Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bukela Game Lodge 5 stars

Amakhala Game Reserve, 6139 Amakhala Game Reserve, South Africa

#3 of 10 hotels in Amakhala Game Reserve

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 64 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bukela is an incredible property - we felt at home as soon as we arrived, and wish we could have stayed for more than 3 nights. The dining room and viewing platform were beautiful and cozy, and we loved spending the afternoon watching warthogs and giraffes drink from the watering hole. Our room was a beautiful luxury tent complete with a working fireplace, A/C and bathtub, and each and every staff member was accommodating and extremely friendly. The twice daily game drives were a highlight of our trip to South Africa - we saw all of the big 5 except for the elusive leopard, and loved how knowledgeable and experienced our guides were. Many thanks for Jean-Luc and Roan for the incredible game drives! I can’t recommend Bukela highly enough - do yourself a favor and visit Amakhala Game Reserve if you are visiting the Garden Route!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were warm and welcoming from the moment we arrived. The main lodge area and our luxury tent were clean and beautiful. Our ranger Roan was brilliant, he had a great relationship with the wild animals and a huge respect for them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except just be careful of a potential safety hazard other than the Lions...... The highly glossed floors are potentially lethal in stocking feet!!!

    We had a fabulous stay in the Bukela Game Lodge. The staff were very welcoming & Accommodating, instantly making guests feel very special. The Lodge is in a fabulous location overlooking a Watering hole frequently visited by the Reserves animals including Elephants. Our Room(Luxury Tent) was fabulously furnished to match the location with every amenity available. The food was excellent. Our game drives were very special. Memories that will never fade. Our Ranger Wonga & Ty were fabulous. I do hope they are fairly recognized for their Professionalism. We also enjoyed the company of other Guests that shared our Game Drives, but appreciated that our Dining Experience remained Private, so a very good balance. Special Mention Reserved for the General Manager who was a pleasure to deal with. During our stay there was some exceptional challenges that couldn’t have been planned for & outside the staffs control. During the last evening of our stay the General Manager, the Ranger Ty and a fellow female Ranger(Apologies her name currently escapes me) & a Junior Chef raised their “game” to ensure everyone received a seem less service ..Bravo...Take a Bow.. #RESPECT.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't get the best nights sleep as an elephant had pulled out a water pipe from one of the lodges so there was a lot of noise, but can't say it was too much of a negative as all part of the experience!

    It was incredible to be staying right in the game reserve, it was absolutely beautiful! The staff were all really friendly and welcoming and the rooms were gorgeous! LOVED the game drives! We saw everything we were hoping to; cheetahs, lions, elephants and much more. We just stayed for one night but managed to pack everything in, it was fabulous!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This isn't a criticism but would have been nice to have one socket with two pin euro socket as adaptors don't fit your big three pin And extra binoculars

    The service was great and very welcoming stayed in a lodge and was large and clean and comfortable with well stocked fridge and coffee and tea making . There wasn't any wifi in lodges but was in main reception lodge where you could sit and relax in front of fire . The main reason we were there was the safari and that was just amazing with the head ranger Jono and by all accounts the other rangers did a fantastic job to seeing as many animals as possible . We stayed 2 nights and managed 4 trips around park and would recommend this as a minimum. Would highly recommend this safari

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard of food and menus available ( it was a set menu at all times and only two options available for dinner)this was very disappointing for us as we expected a lot more from a 5 star resort.

    The accommodation and setting for the lodge is beautiful.The game drives where great and the ranger knowledge meant we got loads of info on everything we saw.the staff where very friendly and helpful when my husband was feeling poorly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was excellent. Tried new meat products particular to area. Very tasty. Chef did all to please. Beds not as comfortable as I like but this very personal. Did not detract from fabulous stay. Animal viewing was great. Guide/ranger Jean-Luc excellent extremely knowledgeable taught us a lot about the animals and environment. Lions elephants zebra rhinos buffalo all types antelope warthogs jackal cheetahs tortoise lots birds etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect stay at an incredible lodge. Incredible staff and ranger, beautiful accommodation and food, and fantastic safari experience. Wouldn’t change a thing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - it was all a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend Bukela lodge

    Ranger Rouan was superb and we spent time out on game drives over and above our allocated time on every drive which was wonderful. So knowledgeable too. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the situation of the lodge was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The public areas od the lodge (pool, restaurant) are a bit outdated. They lack attention to details. Also the food was disapointing - far from a 5 star hotel. The hotel stuff was friendly, but seemed to be a bit bored. All of the above, even despite the pros, from my point of view, would qualify Bukela for a 4 star lodge, but not luxury.

    Bukela is a small cosy lodge, what is definitely a big advantage. We had a beautiful brand new tent with all the great amenities inside. Our game drive ranger was very knowledgable and we were extremely happy to drive with him.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast choices are the same everyday. It would have been great to have seen more animals on each drive ( that's one, if not the main reason to go there ) as the other vehicle/ranger at the lodge did.

    The tent was spacious and nicely located. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet and bathroom incorporated into main room Not a great view from our room. Just close-up trees. Wasting wildlife viewing time having a sundowner

    Massive bed Luxurious place Excellent service Knowledgeable guides Great range of wildlife Choice of indoor and outdoor shower Wildlife around the accommodation eg elephants, monkeys and boar. Isolated

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave!

    Everything was perfect. This is a beautiful boutique lodge in a fabulous game reserve. The staff were friendly, the food was great and the Rangers were brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The game drives were great, and the food was excellent. Our guide was obviously passionate about the park and about conservation, which really helped it stand out.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels have stains. After touching and smelling I can tell it was clean and has been washed, but still if they can provide a totally white towel it would be perfect. Washing basin has some accumulated dirt too.

    We stayed in the Luxury Safari Tent and it was awesome. Very open-spaced with great view of the reserve surrounded by African forest. Very comfy bed and cosy living area. We had very good sleep at night, and for afternoon nap there were birds singing making the nap even more relaxing. Love the outdoor shower and big bathtub. We saw numerous stars at night outside our own balcony. Food were nice and plenty. Dining area was country-luxurous and cosy made us feel home. Staff were friendly and helpful. Game drives were superb we saw everything we want to see including lions, cheetahs, rhinos, different kind of deers, elephants, jackals, warthogs, giraffes, zebras etc. It was an absolutely amazing experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The game drives. Lack of animals when we stayed.

    Wonderful luxury tent and extremely comfortable bed. Lovely bathroom and sitting area. Friendly and helpful staff. Good food and wines.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - really bad food: most expensive hotel of a two weeks journey through SA with the worst food of all our hotels or restaurants - very poorly cleaned lodge: a lot of stains and apparent filth - poor condition of our lodge and furniture, a lot of the furniture is old and looks really run down - everything looks run down and nobody cares about details - nobody of the "management" seems to care - mediocre service -> really bad price-performance ratio, not recommendable

    location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved Bukela, it's a dream come true. So well looked after by all staff, lodges are beautiful and so comfortable, game drives are amazing. Such a special place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    We loved everything - pure luxury! The bungalow is enormous and beautifully decorated....staff were incredible...they even set up a dining table in our room for a romantic honeymoon dinner. Our game driver Wonga was brilliant - extremely knowledgable & friendly...the manager Jonathan also joined for a few game drives which really added to the experience and our understanding of the wildlife. We saw cheetahs, lions and all of the other game in during our 3 days there....I actually preferred it to my previous safari in Kenya's famous Masai Mara park. Tyrone and all the guys in the main lodge & kitchen give a great energy too. The food was really tasty and plentiful (drinks too). They had thought of absolutely everything (incl hot water bottles on the game drives). Can't recommend highly enough.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff. Only 4 lodges so we got to know the other guests. Jantjie, our ranger, went out of his way to find all the animals. Luxurious accommodation and great food. Loved the all inclusive.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much food and staff failed to listen when we told them

    The accommodation was superb, but I think will be spoilt when they add a further 5 rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was ok, but wouldn’t rate it as 5*. Plenty of it though.

    Amazing experience. The tents are so impressive and the game drives were incredible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tented room was fantastic, very peaceful, good place to chill

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    Everything, it really was a delight to stay here, nothing too much trouble, the safaris were truly unforgettable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food, friendly staff and stunning game drives!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    loved it. every moment of the trip

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic guide, beautiful location, stunning reserve

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too firm for me

    The staff were excellent. Felt we had spoilt ourselves with the lodge we had.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awesome game drives, the ranger makes everything possible to see all the animals.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Think the food could be better for the price tag. It's not bad and there is plenty of it but it should be better. Also we found some of the staff were not very friendly to each other which was a bit uncomfortable

    Amazing place, rangers are excellent - we saw so much amazing wildlife and the rooms are great. Even though expensive, felt like it was good value

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The evening meal could have been more traditional African / game / brai type...

    Awesome reserve and you are 7.5km from civilisation.... very small with only 4 luxury lodges... lodges themselves are stunning. Game drives were very expert and everything thought of including hot waterbottles for the early am drive!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Game drives, meals and the wine

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was exciting and fun, the owner and staff where the best, and we couldn`t have wished for a better guide than Jean and his trainee Tye.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: