Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Waterkant Village Apartments 3 stars

137 Waterkant Street, De Waterkant, 8000 Cape Town, South Africa

#178 of 387 Holiday rentals in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 61 apartment reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Loved it as usual. Will be back.
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet uses a great amount of water. Hats off for the bucket in the shower -and not getting guests to bathe -but the toilets need looking at in terms of consumption.

    We are returning guests. Maybe one of the best places to stay in Town, with family. We will most certainly be back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No washing machine in the kitchen. Decor needs refreshing. Light bulbs broken in various places.

    We stayed in an old quirky house. Amazing roof terrace with clear view of Table Mountain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.0
    It's was very bad service not happy at all
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladie at the reception was not friendly at all she took us to the property when we got there she had the wrong keys we had to wait outside wait for her go back to the office for the key,😡Was not happy it was very cold at night and we were with the kids,

    Going out with my family Cape Town is very butterfly liked the place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Good value place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we check in at second floor, we found electricity was gone all the sudden. Staff tried to fix it without success, so we moved at ground floor. Then I found the hot water did not come out. Although it was fixed next day, how difficult we could not take shower at night and next morning after long day trip. I think that it will not happening every day.

    All facilities in apartment was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice location but very very noisy all night
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the guard all night and loud, and after the tourist left the nearby restaurant at 2h00 am It is probably very nice to have those guards outside there but too noisy staff Also for that price they could put some tea and coffee facility I think

    Easy access from the street. The full DSTv

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    3.8
    Avoid this PROPERTY, I warned you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The facility was under maintenance with the noise from drilling concrete starting as early as 7 to 8 in the morning. It was so noisy to the extant that I can't hear my kids voice unless they shout while they are with me in the same bed. The alarm goes on every now and then and I have to put the circuit breaker off to stop the noise. The maintenance person comes after a while and confirms that every thing is okay but after he leaves it goes on again. The power in the kitchen area keeps going off and after the calling the reception twice I learned how to put the circuit breaker on just to save my time and effort. One of the hotel owners came when i complained about the noise and instead of apologizing about the inconvenience they made she was telling me that I have no other option and the work will continue. At this point, I told her, I will stop them regardless what it take. That was so rude and inhuman. They have my money paid in total up front and they want me to live in this noise. By the way, during the drilling they break the water pipe coming to my apartment and instead of fixing it they just closed the valve. Imagine with 3 kids (2-6 years) they stayed in a house without water. They couldn't brush wash in the morning or brush their teeth, they couldn't use the toilet. They walked up very early because of the noise and stayed like that until after mid-day when they managed to reconnect the water pipe.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.3
    Location is awesome and units are charming and interesting,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the units definitely need airconditioning at the rate for the rooms and better quality window coverings especially as its a very busy village high density set up. Wider range of satellite channels would be nice and wifi charges are outrageous

    Location is awesome and units are charming and interesting, staff are extremely helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    6.7
    Location close to the pink area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main bedroom needs a proper king size bed and not two twin beds. Also more towels would be amazing in both bathrooms. The fact that the Jacuzzi didn't get warm at all was very unpleasant.

    Location close to the pink area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    6.3
    good location but only return if better apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the first impression made it look dirty. Struggled up lots of steps with cases etc, but then told half way through our stay there was another entrance with very few steps. It was no well serviced.

    The location was good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    5.8
    not worth it if you drive a big car - no parking
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom and kitchen appears to be neglected. The car parking is shamble i.e. there are no parking, street is conjested and small - driving SUV post a risk of accident. I had a trailer, it even make it worse to navigate to the house. I suggest booking.com to mention clearly about the sort of parking the hotel / accommodation have to help the traveler in making the correct choice - disappointing indeed

    the bed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Wow!!!!! Love it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked some sugar, milk and coffee in the kitchen and possibly some body wash in the bathrooms.......but not a deal breaker at all.

    Wow. The apartment was absolutely amazing. I had a most enjoyable and relaxing time. I will certainly book again........very soon:-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    2.9
    Dirty and nousy De Waterkant apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was not up to standard. Felt dirty. It was soooo noisy we could not sleep. Then moved to another room. Room was not cleaned / made up. Then again moved to another room. Too noisy on the steet especially between 2 and 5 am. Security guards were screaming at each other. Had to constantly ask for wash kit and coffee kit. Receptionist unfriendly.

    The onky thing we liked was the location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.5
    comfy bed, great location, perfect staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    facilities are old and need updating. heat is not very functioning and it was cold. internet was sketchy at best.

    comfy bed, great location, perfect staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly check-in agent Helpful and very polite to assist

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    room cleaning service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    room cleaning service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    It was nice, love the place, located in a great part of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service or no room service. Available on the first day and not available on the second day.

    Nice apartment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Street parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street parking. Very limited.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi. Fridge door hard to open

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    tv could use an upgrade

    the lady at receiption was very welcoming. the price was great for what we got.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.3
    beds were comfortable, nice bedlinen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We think the property needs an overall make-over. The interior is outdated

    beds were comfortable, nice bedlinen. Place was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Very happy with stay at De waterkant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is an issue

    Central location Lovely apartment with awesome upgrade Value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi

    Friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    It was the perfect place for a sleep over in Cape Town. Central but quiet. Near good restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pity there was no key for the patio

    I loved the location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.0
    3 star accommodation at 4 star pricing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older property in need of upgrades.3

    Great location and accommodation size

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.8
    The roof terrace and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries in a packet

    The roof terrace and pool

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    excellent and will return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all!

    Bed and bedding and everything else excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The appartment and the I must say the beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept on.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    6.3
    Change of towels every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Change of towels every day. See that every bed had the right linen on. Sweeping out the flat every day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    8.8
    I loved the location of the apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed in 4b the last time and prefer an upstairs apartment and would like to stay in 4b upon my return.

    I loved the location of the apartment. In the hub of everything but still private.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    8.8
    It was fantastic to have a 3 bedroom apartment at Waterfront...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    check-in time is so late, I d prefer morning check-in

    It was fantastic to have a 3 bedroom apartment at Waterfront and stay all together with such a comfort. Location was excellent, near to V&A Waterfront We found everything we need during our stay at th apartement.I really appreciate the accessories and the paintings on the wall that made us feel at home

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    4.2
    Close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not private at all. Basin no plug. No towels. Bedding from previous people. Toilet paper only half full. Stove did not work 100% aswell microwave. Back yard shared with 5 other units.

    Close to everything

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    6.3
    The cottage was no privacy at all 161 is shared with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The cottage was no privacy at all 161 is shared with the outside seating of tha Cafe. U can't sit with door open or windows as everyone can see in. U listening to there talking loud and smoking. Basin had no plug. No ion board to ion on. And no big towels to dry off. Arm chair leg is off so u need not to move around a lot. Duvet in room was used before and only got turned around from previous guest. After all I'm not happy at all and ask to move to another cottage. Well say no more. Toilet did not work 100%. Stuff under the couch from previous guests. Makes me think do there clean at all and where are management checking these cottages Will not return soon.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.5
    The convenience of the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The house keeping was not of the same standard as our previous stay. The TV in the room didn't work and had to be fixed, the bathroom light stopped working and had to be fixed.

    The convenience of the location

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    5.0
    DeWaterkant is a perfect and stylish area close to shopping,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The responsible manger of the facility was not providing much and when the wrong information. We had the feeling he didn't like the job and had not idea with the location and apartment at all. More like get it over and done so I can go back and chat with my friends. He dropped about 15 packages of small bags on the counter and was leaving. We found than out this are the daily portions of shower gel and coffee. I had been staying with a different company several times in houses to rent with great experience. This provider however I can't recommend.

    DeWaterkant is a perfect and stylish area close to shopping, city bowl and everything else.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    7.5
    you will feel part of the community, smack in the middle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i rather would have one large room then seperate living, kitchen, bath and kitchen. spaces are cramped

    you will feel part of the community, smack in the middle of everything, surrounded by locals and tourists. your own home away from home

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.9
    The layout of the house was great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Parking is not available and you have to drive around to find parking. When we first arrived there was no indication of where the reception was located. Even the confirmation email did not have this information.

    The layout of the house was great. A very good option for a couple. Location was great. We had a great stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    10
    Absolutely incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Absolutely incredible! So enjoyed our stay!

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.5
    The flamboyant and quirky way the accommodation was decorated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The check in procedure as it was some distance from the apartment I stayed in.

    The flamboyant and quirky way the accommodation was decorated

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    10
    The environment and the luxurious place we stayed in, best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None so far

    The environment and the luxurious place we stayed in, best!

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    9.2
    Location relative to convenient places.
    • Family with older children

    Nothing other than flexibility on the rates.

    Location relative to convenient places. Design Layout of the apartment &finishes.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    9.2
    Location and atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Pricey No internet access which is a problem on business trips

    Location and atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    9.6
    Excellent design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Need air conditioned.

    Excellent design.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    6.7
    The property is quite run down and needs some money spending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property is quite run down and needs some money spending.... looking quite shabby.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.2
    location, staff and design of the upstairs living area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    location, staff and design of the upstairs living area.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    10
    Excellent location, fully equipped large apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent location, fully equipped large apartment. staff very good.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    7.5
    We arrived to a small three bed house and it had everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very difficult to find parking.

    We arrived to a small three bed house and it had everything we needed.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    7.1
    The house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Difficult for disabled person

    The house

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: