Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Candlewood Lodge 5 stars

8 Stinkwood Crescent, 6570 Knysna, South Africa

#1 of 28 hotels in Knysna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 195 hotel reviews

9.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.9

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about the Candlewood Lodge is just perfect! The hosts are so friendly and helpful, the suite beautifully decorated, breakfast was a feast for the eyes and tastebuds and the surrounding views are amazing! It was our favourite place of our whole trip. We will definitely return. Thank you Ines and Andy for a lovely stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    Very informative and attentive couple to stay with, greeted us with a glass of wine and mapped out the whole area for us. Michelin Star breakfast - easily the best we’ve ever had!!! Attention to detail was unbelievable, from ‘bedtime stories’ left on our pillow every night to individual ‘specials’ menu for breakfast, including a starter. The family dog is also a great attribute, just as friendly as Ines and Andi themselves :). Couldn’t recommend more, superior to anywhere else we’ve stayed in our trip to SA!!! David and Grace

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Candlewood Lodge goes beyond a regular bed and breakfast, it is very luxurious with lots of lovely little personal touches. The breakfast is particular is fantastic and very creatively imagined. We enjoyed our stay here a lot and were given some great advice on local walks and places to visit. We hope to return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast. Very friendly welcome, with real care taken to make sure the guests are aware of nice things to do in the local area. Attention to detail in the look and feel of the lodge, and very clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Exceptional attention to detail. Whatever we needed or hoped for, Ines and Andi had thought about it already. One of the best breakfasts we've ever had - and for 100% sure the most beautiful one. Thank you for a great stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was a little on the small side but nicely decorated and perfectly adequate. It would probably be best to pay extra for a larger room.

    This is a very well run and extremely pleasant B&B. The owners are a nice young couple who do everything to make your stay pleasant. The breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay again. Kynsna is a nice place with far more restaurants than Wilderness. I would stay here by preference.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts made our stay at the Candlewood lodge an unforgettable experience. They had taken so much effort to personalise our stay and had thought about every tiny detail. Have been to many B&Bs but never experienced such hospitality. The breakfast was amazing and again so much effort is put into it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing - it was more than perfect - only if you are a real cappuccino / late coffee lover you will miss this.

    Everything! Wonderful location, rooms and whole house perfectly equipped and decorated, even details you would never have thought of were there (even bedtime stories). Very nice hosts, always supportive. And of course the breakfast - what a pleasure!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Brilliant location, wonderful hosts who could not do enough and superb property. Thoroughly enjoyable and a real treat for all family staying here

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great stay in our SAND room at this wonderful guest house. The owner Ines and Andi with their team are doing a perfect job and the breakfast is like it should be in heaven. A perfect start in a day. We will return for sure. Thank you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Candlewood is a beautiful place to stay. Ines and Andi are very friendly and pay attention to every detail. The room is very nice and the breakfast is amazing. We loved it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was by far one of the best lodges I have ever used. The owners are super attentive and have always a surprise ready for you. The breakfast quality is like a 5 star hotel. No words can describe this experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was absolutely fantastic as were the rooms In Nysna it is the place to stay Nothing in walking distance but taxis cheap and good I cannot fault the place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing could have been better.

    Ines and Andy were the perfect hosts, they couldn't have made us feel more welcome. Their house is beautiful as is the food and everything about Candlewood Lodge. They could not have made us feel more welcome and the special personal touches, such as the "bedtime stories" that made us giggle, to the complementary chocolates at bedtime all contributed to a truly 5 star experience. Many thanks to a a really lovely couple.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Every thing was perfect, thank you for making our stay such a wonderful experience. Will recommend it to anyone. Fantastic breakfast served, private and quiet. Home away form home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service was exceptional. The owners welcomed us with drinks and snacks and great insights and ideas on how to make the most of our time in Knysna. Their recommendations were all spot-on! The breakfasts were incredible!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property was beautifully appointed and totally personalised. Breakfast was outstanding with many options. Ines and Andi are so friendly and welcoming and ensure you have everything you need and more. I loved the bedtime story on my door each night and the home cooked jar of pear purée Ines gave me on departure . Most definitely recommended

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sympathy of the owners The small but yet meaningful details, like for example a mini breakfast bag for the marathon day (I was in knysna for running the marathon, which obliged me to wake up at 4:00 AM) The views of knysna from the property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Everything! + Ines and Andi = great owners with great staff + Guest house and rooms are perfect, beautiful, comfortable + Breakfast unbelievable + Location and view amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our two week trip in South Africa this was definitely the best place we stayed in so far. Ines and Andi put so much effort to making the stay perfect with sherry in the room, delicious chocolates, a welcome drink and a bedtime story. Most of all the breakfast was exquisite, honestly some of the food was Michelin star standard I would have stayed another two weeks just to eat that breakfast everyday. Ines, Andi and the rest of the staff were kind, attentive and helpful. This accommodation was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The room was beautiful and the facilities everything you could want, The breakfast was top notch with some delightful unexpected touches. The location is good being only a short drive to the waterfront and the East Head. The staff were all great. There is one thing that sets this accomodation apart and that is the warm and personal welcome from the hosts. They are a young couple working hard and succeeding to make this a perfect place to stay. If you can't be happy at this property you must indeed be very hard to please.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Fabulous suite with wonderful views! Very friendly owners and staff made everything special. So much choice at breakfast we didn't know where to start - all homemade and beautifully presented. One of the best guesthouses we have ever stayed in! I only wish I was there now!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had tried to book one of the two larger upstairs bedrooms but they had been taken ages ago. Our room met our needs perfectly for the two night stay although it was slightly on the small side.

    Ines & Andreas were the perfect hosts and helped to make our stay exceptional. The best breakfasts we have ever had! We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Fabulous hosts Andreas and Ines along with their very friendly staff; their attention to detail and small personal touches make this guesthouse stand out above others; quietly located with lovely views over Knysna lagoon; spotlessly clean room with high class bedding and fittings; and the best breakfasts to die for catering for all tastes. Our only complaint to Andreas was we had only booked two nights - we wish we could have stayed for much longer! Simply superb.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    COULDN'T CONNECT WITH TV

    Gracious friendly hosts. Delightful staff. Excellent gourmet quality breakfast creatively presented. Exquisite view and gardens.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    From the warm welcome we received on arrival to the cheery goodbye when we left, Andreas and Ines were the perfect hosts. Everything - and we mean everything - about our stay was wonderful. Absolute faultless and mist definitely the highlight of our stay in South Africa.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have stayed longer than three nights.

    I've visited so many places in the last 40 years and can honestly say this is the best. It's not just the stunning location,superb breakfasts and attention to detail but the whole karma of Candlewood. Wonderful stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Our stay here was fenomenal! Ines and Andi are wonderful hosts! They will do everything to make your stay unforgettable. From the welcoming to the departure, they make you feel like a real VIP! They take care of so many details that makes your stay extraordinary! They will do anything to make your stay as much as comfortable. You can feel that they have a lot of experience and they take the best of everything and give it to their guests. I could use every positive superlative here! Don't hesitate and just book this great B&B! You will definately not regret!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I never rate Hotel & Restaurants but this time I just had to. Me and my friend had three absolute stunning nights at this wonderful lodge. We felt very welcome from the beginning. Andy & Ines are great hosts and delighted to help wherever they can. We were amazed about the tasteful decoration inside out. We just loved it. it's absolutely worth 5 stars! Thank you Andy&Ines!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The hosts, Ines and Andreas, are fantastic! This is the best example of a guest house you will find. Think 5* boutique hotel, where the owners also live there, make you feel welcome, and answer any questions you have. The rooms are very well appointed, breakfast is as good as any where you will find, and the views are superb.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra attention to details from booking dinners to bedtime stories hung on our door at night, to the exquisite breakfasts, made our stay absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything is perfect

    We stayed at Candlewood for 4 nights before xmas, it was wonderful. Andreas and Ines were so welcoming and did everything to make sure we have a good time in Knysna. Andreas recommended a couple of things to do in the area on our arrival and we ended up doing most of them. Great recommendations. They also booked restaurants in advance which made us easier to have good meals in the area, no hustle trying to find a decent meal in the area, they know them all. Talking about food, breakfast at Candlewood was best, hot breakfast, freshly baked breads, homemade jam and etc, we will miss those breakfast we had during our stay. Overall Candlewood is a little gem in Knysna. Hats off to Andreas and Ines for creating such wonderful experience. Thank you and all the best :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Everything perfect. We could not have asked for more. The owners go above and beyond what is expected to make your stay enjoyable.Breakfast is an event, absolutely fabulous.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    Talk about go the extra mile - there were lovely touches everywhere, and nothing was a problem. Breakfast was delightful and the setting for it just perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we had no time to stay longer .... Sorry but this is the only negative we can report

    The best accomodation ever with the most lovely owners and great staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the wifi was not very good and the room was a little dark, but everything just seems petty compared to the great atmosphere and warm welcome we received.

    Andy and Inis were such friendly hosts and you can see with how much care and attention to details they manage the place. the room (shell room) was beautiful. breakfast was great. great recommendations. we mentioned once that we never had oysters (which Knysna is famous for) the the next night they hosted a wine and oysters tasting for all of the guests.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    double room a little small

    hosting amazing , attention to detail bedtime stories and chocolate on pillow and lavender to help you sleep got a gift on a rainy day to alleviate the boredom nice touch Andreas and Ines have thought of everything and their styling of the rooms is excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door to the balcony requires maintenance as it didn't close well (swollen and out of alignment') and there wasn't much room in the bathroom to place toiletry bag, toothbrushes etc. Perhaps a shelf would have been good, but I can't remember if there was place for one. The shower pressure could be better, it was a little weak. Otherwise a great stay.

    The view, the management and the staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure was a bit low, wifi was temperamental, no place to place soaps or shampoo in shower.

    The personal service of the owners and staff, the hand crafted and locally sourced breakfasts and treats. Stunning views over Knysna lake, Knysna heads and Thesen island

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING!

    Perfect location, the best breakfast and the loviest people. If you're planning a trip to Knysna, you'll have to book at this bed and breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a bit removed from things, so need to drive or taxi to restaurants, etc.. but taxis were easily called for by Ines and Andi, who took care of everything! TV channels were a bit limited.

    Great welcome and hospitality from Andi and Ines, who were wonderful hosts. Our room Sand was spacious and has been beautifully decorated, with so much attention to detail, and a great view of the lagoon. Through our stay they left bedtime stories on each room door, a lovely personal touch. Breakfast was deliciously fresh and home-made, and as per our requirements.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was really fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was coludy once !!

    Very friendly owners and staff - fantastic breakfasts - good location - very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great food and attention to detail

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have loved a room with a view.

    The furnitures and all the interior was very esthetic. All details was thought into it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo. Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom lacked heated towel rail so a bit chilly in winter

    Beautiful property oozing chic modern taste throughout

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great vieuw, nice attentions, surprising breakfast , beautiful design, just the perfect place in Knysna!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal touches and welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful breakfast, people very friendly and welcoming. Comfortable room, and a beautiful view

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was 1st class.. the food and service was top quality

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony - Upstairs
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The little touches in the house and room makes it extra special.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV options and security.

    Awesome breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The two hosts were lovely and nothing was too difficult. They obviously care about the food they use as all suppliers are hand picked and the breakfast provided was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The size of our room and bathroom was a bit small, also too few TV Chanel's.

    Great hosts, attention to detail was exceptional and great breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a little out of town but we had a car so no problem. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

    The hosts Andi and Ines were fantastic. We felt very at home, we were given good information about the area. The house is beautiful. Our room was spacious and very clean. There was so much attention to detail. Plus the breakfast was AMAZING!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - the stay from arrival to departure was great.

    Amazing attentive hosts, very friendly with local knowledge - even rescued my camera lens from the washing :)

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is a bit removed from things, so need to drive or taxi to restaurants, etc.. Not a problem though, as Ines and Andreas are great about calling taxis and generally taking care of everything!

    Wonderful hosts, beautiful lodge, and top-notch service all around. Very much enjoyed our stay here and will be back if we return to Knysna!

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Firmer mattress preferred

    Superb breakfast with many individual home made options Views over the lagoon to the heads pool, towels and sun shade great hospitality from Ines andAndi supported by friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! It has been beautifully decorated. The best breakfast of our travels. Couldn't recommend or praise Enis and Andy enough. They even very thoughtfully upgraded us to the honeymoon suite on Valentine's night... Many thanks for a lovely couple of days...

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The house is back from the main road but the night traffic is noisy. The room we stayed in was not sound proof,the geysers are noisy and the curtains have no block out on them. We live on a farm so perhaps we are just sensitive!

    The guest house is attentively run by the owners. It is clean and the staff make a good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave.

    Great welcome and hospitality from Andi and Ines. Very contemporary, smart interior and very clean. Excellent breakfasts. Fast laundry service available.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast time needs to be more flexible as 0800 - 0900 too rstricted. Breakfast seating on terrace limited when full.

    Lovely location and friendly hosts

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lodge is really nice and has an incredible view on the bay. Andy and Inez are great hosts and their recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing all proved to be perfect for us. We stayed for two nights and would advise that as a minimum for your upcoming stay :)

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ines made us feel so welcome. When we arrived we were offered a lovely refreshing drink . We loved the extra mile that Ines and Andi went to make our stay both special and memorable .

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The place is lovely and very comfortable, very well located. Ines and Andreas go an extra length to assure all guests feel at home, paying attention to every little detail and at the same time enjoying their job. I will go back for sure!

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We have stayed here before and the previous owners had exacting standards, but Inez and Andreaou have taken it a step further. The furnishings are modern, the welcome warm and friendly. They are very environmentally aware and sourcing food locally, such as the delicious smoked salmon. Would definitely revisit.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad about the place

    From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome. Vuvu, one of the staff showed us to our room then rang the young German owners who were in town and told them we had arrived. They returned within 5mins, welcomed us and gave us a tour, drink and full welcome, they could not do enough for us. Through our stay they left bedtime stories on each room door, a lovely touch. Breakfast was excellent including the local smoked salmon, sometimes accompanied by the local monkeys who were quickly despatched. All in all a fantastic guesthouse run by two fantastic people who put everything into it. We will return as we also got married in the garden.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Simply excellence

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing!

    everything!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    So comfy, owners so friendly and welcoming, loved every minute of our stay!

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no comments

    Very friendly& homely

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Candlewood Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: