Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Cape Royale 5 stars

47 Main Road, Green Point, 8051 Cape Town, South Africa

#74 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 855 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location. Staff need to attend a Customer Service Training Course ASAP.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were apathetic and couldn't be bothered with assisting guests. The doorman made us wait outside for fifteen minutes because he decided to lock the front gate in the evening. We had to call reception to inform them that we were outside.

    The location and the apartment decor was an absolute delight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    value for money. excellent service. close walking distance to Waterfront as well as Long Street. Staff very friendly and helpful. a bit noisy as there was a bit of renovations going on. overall a very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay and staff at Cape Royale! We would stay here again on future travels to Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing!

    Everything about our stay at Cape Royal was wonderful. The staff really made our experience. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating, ranging from our driver (from the airport), reception, the doormen, and young gentlemen who helped us with our luggage. We also enjoyed the cafe inside the hotel. Overall very kind and attentive staff, beautiful room, and the food was great. We really enjoyed our stay and would come back again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    It’s huge for a family of four!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their shuffle Service is quite expensive

    It’s huge for a family of four! The best thing about it we can cook our daily breakfast and we can do some laundry . It’s just a 10 minute walk to the Waterfront. There are a number of restaurant downstairs and nearby grocery store. Taxis are available anytime just outside the hotel .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    I really enjoyed my stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The problem is their bar and dinning area which is very small, and doesn't have a TV.

    Very spacious, clean and it's a walking distance to waterfront. Price is very reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Not very pleasant .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very helpful.

    Staff was not really helpful.i booked online . Online booking said free breakfast that was not offered .when we arrived at hotel room was ot ready as per request of 2 single bed arrangements. Be very careful when booking online as when you arrive at hotel they unaware of booking .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Feel right at home near the V&A Waterfront! Excellent hospitality and beautiful suites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There were only two minor points for me, but they did not detract from the visit enough for me to rate it below a 10: We checked out on a Saturday morning and left our luggage at the hotel as we had arranged for them to take us to the airport for a very late evening flight. We stopped back through at the hotel to grab our jackets and I asked the reception if we could have a small bottle of water like the ones that they left us every day in the room. I was told this was only for active guests, even though we had just checked out that morning after a 7 night stay. I thought this was a little inconsiderate considering we had been excellent guests at the hotel and most days we didn't even use all the little bottles of water they had given. I didn't see why giving us one small bottle of water would have been breaking protocol. Secondly--the entire apartment was spotless except for some clearly visible build up in the showers. Again, not enough for me to bring down the rating as the rest of the apartment was always cleaned well.

    The size of the suites were exactly as pictured. This was perfect for us and my parents (two adult couples) as it provided plenty of personal space as well as significant common area space to hang out. It felt like we were right at home! The staff were fantastic from the moment we were picked up from the airport until the moment we were dropped off at the airport. We were greeted with a smile every morning and they were always willing to help us. The location was excellent! As the shuttle only ran every 2 hours and the waterfront was only 7-10 minute walk, we opted to walk to the waterfront multiple times during our trip. If we were returning at night, then the taxi was just a quick 5 minute drive to the hotel. There are also several restaurants within safe walking distance (1-3 blocks, even at night) if you've had a long day of touring. We liked Extrablatt for a dependable bite with lots of choices nearby the hotel. If you want to go down to the waterfront there are tons of options (our favorites were Life Grand Cafe and Den Anker).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The swimming pool isn't in used due to drought issue (which we totally understand), but the hotel didn't inform us. - There was a problem with our bathroom floor drain, which caused small flooding in our room. However, after we called, their friendly staffs came to fix quite quickly. - Complimentary red wine wasn't that great.

    - Most of staffs we met are very friendly and helpful (except those at reception counter that are quite cold). - The room is big and perfect for 4 of us with all facilities we need. It was comfortable and well cleaned. - Valet parking makes it's convenient and reliable about the safety. - Supermarket and great restaurants are located nearby, just walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Exellent location, wish we had stayed a bit longer, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was coffee, tea, milk and some biscuits supplied, but no washing detergent or any cloths to clean up with.

    The room was very spacious and extremely well equipped, all the mod cons and tv after 8 days without it our teens were very happy. The room was very well set out and really clean. We very much enjoyed all the space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Unforgetable stay and part reason in us having a holiday of a lifetime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we had was the road noise early morning and late evening, deeper double glazed window panels could have been more effective in reducing noise levels.

    The staff were really friendly and very efficient in their jobs, and went the extra mile to ensure we had a great stay. Nothing was a problem for them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, lovely apartment, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Three-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets, curtains and furniture such as the couches and coffee table in the sitting area of the apartment looked a bit worn, probably have been in use for quite some time. Otherwise no complaints!

    We only stayed the night but all our expectations were met during this short period! We were traveling as an extended family (husband, wife, child (7) and mother-in-law) the 3 bedroom-bathroom apartment was spacious, the apartment information was correct as per the advertisment and allowed for a stress free stay over. The fully equipped kitchen served all our needs, from warming lasagne for a seven year old to enjoying a good cup of coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely one night experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have vertigo so walking from the lift to the room was daunting as (apart from the glass baulastrades on either side) there is a 7 story drop on either side! I wish I had known this beforehand and saved myself the anxiety!

    The delux room was lovely and very comfortable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall we had a truly great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only real downside was the Wi-fi situation in the hotel. Wi-fi in the room didn’t work at all most of the time. It couldn’t get fixed even after our complaints.

    Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Always there to make you feel comfortable and welcome. The location of the hotel is good. It is not directly located at Waterfront, but very close by (< 5 min by taxi or uber) A strong recommendation anyway is to use Uber. No matter where in Capetown we were the waiting time for an uber never exceeded 2-3 min and the fare is about half of the taxis there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    Room size was very nice and the kitchen was practical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was noisy, all 4 of us had trouble sleeping. I requested a quite room as high as possible, request was ignored. No utensils in kitchen or any cleaning products/material. Carpets were dirty.

    Room size was very nice and the kitchen was practical.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Most of the bedrooms have no windows which feels very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most of the bedrooms have no windows which feels very claustrophobic. One of our rooms had a broken balcony door frame so we had to leave it open which meant that it was very loud since it was facing the road and it also posed a safety risk (especially with small kids)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Serious improvement needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food gets more horrible with each visit. We were served a horrible and off macaroni cheese dish. The worst meal ever!

    The rooms are lovely and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced & Not Up to Standard!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally overpriced! The hotel is basically private apartments which are managed by the hotel so like an AirBnb type of basis. There are restaurants around the hotel but the hotel itself has a tiny cafe on the 1st floor & that’s it!! The raved-after sky terrace bar was not working (also privately owned). They had moved out a couple of months before & no one had updated this online. No pool (had dried up because of the water shortage & started to go green). Front desk quite useless - we booked a day trip & they informed us at 1am that we will be picked up the next morning at 5:45am !!! NOTE: lock your stuff safely in the safe. One evening I was taking a shower, the cleaning ladies barged in & when I rushed out with my towel to see who was in the apartement I caught one of them screening my open bag that was on the sofa (I guess for $$). Not professional at all! Disappointing hotel!!

    The location is very convenient - near to lots of cute brunch places which have great coffee & easy Uber ride away from Waterfront & all else... There is a beautiful view if you are staying at the higher levels with window towards Table Mountain/ Lion’s Head :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.8
    Just avoid it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the price....avoid it. Too much personal but no one is really doing the things you ask for. We had our car bumped in the garage and no one seems to care much...no communication, we are left on our own

    Location is good and rooms are very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.8
    Hungry for money 5star Cape Royale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra to use the sauna or steam room. Also the pool was almost empty. Even tho its a 5 star hotel i think it should be a 4 star as staff is extremely rude and costs more money if you want to do or use something. No welcome drink was given to us after it stated we will receive one. I had to pay extra for coffee and milk and on the second day of our stay they didnt even give us our complimentary coffee and milk as the ones we had to buy from hotel was still there. Also we stayed at the Taj hotel that is also a 5 star hotel in Cape Town and if you compare the 2 together the Taj wins by far, you dont have to pay any extra money for using the sauna or steam room etc and their pool has water. Also cape Royale you had to pay for parking everyday?? Seriously and then i get told its Hotel policy. It just showed us this hotel is trying to get money out of guests and the more tye better. My suggestion for all guests wanting to stay in a 5star Hotel is to rather book a Hotel that gives you the real deal. Deff a hotel we wont book really soon.

    Room was nice and big.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    2.5
    Dishonest advertising, dirty gross hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inept service, waited 45 minutes for my car as the staff didn’t write down the make and didn’t come to ask me. NOT as advertised, dirty room with an uncomfortable old mattress that was slanted from use. I will never stay here again.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Very average for a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On main road so noisy. No swimming pool with water as advertised. Know there is a drought but take it off the advertisement as you may have a borehole. Couldn’t find the gym or spa. Bar at the pool is poor / non existent. No room service menu in room ? Service gentleman just walked into the room to fix the TV. Did not knock just walked straight in and there was nothing wrong with the TV - UNACCEPTABLE !!!! Then the room service lady walked in while I was showering. I asked her to leave and come back later. I continued to shower. Then when I went to check the door she had left it unlocked - UNACCEPTABLE !!!!!!!!

    Spacious great sized apartments. Comfortable beds and pillows. Great coffee machine. Gentleman at the entrance very welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Quality spacious rooms and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately due to water shortage we were unable to soak in the big bath. Noticed a badly chipped wooden table, which surprised us as it is a five star hotel.

    Spacious rooms, nice decor, good quality products, well equipped kitchen. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    4.2
    Dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was extremely poor. The facilities were run down and broken. Equipment is poor quality. Nothing that was agreed prior to checking was executed. Very unhelp staff. The check in was aweful. Didn’t have the righ keys so they gave us the cleaning staff’s spare keys. The manager just brushed us off when we walked in and gave us a letter saying anything you need to know is written on the letter so he’s not going to explain anything we have to read. The room facilties was terrible. Chairs broken. Etc.

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Great place but needs better internet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was terrible. It hardly worked the entire time I was there. It really needs to be worked on.

    The hotel is great, the location is amazing! the room is very spacious and the staff was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    Fabulous work/play weekend in Cape Town
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in staff were really slow and seemed demotivated but the bellhop was super friendly.

    The hotel is well located and was ideal for us because we were exhibiting at the Lookout. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. However, I would not rate this a 5 Star hotel - it lacks the attention to the finer details one would expect of a luxury hotel. Overall though - we had a great time and would use the hotel again if we are exhibiting near the Waterfront.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.6
    Okay, but has deteriorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is looking tired and the swimming pool on the roof was open but the bar on the roof was closed. No staff on duty at the pool and looks neglected.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointing and substantially below expectations for a 5 star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi fi did not work throughout my stay. They lost my car and only found it after several attempts and a 30 minute delay making me late for an appointment. The restaurant/dining facilities were very poor. Just a few small café type tables and a very limited burger type menu. This should not be a 5 star hotel - more a 3 star. The room had a kitchen which was quite unnecessary and unexpected. The bedroom area was modern and dull in style. When I (politely) passed on my disappointment to the receptionist, she was completely silent and just stared at me not saying anything. A simple acknowledgement of what I was saying would have been nice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.0
    To be honest I would rather stay in a city lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had no AC for the whole stay in the master bedroom.... could not be fixed. I had already moved once and was not going to move again. Coffee machine also did not work, and never got replaced! No pool or upstairs roof top bar not open.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    A pampered luxury stay in a well-run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to be named to dislike in this hotel.

    We like everything from our stay, from the staff to the facility. Our experience has been super. The doorman gave us a "royal treatment", which our children loved it so much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    Not a fan
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gave me a faulty iron almost got electrocuted, Staff is very lazy have to ask few times to get something done. Does not represent the professionalism of 5 star hotel. I would rate it 3 star nothing more

    Location was nice, many restaurants around the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice, but not 5-star
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooftop pool in a state of neglect and no service there.

    The spacious suite and beautiful granite and marble in the lobby and upstairs passages. The architecture is impressive with wide walkways and large rooms and suites.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    The food was really great, the suite was very spacious and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-Fi connection was really poor. The doors were rather old-fashioned and manouevering the key lock was a bit tedious. The view from my room was quite abysmal.

    The food was really great, the suite was very spacious and had a homey feel. The staff was very pleasant and extremely helpful. There was instant access to Taxis which were always lined in front of the Hotel and the Hotel's location is central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    2.5
    Nothing - It’s a Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a fraud The swimming pool we had to climb 3 floors - no elevator to the pool area -service is very weak. Its not a 5 star and not even a 3 star hotel it’s a Fraud.

    Nothing - It’s a Nightmare

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.9
    Good size on the room and very nice bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facility on the top terrace was a mess and not ready to use. I had to ask for an Iron and Iron board four 4 times over two days before they delivered. When it finally came, it was leaking water. One elevator was out of order, so had to wait a lot.

    Good size on the room and very nice bathrooms. Very helpful travel desk helping us book a tour. It was appreciated that the hotel gave us the opportunity to use a bath room after check out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    Should not be rated as a five star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were worried during our entire stay as we discovered there is a history of many many thefts inside the hotel rooms and our friends had their money stolen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.7
    staff good - but hotel could be better and no pool/rooftop bar open - which was advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    as mentioned - part of why we booked was the roof top bar and pool - neither were open - also all hotel was a little jaded and not 5 star

    staff were good - did a wine trip and driver Lance was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    This comfortable hotel is a perfect location for visiting central Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool area is tired looking and in need of repair

    Comfortable bed, spacious suite, good shower, useful shuttle service, good quality room service menu, excellent staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Ideal if looking for large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Huge rooms with full kitchen and washing machine however very limited cooking utensils. Only continental breakfast, lots of alternatives next door. Staff very helpful and friendly, taxi rank at front door so easy to get around. very good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    Poor service, apartment, overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor valet and parking service (stated as a standard service at the location) : no one to receive our vehicle, no valet tags/receipts, extra charge for valet parking. Security guy first said we could not leave our car and later said we should just leave the car in the street and give him the key, someone will park it later... Confused security guard: made us each sign his visitors book at the door, while other people were moving in and out unhindered? We asked him why...he was unsure...seemed to need to show he was doing a job. These are apartments with kitchens, not suites. Some apartments are occupied privately and others are part of the hotel. We received standard metal keys with dimestore red plastic tags for the apartment door. You need to unlock the door and lock it again with the key from the inside after you have entered. 5 star rating on paper, but not in practice: probably to attempt to justify over pricing. The building looks impressive, but amenities are as cheap as possible to tick the boxes for a 5 star rating. A confused member of staff entered our room while the do not disturb tag was on the door (and I grabbed a bathrobe) and stuffed two sweets and two bottles of water in my hands without uttering a single word or showing any facial expression and just walked out again...surreal. The bed was small and the pillows were very thin and uncomfortable. Not what we expect with a 5 star rating. The wall clock's battery was flat.

    Location was quite convenient. The location was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.8
    Rude staff, no bar/rooftop service, gym awful, no lobby bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk staff rude. Asked for late checkout and it was granted. Upon checkout they tried to say I didn’t ask and tried to charge us for an extra day! Rooftop pool and lounge and bar not in service! Gym awful

    Valets and guys at entrance amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    Well located hotel, but very expensive for the services that it provides!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was mediocre! The furniture looked like it was bought from Ikea! The bathroom products were stingy and the facilities not worth a 5 stars hotel!

    Excellent location!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.4
    The cleanliness of the hotel was not even close to a 2-star...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The cleanliness of the hotel was not even close to a 2-star hotel. Amenities are very poor and nothing was provided. The hotel furniture is worn out. I would rate the hotel as a 3-star and I don't think I'll ever stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location, comfortable beds and great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in the bedroom and lounge areas felt a little outdated in terms of their size. Could have provided a bigger tv for the lounge area.

    Service was good, beds were very comfy. They even had universal electrical sockets which came in handy for charging phones etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not operational due to the drought in CT. DSTV package limited so not enough channels to view.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean rooms. Knowledgeable travel desk. Would definitely visit again. Recommended for family stays.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.3
    Broken Bed ,they had to replace it .
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Broken Bed ,they had to replace it . Balcony Door Broken , did not close it took them 2 days to fix it . one receptionist was very un-helpful and dismissive . Not a great experience !! Room Service extremely bad service !!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.8
    Dissapointing and expensive for 5 Star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Light in the room was awful, very depressing, we requested a new room but after 2 days of being asked to check the next day we decided they weren't doing anything about it, roof top bar wasn't 5* quality, room service was slow.

    Valet service for parking the car was a nice touch, but not necessary. Was nice to have a washing machine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable stays, but located on a very busy street. Parking the car can be somewhat troublesom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Street is very busy, and hard to even just park parallel outside the hotel at times. And instruction wasn't very clear upon arrival. We've drove around the blocks a few times, before we were offered valet parking services.

    Hotel is comfortable but hard to find parking: even with valet service. Street is very busy, and hard to even just park parallel outside the hotel at times.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    It is a very bad experience, during our stay at the hotel. Would unlikely to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a second room (218) with 3 ppl staying at the hotel, which had an air conditioning problem closer to midnight. (not working: air outside is actually cooler compare to the room). Staff at the front desk, was not able fix the problem: while we constantly calling the front desk, though was not able to switch to another double room: due to the hotel is fully booked. Staff only managed to find a single room to accommodated 2 of our friends, but problem lasted till after 1pm, we had to ask our 3rd friend to sleep on our sofa: without getting much help from the hotel. Understand the situation where the hotel is fully booked, but as a customer, experience was really bad, as we had to work with the hotel staff till 1am in the morning, while calling and asking for an update, until we had to physically walk down to the front desk and ask. In the morning manager decide to waive the "parking fees" for us, but our holiday is already ruined.

    One of the Room is comfortable (219), as expected from our previous stay during the 2nd and 3rd December.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    Great stay , dissapointing room service and lack of information on availability of pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I am acutely aware of the water shortages in Cape Town, I would have appreciated some communication from the hotel that the accommodation we booked, which was chosen on the basis that it had a private pool, at the time, the pool actually was not available. I wasn't even informed at check in and was only casually informed that the hotel pool was open. I of course learnt later that this pool was also closed. I would have expected some proactive communication about this which would have allowed me to downgrade my accommodation. The room service left much to be desired. The chicken mayo sandwich which cost R125 was plain and inedible. Not what I expected for that price.

    Great stay as usual wonderful accommodation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The add didn't say that the room was a floor room. The shower had mold. We had some issues with the security box and TV. The staff needed long time to respond.

    Location was good. And the parking included was also a plus. The staff was really kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.3
    Shocking
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff attitude, I paid over R8500.00 and could not even get a shuttle to my function. This is by far one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. I will never go back and I travel allot to Cape Town at least once a month.

    nOTHING

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Spacious modern apartment in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows/doors did not seem to fit very well which meant the noise from the road at night was very loud but then it is a central location so traffic noise was expected.

    Spacious modern apartment in a good central location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Perfect as a city hotel. Very practicaland clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deco in our room was very dark. The complimentary drinking water came in plastic bottles and was very little. The breakfast was nice but not luxury.

    Very nice bed linen

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Loved being able to pull up in the car right in front of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved being able to pull up in the car right in front of the hotel and the concierge parked the car and would then bring it back whenever we needed to go out. Great service!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.8
    Needs investment to bring up to five star levels Also staff are not well managed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nowhere to pick up or drop off guests. eThe Hotel seems to allow taxis and minibus taxis to use up the parking in front of the hotel. Maintaince is poor — cupboard doors no longer fit correctly , bathroom mirror is peeling etc. General impression is that only maintaince that is absolutely necessary is carried out. The rooftop bar pool area does not remotely look like one belonging to a Five Star Hotel.

    Suite was big

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.6
    THIS IS NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL AND I WOULDNEVER RECOMMAND IT
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Floor in corridor was broken for 7 days I stayed Shower was leaking Towel rack was broken Fitting and tiling of the bathroom cheap and horrible Strange location of the bedroom (very dark), close to the entrance and not close to the main window unnecessary room dedicated to the kitchen, but no pans for cooking!! service ok, but definitively not at level of 5 star hotel: they forgot towel one day, soap another day nothing was special or memorable the roof top pool was broken and half empty my room was not ready on my arrival staff was just fine but definitively not specially nice or welcoming after 7 day stay I asked if I could have a 2 hour late check out: I was told they could grant me only one hour... definitively not a 5 star hotel! Neither for the facility finishes (fake cheap and badly build) neither for the amenities (nothing was offered: newspaper, fruits, specialty soaps or personal beauty products) Tea? It was "five roses" .... how cheap is that, when you choose specialty teas.... African teas,???

    there was salt and pepper available in the kitchen

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    water leaks in both bathrooms, first night dripping geyser...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    water leaks in both bathrooms, first night dripping geyser woke me up in main bathroom, second night wash basin leaking whole floor was wet in second bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    It is average! Not luxury at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is a little run down and definitely not 5 star. The apartments need an upgrade. Toilet did not stop running, shower water pressure was terrible, drainage on shower was blocked, microwave and coffee machine did not work in unit, the phone kept making a noise as it was not operational which meant we had constant disturbance with staff ringing the bell. TV in main bedroom was a computer screen which did not work. We had to carry our own bags when we arrived. Staff require training.

    Location is great and the units are spacious, perfect for a family! You have plenty of restaurant options within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.0
    Worst experience. It is an embarrassment to class this hotel with other 5 star hotels in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    From arrival to departure was appalling

    Unprofessional, lack of detail, staff not trained to 5 star standard. Direct reservations is appalling. General Manager is appalling. This hotel should be rated 1 star and not 5. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. Worst experience ever. Will never ever go back, even if it was for free or I as paid.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    2.9
    Absolutely miserable in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our first night on honeymoon, and although we checked in really late, I would expect a 5 star hotel to bother after hours to make a fuss over us. The best we got was a phone call in the morning to remind us to vacate the premises.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    The place was perfectly situated to get to all the great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was perfectly situated to get to all the great places in Cape Town. Excellent location. The hotel offers a very luxury experience with extremely professional and friendly staff. We are Cape Town Locals that travel the world often. We would recommend this place for the over all package. This is where would have love to stay of we were traveling to Cape Town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Reformed high-class city hotel of reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only shower without bus-tub in our room. A coffee shop in the roof-top garden was scenery. It was better be used for continental breakfast.

    A reformed traditional high-class hotel of reasonable price. Our room equipped a kitchen. Better location in walking distance to harbor area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Great point for a HQ to travel around in Cape town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The single beds weren't the most comfortable.

    To be honest was a pleasant surprise. We had an issue on the first room they gave us but they rectified it quick and easy. The staff were an absolute joy to talk to and very helpful. The Coffee house next door was amazing. Ten minute walk to the V&A. And the neighborhood was quite and safe at night. The rooms/ apartments were spacious and well equipped.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent quality and finishes of the room, very clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent quality and finishes of the room, very clean, friendly stuff and available every time is necessary, good location (close to Waterfront). Highly recommended for the nice and large rooms/apartments and for the excellent balance between price and quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.3
    Very good location, impressive physical building and design. Extremely underwhelming service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff at check in were unfortunately extremely inattentive and a tad unprofessional. I was asked to sit down as the check in staff took on a full blown conversation on the phone as I sat in front of the check in desk. No pleasantries on whether I was visiting on vacation, which I was and whether I would like any support with any site bookings during my stay nor any recommendations given. In short, for a property that is seemingly a 5 star, the staff fall very short of meeting that high standard. I won't even go into the 2 times I was stopped walking into the hotel and asked if I was a guest. While I appreciate being able to stay in a hotel that takes security and my security at that seriously, I would have had a different perception if other guests were provided the same "treatment" I was given. While the physical facility is very good, the attentiveness and professionalism of the staff left me underwhelmed and certainly won't be returning.

    The location is perfect for pretty much anything you'd like to do while in Capetown and the rooms and facilities are very clean and well kept.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay, accommodation clean, luxurious and very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice of food on offer for kids.

    Staff exceptionally friendly and could not do enough for you!!!! Rooms spacious and very well equipped. Great location just 10 mind walk to waterfront and city centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.0
    Will will not go back to this "hotel"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being charged r100.00 A day for parking !!!We were not informed of the parking charge, only told when we checked out......, Since when do you get charged for parking at a so called 5 star hotel ??

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    I was not happy with the fact that on my arrival I was told...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not happy with the fact that on my arrival I was told that my room rate is excluding breakfast, so I had to pay for breakfast for 4 people, that was very disappointing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    It was good but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was stuck to one channel. We couldn't change the channel at all so didn't get a chance to watch TV during downtime. The aircon wasn't working either. Tried to press the on button but nothing happened. Staff are somewhat friendly. Had to wait 10 minutes for someone to come to reception to check me in. First impression - not good. Parking is an issue. No proper signs of the hotel when driving, especially at night. Parking attendants or parking security staff were hardly around to open the gate to the parking.

    The bed was really comfortable. The apartment was very clean and smelt nice. Overall, the apartment was very comfortable. The little touches in the apartment were good. I would definitely stay here but the service needs to improve.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Three-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that all costs were not explained. I thought booking.com was advertising bed and breakfast so was not happy to find out that it was bed only when I got to the hotel

    Loved the little gifts and wine in the room. Loved the driver who kindly took us to dinner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is really non-existent. It's not a restaurant so eating out is the only option. It's tiny (smaller than a bedroom), cramped and the meals are terrible.

    The 2 bedroom apartment was gorgeous. Clean and elegant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Well located , great for families with teenage children and self catering facilities great .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen and pillows can be improved . Room cleaning a little tardy

    Extra large rooms , good view ( request room with sea view) Cooking and laundry facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    The suite was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was difficult to use. Very few power points and hotel hair dryer did not fit so had to use adaptor. Roof top bar was hard to get to and when we did find it, it was shut.

    The suite was excellent. Good size and nicely furnished. Had a nice feel to it. Most staff were excellent. Had maintenance to fix tv and gentleman was very cheerful. Lady on guest services/reception did not seem happy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Space of the three bedroom suite .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite with Living Area (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service menu is very poor, only few options. They need to work on it. We had to dine out because of that or get food from outside.

    Space of the three bedroom suite .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Good location, excellent staff, a few hiccups but a comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Living Area
    • Stayed 5 nights

    TV was not working, very promptly changed. Had to call out maintenance twice for problem with air conditioning.

    Apartment style self service suites with all internal amenities. Helpful and cheerful staff. Excellent and prompt service. Clean rooms and linen. Free wi-fi. Walking distance to waterfront. Very close to grocery store and good restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: