Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse 5 stars

Highmoor Road, Kamberg, 3300 Fort Nottingham, South Africa

#2 of 4 hotels in Fort Nottingham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 130 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the best value for money for similar properties and amenities. Must say the gourmet meals must be taking into account as part of the experience. Our rooms, although we booked way in advance was not as requested.

    Beautiful Setting. Great Food. Relaxing atmosphere, with enough room for visitors to enjoy the tranquility of the property and nature. Get the feel of enjoying nature and the feel of being of the beaten track, however just 30 min drive to the heart of the Natal Midlands.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Outstanding food at the foothills of magnificent mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our King bed in Room 12 was too soft, uncomfortable and squeaky.

    Mozi and Clinton were absolutely outstanding - attentive, friendly and relaxed service! The food was magnificent and exceeded my expectations. The setting was beautiful and I would love to return to see the green views in the summer. The fireplace in our room was wonderful. We loved having access to mountain bikes and great walking paths.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    We loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's as if all your senses are overwhelmed. The beautiful surroundings, the wonderful food and of course all the spoilage. It feels like you have been on holiday for a year, even if you have just been there for a few nights.

    We loved everything. The friendly staff have perfected the art of serving everyone who visits there. You can only feel terribly spoiled.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location, luxurious feel without being too posh,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner may be a bit much for some people; the food is great in taste but it's not exactly refined, "haute cuisine" cooking, I would say. Just really good farm cooking with, again, attention to detail and great flavours.

    Beautiful location, luxurious feel without being too posh, attention to detail, unique atmosphere, the whole dinner experience feels very exclusive. We had a wonderful stay at Cleopatra's and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location for a special occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    IT IS A MAGNIFICENT LOCATION. The food feels dated and needs a fresh eye. It is costly if one considers what a 5 * hotel room costs in other major centres, that aside the location is unique , the staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location, sublime food, beautifully peaceful and great getaway-from-it-all spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was huge and I could see could be incredibly cold in winter. The bed, with the base at the bottom, was a little uncomfortable. The wood for the fire was damp, but we persevered.

    The location was wonderful. Beautifully quiet. The food was sublime. And everyone was very friendly. There was enough by the way of walking nearby, which was lovely if you didn't want to travel far.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road had many potholes. Food was overall disappointing, would be nice to have at least 2 menu choice options. No phones in the room nor cell connection, which negatively impacts on service.

    The room was spacious and country chic. The meat dishes were excellent. Some of the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse is in a stunning, remote...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi signal very poor........not the end of the world, but a bit frustrating when needed.

    Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse is in a stunning, remote location. It's a shame that we were only able to stay for one night whilst in the midst of heavy rain and cloud which obliterated the view of the fabulous escarpment which overlooks the property. It would be lovely to be there in better weather and to use it as a base to explore the local countryside. The staff were excellent and the six course dinner which was included in the price was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, luxurious and foodie escape in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 1 night

    Relaxing and luxurious getaway in the Drakensbergen mountains. Excellent 6 course diner, and over the top 3 course breakfast. Excellent wine cellar and recommendations, loved the Mackenzie. A feast for all your senses. Very cosy fireplace in our room afterwards. We also loved the horseriding in the mountains the morning after. An overall great experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic food - great host. All the staff were lovely.. Loved the bar area and a chance to chat with other guests ( or not if you don't want to !). Amazing location. So nice to sit watching the birds while having a truly amazing breakfast experience!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.1
    With an underwhelming dinner and "burned-out" feeling, the natural setting and charm saved the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that they "upgraded" my room without asking first because the "better" room was a bit isolated and I purposefully booked a room closer to the main facilities. A friendly porter showed us our room and said he'd return to help with our heavy bags, but we ended up having to lug them across the lawn and stairs ourselves. The cowboy cottage felt damp. I HATED that, for a foodie destination, they had NO CRAFT beer on offer. It's as if they are trapped in the 1990s with their business model and appeal. The food was too salty and the main entree, an oven baked venison fillet layered with potato was a flop with texture and flavor. I expected more for the price and experience during a previous visit (feels like the staff are getting burned out after all these years doing the same thing). Being an introvert and on a romantic date, I also didn't care for the repeated interruptions for forced small talk by the host. Cell service is only weakly available from the parking lot, and we didn't have WIFI in the cottage.

    The grounds, location, and views of the mountain were fabulous. They contacted me later and offered to mail some left behind clothing. Best breakfast ever! In fact, breakfast was better than the dinner. The fire that was started by the staff while at dinner was nice to return to and much appreciated to warm up the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    4.2
    Poor hospitality, Rooms old, no air cons, food average, price high for 3 star place being rated 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor service. Average meals. Poor Hospitality. Poorly maintained rooms that are called luxury suites. It was 35 degrees this weekend and there was no air-conditioning in the room. For a 5 star place , not on.

    The property gardens are well maintained and the view is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    It was a wonderful weekend away and I would definitely recommend it to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was interesting to hear the history of the property but is not necessary to get so much detail about the food preparation. It was made out to be more amazing than it actually was.

    I liked the fact that the staff were ready in attendance but not too much in your face. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was excellent. The vista/scenery is stunning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    A wonderful experience in the most scenic landscape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe allocate the tables to the room number as there is a bit of a mad dash to the dining room.

    The room size, the friendliness of the staff and the amazing cuisine. It was a totally relaxing and memorable experience. So sorry we only booked one night but we will be back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.3
    Dissatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were greeted with lip stick stained lemonade cups The scatter cushions were stained and dirty There was blood on the duvet cover The towels were stained and the continental breakfast was disappointing When we soooe to the manager she seemed complacent

    The bed was comfy and the surroundings were beautiful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    Visit this location for the restaurant, accommodation might need some upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this accommodation for the restaurant. Rooms were OK, not 5 star but fitted in the environment. You could envision yourself in rural England, no light switches but cords, all in “style” Restaurant (food) was good, selecting a bottle of wine in the cellar, a nice concept. The presentation/explanation of the menu and history before dinner was done professionally and very informative. Staff that served the dishes could be more interactive with the guests. Breakfast (3 courses) a nice beginning of the day. Nice to stay for one night

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful little spot for a relaxing escape from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Cottages
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made a special request when booking and did not hear back. No cell phone reception except for a few spots and that is intermittent.

    The view of the mountain from the room Friendly staff Extra effort with food Beautiful surroundings and activities Surrounding Drakensberg nature reserves

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    A real treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed here previously, I was disappointed with the food at the evening meal. On previous occasions the food had always been the highlight however on this occasion it was a real let down.

    Amazing setting. Staff friendly and welcoming. Rooms are fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.8
    Unpleasant and not to be recommendedy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the venue both having flu. It got progressively worse and turned into Influenza. On my return to Hermanus I was admitted to Medi Clinic with Pneumonia. The caretaker couple + the staff at Cleopatra offered no assistance or special care. We could not partake in the evening dinners and no one cared enough to offer alternatives. No, it was not a positive experience.

    Like the surroundings but the time has come to bring the pricey rooms up to todays expected standards. This DIY ju st want do anymore.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Worthwhile to return to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit dated shower and restroom.

    Great food, very nice welcome and ambiance, lovely to have a fireplace in your own room - especially in winter. Did not have enough time to enjoy the mountains.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    A little peace of heaven in the berg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place has an incredible homely country feel. The views are beautiful. The food will leave you never regretting having overeaten. The staff are so friendly and would make you feel so welcome. A place to recharge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Place to just relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that I did not like it , food was great but felt like it was to much. 5 course dinner , maybe 4 course would be better.

    Amazing location , peaceful and great place to relax.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    The food was divine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was divine. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. They even surprised us with a decadent chocolate cake with candles at our room while we were at dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    A weekend break with a difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprietor, Richard Poynton, regales one with stories and is the gourmet chef. The food was beyond expectation and the ambiance homely and abounding in historical and gastronomical interest, pictures and books. Altogether a feast for the senses as the surrounding scenery is magnificent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    A great place to eat but expensive if you live in South Africa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The total cost for two nights. 35km down poor roads. Disappointed that the spa was not up and running.

    The food was excellent and there was a good selection of wine to choose from. Free sherry. The room was nice. Tea and coffee with biscuits in the room. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    Lovely setting and handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining experience was a bit too much for us each night, going through the menu in too much detail, although the food was very nicely presented. Wasn't expecting the same at breakfast, 3 courses plus cereals, pastries etc. bit overfacing in the morning.

    We liked the location and setting on the pond, handy for Highmoor and Giants Castle too. Staff very helpful with information, maps etc. NIce touch having fires in the chalets, very cosy in the evening.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    A luxurious gourmet heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restocking fridge milk and yummy biscuits forgotten - these points are really insignificant in the overall superb hospitality and food.

    Every evening a different tasting menu - ingredients and cooking method explained to all in an interesting manner, along with history of the place and owners - an unusual twist to every course and story. Liked the way all staff came up and introduced themselves - nothing too much trouble. A truly gourmet delight.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    we should have stayed another day
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    What an absolutely wonderful place, from the time we arrived until we left we were utterly spoiled, excellent food, wonderful staff, really great Spa and very accommodating

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    25th Wedding Anniversary treat 🍾
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a little maintenance attention in bathroom .

    Beautiful surroundings on a lake , lovely ambiance , delish food and great hospitality 👍 A home from home with a difference !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    8.3
    Gourmet splendour in a remote beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rustic with lots of unnecessary knick-knacks. Food was very rich and plentful with no choice. Service roads were not tarred, stony and very basic.

    Away from it all feel in beautiful surrounds. Excellent food and gourmet eating. Super friendly staff. Magnificent shower. New spa with great massages.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    A gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the fact that I couldn't eat everything or stay long enough

    We loved the location, so much delicious food and absolute luxury. Unfortunately we only had one night to enjoy the beauty. Thank you

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    A haven in the heart of the Drakensberg, beauty and tranquility par excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 1 night

    None, such a perfect haven

    Stunning location , excellent service and gourmet food. Rolling hills , meandering rivers, crisp mountain air , we found our jewel in the Midlands

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.6
    Awesome gourmet breakaway experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you don't like French cooking and food on the 'richer' side (ie sauces/cream/etc) you might not find the gourmet part as impressive. However I loved the food and the whole dining experience. Especially the fact that breakfasts came with a twist/some originality!

    The staff were amazing, the location is out of this world and the relaxation potential is exceptional. The food was brilliant!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    CLEOPATRA MOUNTAIN FARMHOUSE - A WONDERFUL PLACE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    This Hotel was amazing. The warmth of the welcome. The service - wonderful kind staff. Fantastic location with beautiful views. The food is out of this world. Accommodation was traditional, very very comfortable with everything anyone could need. What a wonderful place - a true credit to South African Hospitality. We cannot praise Cleopatra highly enough. Our thanks for a magical stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.8
    Rooms straight out of Downton Abbey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was surprised to hear the helicopter ride was so expensive. 1500 US! Our friends did a helicopter ride from the midlands and it was 300 US. Still not certain if the price we got was wrong. Also, need to update info on length of time and terrain for hikes that were recommended.

    Food was amazing, definitely 5 star, however, not for vegans, lots of meat and dairy. Great staff, super friendly and helpful. Very funky rooms, but comfortable beds with a fireplace that was great at night. Also, loved the wine cellar and the reasonable prices.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    LONG WEEKEND FELT LIKE A MONTH LONG HOLIDAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Cottages
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The music played continuously on a loop. The music was outdated and annoying. 80's schlok not suited to the remarkable venue. Suggest background music that is more varied and perhaps classical - not Tchaikovsky over Breakfast. The Whole of the Moon is now my personal earworm

    Food was lovely and catered for my vegetarian tastes. Staff were wonderful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Blown Away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved every minute. Highly recommendable and definitely hope to go there again. Gourmet food of the highest caliber. Service that is top notch with friendly staff that makes you feel as if you are home. No detail is left unattended. The finest touch is visible everywhere

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    The day I met Cleopattra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection kept failing. It was difficult to get phone reception. May be they can look at the possibility of putting some signal boosters.

    The location was picture perfect. The food was amazing.The hospitality and service of the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    10
    Fabulous. A gastronomic treat in a beautiful setting.an amazing experience which I recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness and willingness to ensure you were satisfied with your stay from all the staff. It was a special b day and as a surprise a cake and champagne and candles were left in our room .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    The setting is outstanding, remote and quiet and a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The setting is outstanding, remote and quiet and a good distance off regular roads. The service from all the staff, from the moment we arrived, was excellent. The environment is comfortable and homely and without razmatazz and bling.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.1
    A nice stay but came in below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Cottages
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold and not as comfortable as it should be for such a highly rated / priced establishment. I do understand it is meant to be rustic but I felt it was expensive for what you get.

    The setting is beautiful - in nature and peaceful. The food was good but I had expected a higher standard based on the reviews. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience , fantastic food , great views, top rate staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent venue, fantastic food, great views...Highly recommended..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous farmhouse style that is relaxing and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous farmhouse style that is relaxing and peaceful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Everything, food, staff,accommodation exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Everything, food, staff,accommodation exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    romantic Design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    romantic Design outstanding food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    A most tranquil stay with the most delicious food ! I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A really unique place to stay lovely comfortable room with a fire so cosy and the food was a real dining experience wonderful stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Staff issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff issues

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    Beds to short
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Cottages
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food. Small helping not enough choices.

    Beds to short

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Cleopatra hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Authenticity

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Lovely setting, wonderful food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice if there was a wine pairing with the meal

    Lovely setting, wonderful food and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    beautiful surroundings and lovely house and grounds, very good food maybe too elaborate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room, old tv

    Area, gardens, main house

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Food & staff & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room & privacy

    Food & staff & location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    An overall wonderful weekend away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was amazing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect retreat for couples and or families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect retreat for couples and or families

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Romantic piece of heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They ticked all of the boxes

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Great Weekend Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was great.

    Setting was spectacular and service wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful place with great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have appreciated if they had more guided activities to offer, f e guided hikes etc

    Food was amazing!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    We love going to Cleopatras , look after it !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation needs upgrading

    Food was 5 star

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    Will definitely return frequently.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirror in bathroom is too low for a 6' man. Had to stoop to shave.

    The warm family feel and the unusual Michelin guide like menu. Delicious meals.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.3
    Staff are friendly, informative and hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are friendly, informative and hospitable. Save space for dinner!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.8
    Great overnight experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall to wall carpets

    The farm, the surrounds, the food, accommodation , staff, the history

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.9
    Foodies paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food is exceptional! The location of the the lodge is great with access to incredible walks in the Drakensberg.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.1
    Food in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lights (there are white warm energy saving lamps). Comfort of the old furniture.

    Location and food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Foodie Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com misrepresented the price it was quite a shock when I had to pay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    One of the best places I have ever stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing staff Excellent food Beautiful scenery

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.6
    An wonderful place, the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was sometimes difficult to connect to wifi

    the amazing hospitality and of course the food!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    10
    Just special place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Choice and persona attention

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The peacefulness and the beautiful nature.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    10
    The fresh gluten free rolls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fresh gluten free rolls!'

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.2
    The property is spectacular, beautiful views, hiking, horse...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is a long way on a dirt road. I thought I would never arrive. The food was excellent but too many courses. Portions were just right. I went as a single and was the only single person at the hotel. A great place for a retreat for 2 love birds.

    The property is spectacular, beautiful views, hiking, horse riding near by. Food excellent. Staff gracious,friendly,helpful and always available. I loved the fires every night in all the rooms in the main lodge. Also in the sleeping rooms. Very cozy. All details were thought of.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    7.5
    The location is stunning with the mountain, river and dam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think that the expectation that the place build up at the web site about the food and the long presentation that is hold before dinner has to take under consideration. The food taste good, but it is nothing special. Many courses but no innovation, not specifically local or from the garden. The rooms need to be renovated. Moulde around the bathroom taps. I know it is old buildings and difficult and costly to taking care iff, but to the price you pay, you should get more of the details.

    The location is stunning with the mountain, river and dam. I liked the old house and herb garden. Nice with the little wine cellar as well.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    7.9
    Food is brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    For the price, the rooms could do with some revamping. Need some maintenance and updating.

    Food is brilliant. Location amazing. Staff friendly, well trained and service excellent!

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    10
    The lodge is in a stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lodge is in a stunning location. The journey to the lodge off the main tarmac road is beautiful and great fun. The staff are warm and welcoming and knowledgeable about the wine in the cellar. The food is out of this world. We were so sad that we could only stay one night. The rooms are lovely and the bed was very comfortable. It is a not to be missed experience. We would not hesitate to return and would even go out of our way to do so.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    8.8
    Amazing location, great accomodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basic supplies as salt and a cutting board werent available though other supplies you would not necessarily need were available. Would make all the difference to have this in order.

    Amazing location, great accomodation!

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    10
    Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse is an excellent place to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse is an excellent place to stay if your close to the Drakensbergen area and really want to spoil yourself. A beautiful place with a great cuisine! The staff is very kind and helpful. We were sorry we had to leave!

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: