Nicely decorated with pretty gardens and views. They arranged for car to take us to and from the airport--twice--meaning that we did not have to deal with this on our own.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    The location at V A Waterfront was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The problem was the stairs to get down to the Waterfront area. We could not find an elevator to the street. My wife has some walking difficulties. Also, until we got used to it, our room was distant to the main office, and a University Graduate School was in between. A small map would have helped.

    The location at V A Waterfront was excellent. Breakfast at the restaurant was also excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellant and we wish to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing we found to not like.

    The staff we friendly and helpful. Nice and quiet as away from the waterfront but only a 5 minute walk away. Its is just the otherside of the road from the aquarium and the sightseeing office and bus stop. Not a luxury hotel but it does not advetise itself as one. We were very pleased to stay there and would happily go back if we get the chance to have another fantastic stay in Cape town. We did not use the resatruant as we went out for both breakfast and supper.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are cramped and the washrooms even more

    Fantastic location close to the waterfront , the aquarium and rather well located if you want to get away from capetown as well. Old world charm since its a jail renovated .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.5
    This was definetely not worth the money we pay.
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobody routed us to the restaurant so we did not even see it. Next morning when we book out we been told to pay an extra money for the parking. When we book in nobody mentioned to us that the parking is extra. I believe that something should have been mentioned on the website that the power of Cape Town will be off for the whole day. Very poor

    The fact that it is close to the Waterfront and the cleanliness of the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good in all aspects
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay would have been perfect except booking taxi for airport was not carried out at correct time.After half hour wait for booked taxi we had to walk to nearest taxi rank. This put us under pressure for making flight.

    Location excellent,very high standard in all aspects room, food,service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay while we waited the join a cruise ship.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that we did not like.

    The bed was certainly very comfy. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Only used the restaurant once but the food was well cooked and presented. The hotel is situated adjacent to the Oceanarium and a short walk from the V&A.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    Not the best experience for a Marriott
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were tiny, couldn't properly fit our luggage in and had to often squeeze around them. There were no room chillout areas so you would only be paying to sleep in them after your return from the waterfront which means your obligated to go out. Getting through the room door was a challenge to, very small door to squeeze your luggage through. The hotel lists 'a bar' but I wouldn't go that far, it was more an add-on to the restaurant which was closed upon my arrival. A nice proper bar with outside seating after the restaurant closes would have been better than a restaurant with outside tables closed off. whats wrong with using one of the 'lounges' for a bar facility? its already got the views which can help you relax better. I wasn't a fan of the fact you need to walk through a business school to reach the restaurant building. I'm thankful we visited on the weekend as I couldn't imagine the awkward feeling of walking through classes during the week would be one I would not want to experience. The toilets and shower felt more like a bolt on to the room after it was built instead of part of the room overall, you could hear people outside and they could hear you which isn't great when using the facilities. The 'frosted glass' that you could see through and around was kind of impersonal especially as I was travelling with my partner and her mother.

    The Location was fantastic, the staff were great and the spa facilities were worth the experience. The hotel was clean and offered on location parking. The food in the restaurant was very nice, the chef knows how to cook for sure. Despite the drought, the shower was really good for the time we were able to use it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.8
    Location (walking distance to Waterfront)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not meeting Marriott’s standards Hard to have basic requests satisfied (adaptor, conditioner) Housekeeping left the window open twice for the whole day (not ideal when your room is at 1st floor) Family room (accomodate 4 people) does not have enough space to open more than 1 luggage a time

    Location (walking distance to Waterfront)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Great location ..... comfortable room and a breakfast to start your day
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a glass bottle of water which is so much better than plastic. Unfortunately twice it was removed and not replaced. That was the only disappointment.

    The location was fantastoc and close to all of the activities of the waterfront. Wonderful breakfast at a good price set you up for the day. Very comfortable room. Stayed in one night after a full day of sightseeing ....ordered in room dining. .... it was one of the best prosciutto pizzas I have had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    3.3
    The location to the V&A waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a very odd layout for a family room with nowhere to sit! The beds are not a double bed size, very difficult to share. The toilet and shower room where an odd set up although they were clean. The floor was dirty as soon as you stepped out of the shower your feet were dirty again! If you get stuck in a room in any of the ‘corners’ they’re noisy especially near the gym! It was a very unpleasant stay, it is most certainly not a leisure hotel, or one that I will be visiting again.

    The location to the V&A waterfront

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good location just a few steps from Cape Town Aquarium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff. Drinking water was provided free of charge, as well as plug adapters. Very clean. Very silent, our room was adjacent to the elevator, but it did not disturb at all. We did not try the breakfast buffet because of lack of time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location, would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was too cold & temperature could not be adjusted. On our second stay, we were allocated a room overlooking a building site and we requested to be moved to another room, which the staff arranged.

    Location was great. Good shuttle service to the airport. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    The chef (excellent special omelet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front of house service was mixed. We cancelled a Dr’s appointment but sadly the Dr still turned up. No real lounge facility and lacking ambience.

    The chef (excellent special omelet!) and breakfast team were accommodating but service quite slow. Our youngest son was ill and the team did their best to help out. Gym was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything that I didn’t like!

    We loved the location of the property! It was only a short walk to the Waterfront, where there were numerous restaurants, shops and activities to get involved with. The rooms were clean, functional and very comfortable, and the staff were extremely helpful - especially Suzanne, who helped us organise our sightseeing tours!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was already closed at 23.30 in the evening when we arrived.

    Very nice and spacious room. Clean and good beds! Nice staff! Close to the water front.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    Family room blues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms about 15m2, with 2 single beds only, no double bed for couple. Feeling of claustrophobia! One single cupboard for clothes , no place to put baggage. Coffee was not topped up in mornings.AC controls not user friendly .

    Keen price for family room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Thank you! Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit confusing with hotel on both sides of old prison. Not part of actual old prison building.

    Had one of newly refurbished rooms. Well done! Lots of space and very well laid out! Very close to V&A. Staff friendly and professional. Ample on site parking with security.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Worked well for us overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel set up a ride to the airport and it did not show. We took an Uber and that worked fine however.Our room was near the lobby and people were talking early in the morning when I wanted to sleep. Maybe put a quiet zone sign up near those front rooms.Worked well for us overall.

    Location, cleanliness, cafe

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    Met our needs location wise but on the whole was an expensive disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom fans did not work in an enclosed bathroom.

    We stayed at the Protea Breakwater Lodge pure for location, which was great. However, it was not (by far) the best example of a Marriott Hotel. Staff were mixed, some more helpful than others. I had to call to confirm airport pick up as no response to 2 emails. One front desk staff, Glen, was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    The location and the on-site parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window frame catches were ill fitting and we therefore we couldn't close the windows. As a result we experienced some traffic noise.

    The location and the on-site parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Not bad but could be much better. There is a margin for improvement!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rented a double room and realized that both rooms were very small without a specific place to store my luggage. The restaurant is out of the hotel (around 65 meters away) and is a bit embarrassing that to eat something we have to come out of the hotel. I have ordered food at 10h00pm and staff answered that after this time no more food can be provided because we are closing. Asked for a sandwich and they denied that. So, if you want food after 10h00pm you should go to another place. Proce of Transfer service is very expansive if comparing with normal taxi services or uber. Paid 430 Zar from airport transfer and by normal taxi I have paid 250 Zar.

    Reception staff is proactive and attend very well the customers. Hotel is located very close of the must attractive shopping and tourists site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    We booked into the Breakwater Lodge the day that we arrived...
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We booked into the Breakwater Lodge the day that we arrived in Cape Town, after we deicided we were not going to be staying in out originally booked hotel (which was a disaster). The breakwater lodge was excellent. Very friendly and accomodating staff, lovely room, great breakfast with lots of fresh fruit (great for us vegans) and right beside the waterfront.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Should have been very good but let down by a very poorly designed room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a deluxe double but it was poor and all design over substance. Lighting in the room was appalling with just two small down lights for the whole room and two very small bedside lights. There we only two sockets in the room and they were not by the bed which was very inconvenient for charging mobile devices. The fully glazed bathroom gave little privacy and the only time you didn’t want to light the room up - going to the toilet in the middle of the night trying not to wake your partner - you couldn’t help but light the whole room up. I suggest the management team try spending a night in these rooms .....they may look nice but don’t deliver on the basics.

    Good location , helpful staff and a good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    I will definitely be staying here again. I highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we were meet by staff who went that extra mile and were super efficient! They went out of there way to make sure we had what we needed. The new suite was stunning and we were so happy we asked if we could return after our trip to Stellenbosch. Even on our second stay we were so impressed. The V&A Waterfront was so easy to walk to, so it’s in the perfect spot to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Location next to V&A Waterfront is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked 2 double beds but got 4 singles. We were only staying 1 night so didn't make a problem out of it. Rooms were very small.

    Location next to V&A Waterfront is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location for waterfront and this is what you are paying for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside lighting is very poor for reading! Restaurant waiting staff need more training and to be little faster laying tables and clearing away, Spanish waiting staff would run rings around them. Otherwise staff very pleasant.

    Bed was very comfy , housekeeping excellent, felt very safe in room at night

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: