Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cuningham's Island Guest House 3 stars

cnr Kingsway & Church Square, Leisure Isle, 6570 Knysna, South Africa

#33 of 79 B&Bs and Inns in Knysna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 114 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being disabled I found that I could not take my walker into the bathroom otherwise everything was catered for. Not sure if the upstairs rooms guests know that when they walk about their room it is very loud for the ground floor rooms.

    Tim our host was very attentive as was the other staff, very friendly. The bird life is really great. Very nice to get our car washed, a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    after an initial mix up with the room booking, the hosts did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    after an initial mix up with the room booking, the hosts did everything they could to resolve the problem we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff were very friendly and helpful especially Denzel who cleaned my car unexpectedly which was a lovely touch. The rooms were a great size with clean bedding and an amazing comfortable bed which was very large The location is on a leisure Island which gives it a more exclusive feel and very safe. The pool and beautiful gardens were well maintained and the outside bar, lounge area was a nice little area to relax in Ideal location for exploring the area especially the headlands viewpoint which was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location, nice friendly owner and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed mattress and pillows were very hard, bathroom needs somewhere to put toilet bags as when they are left on floor they get wet when showering.

    Beautiful location, good amenities and service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Everything about the Bed and Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was absolutely nothing that I could say I did not like

    Everything about the Bed and Breakfast was excellent. The host was so accommodating about the fact that I had to leave early.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    6.7
    ....not as on the pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very sorry to say that cleaness was not the best...there is no one picture of the bathrooms on booking.com...we understand why. They really need a good renovation, it doesn t fit at all to the standart of the lovely guest house.

    Very good position and quite, very close to the center. Lovely garden, nice deco. Excellent breakfast.! They washed our car early morning before we travel!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    5.8
    Needs a lot off T.L.C.!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows very hard.light fittings needed new bulbs. Sink in bathroom was cracked and over all the place was very tired and needed up dating. Pool was full off leaves and needed cleaning.

    Area

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Stylish and comfortable. Excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very stylish and can't fault anything.

    Everything was just spot on. Loved the decor. Tim was a good host. Location was good. Breakfast was super. The bonus was the car was washed before breakfast by a charming chap. Can't find any fault.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful guesthouse!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful guesthouse!! Clean. Well decorated, very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous, clean rooms. Very accommodating staff who booked us a table at fantastic local restaurant they suggested.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    We stayed here while visiting friends who live in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here while visiting friends who live in the neighborhood. It was lovely; well-appointed rooms, delicious brekkie.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic address, loved walking in the area. Close to everything. Peaceful. Breakfasts were delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    The rates are the same for one person or for two.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rates are the same for one person or for two. Breakfast was only offered from 8.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, friendly staff and much larger room than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, friendly staff and much larger room than we thought. Bountiful breakfast too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Perfect location, excellent host/staff and cosy/comfortable setup
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous breakfast and room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable and beautiful surrounding
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Beautiful garden and surroundings. Clean spacious room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Lovely island and rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay, great rooms at an amazing island. Best place to stay in Knysna:)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Excellent breakfast, spacious rooms and homely feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast, spacious rooms and homely feel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Food was good and the staff and management friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good and the staff and management friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.5
    Situation of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situation of the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay in this unique location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked, decor in bathroom was a wee bit tired

    Great staff, car cleaned every day. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.9
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs upgrade

    Yes the croissants were very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay away from the buzzle but close enough for fun at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather ... lol

    Accommodating staff, friendly, neat, all one could ask for

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    Great location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all execllent

    Great location on a quiet and relaxing island just outside Knysna.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Excellent service and accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely friendly owner and staff, comfortable and clean room, knowledgable on area, free wifi, excellent breakfast. Overall a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    lovely Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    nice furniture

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.6
    comfort and kindly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfort and kindly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.5
    Friendly staff, owner made us feel like family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, owner made us feel like family! Really good stay!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    A Place to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would be very difficult to better it.

    Liked it all. Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    8.3
    Tremendously kind, helpful and friendly host and staff with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tremendously kind, helpful and friendly host and staff with a happy atmosphere. Delicious breakfast. Comfortable room. Attractive setting. Quiet. On beautiful Leisure Island.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    10
    Everything, absolutely great service, staff and rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    Everything, absolutely great service, staff and rooms! Will always recommend and use the next time we are in the area. Wonderful breakfasts, stunning and comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    I think it was the best stay during our hole journey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolut nothing to complain about!

    I think it was the best stay during our hole journey! The owner and his staff were very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable. The pool area was nice, wifi worked well. The accommodation is located on a small island which is protectet, so that it is a very secure stay in a nice area.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    10
    Very large room with lovely lounge area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very large room with lovely lounge area. Good bedding/towels and immaculate room. Good variety of food at breakfast - freshly cooked to your liking. Owner and staff were very helpful . Nice pool area.. Highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    The bed was extra comfy as was the whole room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No dislikes at all.

    The bed was extra comfy as was the whole room. Excellent breakfast cooked by the host, Tim.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    10
    The breakfast was 100% we should know as we own a Wimpy in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was 100% we should know as we own a Wimpy in Pietermaritzburg

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    Great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing could be better

    Great atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.6
    Great family room around the back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Were not there long enough

    Great family room around the back

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    Comfort of the unit Friendliness of the owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traffic noise, busy road

    Comfort of the unit Friendliness of the owner

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    9.6
    Very nice location, relaxing on Leisure Isle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    .

    Very nice location, relaxing on Leisure Isle. Tim and his staff arr very nice and welcoming, the room had all we needed. Nice breakfast too!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Bed were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed were very comfortable. Lovely breakfast. Owner and staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    10
    The location and beauty around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location and beauty around.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    8.3
    Such a friendly welcome from Tim.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such a friendly welcome from Tim. Caring staff, and the bonus of a car wash!

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    10
    It was quiet quaint and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not close to restaurants but they was not a problem for us.

    It was quiet quaint and friendly

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    7.1
    Room was comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom needs attention

    Room was comfortable and clean. The Staff was friendly Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.8
    A comfortable stay and a nice relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A comfortable stay and a nice relaxed atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    Tim Cunningham was very friendly and welcomed us as we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tim Cunningham was very friendly and welcomed us as we arrived. Every morning he would inquire us about the day events.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    Everything about the B&B made we feel as if I was in my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything about the B&B made we feel as if I was in my own home

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Located on Leisure island, it is removed form the busy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located on Leisure island, it is removed form the busy Knysna centre, yet close enough for short trips. The garden is beautiful

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    9.6
    The price for the service,location ,comfort and hospitality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price for the service,location ,comfort and hospitality is a fraction of its true value.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.8
    Location on Leisure Isle is ideal for those who like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had no dislikes.

    Location on Leisure Isle is ideal for those who like pleasant strolls with lovely views. Owner very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable accommodation, good breakfast and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Comfortable accommodation, good breakfast and good location

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing in paticular

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    10
    We stayed for Christmas and it was a wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for Christmas and it was a wonderful experience.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    7.5
    Owner and staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room in house not very soundproof. Wi Fi connection poor

    Owner and staff very friendly. Rooms big and comfy

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    9.6
    - extremely flexible to late arrivals
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - extremely flexible to late arrivals - beautiful and calm place - great service

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: