Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Kloof Luxury Estate 5 stars

8 Weltevrede Street, 6740 Swellendam, South Africa

#3 of 10 hotels in Swellendam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 226 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Perfect Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Manor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful traditional buildings, set in their park. Lovely suite with a fireplace. Wonderful grounds and pool facilities. Just a short walk into the centre. Marvellous dining in the restaurant. Everything first class.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location, wonderful attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The two small basins in the room, I would have then preferred one larger basin as well as place to put your cosmetics or at least just a toothbrush. I would have taken out the huge bath, and replaced it with proper wash basins. The one basin we used, was also leaking and/or running over. I also think the dinner prices are a "ripoff", the food was excellent, but portions are very small, and for two of us, the dinner almost came to R900 (without wine and or any alcohol). Breakfast was also delicious but very small portions.

    We were 5 minutes late for breakfast and the staff went out of their way to assist us. Staff is extremely friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Good stay in a property that exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was particularly slow, and the breakfast could have been slightly better (croissants were burnt)

    The room was extra large and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Marjolein and her team made an exceptional effort to look...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Marjolein and her team made an exceptional effort to look after us and delivered with brilliance, we were a high maintenance group of 9 with 4 children under the age of 7. We had the most sensational surprise tasting dinner, and the most wonderful tapas platter, with superb breakfasts, babysitting, spa treatments, the lot... All organised for us on the Easter Public Holiday weekend, when availability is normally hard to arrange. De Kloof went more than the extra mile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant overnight stop on the way to Cape Town .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred a softer pillow and a few less animal heads on the walls ( even though they were faux ! )

    The food in the restaurant was really good , both dinner and breakfast . The staff were outstanding - friendly , efficient and knowledgeable . We had dinner next to the crackling fire which was very welcome on a chilly night and gave the restaurant a lovely atmosphere !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Historic Dutch Colonial property in Swellendam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We prefer to pay the entire cost at check out, but understand that charging a 50% deposit is quite usual in South Africa.

    For us, a one-night stop en route from Knysna to Franschhoek: De Kloof served our purpose very well. Fortunately the restaurant was open that evening and we enjoyed an excellent dinner. Our room was quite compact, but perfectly adequate for a stopover.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful sssshhhh don't tell too many people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a free bottle of water by the Bed rather than the chocs but thats just me trying to find a fault in a near perfect stay.

    The Welcome received the attention from the staff Breakfast was excellent, The Room was wonderful Only wished we could have stayed longer... Will definetely go back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Great place to unwind we were only on a stopover so did not leave the hotel no need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Great room very comfortable fantastic shower very nice pool area and pool. Lovely dinner in very tranquil dining room, great breakfast. Staff could not have been more attentive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow evening meal after 2 hours we left the restaurant without coffee. We felt as if we were a inconvenience to the Manager ?

    Fabulous room and buildings set in a brilliant surroundings. The welcome from reception was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    A place where luxury really means it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot think of anything.

    Benefited from an upgraded room which was spectacular is space, comfort and furnishings. The location in this small but very pretty town was just right. The food was the best and was matched by the wine list. We thought that this hotel was a real find. Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    3.8
    Wannabe 5 star accomodation, but so NOT worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived in pouring rain and stayed for one night. After a full morning of different spa treatments, we could extend our check out time to 12:30, so I cleared our room punctually payed everything and moved to the pool, waiting for my friend to finish her treatment. When she was done, we ordered some drinks and enjoined the nice pool and the sun because we couldn`t on arrival day due to bad weather. But then we got kicked out, because they would need the space for the new guest. WE WERE THE ONLY GUEST AT THE POOL. The Women was very tacky and unfriendly. I still don´t understand the problem. At Dinner, the steak wasn`t medium as ordered, it was rare, instate of replacing the steak and making a new one, they fried the already sliced steak again so in the end the steak was very though. Then we ordered different desserts but got the same twice. They never refilled our glasses, we had to refill by our own the whole evening. Sooo very not 5 stars worth!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Overall a very successful overnight in transit stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a water bed which was a first and unfortunately it wasn't to our liking.

    This is a very quaint facility steeped in history. We were given a complimentary upgrade which was much appreciated. The staff we very friendly and helpful. There was a significant payment issue with the credit card machine not working fully which meant a 10 minute delay which was frustrating since we were anxious to get on our journey. that apart it was a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay but do not expect De Kloof to provide 5star boutique accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    De Kloof styles itself as a 5star boutique hotel and it has all the related amenities but would take this billing with caution. The building is historic so the rooms we had were awkward or small and lots of noise from adjoining rooms. While everything you needed could be found in your room, it was all fairly basic. That said, this was reflected in the price.

    We found the staff lovely and they were all keen to do all they could to make our stay comfortable. The breakfast was huge and delicious. Gardens very pretty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A top class operation from every angle. Excellent rooms, staff and food. We had a problem with the room pool but when things go wrong, the real measure of a hotel is how the staff deal with it, and in this case, the staff dealt with it as I would expect a 5* hotel would, which is a sure sign of great customer service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Excellence above and beyond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is one of the top properties I have stayed in over the past 39 years if travelling. Go out of your way to stay here. Stay at least 2 nights. Well worth it. Photos on line don't do ur justice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Garden Route stopover. Will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin basins in bathroom were tiny.

    Tasteful conversion of old Dutch farm with generous rooms, stylish large bathrooms and luxurious touches; peaceful location; excellent food in restaurant; very good service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Surprise Gem in delightful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hairdrier didn't work properly, but it was changed quickly. Otherwise, nothing

    The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. We were the only guests and received an upgrade to a beautiful room. The hotel was charming and comfortable, well kept, in a good location off the main road. Dinner was excellent, certainly 4 star standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and beautiful getawat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a strange and unpleasant odour in the room, so ended up burning herbal oils to mask the smell during our stay.

    The breakfast is absolutely amazing and delicious. Very serene environment. The staff went that extra mile to make the last bit of our honeymoon really special.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    A lovely old estate with great food and excellent service. You won't be sorry if you stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I can criticise anything it was the new age music playing in the background but that is a matter of taste I guess.

    This is a lovely old estate and the rooms are beautiful. We visited in the winter so probably not the best time to stay - the bathroom was little cold first thing but no major problems. The food in the restaurant was excellent and from a good limited menu. The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful - even when we were late back from a day trip and mucked them around over dinner. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Dissapointing and not really great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Manor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water bed was terrible, as were geese making a noise all night meaning very little sleep. New Age music during dinner was awful.Food was reasonable

    Staff were very friendly and efficient. Room was good and spacious and nice decour.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful historic building with modern comforts for today's discerning travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant closed on Sundays out of season. Otherwise nothing!

    Well run establishment with friendly staff. Rooms well appointed. Restaurant food rather pricey but extremely good. Good quality breakfast served on terrace Nice large swimming pool. Car washed before you leave.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel on the Garden Route
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I forgot to tell the staff that the Nespresso machine wasn't working properly. I am sure they will fix it.

    Beautiful setting. The family suite was perfect for us and the beds were very comfortable. We loved the private terrace and garden in front with the geese and birds. Lovely hosts and friendly staff. Wonderful breakfast outside in the morning. In walking distance to the village.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.1
    Pool area is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was built for giants. Couldn't reach the twin sinks without standing on my case. Not convinced by waterbed, it's a very personal choice but I'm definitely not a convert!

    Pool area is beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    A magnificient Luxury Hotel that exceeded all our expectations. Cant wait to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful Estate that lived up to its name - Luxury! Amazing breakfasts and a room that was so beautiful - no expense spared. Fantastic, helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.3
    Luxury?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Manor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'Luxury' was primarily in the name and price. The furnishings were tacky 50's modern; completely inappropriate for the buildings and cheap looking. Our room had a waterbed, no warning or choice given. In place of artwork there were framed instructions everywhere. The information book, written by the owners, told how great the owners and the facility was but had no useful information. Breakfast was just OK, a set menu with little choice. There were brick stairs everywhere, in poor shape with no handrails. The WiFi was intermittent and so weak that it was almost useless.

    The Cape Dutch buildings and grounds were pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Lovely old estate with great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely old estate with great facilities. Lovely pool and excellent restaurant. Owner was extremely charming and gave us some wonderful pointers on wine in this region, which were fantastic. Dinner was excellent and well worth it. Breakfast was abundant and really enjoyable out on the terrace. Overall a great stay and would recommend as a stop on the garden route.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inability to take notice of dietary requirements which had been emailed in advance and repeated on arrival. Despite stating quite clearly allergies to tomatoes, nuts and kiwi fruit, dinner was served with tomatoes and breakfast with nuts and kiwi.

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    did not want to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite - Manor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be very hard to find fault, obviously if you wish to "nitpick" fault can be found. BUT, this cannot detract from what the proprietors & staff have acheived, truly great.

    the attention to detail by the owners, showed a true love of what they are doing, in the hospitality business & this is evident through ALL the staff, who trutey are happy in their customer care.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Great hidden jewel in Swellendam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to fault!

    Lovely place. Real find. Lovely beautifully-kept property with pool and gardens, small number of rooms (all looked great), friendly, discreet but cheerful staff. Excellent breakfast outside in the sunshine.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Historical hotel that is friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seats in the lounge looked great but were actually uncomfortable

    Service was excellent Friendly and professional staff Historical property with good ethos Food and drink were excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.5
    Helpful staff, good position, original furniture
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi, small bed, very uncomfortable aircon (mounted on the right side of the ceiling, over the bed, freeze you every time you turn it on because the cold air hit you directly)

    Helpful staff, good position, original furniture

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    7.5
    Relaxing Christmas in De Kloof
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi strength. Some maintenance in the rooms needed - bathroom drain in one room and aircon in the other room.

    Secluded with a great pool. Willing staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    Very good breakfast in beautiful setting beneath the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little out of town. Did not make clear the distance to Franschoek town being 4 kms away.

    Very good breakfast in beautiful setting beneath the mountains. Lovely garden setting and good size rooms with excellent facilities

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel - an oasis of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Super place to stay for those heading east out of Cape Town along the Garden Route or to De Hoop Reserve. We stayed in one of the 'outside' rooms - loads of space, well appointed and comfortable bed - really appreciated the fluffy dressing gowns. Service faultless and friendly, great food and wine in the restaurant. Enjoyed the pre-diner drink in front of the fire. Breakfast served on the terrace. They even washed our car during the night (it was filthy from driving on dirt tracks). Pool looked nice but we had no time to try it out!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    It is a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a lovely hotel. However, they asked us for any dietary requirements upon arrival that need to be considered. We stated soya milk for breakfast. At the breakfast, they didn't have any soya milk available and as it was a set menu, it was very hard to find any non-milk options (breakfast mainly consisted of yoghurt, cheese). Usually, this would be okay. But if you explicitly ask for dietary requirements, I would expect them to be considered or at least to be stated proactively if not available.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Absolutely beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Estate is stunning. Friendly staff. We stayed here for one night on the way back from our Honeymoon. We left the best for last. We loved our spacious duplex cottage. The waterbed, jet bath and fireplace created such a lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was hearty yet sophisticated. The porter washed our car before we checked out. This is the best place to sleep in Swellendam. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Pure beauty !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pure beauty !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Very nice set up, buitiful view from the nice outside pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice set up, buitiful view from the nice outside pool. Fantastic dinner!!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    very nice experience at 216 years old guest house
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast are perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful period hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Wonderful period hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our stay which relaxing in wonderful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi

    Upgraded to Merlot, which was a really nice surprise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful well maintained,well managed estate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Manor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing. To dislike

    Great location brilliant food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Very attentive staff. Probably the best and most generous breakfast we have enjoyed this trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable room and pleasant swimmingpool setting

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Real luxury and relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The comfort, the lovely breakfasts brought to the table so no getting up and down to a buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Top Notch Hotel---Don't Miss It!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked it all

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    It was a wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner

    Food , particularly ostrich was excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Top class quality 5 star accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Top class quality 5 star accomodation. Peaceful and relaxed with friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Food was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good Received a free room upgrade Nicely maintained historical building Enjoyed spa treatment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    Personal touch. Great hospitality. Nice decorations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not comfortable

    Small accomodation with a very personal approach. Nice food!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Great breakfast, lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, lovely room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Luxury rooms with lovely dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very helpful staff . Lovely dinner in front of open fire

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    A must stay on your to do list!! Exceptional !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel with excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was lovely. The room was very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    6.7
    Parson's egg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food and the very limited choice of wine .

    The grounds, the buildings and the swimming pool were beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable stay. Friendly helpfull staff. Good facilities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    Dinner, breakfast, pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waterbed was a bit odd!

    Dinner, breakfast, pool area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV and Safe not working staff half hearted in their attempt to get them to work - not 5 star treatment

    Comfortable room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    stunning staff and delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    stunning staff and delicious breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.3
    Well Worth A Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some difficult access areas/rooms

    Quirky but luxurious accommodation. Service and facilities very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    9.6
    Super stay in luxurious surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi if not so good in rooms

    Surroundings are lovely room very comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. Staff very helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.5
    Fine accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accoustic in diner room

    Good accomodation Great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.2
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi

    Very nice property, great pool

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    10
    Excellent breakfast served on patio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast served on patio. Interesting historical property well and appropriately furnished. Very pleasant staff. Excellent dinner

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.2
    The estate was beautiful and tranquil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The estate was beautiful and tranquil. Had an excellent meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing and if you want to be pampered it' fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive

    Beautiful setting and the place is tip tops

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent service Great food from a young enthusiastic chef.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Place with a difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was slow in coming ...

    quirky but great attention to detail

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    Staff were excellent, really helpfull but not over the top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were excellent, really helpfull but not over the top to the point by of annoyance. Gave us a great restaurant recommendation for our evening in Swellendam.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    9.6
    Amazing hospitality & service from the lovely manager...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    TV didn't work .

    Amazing hospitality & service from the lovely manager Maaike Engelen and her husband Simon. Great with the children, served us drinks by the lovely pool and laid breakfast for us outside. The boutique hotel is just beautiful as was the family suite complete with amazing therapy water bed! Great location as well.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    7.9
    Nice helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many steps for me, too much gravel, didn't feel Luxurious but very nice except for the pillows and bed that were great.

    Nice helpful staff. Nice pool if a bit too cool in early March. Interesting historic estate. Bfast fine but might have referred a buffet to start. Gardens int OK The bed pillows and duvet were great! Spacious accommodation bath and shower.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    Everybody was there only for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I can't find a negative item to mention

    Everybody was there only for us. breakfast,meals top! We felt like home,smiling faces and even a car wash for the ca,good team managed in a discreet way

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    8.8
    A very comfortable place to break the journey between...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit of a history lesson on arrival, but very well intentioned, I'm sure.

    A very comfortable place to break the journey between Stellenbosch and Wilderness with a warm welcome, and they even wash the cars before you leave. Some nice little touches.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    10
    Our room was really lovely with nice balcony and very comfy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room did have a rather musty smell.

    Our room was really lovely with nice balcony and very comfy beds. Beautiful pool area. Had a nice candle-lit dinner sitting outside. Staff were very helpful and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    10
    We loved the whole experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negatives at all

    We loved the whole experience. The staff were extremely attentive, the breakfast & dinner excellent. Our accomodation all we could have wished for.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.6
    Staff were excellent and the dinner was first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool furniture

    Staff were excellent and the dinner was first class. Our room was very comfortable and well equipped. We will definitely come back next year.

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: