Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crooked Tree Cottage 3 stars

39 Hilken Drive, 4319 Durban, South Africa

#9 of 152 B&Bs and Inns in Durban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 90 B&B reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -room space was a little tight but manageable. -cable tv service was limited unless you stream.

    Hostess was very welcoming,accommodating & helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had paid for the full breakfast but because I had to leave by 6:30/6:45 they couldn't accommodate my breakfast slightly earlier and only offered me a yogurt which was rather disappointing.

    Helen, the owner was lovely and the room etc. was super clean and neat!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Room 5
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was fit for my purpose, Independent room with Balcony sea view. Private kitchen was my utmost requirement being as a vegetarian, I wanted to cook for myself..!! I was paying almost double charges staying in hotel during my stay in Durban with half of the facilities what I got at Crooked Tree Cottage...!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small.

    Helen and her husband are very friendly and kind. The place is located in a beautiful garden and not far to the main beaches ( 5 minutes drive to Cabana beach).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was quite rude and unfriendly. No guests allowed. There are wooden floors, can't even walk without getting a complaint. No grace with check out time. We were asked to leave after 10:15.

    The place was lovely, comfortable and conveniently located.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were pleasantly greeted on arrival and helped out constantly. We needed to stay the extra night and we were quickly accommodated. The self catering room was lovely but unfortunately we hardly spent any time there to get the full benefit of the room. There is a great view of the sea and we watched the moon rising every night over the sea!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV channels were limited but didn't really come to watch TV!

    We were upgraded on our stay to a massive room which was very nice, just a shame we couldn't stay longer. Owner was really lovely and very accommodating giving us advice on where to get breakfast in the morning. We had hired a car and would probably advise that people had their own transport as it's within 5 minute drive to a large shopping centre with a range of restuarants. Also enjoyed visits from the 2 resident dogs!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self-Catering Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closer to shops

    Spacious rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was closed to all facilities. Will go back in a different room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    World's biggest and best omelet for breakfast .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best omelette in town, lovely serene setting and super clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was all good.

    The whole experience was awesome

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints, great value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to tip toe on the wooden floors. But not a main thing.

    Location and access

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very clean property, was happy with the breakfast on offer too. will definitely recommend and visit again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and wonderful host

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 6 nights

    All in all a real gem

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all good

    It's central to all the places one wants to visit and it's not far from the airport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Room 6
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, tranquil and very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much

    The breakfast was great! Had a meaty omelette. The room was nice and clean and the view something to look forward to when you wake up.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Clean. Comfy bed. Great ambience. Excellent hosts although I came late, slept and left early in the morning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Room 6
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Visited to run the Comrades Marathon. Great views, first class hospitality, friendly hosts and staff and easy access to all facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 2
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Marvelous, friendly and kind hosts! Wonderful location. And don't forget to try the world class breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Hosts are amazingly friendly, and the breakfast as well as the view was superb

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view and set up . so quiet and clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a vegetarian breakfast, and Reinhardt went out of his way to cater to my every need. The hospitality was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing breakfast omelette & gracious hosts! Helen and her husband were extremely accommodating and flexible with us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best Breakfast Omlette! Very friendly and helpful hosts. Thanks again, we had a great stay!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guests wearing sleepwear in the communal lounge, parking arrangement and almost no water from tap in bathroom basin

    Hosts very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely view and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Self Catering Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What is not to like!

    The view was fantastic, just to be able to lie in bed and watch the sun come up over the ocean was a treat! Home away from Home!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3
    • Stayed 6 nights

    towels not changed once in 6 days

    staff attentive and lovely. very homely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property hard to find without GPS.

    Very good accommodation, secure and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the location. spacious room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Room 5
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A very friendly stay!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Connot think of anything that could have been better.

    Very comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful hosts. Spanking clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location and cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super nice and helpful staff. Comfortable, clean, close to the beach, delicious breakfast. Perfect!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really, would use again if i was in the area

    Friendly, very helpful welcome, good English breakfast, sea view from lounge balcony, short walk to town area with great bars and restaurants and shops, cheap uber back , secure , safe.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You can hear the noise from other rooms and common area. Which can be a bit of a problem if you have noisy neighbor or like to sleep late

    Perfect accommodation with wonderful hosts! Clean and cozy room, tasty breakfast, nice view from the balcony and very helpful and nice hosts :). Good location - 10-15 minutes walk or R20 drive with Uber from the beach and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast on Sunday was amazing, great omelette. The hosts were very carying giving recommendations for sightseeing. It is so nice that the dogs come to swim with you in the pool. View is nice and very close to the modern part of Durban. Trip to Durban city is like 20 min.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Perfect.

    Great location - quick walk to nice restaurants. Hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Great travel advice offered. Lovely breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A relaxed and friendly atmosphere and well appointed rooms. Very clean, cosy and excellent breakfast. Well situated in Umhlanga with sea views for most of their rooms.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely peaceful environment. Staff were hospitable and welcoming. 3 minute drive to restaurants, beach, nightlife, shops. I'd definitely go back to stay again! Loved it :)

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Helen and Reinhart were so friendly and made me feel very welcome. The location was superb and the view was stunning. I also enjoyed the monkey visitors :)

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Having to go!

    Helen was absolutely brilliant and really made me feel welcomed and at home. Room was comfy and had excellent wifi service. Breakfast was yummy, I recommend the meaty omelette, delish!! Will definitely stay again!

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Potential for noise from other guests as walls are quite thin and the wooden floors make it difficult to tread lightly,even while trying to :-)

    Lovely view from the balcony

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The B&B has free wifi, but unfortunately the line was really slow. I think this is probably common issue in South Africa though.

    The room was really good and I liked the warmth I've been welcomed

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was spacious, the view was peaceful and the hospitality/service was comforting. Couldn't think of a more relaxing place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    I liked the comfort of the room there was nothing to dislike.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking

    Cleaness

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mattress may need replacing soon

    Good aircon and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What a beautiful B & B to stay at in Umhlanga :) So close to all the shops and restaurants!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't fault it!

    Great space, views, pool, facilities, hosts and super comfy!

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hospitality was great.. The place had a great view.everything is clean. Just enjoyed my stay there.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower floor is slippery because it is tiled with wall tiles instead of a shower mosaic.

    A quiet and clean and place.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The closeness to other places, and the view. Not forgetting the free Wifi.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    stuff is friendly, place is very neat and in a safe location

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I really liked the communal area and kitchen. My room was very comfortable and beats staying in a five star hotel!

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly hosts who couldn't do enough for you.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room is a little small- not much space to put suitcases etc

    Well positioned. Very friendly hosts

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The service was excellent I can recommend the crooked tree cottage

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi upload rate a bit slow, not many tv chanels

    Friendly staff, made me feel at home! Great room (had the deluxe one), great Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    View. Friendly and professional staff. Perfectly clean room and environment.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Friendly Welcome and Assistance with Check-In

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Hostess was very friendly and helpful. Lovely room and pool.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Top marks all round, super place, lovely couple that take care of you and great value for money !

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: