Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Agterplaas Guesthouse 3 stars

66 Sixth Avenue, Melville, 2092 Johannesburg, South Africa

#12 of 184 B&Bs and Inns in Johannesburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 72 B&B reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here with a small group of university students and it was perfect. The chef made a braai for us and it was excellent! The homemade butter was amazing! A big thanks to Lut for organizing that and our airport pick-up. It was my second time staying there and I'm sure I'll be back!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent B&B - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Breakfast with home-made bread. Possibility to have breakfast from 6 am on. Melville is a great neighbourhood in Jobourg. We really enjoyed staying there. Many restaurants/bars in a walking distance. Great Staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Comfy, fun and well-fed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hosts were wonderful, kind people who were always there if we needed them. The house and room were beautiful, with more amenities than we could possibly need. The area had lively and fun bars within a 5 minute walk, but also felt very safe and easy to manoeuvre. We would not hesitate to come back; days later we are still talking about how great it was - especially the ridiculously comfy bed and tasty breakfast! Thank you for a great weekend :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Lovely and freindly B&B, super breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really.

    All the staff was super! The cook, the owners, the cleaning staff, everyone was super friendly. The rooms are super clean, the house is beautiful and the breakfast is delicious, with in-house baked bread and cookies.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Perfect choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was so wonderful I was sorry I couldn't stay for a few more days. The staff is so kind, room is beautiful and breakfast is unbelievably good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.8
    The People Working there were really helpful and gentle (e.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The People Working there were really helpful and gentle (e.g. as the rain starts after we stepped out of the car, someone immediately brought us an umbrella)! The fittings are probably a little old, but everything was perfectly clean. Lovely Place to start a tour around the country for us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    10
    Fresh Home Baked Bread Every Morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. The location is quiet, peaceful and safe. Close to shops and restaurants. From the local shops, about 1km away, you can get tuk tuk or taxi. The staff are great, every one of them. A great sleep and a cooked full breakfast gives you a great start to the day.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.8
    So deliciously not-city I expected brackish water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft beds, and huge screen over bed needed to be covered up. Also a shelf over the basin means the taller one kept bumping her head while brushing teeth.

    Fabulous view and setting, felt like being out of the city. Loved the breakfast kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Perfect stay in the big city of Jo"burg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our plane arrived early in the day, and Die Agterplaas was able to get us in our room before check in time... thanks!!! The breakfast was delicious with freshly baked bread. And the location couldn't have been better for walking to nice restaurants for dinner and around the neighborhood. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Location within Melville.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very special!!

    Location within Melville. Close to many restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money. Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Brilliant breakfast, very friendly staff and helpful owners. Cute features and amazing gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Quaint B&B with excellent breakfast and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sofa bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super friendly staff. Amazing breakfast. Quiet area with restaurants and bars walking distance. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location to stay at for a city trip to Jo´burg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was not that nice, only semi warm water available.

    Great breakfast, super friendly and helpful owners, spacious rooms, beautyful garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    It was a wonderful experience
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scenery was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Great place in Melville, perfect with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff, the breakfast, the cozy vibe!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Great ambiance, wonderful breakfast, helpful and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lightning in bathroom was a tat weak.

    Great ambiance, wonderful breakfast, helpful and friendly staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Lovely, relaxing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was great! Thank you for everything!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Melville Farm Stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The legendary breakfasts are just that with added sides of smiles and the view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Uitstekend
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every thing was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    Heavily recommended, a blissful place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wonderful place, great breakfast, charming rooms, friendly and helpful staff. My room had a view of the Melville Kopis to boot.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.6
    Helpful and welcoming hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well located but we didn't like the area.

    Great breakfasts. Huge room overlooking the garden, with a terrace.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Home away from home!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fresh homemade bread each morning is divine! This visit we tried the evening meals and were pleasantly surprised! Thanks for going the extra mile!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.6
    Very conveniently located by the restaurants of Melville,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very conveniently located by the restaurants of Melville, Die Agterplas offers an excellent breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, and great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    I enjoyed everything about Die Agterplaas B&B;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I enjoyed everything about Die Agterplaas B&B; the experience couldn't have been better! What a discovery! The staff were fantastic, anticipating my every need almost before I knew I needed it. And even more importantly, very, very, very nice people. The B&B is located in a quiet, safe area close to the Jozi CBD, but without all of the problems of that area. The CBD is 10-15 minutes away, pretty much regardless of traffic time of day, via the M1 (and M2, for the east side of Jozi). And Die Agterplaas has its own private back exit via a secured and well lit private pedestrian lane to the cafés and restaurants of Melville's hub, 7th St. A walk of about 30 metres. I can particularly recommend Lucky Bean, Ant Café and Nuno's Portuguese Restaurant. Both Ant Café and Nuno's stay open late - 11pm and midnight respectively, with kitchen closing an hour or so earlier. For me, this was important. To make Die Agterplass even better, it is owned and run santie and jannie du toit. Jannie is a well known and popular Afrikaans singer and musician who regularly entertains, not only in Africa but also in Europe. Despite the busy part of his life as an entertainer, jannie still brings a very personal touch to Die Agterplaas, interacting with guests day to day with genuine care and humility. And santie and jannie seem to often have other leading lights in the Joburg music scene over for breakfast, contributing to a great atmosphere. As a frequent visitor to Johannesburg, I am elated at having found this place!

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    10
    A lovely classic B&B with a great atmosphere and very...
    • Solo traveller

    A lovely classic B&B with a great atmosphere and very jammie breakfast:) Nice options to read a book under the South African sun in the hart of a big city. The perfect location to discover Melville.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    10
    Great price, location.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Great price, location. You can walk to good restaurants, excellent crafts on the street, a good local bookstore. I always felt safe. The staff was super friendly, the breakfasts were the best ever; Marc makes great bread in perhaps the best fresh bread city I have ever been to. Jannie and his old pals know the Afrikaans folk songs I grew up singing thanks to Josef Marais and his Bushveld Band., Die Agterplaas is the best place I've staid in in Joburg, and I stayed at the Sunflowers B & B near the airport.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    8.8
    Very homely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The quality of the croissants

    Very homely

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Santie was friendly and helpful with recommendations of things to do. The variety and quality at breakfast was very good. High value overall.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    9.6
    Great guesthouse with lovely staff and great, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great guesthouse with lovely staff and great, spacious room. Awesome breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    10
    Very welcoming hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming hosts. Relaxing atmosphere. Fantastic breakfast. Looking forward to stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    10
    Location, security, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, security, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms chilly at night. No heater. Heating plates were ineffective.

    Breakfast was great. Nice staff. Good location. Affordable.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Friendly staf, good room, awesom breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Friendly staf, good room, awesom breakfast !!!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    Loved everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Loved everything

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    6.3
    The bed and the breakfast
    • Solo traveller

    Toilet smelt

    The bed and the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Room curtains need attention and the shower is very small the tiles must be kept clean

    Breakfast was very good. Lovely staff

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: