Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cascade Manor 4 stars

Waterval Road, Dal Josaphat, 7620 Paarl, South Africa

#13 of 29 B&Bs and Inns in Paarl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 88 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Stunning hotel in the beautiful winelands/olive fields...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning hotel in the beautiful winelands/olive fields near Paarl. Great playarea and trampoline for kids, lovely swimming pool (though it was freezing!!!) and gorgeous waterfall on site. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi coverage very poor. TV channel bouquet non-existent. Telephone in the room not working. Lunch and dinner offering very very limited, and taste average. Quite pricey for what you get.

    Our pool facing room was excellent and spotless. The staff were very friendly, especially Carmen and Brandon, who went out of their way to satisfy our every request with efficiency and a smile. Spa treatments were good, although the facilities can be upgraded and offering improved.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have never felt compelled to write a review until now. Our experience at Cascade Manor was unfortunately very disappointing. My husband and I got married at waterfall at Cascade Manor 10 years ago. We now live in the UK and decided to travel back for our anniversary. I prearranged a massage at the waterfall where we exchanged our vows and upon arrival we were informed this was no longer possible as they had subsequently taken a booking from a film crew who wanted to use the waterfall for their filming. We would have appreciated to be informed of this before our arrival so we could have made alternative arrangements. The staff offered us a bottle of wine as compensation which we politely declined as it could not possibly make up for the disappointment. It’s not like we could revisit the venue at a drop of a hat or rebook the massage at another point. The venue was absolutely stunning when we got married there and unfortunately now it is very tired and requires a lot of tlc. The spa area was also very disappointing and dirty. We have very special memories of our wedding at Cascade Manor, but if we had to choose a venue now Cascade Manor would not even make the shortlist.

    Beautiful remote setting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent. Facilities are well maintained . Staff is very nice. The garden and the swimming pool are very peaceful. It's the ideal place to relax and to visit vineyards.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    As our flight was leaving late in the evening we asked for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    As our flight was leaving late in the evening we asked for an extended stay and we were offered a smaller room for the day without charge. everybody was very friendly: even our car got a free carwash!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    We arrived to check-in at 9pm.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived to check-in at 9pm. Despite the hour and lack of notice, they arranged cheese and wine platters for us and gave excelllent check-in service, which was needed after a long drive from Plettenberg. Beautiful and peaceful surroundings - good if you are looking for something a little out of the way, but only a short drive to some great vineyards.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    The pool area is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor selection of TV channels. Check out was a bit curt, staff distracted. Hotel should keep a record of returning guests, speaks volumes about attention to detail if they do.

    The pool area is beautiful. Bedrooms are a good size and very comfy. Nice breakfast, restaurant staff very warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic accommodation facilities - room and bathroom are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu for lunch and dinner was boring and repetitive - we ate outside the property most days. Swimming pool was cold and a bit murky for the whole week. Avoid the cocktails.

    Fantastic accommodation facilities - room and bathroom are spotless, as good as new and clean. Nice breakfast. Very friendly staff. Great facility grounds with beautiful views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    A peaceful spot in paarl
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The accommodation was very comfortable. The staff were very obliging and nothing was a problem for them. The evening meal was excellent. I would definitely recommend this place and wish we had stayed for longer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Child friendly comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch/dinner was good but not exceptional. The kiddies menu portions were perfect for our two kids to share, but very large and pricey if catering for 1 child.

    Very comfortable and child friendly. We enjoyed the kiddies pool and the walk to the waterfall. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    4.2
    Expected better!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only liquid soap in bathroom.Heavy glass bottles dangerous in shower.Tv not working.No internet access.Nobody after hours at reception.No air freshener or toilet spray.Bad gravel road.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Absolutley excellent, I would definitely recommend Cascade Manor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi in the room kept cutting off but that is a minor issue

    The facilities are great, lovely pool indoor and out. friendly staff and so helpful. We didn't do the dinner but the breakfast was great, good variety and the hot breakfast was well cooked and the eggs were perfect. Really relaxing, lovely waterfall about 200m from the main hotel with a hammock and two chairs, so can just chill there and read and listen to the waterfall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    There are much nicer places in Town where it is convenient to go off property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the owners words " the room you were given is the one you get for booking through booking.com." We had a view of the roof to the building next door and a patio covered in fake grrrn grass. It had two chairs, no table and no decent view. The dinner staff was disorganized. There was a loud banging and a light shining into our room on our first night.

    The room was pretty and the bathroom products were very nice. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place for a family get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was bad. We were a couple and had two single beds that was pushed together. Pillows was not good.

    I liked the indoor heated pool and sauna. The location is beautiful. The staff is great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    no better place to be than Cascade manor, it has a little something for everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect, I loved it!

    The hospitality and friendliness of the staff and the beautiful venue with tranquil surroundings. It is absolutely amazing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.3
    Perfect weekend at Cascade Manor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of TV channels.

    The rooms and en-suite bathrooms are lovely and large. Good breakfast spread and friendly staff. The pool is in the most lovely position and we had a lovely day sunbathing. We also enjoyed our treatments at the spa.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.2
    The place grows on you until you fall in love with it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bedroom balcony had bird mess, one of the lounges were a bit cluttered

    Great breakfast, beautiful views, staff with heart and soul, relaxing, peaceful, stunning..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location right on the beach. Lovely beach bar. Good restaurant with superb food. You even get your car cleaned when you come down in the mornings. Everything you could want.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    6.3
    Comfortable stay
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our honeymoon night and we expected some rose petals etc in our bedroom with a welcoming breakfast but it was just as any other normal morning. The staff were professional and friendly. They did not tell my husband that the spa needs to be booked in advance ( he is not used to doing bookings as such and I would have thought someone would suggest making an appointment for the spa when he specifically asked if it is a spa and a guest house when he booked. The room had a tiny bottle of jc le roux champers in with a bowl of strawberries and 2 blocks of lindt choc. Although the idea was there, I would suggest to make more of a fuss for a couple who just got married.

    Room was luxurious and comfortable. Breakfast was fresh and well prepared. Staff was friendly and helped us take our luggage to the car when we checked out which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    Overpriced thin walled rooms with dissapointing bed arrangement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 single beds pushed together instead of double - uncomfortable. Walls very thin and we could hear guests next doors conversation. Privacy as well as a disburbance concern. Considering the price for one nights stay, this was unexpected, and dissapointing

    Friendly efficient staff Fantastic bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Hope we’ll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel - beautiful location, lovely rooms, food and facilities and the staff were wonderful and attentive. Really glad we stayed here!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable & relaxing. Staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs/requests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds

    Staff friendliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Staff was super friendly and super efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was super friendly and super efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent. Beautiful grounds. Great for families. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    The perfect getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More food options are needed

    The perfect getaway! Only 1 hours drive from Cape Town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    It was absolutely amazing, will definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    THE VIEW WAS AMAZING

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and easy access..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pricey for what you get & limited availability at Spa.

    Good room and bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Everything and more 🌈 best break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps some more for the evening like so live music at dinner? Just something special

    Everything and more 🌈 best break

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    A fantastic, relaxing retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was fine but dinner menu was extremely overpriced for the quality received.

    Peaceful setting, swimming pool, garden

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.0
    Comfort & privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort & privacy. Relaxing in the pool and in the hammock at the waterfall...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing oasis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing food. Excellent spa service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    tops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pool was dirty which was a disappointment as that was my main reason for staying at this facility

    the room and cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Top hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff understands true hospitality. Great service, breakfast and area to discover.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing stay at this secluded quiet and peaceful manor hotel. Amazing spa treatment and amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Property situated is a quiet peaceful valley and was beautiful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful, wish we could stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Room was lovely, warm and clean, fantastic insulation. Breakfast was great as well

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing walks, lovely homely feel, warm enough on a freezing...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing walks, lovely homely feel, warm enough on a freezing winters evening!!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls too thin.

    Beautiful setting

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Dinner was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke smell due to some fires in the near

    Dinner was perfect

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.2
    We felt pampered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom and bathroom were excellent. The views fabulous!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    A really beautiful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was superbly decorated and most comfortable. The setting of the dining area overlooking the lawns was really beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Most friendly service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most friendly service. Everything was hassel-free.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    10
    The food was really very good - and the staff were gentle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was really very good - and the staff were gentle and friendly and helped with anything at all that we might have needed. You also made a fabulous effort for Epic supporters - thank you!

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.8
    Good location : not to far from the airport (50 km), yet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The spa center was closed

    Good location : not to far from the airport (50 km), yet quiet and nice nature. Ideally situated if you arrive late at Cape Town Intl and travelling further to R62. Staff is very friendly and helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.1
    The location of the Facility was what I was looking for as I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the fact that I was promised a bath and when I got to my room I was allocated a shower only. The 1st offer made was a refund and we leave (this I think was quite rude). As a last resort was then offered a free steam/sauna session

    The location of the Facility was what I was looking for as I wanted to spend a quiet weekend away with my husband.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    7.1
    The rooms are beautiful and also the bathroom is of high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no WIFI available in the rooms. Because the manor is far way from everything you have to use the restaurant. The only thing they offer is a 3 course menu (you can choose 1 or 2 courses) but you have no choice of the main, which by the way was good. But still they say they have a restaurant and then you expect more choice.

    The rooms are beautiful and also the bathroom is of high quality. It is ideal for people who like spa treatments or hiking.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    10
    We liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything...helpful staff...lovely ambiance...good for walking....good food...a very enjoyable couple of days in this lovely area.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    9.2
    Restaurant is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Spa was closed

    Restaurant is excellent. I loved our room.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.6
    The remoteness of the property, the privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The remoteness of the property, the privacy.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.9
    The spa treatment that I had was very good and the food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was nothing that I did not like

    The spa treatment that I had was very good and the food presentation was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    6.3
    The food was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was good

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    10
    Absolutely beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely beautiful. Few places in South Africa that can match this place in any category.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    Friendly stuff, the place it'self.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly stuff, the place it'self. I was blown away. Nice escape from the city. Well taken care off.Already planning my next trip.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff that went the extra mile to accommodate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff that went the extra mile to accommodate us

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: