Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copacopa Lodge and Conference Centre

Lambani Thulamela Limpopo,, 0987 Punda Maria, South Africa

#1 of 1 hotels in Punda Maria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 70 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.1
    Not too sure
    • Couple
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.I was booked on 2 single beds. O e was comfortable and the other one ..Oh Nooo. It was it good at all. 2. Would you please fix the door, it has holes which I guess the mosquito might be coming in from there. 3. The noise /loud music fro. Outside..nearest place I think. Otherwise everything was ok.

    The lady at reception was too awesome. The place was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Not luxury, but a nice place anyway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    They market them selfs as a luxury hotel, this is not the case, but it is a nice place anyway. The food was ok, but not much more. We tried to communicate with the hotel prior to our stay, but did not receive any answer.

    The location was perfect for what wee needed this trip. We could check out really early! The cottage was clean and contained all we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, very close to Punda Maria gate (Kruger Park).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed only 1 night and during that night the hot water did not work. I am sure that the staff would have solved the problem if we had said anything, but we were just too tired to complain.

    Great location, very close to Punda Maria gate (Kruger Park). Very nice staff (we left early in the morning and we were given a take away breakfast).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Very friendly staff in a lodge not to far from Kruger Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant can't be recommended. It's name sounds much better than it is. I can't assess the quality of the food, as we left the place immediately. As the hotel offers to deliver food to the room, we recommend to chose this option.

    The staff was extremely friendly! The bathroom and the park of the lodge are very nice. The distance to the Kruger Park was o.k.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Great
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit cold and the lady didn't ask how we want the eggs, she just gave us scrambled eggs

    The room we booked was not available on arrival and they gave us the executive room with no extra cost or troubles, their comment was " relax, you are home" Mr Baloyi, the receptionist was very helpful. The staff in general is very humble , down to earth. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    Valued if you plan to go Kruger
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are family of 4 but can't stay together as bungalow has only one queen.

    Very close to Punta Maria gate, woke up and went straight to there in very early morning

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    3.8
    Place to sleep at and get out as fast as possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else is lacking, the place is very run down, the restaurant looks „interesting“ to put it nicely and the WiFi wasn’t working. Not even in the lobby. When we arrived around 7 there was only an elderly security guard on duty that doubled as receptionist. We had to pay cash 535 Rand (with Genius rebate) so we gave him 600 Rand. Which he all wanted to keep since the actual receptionist had written down for him that he has to collect the regular rate of 600 Rand. Even after showing him the actual booking via email and in the app that clearly said 535 Rand, he was not willing to give us back our change. Mostly since he was worried he’ll get in trouble for not collecting all the money he was supposed to. What started then was a ridiculous odyssey of him trying to find somebody on sight and trying to call people in charge to get the ok to give us our change. Actually we had to use our phone, since the guard didn’t a phone but his own mobile which he had to pay minutes for, to call the actual receptionist (which proved unreachable even after several calls throughout the evening). The amount is not much and we wouldn’t have minded, but given the state of the place, the not working WiFi etc. we were dead set on getting those 65 Rand back. Long story short we didn’t get back our 65 Rand but a lot of apologies and talk from the guard. Which cost us overall about an hour and a half in the evening and morning of what little time we had. And adding insult to injury, trying to settle the issue afterwards via mail and booking.com resulted in the end in no response from either end. Overall most frustrating stay on our entire South Africa trip.

    The only upside is the location close to Kruger’s Punda Maria gate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.8
    Filthy accommodation in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, they didn’t know we had booked (a month in advance) so we didn’t get the rooms we booked. Kitchen was filthy, plates had old food crusted on them and there were cockroaches, ant and fish moths all over.

    Clean linen and air conditioning in some rooms. Hot showers.15 minutes from punda maria gate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.0
    I will not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was only a pap and braai. No vegetables or salad. Bathroom next to kitchen with a glass door! The room needs urgent maintenance. Very expensive

    Near to the Kruger

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.2
    It's got a good location if you want to visit the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The expression "luxury" does not apply. A more truthful would be"rustic" and "very basic". We asked what we could get to eat from the restaurant. Instead of an answer we received a cross examination that led no where. After asking we got keys for the door between the two units. The lock only worked once before it broke down, so we couldn't use the second bathroom since we were looked out. It was not possible do close the door between the toilet and the kitchen. When we brought someone out to fix it the whole thing fell apart. Unfortunately the staff had no interest in solving the problem for us. When we flushed the toilet the first time it flooded the entire bathroom. It was a terrible smell. Since there was no door the kitchen got too smelly to use, and since the door between the bedroom and the kitchen was too big for the frame it started to smell into the bedroom as well. The staff had no interest in solving the problem for us. We got scared of touching things since things just kept breaking, so we just wanted to leave the place as soon as possible.

    It's got a good location if you want to visit the northern part of the Krüger park. The property has got a marvelous garden and a nice pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    4.2
    Nice people, nearby Kruger, too expensive for basic comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WIFI in the "chalets". "Chalets" are basic, there is no extra at all. It's fine for me but I would have expected more given the price. If I take the poor breakfast into account then I am sure having paid far too much.

    Well, it seems to be one of the rare places nearby Kruger in that region. Meet people from the region in the "restaurant", they are very friendly and it makes fun talking to them! If you want to learn about South Africa, you have to go there and share a beer with them!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    The people were very friendly and helpful. The place is very welcoming and has piece of mind. We hav
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception are looks lost a bit, it can be improved and be more welcoming. The eating area aswell can be improved.

    I loved the room, very specious and cozy. the garden and around the Lodge gives yoou peace of mind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.9
    They accommodated my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned after previous guest had checked out

    They accommodated my needs

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    The Wi-Fi Connection should be improved because it works...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi Connection should be improved because it works just only close to reception

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    The service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was excellent. The staff attitude was wonderful. The chalet was perfect for an overnight stay before going into the Punda Maria Gate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    It's a well good place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lining was a little bit old, no form bath and lotion.

    It's a quit place, beautiful environment, friendly staff and good food. Value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, good service, amenities, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good service, amenities, clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Number 1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    The bedding was perfect
    • Group
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding was perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    We stayed will we didn't encounter any problems
    • Group
    • Standard Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights was not enough

    The rooms are spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.4
    pathetic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi as advertized no breakfast as advertized

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Communications with the facility were excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communications with the facility were excellent! They also accommodated me last minute when I had to send my work colleague instead of myself.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Overall good experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Room was nice and owner was very friendly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Quite convenient and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet place, nice accommodation, beautiful surroundings, good breakfast. Close to Kruger entrance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location, rustic rather than luxury, overpriced
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 6 out of 12 guests found that their breakfast had been included in the price of B&B

    The breakfast was substantial.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Went there because its near my family
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    as above

    Did not have time to eat

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.2
    It maintained a natural environment but yet still had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Childrens play facilities were not there ie play ground with jungle gym

    It maintained a natural environment but yet still had beautiful/morden touch

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    The wonderful lady named Mercy who appeared to be chief cook...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No fault of the establishment, but, we turned onto the R523 instead of the R524. A bit of a hairy route especially at night.

    The wonderful lady named Mercy who appeared to be chief cook, bottle washer and receptionist! Such a kind and accommodating lady.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    6.7
    Location, North Kruger less crowded and full of wildlife
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit overpriced, breakfast should be included for this price Bed too small if you are taller than 1.75m

    Location, North Kruger less crowded and full of wildlife

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    6.7
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff. You can park your car next to the house and the breakfast is very good

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    8.8
    Close to Kruger national park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is no internet connection in the rooms

    Close to Kruger national park

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: