Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bushwise Safari Lodge 3 stars

2821 Seekoei Street, 1340 Marloth Park, South Africa

#12 of 20 hotels in Marloth Park

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 48 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Rooms En-suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bit of improvement regarding breakfast. Please add tv as well as wifi connection. I mean this is important, it becomes part of the entertainment.

    Yes the bed was extra comfortable. Lovely staff, they met all our requirements. The location - par exellent. I mean spotting the animals arround the park & the view from the balcony accross Kruger National Park.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Rooms En-suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet but we knew this before we booked. Reception for internet seems like a general problem in the Marloth area.

    We loved our lovely clean rooms looking out on the Crocodile river. From our balcony we were watching elephants, lions and antelope drinking water In the river. We enjoyed the splash pool and our morning walks among zebras, kudus and giraffes around the lodge. Our guide Johan was very professional, welcoming and informative. On our Safari Johan made us realise that the Kruger has so much more to offer than just the Big 5. His knowledge about animals and birds are phenomenal! A once in a lifetime holiday made possible by all the wonderful staff at Bushwise Safaris. Back to reality in the UK and all we have left are wonderful memories.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Rooms En-suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I feel that for a 4 star lodge the price is very expensive compared to other lodges in the same area like La Kruger and Grand Kruger all 4 star but lower tariff and nicer rooms. There are no mosquito nets in room. We had mosquitos. No small fridge, no hairdryer. Toiletries wasn't on standard. Leaking taps. We travel a lot in Marloth Park and this wasn't value for money. Very noisy at night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Rooms En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the lodge charges a bank fee of 4% of the total invoice which is not shown in advance at booking.com

    nice owners, good view at the Krueger NP, we enjoyed the dinner at the boma of the lodge

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Rooms En-suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing!

    The Lodge was Great, the owner and staff could not have been nicer, the food was excellent, the views into Kruger Park were sensational, the tours into the Park were extraordinary. We could not have found a better place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Rooms En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food on arrival was sparse - no choices. The breakfast was very poor - 2 pieces of bacon and eggs - nothing else was provided on the hot breakfast. The fruit was not fresh. we had to ask for more bread, no choices on yoghurt not worth the R55 p/p. Towels poor quality and were not changed during our stay. Oh and no honey was available and the kitchen staff had no idea how to boil and egg and don't even think about asking for poached eggs - overall the stay was NOT what I expected for the money I paid

    The location was OK - sitting on the sun deck was a problem as the poles were at eye level and the trees blocked any view one was expecting to see the crocodile river

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Rooms En-suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The dinner in the evening could be better, the so famous braai was not really lecker!

    the close river is just great, we saw so many animals strolling around, it was just beautyful!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Rooms En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt ripped off for dinner. R330 pp (less 10%) for mediocre soup, okay bobotie, and a slice of store-bought milk tart. We could do this at home for R50 pp - allowing for a reasonable mark-up, it isn't worth more than R110. In other words, 3 times what was reasonable, literally is unacceptable. The rooms are tired and need some TLC - e.g., A/C not working in one room, no shower, door locks missing screws, had to ask for extra toilet paper, ceiling fan not working in other room, etc. Definitely NOT 4-star accommodation!

    Location, friendly owners and staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Rooms En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Nice athmosphere, friendly people, great pool with a view :-) Good open air dinner, next to Kruger Park

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Rooms En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    maybe in the bush, there're many insects in the room ,hot pot, and bed also.

    the staffs are friendly, and help the information with Kruger Park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Rooms En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely worth a 10! Great place, marvellous view over Kruger, fantastic hosts an a dinner - never - to -forget!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Rooms En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised WiFi not available.

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Amazing view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bedroom facilities could have been slightly better - although they were acceptable from a "Being in the Bush" standpoint.

    The lodge is nice and the location is also good. The owner managers make it a very personal and enjoyable experience - you actually feel that you are with family/friends.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Located on the edge of Kruger, Giraffes, zebras, baboons and other animals roam freely. Excellent guide and prices were fantastic. There was more than enough beer.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expected a better room equipment: especially in the bath, rooms in new building might be better?

    Amazing dinner, very helpful and friendly staff, great pool and bar with view on the river and Kruger NP

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathtub was never properly cleaned, full of ants in the bathroom, Wifi very expensive and limited. Also, no adaptor in the room.

    The position is wonderful and the staff is very kind and always ready to help. Dinners are also amazing.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was unseasonably warm for October. Make sure you get a map of Marloth Park from the Security Office at the shopping centre.

    Location is on the Crocodile River. You can sip a drink in the pool and watch elephants bath in the river. Sleep with just the screen door closed and drop off to the noise of the bush and hippos grunting.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have been to Sabi Sands private game lodges twice (yes, top choice if you have the money). We have been to Kruger Sanpark lodges 5 times (you are ready to get out of gates as the sun rises but although the lodges are now better than 10 years ago, they are still sort of basic...). Marloth Park and Bushwise lodge provided us a nice alternative. Less than 30 min drive from the Crocodile Bridge gate, in the bush, overlooking Kruger park - not a bad alternative. The host Tim was very friendly and helpful, the rooms, the bar, the dinner by a boma were enjoyable. But the best bit was a walk by the river with nice animal encounters. We saw giraffes, impalas, warthogs in very close range. And hippos and and buffalos on the other side of the fence. Other people have also seen elephants and even lions by the river...

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location right on Crocodile Rover. Great food and lovely views

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Serenity at Its best

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Splash pool was great on the hot days!

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was great, food excellent and fantastic hospitality

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location on the edge of the Kruger National Park. Helpful and friendly staff. Good selection of tours available from the Lodge.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    I loved the location, the perfect level of comfort and decor, as well as the staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great place to stay! Bush walk around the hotel, and still seeing tons of animals both inside Marloth Park and across the river in Kruger Park

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    lack of signage on the road

    Everything pity it was just an overnight definetly recommend

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and views. Friendliness of the owners. Efficiency of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pfff, 300 rand for wifi :-(((

    Excellent location, nice staff, good food. Near to Krüger (~15mins drive)

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The friendly staff, great facilities and location.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location on the river to see animals strolling past you.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: