Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Waterkant Lodge 3 stars

35 Dixon Street, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#159 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 221 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    great stay - the Lodge has character and felt great to stay there - very positive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Economy Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    nothing that I can think of

    Great place to stay - full kitchen, lovely livingroom and terrace, good breakfasts taken either inside and or on another common terrace, lovely helpful staff - no complaints - would stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Spacious, light, clean room with pleasant decor, & large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was fine but nothing outstanding (served in lovely room with balcony overlooking pretty local area).

    Spacious, light, clean room with pleasant decor, & large balcony. Very helpful & attentive staff. Gorgeous location, close to centre & amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Great location, several bars, cafés and restaurants in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, several bars, cafés and restaurants in the neighbourhood, supermarket is close, many ares like Waterfront and Bo Kaap in walking distance. Lovely rooms, fantastic terrace with a view of Table mountain. Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.7
    It was very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room I stayed was loud and I could not open the window as the room was ground Floor and just beside the road. I had to Close the shatter all the time as People passing could see just on the bed.

    It was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    It was a lovely guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 35 Dixon - Spacious Twin / King room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no reserved parking bays - only public street parking available and sometimes nothing nothing available for numerous blocks.

    It was a lovely guest house. Nice street atmosphere with cafés and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Loved this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    This was a great to stay within walking distance of the city centre, close to restaurants, and not too far from the waterfront. The area is charming and is very safe. The hosts Mico, Jeremy and Grant couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful. I definitely would stay here again and recommend it to fellow travellers. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Economy Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doorways with it closing by itself it is difficult to keep open on the front door and doesn't stay open when you want it to.

    I love the architecture and neighbourhood.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    it was great, all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Spacious Twin / King room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the shower taps are very difficult. makes it difficult not to waste water. the hot water tap is especially weird and needs a plumber to look at it.

    location was perfect for my needs. I had the whole apartment to myself which was just brilliant. a stroke of luck.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Great apartment, location, clean, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Upon checkin or while walking pass the reception, we did not feel very welcome. A smile is a little thing but goes a long way...^^

    Great apartment, location, clean, value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    A real treat, centrally located but felt like a complete break away from everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It just felt so special staying here, the winding staircase to my room, stunning bathroom, great WiFi connection, view of Table Mountain from the breakfast terrace and a great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.8
    Nobody in the office after 4:30.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody in the office after 4:30. The taxi driver gives the key... On first night we didn’t have hot water to shower and no WiFi. The manager is not friendly. We left after 2 nights, but weren’t embarrassed for the rest of the week.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    Staying at De Waterkant Lodge was a great experience - and Cape Town is beautiful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Economy Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room did not have an en-suite bathroom/toilet - I had to go there through a corridor. I had not expected that but it was only a minor inconvenience.

    I had access to a terrace with a nice view as well as a kitchen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Great place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room street level. No sun and sometimes noisy.

    Great location in the heart of the city. Safe. Nice decorations. Good breakfast with view on table mountain.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Totally enjoyed it! Great location and BEST staff service will bring me back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Spacious Twin / King room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nitpicks. Wifi was okay. Not super fast but manageable. Walls are a bit thin. Staircase is a bit steep with heavy or large bags.

    Staff was GREAT! While away for the day, the maid dropped my travel soap dish and broke it. Cheap piece, no problem. She reported it to the managers and there was a typed note of apology waiting when I returned. I have NEVER had that type of service and honesty from any hotel! Kudos to both! A little thing, but indicative of the care they take. Great location, very clean. Note that there are steps (no lift/elevator) but there's a great view of the area and Table Mtn awaiting at the roof terrace. Great for a getaway. Good value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    2.5
    I warned everyone not to book this hotel. Infact Booking .com should remove them from he lists of th
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I warned everyone not to book this hotel. Infact Booking .com should remove them from he lists of the budget hotels and we demand refund of our stay. SERIOUS NUMBER OF REASON: 1) They charge late check-in without informing us. 2) They provided us a room without a proper bathroom. They expect us not to shower after traveling for so many hours and 2 nights of stay. They have provided a bathtub where they expect us to let the water flow in the tub without showering. They expect us to shower to lay down in bathtub. As it is not allowed to sprinkle the water in the bathroom cause they have built a bathroom that is not purpose to take a shower. 3) They remove the head of the shower of the bathtub without informing us on the second day. We were not be able to shower before we leave and take our longest flight back home for 18 hours. 4) When we ask the person-incharge (MICO) about the bathroom, He said we could not shower as it will cause water to drip downstairs. And we ask him (MICO) if there is an alternative for us to shower and he just said they are fully book. He is very nasty and disrespectful to his customer. In the fist place, why would they accept booking if they are fully book and they could not provide a proper bathroom. We have paid our stay there..He should not publish it and cheated us with a bedroom without a proper bathroom... 5) They provided us with a bedroom located in a attic area whereby we almost could not carry the bag as it was not a proper stares to carry a luggage. 6) The bedroom was provided is totally not fit to rent-out or to let the customer stay as it not worth a single amount of money or a cents... Lastly, the bedroom has a foul smell of pee or urine or smell from the drainage or coming from the toilet. We had so much great experience with other places we stayed in South Africa we booked from Booking.com and meet very nice people in Cape Town . This Waterkant horrible experienced almost ruined our last leg of our holidays..

    We never like anything of this horrible place, they cheated us. They let us believe we will get a proper bedroom, instead they have provided with a horrible bedroom without a proper bathroom and expect not to shower on our 2 nights of stay. Or shower while you will drown yourself in a bathtub!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Very good location and staff is very punctual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Family double room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Sound insulation from the street is not very good (no double glazing). Sometimes there's no parking space near the property.

    Very good location and staff is very punctual. Area is safe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    A fantastic place to take the load off your feet.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    From the moment we arrived, we felt right at home. Even though we, due to our program, could only enjoy breakfast on the first morning, we felt it to be more than adequate. We appreciated the unobtrusive cleaning and prepping cycles when one is not around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    The staff is quite friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I was alerted by friends about the possibility of robberies in the city. Because of that, I chose to leave my necklace in the room. The irony was that I ended up without it when trying to protect it. I did not tell the staff at the moment because I was very tired the day I decied to leave it in the room and I could not remember where I had put it (also because the staff was very nice and I didn't want to make them feel bad when there was a possibility that my necklace was lost in my baggage). I hoped to find it when I got home and undo the baggage, but I came to the conclusion that it is gone.

    The staff is quite friendly and helpful. They helped me with uber and with my tours.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Value for money: cleanliness, friendly staff, near SPAR
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, especially the toilet, was a bit cold for me so had to use the heater. Had the same breakfast menu the entire week.

    Value for money: cleanliness, friendly staff, near SPAR

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location. Ok hotel. Horrible breakfasts. Poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service. Not polite people. No electriciry adapters for guests. My room was not cleaned because I left my laptop on the floor. Nobody onformed.me in advamce. Terrible ugly breakfast.

    Nice room with shared living room and kithen what was nice. Much space. Giid location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Excellent location and facilities at the lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's located in Waterkant, everything is reachable conveniently, in close proximity to Cape Quarter, shops, restaurants and clubs. A walking distance to the heart of the downtown business district of Cape Town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.8
    A happy and comfortable place to be in the heart of the mother city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Wifi was rather weak, but a minor issue in contrast to how nice the stay really was.

    Staff are friendly and able to recommend a number of interesting places to explore or eat at. The accommodation is affordable, comfortable and relaxed, and in a safe central location. Stunning views of Arthur's Seat and the waterfront are to be had from the rooftop garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.5
    Very good place and good localization.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Economy Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to go to room with luggage because there are a lot of stairs.

    Breakfast is very good, Mrs. Delice is very good person and also serventes from room and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    6.3
    Neighborhood's great; not sure if I'd recommend this lodge though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 35 Dixon - Family double room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communication with reception wasn't great. We had to wait outside the door for over 30 minutes upon arrival. May have been part our fault, but still I would expect someone at reception during opening hours. Guys at reception weren't overly helpful or friendly. It was ok but not very welcoming all in all.

    Location is great, very tranquil neighborhood. Room was good (very big, own bathroom). Bed was ok, but too short for us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.2
    great location, well priced, lovely roof terrace
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Spacious Twin / King room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had an inside room facing inner staircase so very little natural daylight but I saw another room whilst it was being cleaned and it was lovely and bright. It would have been nice to have a couple of comfy chairs on roof terrace.

    great location, well priced, lovely roof terrace

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location, nice rooms especially the breakfast room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Economy Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor WiFi in the bedrooms. Taxi booking to the airport when leaving - I asked to order a taxi but the taxi never came and I had to walk down the street with my bags to flag one down.

    Perfect location, nice rooms especially the breakfast room on the top floor with its wonderful views. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    3.8
    Much better places in Cape Town to stay (even if you are gay)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 35 Dixon - Spacious Twin / King room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We visit Cape Town often, but will never go back to this establishment, although it is in the middle of the gay neighbourhood. * Unfriendly staff with an attitude. * Breakfast every day the same. Old bread. Sometimes no meat. Not good quality fruit. * Stairs make it very difficult to get to room. * We had to ask them more than once to clean our room properly every day. * No shower.

    Good location - in the middle of everything, but noisy, because of bars and night clubs.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.6
    Location, friendly staff at reception, the view from the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was extremely poor and the lady attending to guests could have just as well not have been there

    Location, friendly staff at reception, the view from the dining room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.2
    An ideal location to stay at with good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was Sweeky and recommend upgrading.

    The reception by staff was excellent, breakfast variety very good. The view of the city from the balcony is beautiful and its proximity to CTICC and shopping facilitues very convenient. The evironment is quite and relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.1
    check in, altough I came in late
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    early closing of reception not safe locality after 5pm, altough there are patrols nearby, its not safe place pipes are veeery loud

    check in, altough I came in late

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    5.0
    Brief stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I spent 2 nights over a weekend and on the first night, I spilled some coca cola on the sheets. Couldn't reach the front desk because they don't work weekends. the following day, my sheets had been removed (bed left bare/ not made) and all I had was a letter informing me that I may be charged for the dry cleaning if the stains didn't go off. Was relieved I had only one night left!

    Privacy. Front desk was helpful in arranging taxis for me.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice hostel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sometimes a bit loud (very thin walls and close to the main street). WiFi was sometimes problematic.

    Very nice and neat rooms. Very good breakfast and great location (close to Waterfront)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    The stay was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay was excellent. .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Highly Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    The friendly, helpful staff were amazing. There was no query they could not/would not help with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Home away from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very safe, wonderfully quaint accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    The bed was very squeaky and the room was very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very squeaky and the room was very small.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room right on the street. Too noisy. Room small.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Brilliant. I would like to spend more time exploring that neighbourhood.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The B&B exceeded my expectations for the price and I especially liked the location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    The only deception was the batroom as there is no shower and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only deception was the batroom as there is no shower and only bath was possible. I claim and understood they are working on it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Great little hotel in the heart of the Waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 35 Dixon - Economy Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast didnt have scrambled eggs and bacon. Only processed cheese.

    Atmosphere. View. Facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.3
    Very good location, good value for money for Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Spacious Twin / King room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Street parking is suboptimal, but there was enough space, and there were car guards.

    Very good location, good value for money for Cape Town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Great short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Spacious Twin / King room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the street.

    Easy going staff, nice room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.8
    small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small room. no view from the room. not so clean and old equipment in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice and comfortable place to stay at
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Family double room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice and comfortable place to stay at

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    just a fairly good place to stay for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Yes

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Should I return to CapeTown I would return to the hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were very helpful. Hotel location was good, next to shopping mall and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    A view to die for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldve loved a hot brekkie

    Amazing Location and amazing views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    thanks for a really pleasant experince
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Economy Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly helpful staff, nice breakfast, convenient location. Thanks for a great stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    area very nice, common areas good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    was slightly cold, shorter than expected reception hours

    area very nice, common areas good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful and fun
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Economy Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi

    The bed and lounge was beautiful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Helpful friendly staff, great location, spacious comfortable...
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Spacious Twin / King room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful friendly staff, great location, spacious comfortable rooms!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Staff is friendly and accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is friendly and accessible

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Everything warm welcome, courteous staff ,good arrangement...
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything warm welcome, courteous staff ,good arrangement for airport shuttle and location was perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Excellent position to operate from
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 35 Dixon - Family double room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent position to operate from

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Economy Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no parking space

    property was conveniently located.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.2
    Quiet, clean and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Spacious Twin / King room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was large, clean and extremely comfortable. Very well located within Cape Town. I really enjoyed my stay here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    Comfy rooms, wonderful staff and amazing breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy rooms, wonderful staff and amazing breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 35 Dixon - Family double room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was "rickety." It is an old copper bed and the whole bed "shudder" if I turned around.

    Friendly manager

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.5
    Great location and very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a couple our age the spiral staircase to the room was not acceptable. Noisy people below us arguing.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.3
    Laid back facility, safe neighborhood
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Family double room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The old fridge was a bit smelly and did not cool properly.

    Simple but fair B&B - you don't need more to have a good time in Cape Town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    Good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay extra for a late checkin

    Good bed. Good price-value-relation.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    7.9
    A lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 35 Dixon - Family double room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircon. The room is very hot

    location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    The stairs-way to our flat were a challenge for eldery...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 35 Dixon - Economy Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs-way to our flat were a challenge for eldery people and the luggage

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    10
    Lovely place, helpful friendly staff, lovely dining room on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WiFi in the rooms

    Lovely place, helpful friendly staff, lovely dining room on the rooftop with great views of the city

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 35 Dixon - Spacious Twin / King room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff.rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.9
    you get just what you want
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked a shower instead of a bath

    Quiet and easygoing place

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Very good accommodation in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Twin / King size rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was fairly central, reasonably priced and in an interesting area of the city with bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    5.8
    Nothing really.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The late check in charge of R150. Poor breakfast. Unfriendly staff in breakfast room.

    Nothing really.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    6.3
    Youth hostel, not b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not cleaned the second day, bad shower, felt more like a youth hostel.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    Perfectly situated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly situated. Super accommodating staff. Comfortable accommodation

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.3
    Great room and breakfast!
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit sloped location.

    Good breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.6
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge is well located and there were no issues when booking, paying or requiring a late check-in service. It was a grear start at Cape Town.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Location, breakfast and people very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 35 Dixon - Standard double rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many stairways without lift

    Location, breakfast and people very helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in Cape Town
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The old world feel and location

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: