Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brookes Hill Suites Hotel 3 stars

Brookes Hill Road, Off Beach Road, Summerstrand, 6013 Port Elizabeth, South Africa

#20 of 30 hotels in Port Elizabeth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 104 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    View.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast included was same everyday which became very boring. On those mornings when there was not a tour bus the breakfast was skimpy and mainly leftovers.

    View. Gate to street wasn't working the whole week and nothing was done about it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was very basic. Needing a new bed,as the bed was very uncomfortable.

    The location is excellent. The fact that the restaurant are in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.4
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we reserved 2 rooms, when we arrived the establishment had only captured a reservation for 1 of the rooms. They were not fully booked so they were able to give us a second room. We reported the faulty toilet in one of the rooms after we had checked in. They did not fix it during our 3 day stay.

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful views over the sea.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not like showering in the bath. Was messy. Water ran on floor and everything was wet.

    Beautiful views over the sea. Bed was very comfortable. Spacious room. Peaceful and quiet in the rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    The rooms cosy and good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I travelled with a 5 year old child. She does not shower at all. I could not bath her. I do understand the water restriction issues, however I called reception and pleaded my case. I still did not get a bath plug. I had to take my child to my parents house for a bath. There is a shower but there is no hair dryer in the room. One is left with wet hair .......

    The rooms cosy and good size. The bed and linen comfortable. The kitchenette is convenient and loved the idea of visiting next time and do my own cooking. Balcony with a beautiful view. The breakfast was on point.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    We had an enjoyable stay, the time was very short and will definitely come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked with bookings.com and the person assisting overlooked the special request to say we were having a 13 year old that should be provided. She had to sleep on a mattress and the bedding was not up to standard.

    Room having access to the garden, sea view and the fact that the beach is within a walking distance. One can watch the nearby activities whilst relaxing in the beauty of the garden. Room service even during the public holidays was surprising. Secured parking was the most relaxing fact to know that the vehicle is safe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Very nice, will be back definitely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was messy. Not nearly enough coffee and tea and milk. Breakfast, although well meant , had rancid orange juice and the dining room needs a refurbishment. Its old and tatty.

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room for improvement in the restaurant. If it is in the menu, it must be available, at least once in the seven days.

    Staff, smiles, location. Great place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Well worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If full parking could be a problem as they have permanent guests and also part the RCI time share so can get full, but that said we managed to get parking everyday. Pool can get full of kids and be noisy

    Rooms was clean and big with small kitchenette. Selected satellite channels on tv. Bed was comfy with aircon in room . Breakfast was good. Good restaurants close by within walking distance. Beach across the road

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    Great for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast choice is very limited. Shower in the bath system doesn't work well, particularly because the outside shower panel is immovable, making access to the tap very awkward. Bed linen is only changed weekly. It is right next to Happy Valley park which did get noisy from time to time.

    I enjoyed the lovely views I had of the ocean from the patio. A couple of the front desk staff were particularly responsive and helpful. Getting to the promenade was easy and I did enjoy the gardens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Perfect setting - lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to move to another room because there was a problem with the drains and we had a terrible smell in our room. Maybe maintenance could have a look into this problem. It is not nice to move to another room - but they were very helpfull and did apologize for the inconvenience.

    The beds were very nice as well as the pillows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much if u can just make ur rooms a bit warmer especially in winter, interms of aircon or eletric blankets.

    I enjoyed my stay there very much,perfect view and good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Hikers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Separate shower, rather than in bath

    Easily accessible off main road with secure on-site parking. Very clean and comfortable bedroom and bathroom, with great views over the Bay. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay - excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is ok - we walked to the surrounding restaurants. The breakfast was excellent - friendly staff. It was our second stay at this hotel. Will definitely stay there again when visiting family in P.E.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.4
    Not the best but adeqaute
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People smoked in the room before me despite it being a non=smoking room Horrible Shower/Bath Combo Aircon directly above the bed blows onto your head. Rooms in a dire need of update

    Proximity to the beach Great breakfast in the morning

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.1
    Short weekend stay in PE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchen drawer was stuck/damaged. The airport shuttle offered on the website is actually run via a private company, not the hotel itself. So they charge you extra for it, but they only tell you about that afterwards....

    The hotel is safe, clean and central, i.e. across the road from the beach, close to very good restaurants (La Kouzina, The Coachman) as well as Bayworld (go Saturday 11 am for animal feeding & interactions). The room was large with a kitchenette, balcony and aircon. Secure parking on premises, but not covered/shaded. I would stay there again due to the location...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    6.7
    Rooms slightly over priced but very comfortable and clean. Staff need service excellence training
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service from the one staff member

    The place was clean and comfy but the one guy at reception was unfriendly and lied to us saying that no rooms were available but we left and spoke with another guy and he gave us a room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.6
    Superb Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing i can think of.

    The Sea View that Balcony of Every Room Provides is just Superb. Location is Superb. Great Breakfast. Value for Money. Swimming Pool overlooking at the Sea. What more could you ask.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    A great experience to be repeated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Suggestion: A larger variety of cheese and cold meat for the breakfast buffet for guests preferring to make use of facilities at the hotel

    Location/ Staff helpful Cleanliness.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Great location facilities suited my requirements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location facilities suited my requirements

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Definitely stay there again.
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fabulous sea View and location was fantastic. We were lucky to get into a front room. Very comfortable and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Very helpful lady on reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful lady on reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    They were renovating the room next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They were renovating the room next door. For three days there was drilling , talking and banging.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Great position, nice sea views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1.Safe did not work. 2. Loud plumbing(water) noises from adjacent service duct.

    Great position, nice sea views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No much

    Most everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.2
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is limited and the facilities aren't good, seems to be broken in some cases. Don't worth the money paid

    The attendees are great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    Good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower

    Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    The treatment to your guest I wasn't happy the way I was...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms

    The treatment to your guest I wasn't happy the way I was treated on my arrival

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not ready by the time we artived

    Allowed Early check-in

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    All good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    All good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    2.5
    bad
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not free wifi because we have book for free wifi

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.7
    Staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Great location and facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Staff was courteous and responsive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Second night power went out in the area and there was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second night power went out in the area and there was not much communication with guests regarding when it would return,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    A pleasant enviroment. Very scenic beachfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Good customer service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bar was not well stocked - limited choice

    excellent value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good experience
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower tap at bath faulty

    fresh linen and excellent omellets

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    A bit pricy for type of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricy for type of hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Location, staff very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi signal poor. TV had poor picture. The safe is very low to reach

    Location, staff very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.0
    Enjoyable could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower pressure disgusting no toilet brush and light in kitchen not working Maintenance shocking!

    View from the the unit was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.4
    Will not stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old bathroom, carpets, plus in wall hanging loose.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.3
    Brookes Hill.location great.staff and services -can improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sausages and meat was quite dry as if it had been reheated a few times

    Coffee was tasty

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    4.6
    I need comfort that I was not double charged
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hope I did not pay double as they told me that my booking was cancelled and then they charged me at the counter.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Well situated to all amenities and with a sea view. Comfortably apppointed rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast included a good variety of food from which to select.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    10
    pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Enjoyed everything and all the food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Overall cleanliness, good breakfast served, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Wish my stay was longer it's home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendlyness of staff n thy welcoming

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    The presentation of the breakfast and staff was faultless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The presentation of the breakfast and staff was faultless.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shocking service from beginning to end

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    7.1
    Very nice clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The traffic!. This area of Port Elizabeth has a serious traffic problem. It's stressful.....the last thing you want when you're on holiday.

    Very nice clean hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    7.1
    Reception staff were a bit slow and not very forthcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Reception staff were a bit slow and not very forthcoming.On Arrival we were not informed that breakfast was included or where the dining area was.Also not very clear as to where the room was

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    5.4
    Leaving.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was left unlocked by house keeping on Wednesday. No aircon. No heating. No room safe. Not enough parking. Every morning I witnessed a number of cars parked in areas that were clearly not FOR parking. I had to physically move stacked furniture from a parking bay to make a space. When I checked out I told the receptionist that I was in room 256. He argued with me because the key was engraved 51. It looked like someone used tippex on the other side to paint 256 but was mostly illegible.

    Leaving.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    10
    The views over the sea front were magnificent and the pool...
    • Couple

    The views over the sea front were magnificent and the pool with these views was also in an attractive garden setting. The rooms were spacious, attractive and clean. All the staff were especially helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are a little dated and could do with an upgrade

    Friendly staff and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.1
    The place is comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have been better.Not much that we could eat as Muslims.Chef looked a bit untidy.

    The place is comfy.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    6.3
    poor shower should be separate from bath
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor shower should be separate from bath wifi coverage non existent in room price high for what you get

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    8.3
    No proper vehicle parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No proper vehicle parking

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    6.3
    The patio had a good ocean view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was terrible. The Bacon as well as the eggs were ice cold.

    The patio had a good ocean view

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    10
    General attitude is encouraging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The place is OLD. It could use some renovations

    General attitude is encouraging. Breakfast is out of this world. Bed linen is always clean and crisp

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.3
    Great location, awesome view.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No 2 pin plugs in rooms!

    Great location, awesome view. Rooms are very comfortable and a nice change from the regular commercial hotels!

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    4.2
    Nothing except the location and view!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    What was to like!

    Nothing except the location and view!

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    7.9
    WIFI was not free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI was not free

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: