Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Leeuwenhof Estate 4 stars

De Leeuwenhof Estate, Sonstraal Road, 7646 Paarl, South Africa

#8 of 29 B&Bs and Inns in Paarl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 204 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I and my friends, a group of four couples, picked this hotel in the Winelands for three nights staying as it is near some good wineries. As being from far away and not well prepared we were not familiar to the circumstances, nothing in walking distance from the hotel, off-season and we the only guests. However, the owners and staff were totally devoted to making this a wonderful time for us, recommending what to do, booking e.g. shuttle, wine-tasting and fantastic restaurants. It was great being there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed sheets weren't changed during the stay and this could have been done every 2nd or 3rd day.

    Staff were very friendly and gave us a lot of local tips. Having the owners present and being very accommodating to our large group made our stay even more enjoyable. Food was amazing, the wine superb and comfort level was great. Felt very safe with high level of security.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cape Manor Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a great time at the Leuwenhof Estate. Good position with very nice and clean rooms. Very good breakfast and tasteful kitchen and very friendly owners and staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We knew what to expect having been here before. Daan upgraded us to o e of the cottages which gave plenty of room to relax both inside the accommodation and outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean with the usual basics. Would have preferred a double bed and not two singles pushed together. Quite isolated from the the town of Paarl, which doesn't have much to offer even if you can find it. We found the location of De Leeuwenhof Estate difficult to plot on a Sat Nav, but if you can find the road its on then take it slowly and you'll get there. Being able to dine on site was a bonus. The set menu was satisfactory but service was slow.

    The tranquillity of the site and felt secure. Good pool. Friendly helpful staff. Handy stop over point for other places and airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful estate with very tasteful kitchen and good wines. Original rooms in old stables, very nicely furnished. We asked to have two rooms next to each other and owners did their best to make it for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toiletts in the room. They could be cleaner. It was impossible for a women to do a make up. To dark and proper lights were missing.

    The place, the staff and the food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Tin roof over our room, which was noisy when rain was falling, and desperately noisy when the Acorns fall on Roof. This attributed to a very bad nights sleep. The Aircon was very weak. The Wi-Fi was also weak, with limited Signal. The Restaurant was very expensive for Dinner.

    Lovely Swimming Pool and surrounding area. Very pleasant Restaurant. Quiet Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 2 prior e- mails the bed requirement was not as requested although it was quickly remedied. Flies Drink prices not detailed at mini bar or main bar. Generally tatty.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cape Manor Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great stay at the Leuwenhof estate. The owners live on the property and are very friendly and helpful. The staff is one of the best I have experienced so far as they are very nice and make you feel home. The appartment and its outdoor area was beautiful overlooking the mountains and countyside. It could not be better. We loved dinner and breakfast, It was delicious! We highly recommend this estate!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    We came back here last December and had a great time again. Nice room, lovely place, excellent breakfast and also every evening the possibility to have diner outside in a great setting. We will go back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little. Heat pump a little noisy but they kindly switched it off for us on second night so even that wasn't an issue.

    Rooms spacious and comfortable. Property is gracious and attractive. Staff all very friendly and responsive - a real family atmosphere. Breakfasts are fine and or one dinner very good. Dining next to pool delightful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    We stayed in very different accommodations during our trip, tented camps, lodges, hotels, holiday homes but the De Leeuwenhof Estate is a very unique place which would not fit in any category. We were guests of super friendly family who runs a guava farm. Not only that we got very helpful recommendations with regard to our day tour, Daan and his family also allowed an unique insight into the live in South Africa. The room was very comfortable and the setting is lovely. The breakfast was very good with home-baked bread, very delicious! The service is outstanding! Even the car was washed since it looked quite dirty from the days before!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was too short. Next time we will stay longer.

    Location in the Winelands is excellent and our room in The Stables was extremely comfortable where we sat on our own veranda with a glass of wine and watched the birds and squirrels in the quiet gardens. The family that own and run the estate were very welcoming and helpful and really went out of their way to ensure that we were happy during our stay. The breakfast was very good with home-baked bread served pleasant surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was super friendly, lovely family run guesthouse located in a guava farm. The rooms are very large, breakfast was delicious and the location excellent. We attended a wedding in a venue nearby, and also enjoyed local wine farms and restaurants in and around Paarl during the weekend we spent at De Leeuwenhof. The recommended restaurant for dinner called Noop was lovely, delicious food and good service. The family is involved in local rescue, fire fighting and animal rescue, which is admirable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern comfortable rooms with great bathrooms (shower). Located in a working farm. Family run and the family is hands on working the farm and the guesthouse.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our third trip to a beautiful, peaceful family run estate. The owners are very welcoming and well informed about the local area and spend time making sure that their guests are comfortable. I am sure we will be back next year.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had the most amazing time here. No complains about anything. The food was delicious, the family super friendly and helpfull, the staff was attentive, the dogs were the best, the evenings by the open fire were cozy and the sunny days by the pool were relaxing. I hope we will come back and stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunchtime food options were very limited. A car is recommended although local taxis are easily available and reasonable.

    Daan and his family were great hosts and we had a very pleasurable stay at De Leeuwenhof. The guest house was very clean and service excellent. There were ongoing issues with fires in the nearby farms and even though the family were active volunteers dealing with these, they still ensured that our stay was trouble free, The G&T's were the best we have ever had - raspberry & lemon and blueberry & thyme were particular favourites. We highly recommend De Leeuwenhof.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sold as luxury accommodation but most disappointing.- over priced compared to other similarly rated in area. 3 course dinner was way over priced - bad service and poor presentation.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed 2 nights. There was a tree above our room. The first night we were awakened by something hitting the roof. The second night, some wind, there was a constant clattering of intermittent thuds on the roof. Little sleep. I did report this to management - got little response. We had a limited access to cable TV.

    The room was OK - but nothing better than a 3 star hotel. There was a good pool area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Barnyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely family welcome to a most charming peaceful place. Excellent food at breakfast and at special dinners. A definite thumbs up for this lovely place

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not too comfortable ( no table, no bin in bathroom, no tissues, no sheet just a mattress protector, bedside mats grubby, blinds dusty, curtains too light ) The breakfast was OK but slow - could easily be improved by providing toaster, jams, better range of breads-pastries and own choice of fruit at the buffet section.

    The premises were charming and the restaurant excellent. The staff were very helpful and location was very practical for seeing the wine area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We stayed for 9 nights at this loving guesthouse located in a very peaceful setting on the outskirts of Paarl but also within easy reach of all the local amenities and wine region. Owners Dan and family were so welcoming and the staff were excellent and always smiling. The food, service and ambience were so good that we preferred eating at the guest house rather than the restaurants in town. We enjoyed everything about our stay and will return next time we visit South Africa.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I cant think of a single thing! We would be back there in a heartbeat!!

    What is there not to like at De Leeuwenhof !? Daan, Yvonne, Tessa and Stefan own the farm and also run the hotel. Their love of the farm is so obvious in their warm and sincere welcome. They were all so committed to making our stay so wonderful and very generous with their time assisting us, whenever we needed guidance. The rooms are spacious and modern with all the normal amenities you would want to find. The food is "top notch 5 star" and there is never a problem if you need an alternative. The families commitment also to the local community is above commendable. You absolutely must not miss the farm tour and wine tasting with Daan .... and the following braai...absolutely awesome and lots of camaraderie around the fire! Thank you so much!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cape Manor Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're after excitement, Paarl probably isn't the place for you. Myself and my wife are in our late 30s and we're the youngest by a long way. Probably more suited for a middle aged/older audience

    The perfect place for a quiet getaway. This is a family run 'farm' and they take great pride in their estate. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the tour around the farm/braai provides a great insight into their lives. The staff are all extremely friendly and it appears to be a safe environment in which to have a break. Would recommend it for a quiet relaxing break to get away from it all.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Family-run business, owners very friendly, beautiful grounds and spacious rooms. It`s quiet and peaceful. The food excellent. It feels like home. Would recommend to staying here to all.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room in the stable was noisy, you could hear the neighbours talking, sneezing and coughing.

    Very cosy with the courtyard, it looks beautiful. Also very nice situated near the vineyard. Nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the nicest places in Paarl to stay at. Such a small, hidden gem. The owners go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and memorable. Breakfast is excellent. We'll definetly be back! Thanks for a great time!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality offered does not at all correspond to the price. Way, way over priced. And we have tried many places i Cape area. If you are willing to dump money you will get something that is clean, big, ok quality - but not more. The restaurant was not open because it was not open. (To few guests?)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower floor felt a bit dirty. Lunch snacks were very expensive - R120 for a bowl of cheese, sundried tomatoes, 3 olives and 3 slices of ciabatta.

    Nice pool and cool rooms on a hot day. Friendly staff. Rooms were clean and comfy. Good hearty breakfast included.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the stay. 2 nights should have been more!

    Great location. Very friendly Dutch family owns this beautiful old farm totally redone in tasteful manner. Very tidy and private rooms. Lovely dinner for guests only. Situated close to Nederburg wine estate.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was arriving reasonably late in the evening. The most beautiful chicken salad was waiting for me in my fridge. I really appreciated the special effort. Breakfast in the morning was so warmly prepared and served, a real home away from home experience. Nice to learn a little about guavas and just for the moment feel the gentle bustle of a working farm at the centre of the farm watch activities. Very conveniently located this was an excellent stopover for work.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Barnyard
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was stone cold when we got in that evening! Not only that, it was just our luck. there was a power cut that continued for at least eight times. That was the beginning of our four nights. We thought it would never end. The owner's daughter never explained that we had to use the pan to boil water for our coffee. Eventually a burnt kettle occurred as a result as the kettle was v-shaped and being tired, we lit it without thinking. We offered to pay for another kettle, but no, we had to pay over 800 Rand for the same kettle to replace it.

    The guava juice was pureed and from the orchard.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast needs improvement.

    Very friendly owner and staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Magic Breakfast Super friendly and helpful staff Honesty bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The time of breakfast

    The farm feeling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastic staff, very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Add shower curtain

    Excellent. Tranquil. Best sleep I’ve had in ages.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all excellent!

    Good position. Peaceful. Clean and comfortable. Staff were excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is too expensive for what you get

    All very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cape Manor Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice apartment. Excellent facilities. Good breakfasts. Very friendly owners and staff. Very much enjoyed our 3 night stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cape Manor Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff was exceptionally friendly and went the extra mile.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms little basic

    Real family run business and easy to talk too always available and interesting people.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful relaxed athmosphere with owners that make it their mission you get the most out of your holiday!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly people in a beautiful environment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Barnyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpfull staff! Comfortable and clean rooms! Good breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beautiful environment and garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful service, beautiful venue! Wish we could have stayed longer!! Would definitely go back and stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cape Manor Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing breakfast

    Very person and great staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single beds - would have like a double bed.

    The friendly greeting on arrival and at the breakfast. Excellent coffee!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Barnyard
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The delightful family that runs and owns this wonderful place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    Peace and quiet, beautiful setting, great location, friendly staff, great rooms, very quick laundry service, nice pool

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Very interesting intelligent owner. Pleasure to talk to. Campfire in evening great place for meeting interesting people.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cape Manor Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good Residence and extremely friendly Family

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners/staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were comfortable, breakfast was nice, portion sizes little small, but very tasty.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    Wonderful personalized hospitality.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Barnyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, quiet

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort and Cleanliness.

    Breakfast and Dinner were great! Nice people and staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cold in the nights

    Atmosphere. Friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Old Stable
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wonderful service - staff couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Unfortunately the pool was a bit cold and we would have appreciated if it was heated even though we understand why it wasn't. Would also appreciate if we had a king size bed instead of two singles. Be sure that you like dogs.

    Second time we return so for sure we love the place. Fresh clean extremely service minded staff and location is fantastic. Super easy with small children. The surroundings is so cozy and we wish we could stay longer to use it more. Be sure to make note to the place that you would like to stay for dinner. Safe place.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom should have a safety handle inside the shower and rack to put your toiletries on. The inclusion of a bath would be excellent.

    The food was excellent and service very good

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is not really anything that we didn't like as this accommodation was exactly what we were looking for. The only thing I can say wasn't 100%, was the wifi.....it was very "patchy"..... sometimes works, sometimes doesn't...but then that is a common problem in SA anyway !

    This is a rural farm-type accommodation that is very quiet. ....which is exactly what we were looking for. The owners and everyone working there were exceptionally attentive. They also have 5 lovely dogs so my wife was in dog heaven ! The location and standard of the accommodation is excellent. They also do very high standard dinners ( and breakfasts ) next to the pool which is also a lovely setting.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing of particular note within walking distance, as with most wine/farm estates, but it would be assumed you would have a car and it's just a short drive to Paarl or onto the motorway to connect to other towns.

    The breakfasts were delicious, the dinner and wine tasting excellent. Family-run made it feel cosy and more personal. Beautiful, charming estate. Owners went the extra mile to meet our needs.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only showers in the room, food was pretty expensive, bat service available but had to track the bar man down 9 out of 10 times and more often not successful in finding him and arranging drinks

    Location and swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dan and his family couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely relaxing setting, with friendly staff and good South African food and hospitality. Recommend the braais!

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place. Very nice staff, took the time to chat and recommend where to go Next. Great food for dinner outside and breakfast. Open fire place outside next to the bar, after dinner you can sit there, very nice. Good wine tasting possibilites nearby, the owners can organize a great tour. We should have stayed longer!:)

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, even the coffee was good!

    We had a very good reception and used during 3 days one of the two luxury apartments. These apartments are well furnished, have two separate bedrooms and have a common private swimming-pool and lots of privacy. Despite the heat (39 degrees) the apartment was cool, it has 2 airco's. Breakfasts and dinners were fabulous and the Dutch owners (Yvonne and Daan and their two adult children Steven and Tessa) worked together with the staff to make you feel at home but also as a high valued guest. It was a great experience, value for money and we hope to come back one day....

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Quiet location , very friendly & attentive staff, excellent meals. Daan, the owner, has an exceptional ecological policy & is to be highly commended on his farm firewatch system.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    What an absolute Jewel of a find. Beautiful, tranquil a masterful blend of a retreat, a farmhouse and a vineyard in one. The only thing better than the dwellings are the hosts. A wonderful family Daan will keep you entertained with his wealth of knowledge, whilst Yvonnes warmth is echoed in her infectious laughter, tessa the most gracious of welcomes, whilst stefan can not do enough for you and makes it all look so easy to settle the guests. The staff were amazing, the food superb and topped off with the best Braai evenings. A truly superb experience can't wait to return. Thank you for such incredible hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Bit of a 'motel' feel to the place - but close to the motorway and I am sure very handy for travellers for an overnight stop, as in my case. No real facilities - very small - pool area - no grounds as such to walk in.

    Very warm welcome - very friendly. The restaurant looked nice, small and quite initimate. Wi Fi access in the rooms - good.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Seeing that it was Winter and very cold it would have been nice to have loose carpets on the floor - specially at the beds

    Our stay was very short but the location was good and very friendly staff

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse De Leeuwenhof Estate traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: