Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Constantia Guest Lodge 3 stars

133 Emmarentia Street, Meyerspark, 0184 Pretoria, South Africa

#85 of 130 B&Bs and Inns in Pretoria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 167 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise that there wasn't an on suite bathroom. While there was lots of coffee and sugar in the room there was no tea and no creamer or milk. Got back too late to ask for any.

    Beautiful venue from the outside. Loved the location, the quiet suburb, the pool, the garden, the Cape Dutch look of the house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is located at a distance from the city centre. So each time we had to go out , we had to call for a taxi.

    The friendliness and hospitality of the host ; the willingness of the personnel to help ; awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn't look like the photos in the site. Had to sit around a big round table with other guests during breakfast - no privacy. Smelt a little musty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff they trying to smile and do the best but there's nothing much they can do it need a very serious renovations and a good management.

    Nothing much to tell it's not in good state for guests to pay their money, breakfast is too bad ,cleanness very bad pool,lapa yard is so bad ,I feel like I have wasted my money I could have stayed home, I shorted toilet paper almost the two days in toilet.tv set bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheets had holes in them - the bath room was not that clean - mildew in the cracks where a little silicon and a scrubbing brush could fix it. The bathrooms need some TLC - I called ahead and noted on the website that we would be late arrivals. We arrived between 8-8:30pm and were greeted by staff who were in the their Pj's - not very professional.

    Breakfast was good and tasty -

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with En-Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the dust in the room. The kids bed wasn't well fixed.

    I like the place because it is quiet, cool, clean, safe, etc. There wasn't pressure or stress to access or exit the premises. I felt free in someone else premise. No one was interfering with us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communication as to the meal times and where to ask for assistance could have been better.

    We had a good stay, the lodge was convenient and affordable. Great service as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dishes clean- Glasses had stains and the jug was dusty. The was no bottled water wether complimentary or for purchase... the rooms weren't cleaned well. There were dusty spots behind the aircon inside the closet and inside the bathtub.

    The location of the propertly is ideal. Love that all facilities I needed were available. The lighting was also ideal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upstairs is very close together and I could hear the other occupants snoring. I didn't realise the budget room didn't come with an ensuite bathroom. The bathroom down the passage was for our use only but there was no key! The man on night duty tried for a long time to find a key. The hot water in the basin didn't work. The rubbish bin in the bedroom had prawns in it from the previous occupant and hadn't been emptied. The Parking area is very small. Luckily we were the only car there as we had a trailer. We would never have managed with the trailer should there have been other cars there.

    Beautiful old house. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Portable air cons that made too much noise and don't work as well as built in ones. Lighting in the bedroom and bathroom were terrible. Curtains need to be fuller so you can close them properly.

    Friendly and caring staff who were happy to help us. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Pretty garden in which to relax.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit hot the nights were extremely hot. The fan cooled down the room a bit but aircon would have been appreciated.

    Comfortable all amenities decent. Great place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was large and roomy with airconditioner, bed was nice and comfortable & TV in the room was huge. Had all the amenities that we needed and the staff and owner were kind and friendly. Breakfast was generous and we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no en-suite bathroom. Shared bathroom facilities in the corridor, felt like a student at a commune for the weekend.

    My husband and I enjoyed the room, it was very cosy. Very convenient. Very reasonable for a quick detour from Johannesburg.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Below par fire and safety system and procedure.. Airconditioning did not function. Key for night security gate did not work. Mould in shower. Key broke in lock and outside assistance (local neighbourhood watch) forunately assisted.

    Friendly manager. Good reakfast selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only (old but sufficient) bath towels were provided no hand towels. The shower's water leaked at the pipe and dripped onto the floor behind the shower. The bath's surface is rough and due for an emalje layer. Cold bottled water in the fridge would be preferred. Curtains could be thicker (darker room) for a good night sleep or outside lights should be switched off. Parking bay difficult to reverse and drive out of.

    Lovely setting! The living area and dining room very neat and welcoming. The warm breakfast was warm and scrumptious. The linen on the beds were clean and fresh and the extra bed was appreciated.The handwash soap was appreciated. The bar fridge was cold enough and the television had enough channels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with En-Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff was very accommodating for my very late check-in. Needed additional room, and was offered immediately without any fuss. I was surprisingly told that the price included breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walking on the floor that is making a lot of noise and the distance from the toilet to the room

    The outside building with nice painting and the guy and lady who was serving me

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our mattress had collapsed in the center, making for a very uncomfortable night's sleep. We stayed two nights and awoke both mornings quiet stiff and still tired. We were gone at a wedding all day after the first night, otherwise we would've requested a room change. When my partner informed the staff at check-out, they said they had in fact noticed the mattress the day before, which makes me wonder why they didn't offer us a different room. After all, what you pay for is, in the end, a place to sleep.

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was wonderful. The lodge itself is very picturesque.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors have windows in them. Although frosted you can see exactly what is going on inside. No privacy I feel. The bathroom didn't have frosted glass and it didn't have proper curtains. So if you switch on the light the neighbord can watch you take a shower. There was only instant coffee at breakfast. And not even nice coffee, ricoffy and nescafe classic.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room door has a glass pane in and the hall lights remain on throughout the night, thus was bothersome to have the light shine through into the room all night

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Loved the old antique style of the house , great character.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise the light in the room the place needs an up date and some things can be done to make it pretty again

    The beds was good Smiley was amazing she was very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with En-Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The manager was never available. They made a mistake with our room and we had to move after one day. The first room (double room upstairs)was nice, but bathroom old and tiny and other bathroom not part of room (have to walk in your towel in the passage where anyone can see you?). The second room (family room downstairs) was not good. Carpets were ancient, bathroom old and open plan to the room. One mattress of the bunk bed was old and finished (springs sticking you in the back). And the bunk bed was too low on the bottom. There is a man that lodges permanently at the guest house (was at breakfast each day) that degrades the quality of the guest house and makes it more like a backpackers.

    This property was affordable. The wifi worked. The staff were friendly (especially Sharon) and helpful. The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I enjoyed every moment of my stay

    The place is very affordable, situated in a quiet area, the owner and her staff are very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pictures gave me high expectation, the real thing wasn't as amazing. The pool wasn't clean. Parking was a joke, another car parked us in.

    The area. Quiet and reserved in the Eastern part of Pretoria. Easy access to/from the freeway. Breakfast was not bad.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was humble yet more than sufficient and the room was very cozy and well appointed. Staff was super friendly and I would recommend the guest house to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy carpets, damp on walls and ceiling, smelly room, filthy bathroom, place needs a lot more than just some tlc! Not at all a reflection of the pictures on Bookings.com.... Very disappointing!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with En-Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I love antique as opposed to modern. Looked more of a home than a lodge. Loved it. Rooms were superb. Staff always available when needed. Gr8 service. Will be visiting them more often...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom being a bit far from the room, hence an inconvenience at night when the required to answer teh call of nature. I prefer a room with en suite

    Ommelette was devine. I like the spread of food on the table

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness under tables, inside the clothes cupboard, the shower head needs fixing and the bed mattress maybe old. It wasn't easy to close the curtains at night. The walls are too thin and I could hear my neighbour's movements and television was too loud. Probably they could hear my movements also.

    The pricing was very reasonable and friendly reception. It was easy to find and they have good signage leading to the place. I was informed about the availability of wifi, however, it was not available in the room I was in.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken internet. Not possible to lock shared bathroom.

    Stylish house with nice saloon and antique furniture. Good breakfast. We were allowed to check out later.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was 100% fine!

    The breakfast was amazing, the rooms were perfect, staff was friendly!!! The location is safe and close to everything in pretoria! Loved it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are very thin so could be a problem if many people are staying at the guesthouse. Water pipes make an awful racket whenever someone turns on the tap - which woke us up several times during the night.

    Beautiful cape dutch house in a nice quiet suburb of Pretoria. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would've been nice to have the bathroom in the bedroom instead of on the other side of the passage

    The owner was very friendly and the place was very clean. The place has a historic feel to it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    My husband and I have been very busy over the past few months and we're living past each other and we just needed some time to ourselves. Coming there was the best thing and we decided that we want to book room 1 once a month from now.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom setup, like thé bed is not facing thé TV and you have to turn all thé time while on bed watching. Very tiring !

    Price and location ras Exelent. Nice and quête neiborhood

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On our first morning, there was no fresh milk or bread for breakfast!!!!!!! Mattress and pillows on the old worn out side, though the bedding otherwise was fine.

    We liked the quiet location, the dutch style house and the pool and braai amenities. We were greeted and looked after very well on arrival.And the junior staff were very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were no staff at the place whatsoever. There was a guy there, named Wayne who was looking after the place, but we didn't see the owner, not once in 5 days. It was like a ghost house. Devoid of anyone.

    The room was lovely, and the bed amazing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower floor floods while you are taking a shower. The air conditioning didn't produce as much hot air as expected.

    The room was as poyrayed in the pictures. The atmosphere was very peacful. The staff was very welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dusty and I didn't enjoy my stay as a result

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty Carpets and the building needs painting, furniture and ambiance excellent!!!

    The Staff were super friendly and the breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lost breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking area

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet outside the room

    Staff and quietness of the place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was wonderful and eger to help and assist . Great stay all around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my stay was too short

    Room was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air-conditioner was noisy.

    The service is proper.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Security gate couldn't lock We expected an en-suite bathroom Bathroom needs attention

    Ambiance after hours access

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aircon and the outside bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I liked everything about the place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the shower was not en-suite was a bit uncomfortable but it helped that we had exclusive use of it.

    Great WiFi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with En-Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi wasn't working

    The was homely and the pool is nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have your own transport to pick us up from town

    The staff was friendly even when I ask they were there When you needed something. I enjoy myself

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast,staff and security

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely breakfast. Peaceful area. Perfect parking. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit limited

    Safe and secure, good quality for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No en-suite bathroom. Shower did not operate efficiently Parking very difficult - too small to accomodate cars that were there

    Staff very pleasant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    managers not so friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater in room couldn't get to hot

    The bed was very comfy and not to forget the friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon in the room was a bit noisy - although we did not really use it

    Loved the breakfast and Smiley was such a good host.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast and the staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was 100%

    Everything was just okay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with En-Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy upstairs floors

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    external bathrooms, old fashioned air conditioner, unstable bed kept on hitting on the wall....

    wifi

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was too dimuch.

    Proximity to business place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom across the hall

    Big garden, stoep

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The decor made me feel at home, no artificial 'hotel' feel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff (Smiley was so attentive and helpful throughout my stay) clean well kept guest lodge. Lovely time indeed, so worth it

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival, the guy did not wear shoes (bare feet). Very unprofessional

    Save parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon

    The staff was friendly, we could feel at home away from home. The place was chilled, the rooms were big and everything was so perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed for 2 weeks and it felt like home. The owner and staff were all very friendly. Its quiet and safe.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small and the plumbing was noisy

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: