Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cape Heritage Hotel 4 stars

90 Bree Street, 8000 Cape Town, South Africa

#7 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 500 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit noisy from the nearby restaurants.

    Amazing building built in 1771. The staff were amazing, so accommodating and helpful! One of the best inclusive breakfasts I have ever had. Great selection of restaurants within the block.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soy milk for breakfast was only available after repeated requests. Breakfast was good and fresh with fruit but could include more healthy and organic options like vegetables with free range eggs.

    Very friendly, attentive and competent staff. Beautifully restored historic building. Great location. Comfortable and nicely decorated room. Nice lounge area with chimney, which was wonderful on a cold and rainy day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire experience was delightful from the beautiful and historic aspects of the hotel to the charming graciousness of the staff to the the extensive breakfast. We felt very well-cared for and much welcomed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved this little boutique hotel in the middle of the action of cape town. It had a real heritage colonial feel and as it's fairly small had a personal feel. By the end of our stay we felt we knew all the staff well who were all extremely friendly and helpful. These little touches made such a difference to our stay. It was our honeymoon and the staff made a real effort to make our stay special by putting rose petals in our room and bringing us a surprise delivery of champagne! Location was perfect, right in the middle of the city bowl! Breakfasts were also super tasty with plenty of food and great cappuccinos! We would also highly recommend the hotel next door - Chef's Warehouse where we had the most delicious meal of our South Africa stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant fault anything here, Sam and her team went out of their way to provide outstanding service. The Cape Heritage has a real home away from home feel. Definitely recommend staying here

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing!

    Everything was just perfect, the staff was awesome, the room very big and with so many details that make your stay perfect. The breakfast is amazing with a lot of choice. The location is great to walk around the city. It worth paying a bit more and going to this hotel, we are so happy that we have chosen this hotel and we had a great time !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound proofing to the room could be a little better. This is however nothing major.

    The bar fridge and small gratuities in the room was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What is there not to like?!

    Superb service in quaint little heritage hotel! Stunning room, bathroom, service absolutely excellent. Thanks for great stay, will definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. The hotel is exceptional!

    The ambience, friendly people, comfort, willingness to help, the breakfast menu and buffet - just loved it! Such a priviledge to be able to stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was outstanding.

    We stayed 3 nights at the hotel and it exceeded our expectations! The staff was so welcoming and they helped us with organizing a township tour and everything else we needed, the room was spacious and the breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really nothing!

    The staff was fantastic. Solved a few advance ticketing problems for us, suggested activities, arranged transpo, took photos for us. Wonderful, personal, service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a charming, quaint little hotel, tastefully appointed with lovely antiques and lots of English charm. Staff is top notch and food is beyond expectation. The courtyard is a treat to sit in and have your meal. The staff is very knowledgeable and always ready to help. It is also located with easy access to the city sightseeing bus system and lovely restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it can be a little noisy at night ,due to people in the little square nearby

    its one of the finest little hotels that I have seen, the decor the furnishing is absolutely wonderful, the staff very knowledgeable and always ready to help breakfast was that made you look forward to it, non stop tea of coffee all day freshly brewed for you at no cost, original art and i must mention it again the furniture all original period pieces a delight,the courtyard is a treat to sit in and have your meal. there are quite a few places to eat within the same complex and the hotel is surrounded by restaurants and so on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect

    I had a very comfortable stay, the staff is very helpful and the breakfast was excellent , one felt like home! Loved the fact that you could get coffee/tea at anytime for free! Loved the interior of my room, the attention to details was amazing, enjoyed looking at all the art!The proximity of restaurants around the hotel was quite convienent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is well situated, there are many restaurants around and greenmarket is just a short walk away. Hotel staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was initially given for my first stay was dark, but they managed to change it to a brighter room (although smaller). There was noise from outside (sounded like people dragging chairs and stuff on the ground) til late. One of the staff didn't pass the message to the morning staff to prepare a packed breakfast for me on the last day although the morning staff managed to pack me something in the end.

    Comfy bed, clean bathroom, little touches like the daily cookies or candy, lovely breakfast in the courtyard. I stayed twice at the hotel and went for a 1-week trip in between my stays. The staff welcomed me back warmly the second time and made me feel at home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    loved the staff, so friendly. Great breakfast and location. The best restaurants are all within walking distance. Centrally located to everything. The staff even helped arrange a private tour to Cape Point and Boulders at a better rate than I found on-line.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was noisy at night from a bar/club downstairs (not part of the hotel). This was the only factor that negatively affected our stay.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. Good choice at breakfast which you could eat in a pretty courtyard. The apartment was stylish, spacious and comfortable for a family of 5. Convenient location on a street with nice restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy at night because of the music from a nearby bar or nightclub. The hotel provides earplugs in the rooms so at least they try to do what they can, but it's very noisy.

    Great location, really friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was tasty and reasonable variety but perhaps quality of produce not in keeping with the overall high standard.

    Warm friendly welcome. Very helpful and sincere staff. Beautiful room, very high specification in all areas. Amazing comfortable bed. Great shower. Lots of very thoughtful touches.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Words can't describe really, as Cape Heritage Hotel is more of an experience than just a place you stay for some nights. I've travelled quite a lot and can firmly say that this is THE best hotel I've ever stayed in! Every member of the staff is ready to go an extra mile for the visitors. Interiors of every room and all of the hotel are unique and of superb taste And their breakfasts are to die for (though I've never been a breakfast person).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like

    Will DEFINITELY stay here every time I come to Cape Town!!! The room was comfortable and beautiful and all the little amenities made it extra special. The building, location and on-site restaurants were very vibey without even having to leave the premises. All of the staff were kind and attentive...coukdnt ask for a better team. You get so much more for the price...a hidden gem!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Internet was way too slow. It kept dropping out and I would have to move downstairs to get a signal. The floor was so creaky that I woke up my wife when I went to the toilet

    Great breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Glad that the staff were willing to carry our bags to the room!

    The staff were extremely helpful. The renovation of the hotel was exceptionally well done and the courtyard added an unexpected but lovely ambiance to our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need tripple glazed windows badly. They even provide you with ear plugs to sleep with! The noise is terrible. The entire day and night the noise is right inside your room. There is no sound proofing. They said it's 1st thursday (a evening where shops stay open until late) and said it will quiet down by 10. It didn't. Its always noisy as the hotel is on Bree street, one of the busiest streets in Cape Town. Its always busy, any time of the week. They need sound proofing and it made it impossible to sleep. Other guests also complained about this. Lists of vgarants and drinks all over the place. See the photo of the drunk guy on the ground right at the entrance of the hotel.

    Its an old hotel and very comfortable from a room, bed and bathroom point of view. The bathroom is great but doesn't have windows. The bed was comfy and the room spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell of food (from a restaurant next door, I imagine) in the room almost all the time, which was a bit off putting

    Really friendly and helpful service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff at this hotel are second to none. Kind, helpful and professional Rooms are beautifully decorated complementing the character of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place - we stayed in room 103 and it was really spacious and away from any noise. Breakfast is amazing. It has a really nice courtyard. The best part about this hotel is the staff, they could not do enough for you. I would recommend this place to anyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all, the staff is really friendly, amazing. They make you feel like home. Also, the rooms are spacious, well decorated and very comfortable. The location is great: several very good restaurants around. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful welcome to this delightful gem of a hotel. Very friendly thoughtful staff who helped make the last night of our trip very special. Lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. An easy 20 Minute walk/short taxi trip to the V&A waterfront. Lovely breakfast in the vine covered courtyard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music was played until 01h00 first night and 24h00 second night on the square on which the hotel is situated.

    The hotel feels more like a guesthouse with lovely old world ambiance. Very good breakfast under the oldest vine in SA.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No obvious water conservation effort....no bucket to catch water,only the big flush on the toilet working,towels hung up to be reused as suggested were replaced with new ones. So Cape heritage does not really believe there is a water shortage!

    Great breakfast and friendly service all round

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to fault, the hot tub on the roof was closed due to the drought which was understandable but otherwise nothing to note.

    Excellent hotel and location if you want to stay in central Cape Town. I would highly recommend this hotel, the rooms were lovely and large, great showers too. The staff were all very helpful, the hotel was nicely decorated and the breakfast was brilliant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit noisy over a weekend, but not overly. TV to small.

    We stayed in room 101. Very comfortable, spacious, clean. Breakfast was delicious. Staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel is well situated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very weak and slow internet connection

    The hotel is part of the antique Heritage Square with a fantastic atmosphere especially in the evenings. Very friendly and supportive host team and a wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful boutique hotel, on walking distance of many restaurants and the V&A Waterfront. The hotel has a nice and quiet courtyard where you can have breakfast, but where you can also have a drink or something to eat in the evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, l loved everything about the hotel. My family and l had a very warm welcome, the staff was just amazing and very helpful. The rooms were so comfortable and the food was great! We were put in an apartment as a family, it was the best experience ever! I loved the bathrooms and facilities in our apartment. We enjoyed walking from the hotel to the market and other places. Thank you Cape Heritage Team! We will surely come back😄

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn’t bother us as we knew we were staying in a central location and had read other reviews, but we overheard a couple of guests (rudely) complaining of the noise in the courtyard at night. But credit to the staff in the way they handled the situation!

    We stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon and it was the perfect way to end our trip to SA. We loved the attention to detail in this hotel, with each room individually decorated and two fabulous lounges. The staff were super friendly and two steps ahead of us regarding our needs. Delicious breakfast too! Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from the downstairs establishments, however we did use the other bars and restaurants in Heritage Square so worth the trade off.

    Super friendly staff, great breakfast and our room was amazing, tip - request room 113 😀. UK London guests this place felt like a Soho House type boutique feel - very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms could be noisy if there’s a party on the streets (depending if facing the streets or the courtyard).

    This hotel was in a great location: easy to get to the city center and all of the great places you can visit in Cape Town. The staff was very helpful and nice, the did everything they could to make us feel comfortable. Very good breakfast served in the lovely courtyard. Very beautiful place, very recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It's wonderful

    This hotel is such a gem! I have walked past it a million times as I go about my business in the city and didn't know what lay beyond. It's location is perfect with so many restaurants within walking distance. I loved the decor in the two very differently styled (but equally beautiful) rooms I stayed in. I want to come back just so I can experience all of them. Also very spacious and comfortable. A nice big desk I could work at. Lovely, friendly staff. Great breakfast. So much attention to detail throughout!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to ‘not like ‘ The only problem is that it is now so popular it can be difficult to book

    The staff are exceptional - brilliant service with always a very friendly attitude- they are a great advert for SA The courtyard area is very relaxed and the bar and restaurants very good A good area to walk around

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor thing but it would be helpful if strength of Wi-Fi signal could be boosted around hotel. I struggled to complete a little bit of business despite help from staff

    Super friendly staff, so helpful Beautiful individual rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was a pleasant change from some of the big chain hotels Something different

    The hotel was what you would expect of boutique cool. The rooms were all different lucky for us we got an upgrade to suite 106 which was so nice. You could select your pillow from reception to be delivered to the room. I was able to see a quick peek at room 104 and next time I would book this I have never seen a bathroom like it talk about wow factor. The location was excellent near to restaurants bars and shops also a two minute walk to the hop on hop of bus. Underneath the hotel was a cosy little bar named No Reservations if you need any recommendations for eateries just ask the bar staff. The breakfast choices were excellent and my husband chose the full English every day. The other added bonus of this hotel in the courtyard behind were three restaurants and an ice cream parlour so if you were tired at the end of the day you simply had to head out back A great stay to our first visit to Cape Town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't fault the hotel. The rooms were beautiful, the beds were comfy and the breakfasts were good and plentiful. Great location too with the sightseeing tour bus stopping right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff here were absolutely magnificent and the hotel itself a gorgeously restored historical building. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order. Could not have been better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Fabulous staff. Super location. Great, great accommodation. Best complimentary breakfast I have ever seen. The attention to detail at this historic hotel is amazing. Each of the 17 rooms are different.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was beautiful inside with lots of interesting art. It had great historical interest. The rooms were different and some would be very suited to couples on honeymoon.The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The breakfast was the freshest, tastiest breakfast we’ve had in a hotel, and nothing was a problem for the staff. It’s a small hotel with lots of personal touches. It’s nearby great vibrant restaurants and bars and adjacent to the courtyard the hotel was on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given what is known of the dire water shortage in Cape Town, I think that the hotel could do more to encourage guests to conserve water.

    The hotel is utterly charming and character filled. The staff were very attentive and friendly, and the rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable. The bed and bed linen were particularly luxurious and comfortable. The room was a lovely size. The breakfast provided excellent choices. The hotel is very well situated if you want to be in the Cape Town city centre and as such is in the heart of trendy CT CBD.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Staff service not the best - Original room too noisy (they did not tell me there would be a function outside my window all night)

    The interior design and general art work in the building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are so welcoming and treat you like extended family. Breakfast is included in the room rate, and they offer a wide variety of dishes. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bed/pillows are so comfortable. This was our 2nd stay at Cape Hertiage and it won't be the last.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only negative part was that the windows leaked a lot of noise from the street.

    A very nice stay with top class service and very clean and classy room. Good central location in the city centre and great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed here while at conference at CTICC, although I also took a few days first to sightsee a bit. Other attendees stayed in big conference hotels, which looked ok. But this was so much better. Room was comfortable and felt more like home than a hotel (except for Friday night, which was loud late). All the people at the hotel could not have been nicer or more helpful. Breakfast was amazing (except I think I gained a pound because of it). Location was great: a number of close and excellent restaurants, could walk to sightsee (Castle, District 6 museum, Company gardens, Bo Kaap all close) and the conference center was a 15 minute walk. At night, I took Uber, which was easily done.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our suite was on the front on a main road so a little noisy and though the room was spacious and well appointed, the lighting was poor and the room was dark. (As far as we saw the other rooms were not as dark).

    The courtyard was pretty and flowed into a cool restaurant/bar with a lovely fire and DJ. We liked having the use of the sauna & the location was good for central Cape Town with a quick & easy walk onto Long Street and up into Kloof street with all the restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not at lot the hotel can really do about it but the car parking area along the side street of the hotel outside the HQ was quite noisy with street entertainers in the evening through to the early hours.

    The helpfulness of all the staff at the hotel was outstanding from assisting with wifi/internet access to booking trips/taxi services. Simply superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and efficient! The location of the hotel in the old part of the city and the interior architecture of the rooms are superb. The hotel truly reflects the heritage of the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. Everything was amazing.

    Breakfast was amazing. The bath tubs are glorious, and we couldn't have asked for a more accommodating staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overlooked extractor ducts from nearby restaurants, so no view & a bit of a smell. So ask for a room near the front - but might get street noise but it is a city hotel.

    Comfortable bed & room. Nice bathroom. Good wifi. Nice roof deck for a city view. Great position on Bree Street with bars & restaurants aplenty. Lovely period features.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness of the staff really made this a terrific place to stay. The room was clean, the bed comfortable (with special ordered pillows!)and the owners have done a great job with this quaint little hotel. It is also located with easy access to the city sightseeing bus system and lovely restaurants...which was great for us since we did not rent a car. We could not have picked a better place for our first trip to Cape Town. It was wonderful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent.

    The first impression is a lasting one. It's so refreshing to find a place that projects a personity and uniquess that embodies Cape Town culture, vibe and friendliness. Bamford and Teej were exceptionally helpful in catering to all the comforts you would have as a guest. Upon arrival to departure was just fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The free wifi is a bit unstable.

    I lived here for almost two weeks while my house was being renovated, it was amazing. Lovely bathrooms and beds, epic breakfasts and excellent service. Love this little hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is just a fantastic hotel. I was only staying for one night, in transit through Cape Town. I genuinely wished I could have stayed longer and enjoyed it more fully.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    So much to like with this delightful boutique hotel. The staff were helpful and courteous. The hotel is on a great street for restaurants - a variety of menu options within a short walk. There was some noise in the courtyard from the restaurants below but it always tapered off as it got later and didn't prevent us from sleeping. The shower pressure is excellent and beds very comfortable. Plenty of storage for suitcases. I had mentioned it was our honeymoon on my booking and the staff added some lovely touches to our room (won't spoil the surprise for other prospective honeymooners). The aesthetic of the hotel is lovely as well. A nice change from the characterless big chains.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be a good improvement to have an extra internal door in the room so there is less noise in the room from the hallway.

    Very friendly staff. Nice rooms and good location. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    brilliant staff - great breakfasts - original cool bedrooms and furniture as you expect in a top class boutique hotel. right near the most interesting part of Cape Town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The restaurant on the ground floor of the complex is extremely noisy late in the week and on Saturday. Our room was in the annex, and even there we could here the beat of the music late into the evening.

    The central location, helpful staff, and historic atmosphere were super.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room overlooked the courtyard restaurant which remained quite noisy until after 10pm, although this didn't prove to be a problem for us.

    Situated in a lovely historic building not far from Greenmarket Square it is close to the eclectic street and restaurant scene of the city, and only a 15 min walk to the Waterfront. Genuinely friendly and helpful staff couldn't do enough for us, and the made-to-order breakfasts were excellent. Very comfortable room contained interesting antiques and artwork.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing they were fantastic

    The staff at the Heritage were fantastic. We had a few issues (nothing to do with the hotel) and they bent over backwards to help us. We had issues with a flight to Victoria Falls and the staff spent over an hour on the phone to sort it out for us. We had some unpleasant experiences in Cape Town but the staff at the Heritage restored our faith in the local people. They could not do enough for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is adjacent to a bar/club. It was noisy on only one night, and only until about 11.30pm, but that might annoy some people. It didn't annoy me - my (large) balcony overlooked the dining courtyard area for this club, and it was a fantastic space.

    The staff were all fantastic. Sam was especially helpful, but all the staff were great. The hotel is small, which I prefer to the soulless larger ones. The great benefit of this is that you get to know the staff, and they have the time to assist you immediately and thoroughly if you need any information or help. The decor is modern with an African flavour, and super stylish. The breakfast was a little too good, with a fine buffet section, but also a range of (complimentary) menu items that were beautifully cooked by their chef. The location is great - surrounded by bars, clubs and shopping and a short walk to the waterfront district. It is nearby the Company Gardens and Green Market square, all within a very few minutes walk. The bed was super comfy, the room was large and very comfortable and the bathrooms are fantastic. The bath and shower pressure and temperature control were excellent, and I managed to use much more water than I should have done given their current severe water restrictions. Highly recommended - I would stay here again next time I'm in Cape Town, without question.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the Cape Heritage is beyond compare. The staff are attentive, friendly, and in top form. They really know how to make a guest feel at ease, and go that extra mile to make things seamless. The breakfast is scrumptious, and the inner courtyard such a gem. The central location was really useful on this trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit noisy on Saturday night, though they did warn me.

    Room verandah made it very spacious. Style was elegant. Staff friendly and went the extra mile. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is old and quaint. I hated the grey carpet on the landing en route to our room - it looked well worn and old. It doesn't give a clean feeling. Timber floors would look great and give a clean feeling.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioner was a bit noisy.

    Great location - it's really close to some cool bars and restaurants. The staff were first class - so friendly and helped us with anything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    music from night club across the road until 3am on first Thursday of the month.

    Beautiful rooms. Wonderful customerservice. Great location but would not stay on first Thursday of the month.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little to complain about except the clothes we sent to be laundered could have come back with a better finish.

    The staff couldn't have been more helpful and charming.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: