Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dongola House 4 stars

30 Airlie Place, 7806 Constantia, South Africa

#1 of 18 B&Bs and Inns in Constantia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 109 hotel reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.8

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were extremely comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Sally and company were so hospitable and very accommodating. I really enjoyed getting ready for my wedding and my stay at Dongola!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Nicest place in South Africa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night was not enough in this gorgeous place.

    Gracious hosts let us leave our valuables before check in while we went hiking. Super well decorated and attention to detail. Probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Super location and setting.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Excellent attention to detail including a turn down service...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent attention to detail including a turn down service at night and grilled pineapple and roasted figs for breakfast. Spaces rooms and shower, fantastic staff with top notch personalised recommendations. I can only say good things!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    A very short but enjoyable stay. Would definatly go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was one of the best Guesthouses I have stayed at, I could not fault anything. The breakfast was superb and the staff went out of their way to make our visit special.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Our stay was perfect from start to finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I absolutely loved every moment of our stay. Our champagne at arrival (it was the night before my wedding) to the delicious breakfast just made the stay absolutely phenomenal. Cannot wait to visit again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    lovely stay at Dongola - we will be back !!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff and owners very friendly and helpful. the accommodation was really clean and super comfortable. the breakfast was superbly presented and a lovely breakfast menu available for guests. well done Sally and staff - keep it up !! we will be back !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Back again for another stay with Sally. Such a view with comfortable spacious room. Who can complain. Great breakfast. Thanks to Natalie and staff. Really doing their bit to save water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Firstly Sally and Mike have invested a lot of time and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect....

    Firstly Sally and Mike have invested a lot of time and expense in conserving water and as a result we did not experience any inconvenience or discomfort in this area. I would like to dispel any doubts and if you have the inclination you must visit this beautiful area and benefit from the comfort and hospitality that these hosts provide. We couldn’t fault anything about our stay. The house it’s grounds and it’s position is breathtaking. Lovely professional discreet staff that kept all areas pristine. The rooms were very well appointed and provided us with teas coffe and milk which were replenished each day.. The beds were extremely comfortable and dressed with quality linen. Breakfasts were the best we have experienced anywhere and we are lucky enough to have travelled widely. Variety combined with quality produce made our morning meal something to look forward to. Sally and Mike live on the premises and help and support was always on hand, nothing was too much trouble.... They provided a wide range of advise to include, places to visit, car hire, restaurants and local shopping. A huge bonus when you are in unfamiliar territory. Constantia has the advantage of being within easy reach of both the beauty of the Winelands, Cape Point and all the attractions of Cape Town. If you visit this wonderful Cape, Dongola House is a must. Many thank to Sally Mike and the team.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing stay and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge is in a very good location in Constantia within easy walking distance of Groot Constantia and Klein Constantia wine estates. Breakfast was delicious and caters to all tastes. Mike saved the day when our wine tour fell through and we ended up walking to both Groot and Klein Constantia for wine tastings and tours. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    We look forward to a return visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The owners have done everything possible to make ones stay perfect.

    The owners and their staff were well organised, cheerful and totally committed to maximising customer satisfaction. The property was very well appointed, in an excellent location for visiting all areas of Cape Town and the Winelands, relatively safe, with an interesting and beautiful aspect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    We really had a great time ,the surrounding areas to visit were within easy access by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a minor thing the shower room was slightly small in size

    Nothing to dislike ,everyone made a very enjoyable stay . Great breakfasts beautifully served. Swimming pool and garden ,very relaxing for guest to enjoy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Brilliant location, friendly staff, great breakfasts and value fro money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfasts in a quite but convenient location only 15 minutes from the city centre. Staff are always friendly and more than happy to assist. Far cheaper than a hotel with the same benefits.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    I would highly recommend a visit here - I think we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our hosts were very friendly and generous with their time, recommending ( and booking) local restaurants and suggesting places to visit. The accommodation was excellent, as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Best Accomodation on our trip this year in South Africa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice location in the wineland area of Cape Town. Warmy welcome and best services especially from the owner Sally and Mike. Many thxs. as well to Natalie for her good services. We can recommend this house without any questions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Perfect accomodation in every way, location, hosts and yummy breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room with kitchenette.Private terrace with beautiful views.The grounds pretty and well kept.Very friendly hosts and lovely helpful staff.Breakfast impressive with good choice well presented.Overall perfect would readily return.In a good area that was safe and ideally placed to get into Cape Town and 20 minutes from airport.Shopping centre nearby and eating establishments.Everthing we needed for the start of our trip to South Africa sadly had only 4 nights there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Shame we only stayed for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of anything negative!

    Mike and Sally were so welcoming and helpful - before we'd even arrived they'd asked if we needed any ideas/booking for restaurant and kindly set that in motion for us. At breakfast they realised that it was one of our sons birthday so they rushed off and presented him with a muffin and lit candle! Just lovely. Talking of breakfast - outstanding! The selection on offer was mouth watering and the options of the cooked breakfast were numerous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    Stunning B&B and great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Located in Constantia which was a 20-min drive away from Cape Town Central, but we drove everywhere and it meant things like Cape of Good Hope and Hout Bay were relatively near.

    What a beautiful guesthouse! We had the Peppermint room, which was a free upgrade from our original booking as we were honeymooners, and it was beautifully located on the lawn which gave us a stunning view of the mountains. Room was spacious and very comfy. Breakfast spread was wide and very delicious, we had some of the best breakfasts here. Mike, Sally and Natalie were excellent at accommodating us, and gave suggestions of things to do and what to look out for.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Location..... Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish we could have had a larger room but understand this property gets very booked up, but the good thing was the room had plenty of storage.

    The property was run in a very professional way, the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was delicious and an excellent choice. It had secure parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    An Exceptional Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything. All extremely helpful and friendly, fantastic breakfasts (the best in Cape Town), thoughtfulness of owners and nothing is too much trouble. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. Everything is of exceptional quality, even had flowers in the bedroom. Wonderful views, all very relaxing and will definitely go back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    Beautiful home from home within walking of wine farm for great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Being given a tray of tea on arrival. The garden. Location felt safe.being able to walk to the wine farm to eat. The shower, bathroom and kitchen. In fact everything.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Wonderful setting with great views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful setting with great views! The location is ideal for people who want to be close to both the city and the vineyards and still have the relaxing environment (without the buzz and rush of the big city). Breakfast is superb!! Owners very kind and helpful! Our stay was perfect!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    10
    Excellent place in Constantia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Our stay at Dongola House was perfect! Mike and Sally are great hosts who put a lot of effort into making it a really pleasant stay. The breakfast is superb! The guest house is located in a nice neighbourhood, we enjoyed walking with the 2 dogs they have! Very good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Perfect holiday retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The level of service went above and beyond! A simple example we ordered a take away the first night as we were tired after traveling and when it arrived they provided plates, cutlery etc. The owners were always about to assist and give suggestions or advice. the room was superb.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    I was very impressed with every aspect of the accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owners and manager extremely friendly and helpful. Absolutely exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Comfortable and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast, stunning and scenic location, a warm welcome and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Friendly and helpful hosts,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.8
    Managers lovely and kindly gave us a voucher for near by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Managers lovely and kindly gave us a voucher for near by wine lasting. Owner wife was very sweet. Owner husband ready for retirement!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Great Stay would highly recommend DONGOLA HOUSE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was Fantastic.Setting is beautiful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Superb place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpful and accommodating hosts especially given our travel delays.Lots of birds around gardens.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable stay, unfortunately too short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    The location was excellent, quiet suburb, great hosts, fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    i actually didnt eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    i actually didnt eat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Excellent in every way
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was too much trouble for the management

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Amazing breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Amazing breakfasts

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    B&B in Constantia
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great and generous breakfast, quiet neighborhood, shopping center and restaurants within 5-10 minutes driving distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Favorite place during 3 weeks in south Africa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the view of the garden and mountains from Room 3 (Rosemary)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Bed was comfortable and room warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable and room warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Simply fabulous stay at Dongola House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Simply fabulous stay at Dongola House.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful peaceful garden filled with bird life and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful peaceful garden filled with bird life and wonderful view of mountains. Incredible breakfast menu. Comfortable spacious accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    I would give it a 11/10 if possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most likely the best Bed and Brrakfast in South Africa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    The staff, especially Natalie, were gracious and caring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff, especially Natalie, were gracious and caring. Well finished room and house. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Bed, and bedding comfy just like home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed, and bedding comfy just like home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Worth every cent, will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfasts are excellent. Worth the stay just for them. Rooms are more than comfortable and nice and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    10
    Amazing views and very green
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing views and very green

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing absolutely perfect

    Care and attention to a couple of medical issues which could have effected our holiday. Overall everything Was perfect

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.5
    The perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Sally and Mike where excellent hosts, and the breakfast was perfect. Good location for surrounding sights and acces to down town Cape Town

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great, and the hosts were helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    10
    Best B&B in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guest printer low on colour ink

    Exceptionally attentive owners, nothing too much trouble. Great location and fantastic breakfast!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    GREAT STAY, COMFORTABLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great facilities and breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Falling into pool with my phone

    All good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    attentive staff, beautiful property within nice surroundings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    attentive staff, beautiful property within nice surroundings, spotless and well maintained rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    Another wonderful stay at Dongola.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Another wonderful stay at Dongola. Fantastic hospitality from Mike and Sally, who couldn't do enough for us and of course, the wonderful Natalie, thank you so much again for your kindness. The best breakfast in South Africa. We will be back soon!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.6
    Where to start;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Where to start; huge room with mini patio. Really comfortable bed (which is a must!), superb breakfast; needed a week to sample everything on offer and very happy staff. The owners, Mike & Sally are truly delightful. Greeted with a welcome drink. Lovely!! Loads of maps available and lists of things to do. Dongola House is situated in the perfect place. Easy to get into the heart of the city and then you come home to peace. Heavenly!!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    9.6
    Mike, Sally and Natalie fantastic hosts and extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mike, Sally and Natalie fantastic hosts and extremely helpful. Delicious breakfasts and all wonderful. Spotlessly clean with all amenities, would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    9.6
    Had absolutely everything you would need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have preferred more space in the room. Would stay again for sure but would book larger room. Absolutely fine for a short stopover.

    Had absolutely everything you would need. Extremely well maintained. Lovely and quiet. Very nice in the back with pool and garden. Very good value for money. Great location for accessing Cape Town and surrounding area

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    10
    Location was brilliant for Cape Town and Cape Point and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was brilliant for Cape Town and Cape Point and the wine farms. Hosts were very welcoming and very helpful with advice on eating and trips. Room was very comfortable and very large - bedroom, large bathroom, dining room, kitchenette and small outside area. Breakfast choice was great - cold and hot offered and well cooked.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    10
    The overall facilities provided by the property and its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The overall facilities provided by the property and its owners were totally in keeping if not exceeding the description that we had reviewed from the internet.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    10
    Very friendly and helpful owners and staff, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hmmm, nothing to say !!!

    Very friendly and helpful owners and staff, beautiful setting, rich breakfast, great location. Quiet. We had a perfect stay ! Thanks again !!!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.6
    The owner, Ms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There were unfavorable bugs inside the room.

    The owner, Ms. Sally is very friendly and kind. The garden view was beautiful and made us relaxed very much. The breakfast was delicious and our family enjoyed staying there a lot in spite of just one-night-stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.6
    Stunning B&B with lovely view of the Table Mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences!

    Stunning B&B with lovely view of the Table Mountains. Staff is exceptionally nice and will go out of their way to assist you in anything you need assistance with (restaurant bookings, trip bookings, recommendations of trips, tours etc.). I can highly recommend this place and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    Big comfortable room with nice private patio and views of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big comfortable room with nice private patio and views of the mountains. Excellent care from Sally and Mike and lovely breakfast. The guest-house is situated overlooking a small wetlands which is full of interesting birds. Excellent vineyards and walks five minutes away. We would definitely visit again.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.6
    The owners could not have been more attentive and helpful...
    • Couple

    The owners could not have been more attentive and helpful and made every effort to ensure that our stay was comfortable and our needs were met. We enjoyed the garden and the birds and the relaxed ambience at breakfast time, Sally, Mike, Natalie and Inga were brilliant. In spite of what we were told (rather slow!) the wifi was more than adequate.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Everyone was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We felt there could be more TV / DSTV channels made available.

    Everyone was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. The service was excellent definitely a revisit and recommend.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Sally and Mike are special people who not only cater to your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Sally and Mike are special people who not only cater to your every need but make you feel at home. They are complimented by well trained, friendly staff. I hated to leave.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    I liked that Natalie knew every bodies name and welcomed you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was no bad experience. The dogs were great and I enjoyed taking them for a walk.

    I liked that Natalie knew every bodies name and welcomed you in the morning with "Hello, Grahame" - a personal touch that meant loads

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    10
    The room was great, comfortable beds, nice decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was great, comfortable beds, nice decor. Grounds were gorgeous, overlooking nature. Breakfast was amazing. French pressed coffee or tea, with a spread of fresh baked breads and crossaints, a cheese tray, yogurt and toppings, followed by a full meal of your choosing. Had the traditional breakfast with eggs, sausage, bacon, grilled tomatoes, and mushrooms. We got very spoiled staying here!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    10
    Sally and Mike are wonderful hosts,nothing was too much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing at all

    Sally and Mike are wonderful hosts,nothing was too much trouble for them. The whole atmosphere of Dongola was fantastic and the breakfasts were out of this world.The staff were outstanding

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    10
    Nothing was too difficult for Sally and Mike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing was too difficult for Sally and Mike. Little things like finding the kettle had been refilled twice a day, provision of ice on request and lovely glasses for drinking wine etc. A fantastic garden and views of Chapman's Peak despit it being ablaze.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    10
    Great venue and Google location for relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great venue and Google location for relaxation. A definite must

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    10
    Very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming.Excellent breakfasts. Lovely views.Couldn't be better.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    Staff very friendly and location was ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wasn't aware that the suite didn't have a view

    Staff very friendly and location was ideal

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    10
    The owners and staff were charming, helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The owners and staff were charming, helpful and kind. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Flapjacks with blueberries amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Flapjacks with blueberries amazing Mike & Sally have attention to detail To a fine art see you next year all being well

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    10
    Customer service was excellent and made you feel welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    That my aircon was turned off while I was out, came back to a stuffy room.

    Customer service was excellent and made you feel welcome.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    10
    Superb service, wonderful surroundings, fabulous breakfasts,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Superb service, wonderful surroundings, fabulous breakfasts, clean and spacious room... Everything you need.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: