Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chartfield Guesthouse 4 stars

30 Gatesville Road, 7975 Kalk Bay, South Africa

#3 of 11 hotels in Kalk Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 274 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and homely feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very limited veiwing on the TV in the room. Early morning noise.

    Friendly staff, made to feel at home. Good veiws, close to where we needed to be. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice guest-house beautifully placed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet is only available close to reception area.

    Nice guest-house beautifully placed. Great staff! You would feel you are surrounded by family. Super breakfast. We recommend "The Bobmb!" (egg, bacon and toast). close to evening - we recommend to go to dine in the small Italian restaurant (Satori) 2 minutes walking distance from the guesthouse.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    Two properties
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get a room in the main guest house (which we love!) like on previous visits, but a room in a self-catering house across the street. When I booked they didn’t give me different options and it was also not communicated upfront. We were very dissapointed as the yellow house does not have the same character by far. So please be sure to specify when you book.

    The mattres was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Great sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed reading lamps outdated and clumsy and takes up almost all the space on the bedside table.

    Large room with great sea view. Lots of space for clothing and luggage. Walking distance from restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.4
    Not all rooms are nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked expecting to stay at the place in the pics and have a lovely view. Instead we were in an annex across the road accessed through 4 locked doors and with a view of a 15ft wall.. Disappointing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant guesthouse facilities for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 3 overlooks the front of the property - no sea view. There are no coffee or tea facilities in the room, however you can ask reception to send you coffee, tea, cappuccino up to 9pm and they will send again in the morning if you wish. I would have preferred a little kettle in the room and a mini fridge. The curtains are not block-out and therefore the morning light comes through at sunrise. The rooms are all upstairs which is difficult for the infirm. Parking is limited - on the street outside. Free Wifi in the rooms would be preferred than just in the lounge area.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room has a heater but no air con. It is centrally located and within short walking distance of shops and attractions within Kalk Bay. The staff are very friendly and available to 9pm. The room has a bottle of wine, water and a packet of crisps which you are charged for if you use them. Although we didn't have breakfast, it looked very nice and there is a nice patio and a swimming pool. Nice lounge area with fireplace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent, restful with so many restaurants and other amenities within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, except will be easier when you have lots of water with the nice shower facility

    Great view very comfortable, and great breakfast with accompanying really good service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place in the perfect location with excellent views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No wi-fi, no TV and you can hear the upstairs neighbours walking - BUT it was such a great place to stay that I didn't really mind these little problems.

    It is an amazing guesthouse, with art everywhere - divine. we stayed in the family apartment. it was big and spacious and the kitchen had everything we needed. The views from every room were spectacular and the position in my favourite little town of Kalk Bay is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay. Kalk Bay is a thriving bohemian type of place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a kettle I. The room as against a coffee maker- that said tea can be ordered to the rooms in the morning

    The loft room has a fantastic view of the harbour and spacious balcony. Staircase leading up to it is steep but worth the minimal effort Lovely grounds helpful staff and within a safe walk of the Main Street with all its shops bars and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Well positioned guest house in central location in Kalk Bay with well appointed and tasteful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included and price was a bit steep. No wifi in rooms.

    Beautiful guest house in Kalk Bay. Great views, lovely rooms, lovely outdoor area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    The Chartfield is an amazing guesthouse through and through.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Chartfield is an amazing guesthouse through and through. The views are amazing, the rooms are very nice (book the suite!), and the breakfast on the terrace was simply stunning. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. Overall a perfect place to explore the Cape region. We would defintely come again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and staff were very helpful and provided...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think for €60 a night it's quite expensive considering breakfast is not included in the price.

    Excellent location and staff were very helpful and provided excellent customer service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful room (number 16), peaceful but excellent close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little - if you like to sleep in a dark room bring an eye mask - that's the only thing I can think of!

    Beautiful room (number 16), peaceful but excellent close location. Safe at night (lovely security guard). Great staff. Comfy bed. We didn't have breakfast included but they still brought us coffee in bed every morning. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no comments as there was nothing we did not like.

    The quality of our stay was far beyond our expectations. We would recommend to any person wanting it stay in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay in great location. Superb breakfasts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be good if WiFi was free throughout the guesthouse

    The breakfasts were brilliant with a great variety. Superb service from the ever smiling, friendly staff and the pool area was lovely with thoughtful planting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff and comfortable room providing good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on-street might be difficult. No tea making facilities in the room but free room service to bring you a cup in the morning.

    Friendly and efficient staff and Pablo helped us in with our luggage. Breakfast was excellent with wide choice of menu to set you up for the day. Great view from the window of the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Ideal Kalk Bay Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit tricky. There are spaces, but they fill up quickly and as it's parking in the road above the property local residents use it too.

    Great location, excellent service and beautiful property. Location is about 800m from main road Kalk Bay so its super easy to get to the restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful located guest house with great views of Kalk Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I would say is the street parking may be an issue to some if you have a big vehicle or with regards to security but luckily they have a security guard at night.

    The loft room has the most amazing view Facilities Location Staff Value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've got a parking ticket although we parked at a valid parking spot. Realize that Chartfield does not have control over this but still a bad experience to be falsely accused of breaking the law. It would also be nice if there were soap, shampoo, coffee, tea etc. (the usual stuff you expect) in the room.

    Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    View to die for excellent position and very homely environment. Friendly people clean and comfortable and affordable. I will stay again next year.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    highly recommended....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were amazingly friendly, the room was huge with a bigger bathroom, all clean and just stunning. The view off the balconies (multiple) were magnificent. Nothing was forgotten in the details and the coffee arrived at exactly the time we requested it in the morning. Hugely impressed...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay, beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 2 standard rooms and was a bit disappointed that they were not adjacent to each other.

    Bed was very comfy! Shops and the promenade were within walking distance. Free wifi in the main area. Complimentary hot drinks in the morning was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private parking. Must park in very narrow street.

    Very nice welcome by the staff. We had the loft room. Pod coffee machine, balcony, excellent bed and pillows and shower. Quiet. Lovely view on the ocean. Nice big warm , clean pool. Breakfast very detailed and good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Definitely be back and will recommend it to others!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bar fridge and a coffee station in the room would have been nice. Windows were a bit difficult to open to let air in. Other than that it was an awesome spot

    Awesome view, great service and very comfortable. Friendly staff always willing to assist.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    My favorite spot at the seaside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spectacular views, stylish and very comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast and charming staff. Atmosphere is very calm, relaxing and attentive to comfort without overwhelming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Very good breakfast and enjoyed the sea view from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's no wifi in the rooms (unless you pay extra for it). Also, while it's nice to be offered a cup of tea on arrival, it would be helpful to clarify that it's going to be added to your bill. The whole stay felt a bit like getting nickel and dimed.

    Very good breakfast and enjoyed the sea view from the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Incredible stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    It is a charming guest house, beautifully decorated, Staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was incredibly tasty.Could watch whales from the veranda, and the place was extremely well kept.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Large comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking dicey when busy. Would have liked a kettle in the room. Even if low powered. Two pin adapters in each room should be standard. Not everybody likes duvets. Sheets could be provided with a light blanket. Or at least offered . Not for people with leg, knee or ankle problems.

    Large comfy bed. Great view Pleasant, friendly and helpful staff. Clean linen. Great location. Decent bedside lamps.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location and the most beautiful room with very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were not tea or coffee facilities in the room. There was the option to go downstairs and buy a cup of coffee or tea - but I personally think that they should be complimentary. Note - super minor complaint

    Beautiful location and the most beautiful room with very comfortable bed. Good security. Staff really friendly and accommodating. Very short walk to get down to the water and all the nearby amenities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    We were in South Africa for a long time but our stay at Chartfield was a highlight we will repeat wh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave.

    Staff are xceptional- friendly, kind and efficient. Lots of extra touches make this special- hot water bottles on a cold night, lovely fire in the lounge, beautiful art work and lovely light rooms. Kalk Bay is delightful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Loved our stay here. Just loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ------

    Warm, friendly welcome. Nothing too much trouble. Extra touches made to ensure comfort. Breakfast exceptional ..lots of choice. Great value too. Rooms very special, especially the ones off the veranda. Large bathrooms. Plenty of hot water and soft towels. Fantastic view from most rooms. Loved the double aspect windows. Fab sunrise with spectacular colours over the mountains. Quiet location. Great restaurants nearby....especially "Salt" . Would highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    The hotel position is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No full length mirror in the room. No coffee making facilities in the room any more. 2 single duvets on the double bed, makes it extremely uncomfortable for a couple to sleep together. These little things are extremely important.

    The hotel position is wonderful. The staff are always lovely and friendly. The showers are great and beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Lovely except for the bathroom, heating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom and the heating!

    The bed was FANTASTIC. The decor was beautiful and calm and lovely. I was disappointed with the bathroom - a shower door would have been really nice!!! The heating was inadequate. The room was very cold! The step leading to the bathroom was a step up and my husband tripped and broke his arm very badly - a most disappointing end to lovely stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't buy breakfast as cheaper and better offer down in the town at wonderful local bakery . Crazy having no free wifi - marked it down due to this . not ideal for mobility - on a steep hill

    Great views over the harbour and good location. easy to park on streets quirky design and art in the guest house - great outdoor space with

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    6.5
    not to be repearted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    entrance to the reception allocated badly...should use the from door.. single beds combined sucks especially with single duvet....no kettle in the room you can even get a complimentary coffee....will never set my foot there again

    ladies working there are sweet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    It was a lovely stay. Very relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that there was no parking available.You have to park on the road n some times far from guesthouse

    Bedding was clean and towels were provided everyday.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    Staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wi fi . Also we had to ask for fresh towels the one day as we were not given fresh towels. Didnt enjoy the liquid soap in the bathroom.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The linen and pillows were also great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    Kalk Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea and coffee in the room, also bottled water that you don't have to pay for. Room was a bit tired. Room was very noisy at night as we were right next to the gate. Was woken up constantly during the night by guests entering the house.

    Beautiful setting, fantastic views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.1
    Location great but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view. Toilet in bedroom.

    We stayed here one night. Our room was in the back of an adjacent building. It had a lovely big bathroom with shower and bath. Separate toilet was in the bedroom. This accommodation had windows but with no view as a high wall around the property. It was expensive for what you got as our price did not include breakfast. Stayed on night in Franschoek in a 5star B&B for cheaper and included a 5 star breakfast. It was in a great location close to restaurants and bars, but overpriced. Coffee and tea were brought to you room in the morning which was great. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Great location, high standards of accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only get 50MB of internet which was used up very quickly and I did not download anything. Would have been useful to have international news channels. There is a large and excellent breakfast, would have been good to have a cheaper option coffee and toast/pastry - so one can have sit and appreciate the view.

    Good location, easy and safe access to nearby restaurants on foot. Train 5 mins walk short ride to Simon's town and longer trip to Cape town. Room lovely comfortable bed. Free tea/coffee brought to your room lovely touch.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.0
    Beware of room 16!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked Chartfield Guesthouse because of the fotos of luminous rooms (number 16) on booking.com. Unfortunately we were given a room ("the last one available") in "the cottage" which is a tiny house in front of Chartfield Guesthouse. We really feeled deceived because the room there was dark, with the smell of humidity and views on two walls from the bedroom and the bathroom; exactely the contrary of what we had expected. It is not correct "to sell" the "cottage" as a part of the main building which is definitely nice. Customers should get informed about "the cottage" and its rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic spot with an awesome view in Kalk Bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We missed not having a mini-fridge and coffee/tea making facilities available in the room.

    Excellent location with a stunning view. Very friendly and helpful hostesses.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.7
    The staff need to try harder
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 flights of increasingly steep stairs to our bedroom with no offer of help with our luggage (my wife and I are both retired)

    Great view over the harbour

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.8
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our friends stayed in the Loft and we stayed in a smaller room. We loved the loft with it's balcony. Lovely spacious room and fantastic view. Excellent coffee and the room service in the morning was great. Beds were good with clean white linen. Shower had good pressure. Beautiful clean pool with fun statues. Our impression after a stay of three nights was that this is a well run and organized property with friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Hope someone will enjoy the bottle of bubbly we left behind in the fridge....

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.8
    Great location in Kalk Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to pay for wifi was disappointing, lack of parking facilities (although thankfully we had no issues parking on the road)

    Great location within walking distance to local amenities, friendly and helpful staff, lovely pool area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    6.3
    Could have been better with a updated wi-fi and more accommodating manager!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wi-fi system was a catastrophe. Bad capacity and expensive as you have to pay for additional Mbs after the first 50. Really bad!!! The manager showed an overweening and up nosed attitude to questions and wishes he couldn't full fill.

    The employes were fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Absolutely wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Candles could be supplied as there is no outdoor light. And the wifi didn't work at all. Other than that it was magnificent and will definitely be back

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    An ideal location an a fantastic setting. Hotel type accommodation and service at B&B rates!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking and difficult to haul the luggage up and down the lane

    The house is stylishly, but comfortable, with olde world charm. Loved the pool and garden area, great to relax in. Excellent staff, knowledgeable and professional. The wake up call beverage is a very nice touch.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.6
    Super-helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really

    Staff went way over and above! We were expecting a package to be delivered the day before we flew back to the UK. This was delayed and the hotel staff were incredibly helpful in tracking this down and ensuring it was delivered.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.8
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 50MB wifi for free then you pay, at the price range this guesthouse is in, wifi should be included. One also needs to ask for wifi password, that info not offered and also not in room.... need to go find someone after settling in two floors up.No help offered with suitcases when staying on second floor.

    An excellent view over Kalkbay, and the main road accessible by steps if you don't want to look for parking. Many coffee shops in close vicinity. Beautiful decor, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.5
    Good location / super short walk into the harbour but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obviously mid minor refurb but good news for those staying in the near future and beyond

    Good location / super short walk into the harbour but worth noting if stairs or hills are a problem that it is up a steep pathway with steps. Nice enough room although good and straightforward rather than luxurious. Great breakfast - multiple courses of special effort options rather than the guest house usual.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful guesthouse, incredible views, spectacular breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bizarrely small child-size duvets!

    The place is beautiful, and we definitely got lucky with the room - the sea view from the 270 degree bay window and sofa was breathtaking. Bed so comfy. Breakfast exceptional.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.8
    Lovely (but offline) guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free wifi is as basic as providing running water these days. It's a real problem that Chartfield only gives each room 50MB which runs out in 5 minutes. It's poor customer service and would put members of my family off staying there again.

    The view was brilliant, the breakfast was delicious, the staff were really friendly, the art was beautiful, the bedrooms are spacious, the beds are wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.8
    Great Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no two point plugs in the room and the wi-fi link/password was not provided on registration or in the rooms. This meant that after checking in and coming back from a dinner meeting after 21h00 when reception was closed, one could not charge ones laptop/cellphone or access wifi. Very frustrating. Parking also posed a bit of a problem as there is nothing on site and one has to lug one's suitcase down some stairs to get to the entrance.

    The location, the views, the early morning coffee and breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Stunning views, clean , friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning views, clean , friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the doors leading to the room and the toilet in the room.

    Clean and well located

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in room

    Beautiful view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Beyond amazing view with a cool fit out andperfect location - staff and breakfast was 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness shower only (bottom of glass shower frame) no kettle - should include tea facilities in room.

    Location, fit out, aspect, food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location, great contemporary decorated interior,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, great contemporary decorated interior, well priced, great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay - we'll come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food options in the evening - not even small snacks.

    Superb view, staff super friendly, very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hosts !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hosts ! Looking forward to come back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Our South African experiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    The staff, location and the property were fantastic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast, great location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, great location, nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Peaceful spot and close to attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funky unusual decor. All facilities available. Staff were exceptional

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    A Delicious breakfast, with a stunning vieuw
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have loved to stay longer

    A Delicious breakfast, with a stunning vieuw

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    It is a beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a beautiful place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Best B&B option in Kalk Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really great breakfast, highly recommended, best in Kalk Bay, lovely old building and fantastic views of the sea. The pool is great too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Quality and unusual accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Inability to use the bathtub - a critical lack of water

    Very good and imaginative breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only free wifi in the lobby. Old fashioned.

    beautiful view. Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    We will stay here again during our next visit in Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Genuine welcoming and the proactive supporting of the staff for options what’s worthy to be seen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Incredible stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    Loved the decor and location, we watched whales from the veranda. Lovely breakfast, friendly staff and felt very comfortable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sea view.. but still had a pleasant experience

    Central and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great.very good value for money .owners were helpful and accommodating . Staff were excellent. will def go back to stay there

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: