Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dersley Manor 5 stars

10 Dersley Street, Bayswater, 9300 Bloemfontein, South Africa

#8 of 22 hotels in Bloemfontein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 56 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Great B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from the main business district.

    Spacious room fast internet service, and friendly staff. Comfortable bed and the linen on the bed was also very comfortable. Nice and quiet had a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    The staff were amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were amazing. Johannes greeted me as I arrived and made sure I was comfortable the rest of the stay. He even arranged a massage for me. Prudence was on breakfast duty and checked the aircon, early in the morning. Dinner was beyond delicious. Terry, the chef, is worth the 5 stars. I will definitely be staying over again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and tea and coffee facilities in room not nearly on par with 5 star..and this is not a 5 star hotel..its a 3 star guesthouse with a few extra gimicks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    A very comfortable one night stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A licenced bar, we had to go to a local liquor shop to buy wine for dinner!

    The staff ,and accommodation were excellent . If you would like to experience a quirky break this is the place . The decor is amazing although not sure it rates 5 star without a licenced bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Did not live up to the 5* promise at all....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge was leaking into the carpet because it has not been defrosted and the freezer compartment was overflowing. The curtains need to be ironed and hung properly. They looked tired and dated No welcome drinks as promised in the booking confirmation Limited availability from the establishment’s menu The bottom edge of the glass shield in the shower has soap scum build-up

    Very gracious staff The bed was very comfortable The linen was a comfortable cotton The room is quite spacious The carpet was soft

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Friendly, comfortable and relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reastaurant didnt have some of the food on the menu available.

    Beautiful decor, friendly staff, delicious breakfast. Comfort and special treatment of guests are clearly priotity.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    Not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was over the top. The security was not informed that there were three people in our family and questioned who my daughter was. The rooms were not sound proof and we were woken up at night by the noise of other guests.

    The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    It was alright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of one large bed and bedding. There were two beds put together and a bunch of bedding separating my partner and I. And the food was not great (not at all for R150). Too much sugar on the pumpkin, and nothing exciting on the plate.

    The politeness of the person at our service, and the availability of tea and coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    Classy place but very reasonable 👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a minor issue with the shower in our room but was offered an alternative room to use to bath.

    The excquite look of the properly cleaned rooms aircon was kept on to cool our room as Bloem was hot. Morning swim with my kids and attention to detail by the manager. I guess his bosses know his worth to their business as he manages like the business is his and always willing to go an extra mile to see to the comfort of the guests.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    5.4
    Not worth R1480.00. Definitely not 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark, there was no telephone in room for emergencies. The DSTV was not working, received no apology for this inconvenience. Minimal amenities - no shower cap in the bathroom Breakfast is served until 9h00, of which I think it's too early.

    The staff was great. Pleasant to engage with.Very welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.8
    The size of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they don't have a bar

    The size of the room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I absolutely love everything about the place. It is beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Felt like a king
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    location excellant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms were very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your manger Terry was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great location with beautiful gardens, staff friendly with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location with beautiful gardens, staff friendly with great service. Enjoyed the breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Attentiveness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in the suite - shower within bath tub. I would have preferred a separate bath and shower.

    Attentiveness of staff Owner responsiveness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    I fell in love with the place and i will definitely go back.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot breakfast wasn't a wow taste and presentation.

    The bed was extra comfy indeed, the linen were spotless clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Staff interactions welcoming friendly efficient and friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff interactions welcoming friendly efficient and friendly - great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.3
    Bloem only if you must
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tacky...'deluxe room's not great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    It was enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No full English breakfast

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Best service in Bloemfontein
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful Stay, with great service. Cant wait to go back and would highly recommend Dersley Manor to anyone traveling to Bloemfontein.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    Yes and no.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't serve alcohol. And I ordered my steak medium rare and it came out gray.

    Comfy room. Great location and free parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Price was more than quoted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left early

    Did not have breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    nice for a treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i felt the breakfast should have been included

    boutique feeling

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Excellend service thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellend service thank you

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Donald is the man
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Donald is the right guy for the Job, he deserves a medal for hospitality and professionalism.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Spacious rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could improve the decor of the common entertainment area.

    Spacious rooms. Comfortable, clean & lovely decor

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music abit too loud at reception

    All good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.1
    Definitely something special
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor a little bit old style.

    Good breakfast and a lot of extra's

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Excellent with very friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy bef

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.6
    Excellent stay at value for money rates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent decor in rooms!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    7.5
    The rooms were beautiful and unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    For the amount paid we did not get a lot. We did not have enough towels in the bathroom and we found it difficult to get in and out of the guest house because of old locks and dead batteries in the remote controls.

    The rooms were beautiful and unique. The staff had good grace and humour.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    7.5
    The food was excellent and the service good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our relatives did not like their room as the bathroom was separated from the bedroom only by a curtain - no privacy. The outbuildings and garden/pool were a bit shoddy although we appreciated there was a shortage of water.

    The food was excellent and the service good. Our room/bathroom was good and bed comfortable. We were pleased with the secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.1
    the room had no window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the room had no window. the shower was either too hot or cold. breakfast ending at 9am was too early and the price charged was not worth it. our son had a better room with wine glasses and we as a couple had none.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful finishes extravagant themed room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An Iron close by would've been appreciated as well as access to laundry facilities for those staying longer than one day.

    Beautiful finishes extravagant themed room. great room service lovely breakfast friendly staff. Very comfy bed. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    Every thing, nice staff reasonable pricing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    limited dinner menu, limited wine list, but the wines and beer were very reasonably priced. Road noise became quite heavy from 4-to5 am but thats beyond staff's control

    Every thing, nice staff reasonable pricing

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.2
    Friendly helpful staff made our stay very enjoyable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is 10/10, but the dinner was not pleasant.

    Friendly helpful staff made our stay very enjoyable. Room was very clean, not a speck of dust. Bedding fresh and comfortable. Well appointed. Enough parking inside property.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    6.3
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The ceiling in the shower was damaged and there was dust and cement pieces in the shower. The shower head was also broken. I aslo did not like the fact the every quest has to share the same bottle shampoo and soap.

    The bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff, beautiful room, delicious breakfast in a...
    • Couple

    The bedding felt like it was pinning my feet down and the duvet didn't come up high enough. The bed is too big and I had to chase hubby around. Sorry, but I am being very honest. I am sure not everyone feels this way!!!!!!! Smaak verskil.........We were promised a 'take away breakfast' seeing that we left at 5 in the morning, and we were looking forward to it, but never received it.

    Friendly staff, beautiful room, delicious breakfast in a comfortable, beautifully decorated room. To be able to come and go as we please.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.6
    I enjoyed the friendly staff at breakfast, the music and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I asked for dinner, and received garlic snails and pork. I do not eat one of the two, but had no choice given. I was not offered anything to drink during my dinner. Not even tap water. I did not enjoy the dining experience.

    I enjoyed the friendly staff at breakfast, the music and the attention to detail.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    4.6
    Comfortable bed
    • Solo traveller

    Provided left over food (cold and disgusting) and charged r220 for it after I had called the owner/manager to ask if there was food available? Horribly smelly shower. No milk in the room. Struggled to get out of the B&B to leave early the next day. Not at all impressed for the price I had to pay to stay there.

    Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    10
    The room the place itself the atmosphere it felt so homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They charged me for a visitor who didn't sleep over R300, never heard of such in my life.

    The room the place itself the atmosphere it felt so homely

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable parking, room nice, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room happened to be close to reception so in the evening we kept hearing the music piped in the dining room area and reception & people talking, walking behind our door etc

    Comfortable parking, room nice, clean. Plenty of soft towels. Xander was super helpful & friendly. Breakfast is quite lavish.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.5
    Location, staff very helpful, good value, general...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice to have a beer when we arrived (no licence?), no light in toilet, AC condensation dripping (did bring this to the attention of management)

    Location, staff very helpful, good value, general cleanliness excellent.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    5.0
    Rooms are rather shabby, photos do NOT paint an accurate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are rather shabby, photos do NOT paint an accurate picture

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    10
    The room was awesome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was awesome. Hospitality was very impressive.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.3
    Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hospitality

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    6.7
    They are not 5 star I know what the criteria is to qaulify...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    They are not 5 star I know what the criteria is to qaulify for 5 star so the advertising is misleading.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    9.6
    We had an excellent stay at Dersley Manor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We had an excellent stay at Dersley Manor. Our room was amazing and the staff were exceptional. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    7.0
    room was comfortable and stylish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the dinner menu had no choices. the food was below average

    room was comfortable and stylish

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    9.2
    Central location, quiet, big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Central location, quiet, big room.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    9.6
    Excellent service all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent service all around. Friendly and professional staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    6.3
    The property and overall experience was definitely not of a...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The property and overall experience was definitely not of a 5 star facility. Closer to a high 3 to 4 star.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    Staff very friendly and attentive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff very friendly and attentive. Room was lovely and clean. Breakfast excellent.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.9
    The rooms we very nice and the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimming pool was dirty and the weather was perfect for swimming.

    The rooms we very nice and the food

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    This place was heaven on earth highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This place was heaven on earth highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    Lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not quite as grand a building as I expected,but the room was great.

    Lovely room.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    We loved our room, the hospitality was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    We loved our room, the hospitality was great. It was cold and our room and bed were warmed up. The sherry in the room made us inside warm.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    4.6
    I enjoyed their breakfast
    • Group

    The fact that the reception towards their guest was not equal. Others were treated as if they are more special than others

    I enjoyed their breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    5.4
    Friendliness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the quality of room

    Friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.3
    No Bar available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Bar available No smoking rooms

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    4.6
    Staff not quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff not quiet.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    Wonderful and very hospitable staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful and very hospitable staff. Extremely comfortable bed and pillows

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    7.5
    Friendly, helpful staff, pleasant ambience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Did not feel secure

    Friendly, helpful staff, pleasant ambience

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    9.2
    Flexibility of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Flexibility of staff

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    10
    The themed rooms, the owners, the overwhelming friendliness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The themed rooms, the owners, the overwhelming friendliness of all staff

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    8.3
    The setting and relaxed atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from room next door - I suspect my room was next to staff quarters

    The setting and relaxed atmosphere. Staff are attentive.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: