Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cherry Tree Cottage B&B Linden 3 stars

57 Ninth Street, Linden, Randburg, 2195 Johannesburg, South Africa

#140 of 184 B&Bs and Inns in Johannesburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 23 B&B reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.0
    We needed a place to stay close to our home while...
    • Couple
    • Suite 4-UMLILO (fire)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We needed a place to stay close to our home while renovations took place. Marylyn is very kind and her husband aswell. The place is located in the lovely area of Linden, full of trees and birds singing. The room was comfortable and we had a great sleep. They offer breakfast on request. This is a nice place to stay in Joburg, close to all the trendy restaurants in Linden and Parkhurst.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Our host and hostess were concerned with our comfort; breakfast very good; room peaceful and private
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 3-INHLABATHI (earth)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bacon or pork sausage as an option for breakfast would be nice. Railing next to steps outside Earth room should be reinforced as is wobbly, and lights outside the rooms should be on when it gets dark.Perhaps a switch for guests?

    Very comfortable bed, spacious room, quiet and private. Welcoming hosts, personalized attention. Beautiful garden and lovely little patio outside room. Wonderful haven for a holiday! Linden shops just up the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    An idyll in suburban Johannesburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts are so friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The garden atmosphere was a delight with beautiful trees, bushes and aromas. The rooms are large and comfortable. The best part is the individual patio with its own table and garden. It was wonderful to work out there. We had an event at Cresta and Cherry Tree Cottage was close by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 5-UMTOMBO (spring)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room no 5 can be a bit noisey at times as it seems to have the main home on one side & the dining room on the other, with locked doors going between them & room 5. It does however have the best garden, & the noise is restricted to reasonable times.

    Run by a Friendly & fascinating couple. Comfortable bed, & external entrance was convienient. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Africa all around
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite 1-IMVULA (rain)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Africa all around... There are masks, paintings, musical instruments and statues big and small collected over the years. I checked in on Tuesday hoping to spend a night and ended up spending two nights. Linden is central and close to nature and other attractions. I went walking at the Johannesburg botanical gardens and was also a stone throw away from 4th Ave in restaurant packed Parkhurst. Great hosts Ron & Marelyn. Marelyn is motherly, kind and caring. She fussed about my not eating breakfast even after paying for it. Breakfast had options to choose from for me as a vegetarian. Jabu showed me around the room and property. There was privacy yet when I needed company they obliged. Great stories and conversation. The room is large, comfy and I had an electrical blanket to keep me warm. Thank you for your kindness and great stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    Very comfortable stay, friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 4-UMLILO (fire)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was a bit small and far away. A desk would be useful and brighter/lighter decor colours

    Good shower, clean room and bathroom, good reading light above bed, private patio, good security

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite 1-IMVULA (rain)
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good

    The location was ideal for my next early morning appointment

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Room was comfortable for sleeping 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That bathtub had bad stains.

    Room was comfortable for sleeping 3

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable bed and good lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 4-UMLILO (fire)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed and good lication

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite 4-UMLILO (fire)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt home away from home,the staff where outstanding. When I can back for business will stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and welcoming stay in a convenient location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite 4-UMLILO (fire)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners were friendly and extremely accommodating. A great welcome to Johannesburg!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    2.5
    Waste of money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 4-UMLILO (fire)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, except for Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    8.3
    The decor and gardens are beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The red throws were not clean.

    The decor and gardens are beautiful. The owners were friendly.I liked the private patio of my room where you can relax on a nice day. The breakfast was quite nice.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    8.3
    Cherry Tree Cottage is great for the budget conscious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The issue is not so much what I didn't like as accepting the fact that this is not luxury accommodation. There were little touches of luxury, but don't expect aircon / flat screen TV etc.

    Cherry Tree Cottage is great for the budget conscious. The room I was in was quaint, decorated with lovely masks. Bed was comfy, bedding crisp and pillows were great. Ioved that they provided lots of different sizes so I could find what was most comfortable. I liked that there were shops and restaurants close by - within walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.5
    Room had the required facilities and was nice and quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ham is an old checkers packet instead of a container. Not much offering on cooked breakfast if you don't eat eggs

    Room had the required facilities and was nice and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    7.9
    Very friendly couple who were amazing with our child, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lack of a fan in the room for warm evenings

    Very friendly couple who were amazing with our child, lovely gardens and nice big bed

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    7.5
    The owners are lovely, very friendly but not overbearing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No fans or air con in the room.

    The owners are lovely, very friendly but not overbearing.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    8.3
    I really loved the personal service and care that I received...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I really loved the personal service and care that I received from the owners. They were absolutely lovely!

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: