Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Waterkant House 3 stars

35 Loader Street, De Waterkant, 8000 Cape Town, South Africa

#216 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 54 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    very smart hotel, like staying in an old town house. Very quiet, safe surroundings. Interesting neighbourhood, like a village in the town. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound carried between rooms at least one night when the neighbors got rowdy. Other nights I was surprised to see other guests in the morning - thought we were alone.

    close to downtown, nice setting, nice patio, friendly cat

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of cleanliness (the room needed a serious vacuuming job) and the shower head badly needs to be replaced. Overall, I didn't find it value for money.

    The location and the appliances available in the facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a mix up with our booking - when we arrived, they did not have both reservations, room 5 was mouldy and smelly. I am still waiting for the tax invoice as well, which was promised on check out - yet nothing received to date.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used laundry service. In addition to its crazy price, they lost me a trouser. After I left the city they told me the trouser was at the laundry. They didn't do any effort to send home the item, they even hasn't asnwered my emails. Sad.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could never get a hold of the staff by email or phone directly. I tried 2 times to contact via the Booking.com website only because I needed to extend my stay, which is not an option on their " manage my booking". When we arrived at 10 pm with a shuttle that they did not help us set up, they did not answer the doorbell or the phone . The concierge was asleep . Fortunate the shuttle driver knew to try at a nearby office, where again the gate was locked and the door was closed. It was not until I pushed open the door and started yelling, that someone came to finally welcome us . This was most ennoying and embarrassing to the friends that were with us on this trip!

    We looked out at the back fence which was a wasteland. However, it was fresh air and no rubbish at least.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The television DSTV reception was shocking. i requested them 3 times to fix it but they never responded. the mugs were not washed and the coffee ring on the side table not cleaned. i was not all that impressed. I have stayed at De Waterkant Village before in another cottage which was very nice. This was rather disappointing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Struggled with hot water in the morning and was not sure how to check out as there was no one. Some rooms have a great view but not the one I had, very basic.

    The staff was gracious as I checked in very late

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving at night and had to walk two blocks to check in without being informed about this on website

    Breakfast was surprisingly good !! staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Our stay at, was very pleasant, nice safe area with cozy houses. The reception and the restaurant were very helpful and the food was good. The hotel's location is very central and ideal for excursions in the Cape Town area. Fine rooms.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Money was stolen from my (unlocked) cupboard in my locked room. It took about three weeks for the hotel to get back to me and when they did they had no conclusive findings. This is disappointing given that there is a significant hotel company behind this enterprise. I know this is South Africa with a huge disparity between rich and poor and I know I should have had my money locked up, but I'm still left feeling that they could have done more.

    Comfortable room, although breakfast is down the street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was not clean, in particular the carpet. It's stained, dirty with clumps of hair stuck to it. It made my stay really unpleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not working in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff style location High standard

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction noise down the road.

    Locality and view from room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot in the room. Ventilator could hardly keep up

    Nice room, nice building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clean. However the next day housekeeping cleaned it quite well

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite a walk into town but not a problem if you are reasonably mobile.

    Quiet area, quite high security, plenty places to eat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt slightly run down and the carpets are in sore need of replacement

    Location is perfect!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 2. Was tiny with no views.

    Excellent location and great outdoor entertainment area with pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was to quiet for one person on their own..and the area at night is quite dead

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception located in building a block away from guesthouse

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom: The blind was broken - not good considering it looked onto the courtyard. The 2 wall mounted extraction fans did not work. The toilet seat was plastic and old and the cistern cover was not for that cistern - looks shabby. We also had one toilet roll for a 2 night stay! The bathroom need some serious refurbishment. Room: tv - very old, didn't work - a small flat screen (that works) are inexpensive these days and should be considered. A pleasant young man tried his best to fix the problem, but couldn't of course. Wifi was not available unless we paid extra for it - this day and age, even backpackers offer free Wifi Tea/coffee supplies were minimal (the gentleman who was the supervisor/handyman noted to us that he was only given that for the guests and agreed it was not enough... This gentleman was way out of his depth - he was very pleasant and tried his best, but like I said way out of his depth to deal with guests. The cleaning lady was off that weekend and this poor man had to clean our room - this was most disturbing!! Why are not relief cleaning staff employed and why should the handyman/maintenance man make the beds??? The fire escape door had no key available and was locked shut - we were told they don't know where the key is. There was no curtain above this door to cover the window above - street lights shone right into the room Light bulbs were missing in the ceiling lights The pool although wonderfully situated was so overloaded with chlorine (you could smell it before you got into the pool) made a dip unpleasant. Note we tried to swim at 2 different times in case it was just after the cleaning - both times were the same. The breakfast - although this was provided by another business was appalling. The service was shocking and the staff rude, never mind not being near the value for money. We will never go back there ever again. They were more interested in the shoot being done on the patio, than their clientele.

    Location was good and convenient for the purpose of our 2 night stay. Nice linen and comfortable bed, room was spacious and was very quiet considering we were in the city! The staff were attentive and friendly. The safe was user friendly and the shower had good water pressure. Even though the room did not have air-con we found the fan to be sufficient - it was very hot over that weekend, We felt safe and secure. Pool loungers were lovely and comfy and pool and patio location very nice

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    That the Breakfast was situated at another venue and that on the Public Holiday the Breakfast venue was closed till 8am on the Holiday. You had a few angry German and French clients sitting outside very unhappy as they needed to get on their Holiday Bus Shuttle at 8am on that day. That was very embarrassing.

    Everything was great, very comfortable Accomadation

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    DeWaterkant House is well situated in one of the most interesting parts of Cape Town. Near enough to the main attractions but also quiet enough when you need it. The splash pool is an added bonus in this area as the temperature was up in the 30s. We were delayed by a day but the staff helped us to move our booking at the last moment. Many thanks

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the light in the bathroom didn't work, the hairdryer was broken, the room didn't have built in cupboards and was in fact smaller than less expensive rooms I have stayed in at the same guest house

    The location was amazing

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The windows were open when I arrived and I got severely bitten by mosquitoes. After I closed them, it was often hot. Frank was helpful in getting an anti-mosquito plugin.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Photos a bit misleading, and pool was tiny - beautiful house, but room was very basic and maybe in need of a bit of an update, but clean and functional. Probably good to make it very clear that check in is in a different location.

    Firstly, Jaco was absolutely amazing - 110% level of customer service excellence. Stunning funky area of Cape Town - very hipster neighbourhood - loved the R60 food voucher, which could be used in 2 locations. Also loved the free access to Camps Bay Beach Club.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mould smell when you open the cupboards of the kitchen units.

    Location, design layout, spacious and private .

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    room are little dark and small.

    location is perfect

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hot water.

    Reception was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    room in the cellar, bad breakfast, bathroom in bad condition

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: