Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge 3 stars

Lot H99 Bushlands Road, 3960 Hluhluwe, South Africa

#10 of 18 hotels in Hluhluwe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 202 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant music and loud staff area next to our room. We asked twice over 2 days for it to be turned off and put softer. We didn’t come to the bush for a weekend away to hear loud music coming from the staff. We would’ve stayed in the city for that. No attempt to move us away from the noise was given nor any type of service recovery to ensure we stayed our full duration. We booked 3 nights and 4 days. Ended up checking out a day early due to nothing being done about the noise levels. Pity. We won’t be coming back and we’ll be sure to let our friends and family know especially as we are in the industry.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    A super time will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained, not your fault and the bush babies were missing, also not your fault.

    Tracy went out of her way to make our booking perfect. She even sent the giraffe to our unit to make my 6 year old Swiss granddaughter super happy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Great stay, should have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have loved to stay longer. Mínimum stay of 2-3 days is recommended since there is so much to see on the grounds and around.

    Great bungalow. We really love the stay. The giraffes walking around were a bonus. The house (Nayala lodge) was big and had a great terras

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Refreshed and recharged
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing i can fault is that our rooms aircon was extremely loud so couldn't use it during the night and the room got extremely warm.

    Had a wonderful weekend! Everything was great, staff were so friendly and welcoming. Food was delicious. What a peaceful place to unwind. Loved it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    A place to stay more than one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They suggested us a very cheap red wine for dinner.

    The lodge is in a big private park. It's probably worthy to stay there more than one day to visit the structure and make a little tour around (we stayed there only for the night after visiting the park). Every room is a private chalet in the middle of the forest, giving you privacy and a nice waking up in the nature.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Our entire experience was wonderful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..

    The accommodation was great and the animals on the property were awesome. We also greatly enjoyed the fire pit and entertainment from the staff dancing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    All in all food excellent, bed very comfy. Would do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors are noisy. You can hear your neighbour's walking around and clearly hear conversations due to semi detachment. Should have been more sound proof between semi detached cottage.

    Breakfast and dinner was 5 star. Beef roast was a bit too underdone. Also should be noted on site about the flea or tick problem so you can bring insect repellant with.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and knowledgeable staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe they can consider more activities at the lodge itself. But this is just our preference. It’s nice and relaxing as it is !

    Very friendly and knowledgeable staff ! Accommodation was really clean and the food was great. Nomusa, one of the chefs, was lovely! The managers were so nice, with their dog Shadow ☺️ Lovely viewing deck. Location is excellent. Easy to find off the N2 and a good base to explore from.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Keybox at the gate would be a good idea for those leaving early. We needed the bunch of keys with the gate access magnet to get out the property early in the morning and there was nowhere to leave it.

    Nice overnight stay in the self catering chalet. Twe bedrooms each with their own bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    a most relaxing weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buffet style breakfast and dinner with a nice variety. Staff were so helpful and tried hard to tend to all our needs. Remember to take some tick repellent with on your trip!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.8
    ok for a night but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    old cupboards, very dated, dark decor.

    we stayed in an old , dated , and tired flat needs a facelift and is overpriced. owners aren't putting anything back into the business.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Amazing experience and fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maintenance needs more work - damp and peeling ceilings, door handle broken, toilet seats loose, rusty kettle, etc.

    The staff were unbelievable, friendly and very attentive. The experience was fantastic. We saw more animals at the lodge than when we went on game drives.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    I would like a full refund
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, tired, outdated facilities which were dirty, grimy and had active damp on the bedroom wall. Rooms stank of damp. Bedding and blankets looked dirty. We actually chose to freeze versus use the filthy blankets. Kitchen poorly equipped and not up to a three star standard. Cannot compare this accommodation to Anew Hotel Group in Hluhluwe which is spotless, modern with well trained, accommodating staff members. We will never be back and certainly will not recommend this establishment.

    Pretty garden outside self catering. Beautiful bird life and lovely giraffe sighting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    relaxing afternoon at the waterhole lookout, a must. Will definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lot of maintenance needed! Utensils in kitchen not to standard and kitchen drawers need urgent attention. Unfortunately the kitchen was not open for light lunch menu as advertised due to lack of staff

    Peaceful and the staff are very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Food prices at on site restaurant are ridiculous and food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was shut off from 9am. No map or directions to where the room was. Website showed we had booked a cabin however we were given a chalet.

    Food prices at on site restaurant are ridiculous and food was not good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay. Children loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ticks. Unfortunately it does come with the territory. Cleanliness of windoss and walls could be improved in

    The space in the unit was amazing. Suited to a family of boisterious children. The animals were up close. We even saw giraffe in the yard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Memorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were immaculate, the staff were awesome, the atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. The resort was fantastic, the whole experience exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.3
    I only book places that have WiFi because even when I take a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I only book places that have WiFi because even when I take a short break I still need to work and be contactable. This place does NOT have WiFi, even though the listing says it does on the entire property. The WiFi is only at the restaurant, which was a 5mn drive from our chalet. This was highly disappointing and completely ruined my stay. I have MTN and Cell C SIM cards, none of them worked at the chalet so I couldn't even use my phone as a hotspot. You cannot say you have WiFi if you don't. The staff was nice but very limited in their knowledge and willingness to help. The info book in the chalet stated that they could book hippo cruises for us. Since we didn't have access to any sort of communication to book ourselves, I drove to the reception to enquire. The lady placed a call and told me that we were booked for 11am the next day. Great. I asked which cruise company we were booked with, and was told there was only one, to just go the jetty and tell them Bushlands booked for us... I was a bit surprised, but ok. We obviously missed that cruise, as with no information whatsoever and about 150 places offering hippo cruises in St Lucia, there was no way we could find the right one in time... We had family visiting from overseas and they were really looking forward to that. The place as a whole was clean, however I do not really appreciate having a used plaster full of blood face up on the toilet seat. I did mention this to reception, and I know the "boss" could hear me from the office right behind the open door, but "the boss" didn't even bother to come out. All I got from reception was "sorry". We had 2 chalets, and the 2 fridges were warm. We had to unplug them and wait for the 5cm layer of ice all over the back inside panel to melt. A scourer would be a nice idea to clean the dishes, I do not really like having one wipe to clean the table, counter and dishes with...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall a perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When you book a morning game drive into the Hluhluwe-Imfolozi game reserve, they'll pack breakfast for you. Plastic, wrapped in plastic, boxed in styrofoam, wrapped in more plastic. Given that people go there to see nature, they could really improve there - just pack some bread rolls and butter, a wooden knife to spread the butter and some fruit into a paper bag and reduce waste by a huge amount. Especially since people take all that waste into the game reserve!

    The lodge grounds host giraffes, gnus, gazelles and warthogs, all of which can be watched from the comfy viewing deck. Or, if you're lucky, a bunch of giraffes might just be eating 10 meters from your room :) The staff is excellent and very friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verandah not cleaned Condition of kitchen needs updating. Draws falling apart No welcome drink as promised by genius status with bookings.com

    Wildlife

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    The beds were clean and comfortable and the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden around the chalets could have been maintained more.

    The beds were clean and comfortable and the food was excellent. The viewing spot was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    very enjoyable, even in the (very) wet weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing really, but travellers should note that the rooms near the restaurant have the least privacy but most convenient. if you want to feel more outdoorsy but still have catered meals, stay further and take the walkway

    the walk way and viewing lounge were a unique and nice touch. staff were very friendly and looking after our comfort. the one night we were too full from lunch and decided to skip dinner. it was raining hard and someone came to check on us and even offered to bring something to us if the rain was a factor. we didnt take them up on the offer but thought that was a special touch of hospitality! dinner and breakfast tasty and good variety (someone cooked me an excellent omelette one morning). near to the game park , cheetah rehab (and spa), lovely restaurant and craft spot (Fig tree cafe and deli).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head in the ensuite bathroom was too fine

    The spaciousness and friendly staff. The manager went out of his way for us. Showing us where to find giraffe for the kiddies and finding out where the lion were in hluhluwe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Great get away place to take time off in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little out of the way but the directions were wonderful so we found it easily

    Andre and Cecelia were excellent hosts. They personally came to meet us. Cecelia even refunded overpayment we did. That was very honourable. Seeing Game on site was also wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Very relaxing stay in stunning, bush surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the Nyala unit (more like a house on its own!). Lovely spacious living area and veranda. Nice swimming pool, large lawn surrounded by huge trees. We welcomed "visits" from Nyala, Duiker and 3 stunning, massive giraffe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Gooderson lived up to my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from the limited information on the website and reception, it would have been good having someone explain to us the various facilities on the property. I went out on daily trips most of the times only to realise that I would have spent more time at the Lodge had I known the offers. I only discovered the facilities (pool, wild game, walking trail, drive and who knows what else I missed) by our own exploration the afternoon before we were checking out. With more detailed attention to advertising I believe that it would be a top spot for holiday makers - in my opinion it is!.

    Good, clean, air conditioned accomodation that made it a challenge to wake up and leave for our daily trips exploring the Wetlands. The presence of wild game on the property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.0
    Value for money however wont return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not enjoy all the allien/exotic plants around the lodge. Saw very little game. One entrance into unit for two rooms,no privacy. broken pipes ,litter seen on board walk. Bar and dinning room shaby.

    The actual room was fine and food okay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Highly recommend Bushlands for excellent accommodation, staff and proximity to game parks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smoke from inconsiderate, noisy guests on deck which disturbed bushbabies so we missed seeing their feed. No fault of the staff who did their best to diplomatically deal with the guests

    Beautiful quiet setting, indigenous vegetation, magnificent trees, lawn and swimming pool. Accom clean, comfortable and welcoming. a pleasant bonus seeing Guineafowl and Nyala wandering around outside chalet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    If you want to reconnect with nature, Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge is an ideal place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everthing about the place

    Location of the facility is far away from city noise. This offers the tranquillity that many city dwellers like myself can only dream of. It's myriad of wildlife nature makes the place an ideal destination for those who love nature.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    The bathrooms had been refurbished but could have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food at the buffet was often not hot. The warmers were not working. The plates were not hot therefore the food if it was hot soon became cold.

    The bathrooms had been refurbished but could have been improved more if there had been a handle in the shower. Also a foot rest in the shower would have been an advantage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant and comfortable stay, would highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception and the restaurant were a bit lethargic and we felt like they kept watching the clock to close up after dinner and we had to insist on having s fire lit by the boma for drinks after dinner which is definitely an attraction at the venue. However, I must say that the cleaning staff who serviced the challet we were staying at were very friendly and helpful.

    Well equipped, lovely furnished, comfortable, clean and very specious challet. Loved the sitting areas on the spacious veranda, lovely play area and pool for the kids and nice braai area outside the challet. Also enjoyed a nice game drive with a knowledge game ranger.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Beatiful location, well maintained property & excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no phone or wifi coverage at our chalet. We had to drive to the reception area to make a call. This was not a problem for us but might be for others.

    We had a two bedroom, two bathroom self catering chalet for one night before and one night after visiting Hluhluwe-Imfolozi National Park. The accommodation was of a very high standard, clean and well equipped. Zebra, Impala and Nyala were grazing outside and we had exclusive use of a pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Exceptionally good value for our family of four. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Absolute wonderful and very memorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our stay. The place was peaceful and we felt like we had the whole lodge to ourselves surrounded by wild game. The staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to make our stay a good one. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.8
    Ok .Staff need to be more flexible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt rushed to get out of the dining area after meals

    we liked the viewing deck for the animals,and will definately like to stay at the self catering chalets.Your tour guide SIYA was very friendly and informative.As for some of the staff,they were unwilling to assist when we asked for a bonfire at the boma as we wanted to have fellowship around the fire that evening

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    4.6
    Worst place ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our chalet was disgustingly dirty,full of dust and our bedding was of a shocking nature.When we asked the cleaner on duty to change the bedding and clean our chalet because of the condition it was in,she gave us attitude and said they only change the bedding every 3rd day.There were spider webs all over and underneath our bed the dirt was disgusting.When you would try and close the curtains,ghekko’s would fall off from the loops of the curtains which goes to show that those curtains were untouched in many months.I’ll NEVER EVER go back to that lodge and wouldn’t recommend anyone to go there either.What a waste of a beautiful place all because of pure negligence.The environmental health department needs to urgently go view that place.What a shocker!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    An amazing wildlife lodge experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was amazing. The prices are really good and there are possibilities to see wildlife (we saw a giraffe) on your way from the reception to your room! Really cool and I would recommend everybody! The drive to the

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    We had a wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the facilities needs to be updated.

    The grounds were beautifully kept and the kids had such fun playing outside in nature. The units were very clean and had everything one would need for a self catering stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Loved the bush atmosphere but that my kids could climb trees...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To let us know that you have to prebook the dinner buffet.

    Loved the bush atmosphere but that my kids could climb trees, swim and run around as there weren’t any predators.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    I was a little disappointed that the Bush-babies are not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil.

    I was a little disappointed that the Bush-babies are not currently being fed at the hotel as this was going to be a high-light of our trip. Otherwise, all was excellent and the lodge provides good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    if one could have a broom in the self catering lodges. Maids did clean but there was a lot of dirt in the evening through kids walking in and out

    food was very tasty and a good selection

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Epic weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no telephone in the room which was supposed to be there as per the check in info. Fortunately, we did not need anything that required us to phone the reception or anyone for that matter.

    Having animals around the chalets was excellent experience. And its quite and refreshing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    In the end, we were very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reservations we made (thought we made a reservation at a hotel which included breakfast) did not reflect what we stayed in (self catering with no meal options, not even coffee or tea in the full sized kitchen). The photos and description were misleading (but maybe I'm not use to Booking.com yet). The manager said that was the biggest complaint and he was trying to work with Booking to make it more clear. We ended up staying in a self-cater 2 bedroom condominium which was large and quiet since no one else was staying where we were but it was not what we thought we had reserved. Our room had no communication with the main hotel area and it was far enough that we had to drive back and forth between the self-cater area and the main reception/dining area/nature trails/view deck. In the end, we were happy we stayed there but in the future we would stay at the Dramazulu Gooderson property or one of the hotel properties nearby. For the same price, we could have stayed at a much nicer hotel in the same area.

    We loved seeing so much wildlife right on the property, the view deck, and their nature trails. Our only giraffe sighting was on our trip was in the driveway of our self-catering cabin. The dinners at the property was pricey (in comparison to other places we stayed in South Africa) but it was delicious and we were so happy to come back every evening to the fabulous meals!!! The overall ambiance of the resort is a little dark and in thick trees but it makes it feel like a treehouse experience (if you're staying at the hotel area). The fire ring next to the bar is great after dinner socializing area for the guests...which is nice because there is nothing else around and the gates close at 7pm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely to have the Nyala, duiker etc wondering around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The braai facilities were good but an additional firepit in the ground to sit around would be really nice to have. Fridge door needs attention as it does not close properly. Not a complaint - just an observation.

    Lovely to have the Nyala, duiker etc wondering around the property. We visited the the viewing deck which is the most comfortable deck ever. We liked the privacy and semi-seclusion of the unit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Weekday it was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't have a problem but a family member had tic bites. An the other family in the other unit had a mouse that got in to their unit

    Weekday it was quiet. Enough space for children to run and climb trees, see the animals on the property

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Peaceful but disturbed by a mouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A mouse got into the unit at night. it chewed through one of our bags, damaged some clothing in the bag and ate from a chocolate! because we only had one more night, we stayed. otherwise we would have packed up and left. The drains became blocked by the second morning of our stay but maintenance responded quickly. A low wooden fence around the pool would make the place more toddler friendly.

    The units are very private. The gardens are beautiful & very well kept-we loved the outside more than the inside! A good place to connect with mother nature.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    The peace and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place needs a good clean- the reception has dust and cobwebs on all the curios and items for sale. We noticed that our room smelled a bit musky as well.

    The peace and quiet. Being in nature. We loved the deck that the rooms and viewing areas are lead off from. The staff were really friendly and welcoming and the food was also fantastic. We had a great time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.5
    the supper in the restaurant was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we would have preferred the log cabins for the whole family when we booked instead we were divided between 2 log cabins with the rest of the family being placed in the older family unit which was away from the log cabins - something we did not like. On check in we did ask at the reception to put us all in the log cabins but we were told by them that they were fully booked. However, during our stay we did notice there were many unoccupied log cabins for duration of our stay ????? some people who checked in after us were however placed in the log cabins even though we did request it at time of our check in. Also the showers in the older building unit were not working properly & we ended up standing in water as we were showering which was unhygienic. Children were squeamish about it. Also the beddings in the older building unit were stained & did not look hygienic at all so much so that the children refused to sleep in their 2 single beds and ended up sharing another room with other family members.

    the supper in the restaurant was good the log cabins were cosy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.8
    A bit disappointing as it has a lot of potential if small things are attended to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff clearly lacked training in basic etiquette and service. On arrival there was no one to assist with our luggage to our room (which is a fair distance). The room needs an upgrade as the chipwood cupboards are not suitable. Decent drinking water needs to be made available in room. We would arrive in the dining area with no one present to attend to us (often waiting about 10minutes for staff to appear). The waiter had the same food stained shirt on two days in a row. The viewing decks chairs, although comfy need to be wiped clean daily as dust and droppings collect on it daily.

    Tranquil and beautiful location. Our accommodation was very private, although not all accommodation on offer is all that private. Nice viewing deck. The food was delicious, compliments to the chef.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.7
    3 Nights in Hluhluwe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food on the buffet was served cold and their heating dishes need upgrading. This they tried to rectify on our second night and a definite effort was made by staff to try keep the food warm. Rooms are in desperate need of and upgrade and have musty smell. As mentioned they are clean and comfortable. We believe this resort is at a crossroads as to whether to upgrade to the next level or remain as is. Given that they are part of a large Hotel group might be the reason that they are hanging on to their 3 star status?

    The stay was value for money in that it included Dinner and breakfast. The rooms and especially the linen is clean and comfortable. The buffet was fair and consistant in line with a 3 star establishment. We stayed in room 7 which is quite and secluded yet not to far from the main eating area. This we asked for so thank you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.9
    Bonfire under Starry sky, easy game viewing,great food, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge in our room was broken, maintenance did try to fix it but unfortunately a new fridge was required. The staff offered to keep my things in another fridge. The main pool is slightly too cold to enjoy for most part of the day.

    Delicious hearty food! Easy access to Awesome game deck viewing.Great quality linen.Wide range of birdlife for hearing pleasure.Bonfire under the stars.Daily room cleaning. Privacy between rooms.quick response from maintenance when required.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.6
    A lovely time at Bushlands lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tacky and not on a par with the rest of your offering

    You staff where truly amazing. Food was great Game drive first class Christmas dinner fantastic Service top class

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.8
    Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dining Room carpets need to be changed to wood or tiles. carpets in Bedrooms need to be steam cleaned

    Excellent choice of menu at both breakfast and dinner. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    6.7
    Fun had in the Bushes!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    just not happy about the bathroom ( not maintained well). some things on lunch menu were not available when ordering. can we please have bottled drinking water in the rooms,tap water there tastes horrible.

    the people were friendly, place very peaceful. Game drive was amazing. overall I had a good stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    3.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This holiday was a 40th birthday present. The accommodation was shocking. The furniture was old and the kitchen had a dirty water bucket left. The outside of the property was disgusting. I booked two tree houses and was given the Executive Suite. There was nothing Executive about it.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    It was awesome and enjoyed ourselves
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Introduce double beds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable and relaxing stay at Bushlands. Will definitaly stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly and competent staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    The self catering chalet was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The self catering chalet was lovely. Very well situated and well furnished. Lovely bathrooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Relaxed away and out of the way of the everyday madness ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited access to property and not get to see all the animals on the farm

    The buck moving around the chalet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    wonderful base to explore the beautiful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would have loved to stay longer!!

    beautiful chalets, very clean and lovely air con, grounds beautifully kept and pool fab!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    3.3
    Nature
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nature

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.4
    leaking air conditioner in room with wet carpet smell - had...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    leaking air conditioner in room with wet carpet smell - had to make own arrangements to change room in order to sleep

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    STAFF
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms were really not in good shape. they need upgrading. the outside verandah was really dirty.

    STAFF

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    The staff were all lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all lovely. The grounds were idyllic and there was plenty of game on-site.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast ran out of mushrooms and sausages for two days.

    Good Vodacom cellphone reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Very spacious and the kids loved the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious and the kids loved the pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management and staff were fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Croissants were excellent. All the food was good. Rooms were excellent excellent for the monkeys that woke you at 4am!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Our stay was incredible and we made lots of awesome memories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved that we could swim in the pool with the wild animals grazing around us. That was awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    The Aircon was a big bonus And I really enjoyed the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Aircon was a big bonus And I really enjoyed the bonfire!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    Stunning experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Items on menu not available and lack. Of vegetarian options

    The location is stunning

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    Remoteness was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner at R209.00 was very expensive for the children in our group.

    Remoteness was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    a cover over the braai would be nice
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a cover over the braai would be nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    3.8
    Wouldn't go back in a rush
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were so uncomfortable , the house we stayed in had ants on the floor, I was really not happy with the place

    We got to see some game

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Serenity out in the wild
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meal at restaurant is a little pricey

    Good location and serene surroundings

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: