Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge 3 stars

Lot H29, Bushlands Rd, 3960 Hluhluwe, South Africa

#20 of 26 hotels in Hluhluwe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 94 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    DumaZulu rocks!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The intercom at the gate was not working. There were alot of creepy crawlies in and outside the roundevels & I'm quite scared of these. The mosquitoes were terrible at night outside. The one bedroom cottage accommodates 4 people but it was open plan thus there was no privacy with the kids there.

    It was very nice & quiet. We loved the braai & the pool area. The roundevels are nicely decorated in African colours representing different cultures, that was very informative. There was an aircon in the roundevel which kept the place nice & cool. The lady who welcomed us at the reception was very friendly, knowledgeable & helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    We travelled with 3 kids and the pool was a huge hit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can only really offer a suggestion, why don’t you offer a small evening menu I.e. Steak egg &chips, burgers, simple salads and something for the kids. Your buffet menu was not child friendly and would have been a wasted on the kids. We travelled into town to buy food when we could’ve eaten at your place.

    We travelled with 3 kids and the pool was a huge hit. The grounds where well maintained and the accommodation was more than adequate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.3
    Clean bathroom and kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    The electricity had tripped in the unit. We battled to find the DB in the dark. The airconditioner was on when we got it back on - possibly tripped the electricity. Lovely kitchen but a shortage of serving dishes, no drying cloth, and one of the forks was missing.

    Clean bathroom and kitchen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.4
    Family getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waste management. There's an uncomfortable smell. I guess it's part of recycling process. It's also out of places of attractions with very little information provided by the facility to tourists

    Generally ok. Nothing spectacular.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    It's great & I would recommend it to others. The peacefulness is just amazing & calming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appliances in the kitchen did not work well. The microwave was slow & the stove only one plate was working

    The location it's quite and peaceful. Great surroundings and the pool kids loved it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.3
    enjoyable if you look past the smaller issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall appearance was that the resort is run down. The flags at the entrance were in tatters and the grounds looked unkempt, not sure if the lawn mower was broken. The kitchen equipment needs to be updated and the shower also drained away very slowly so you were left ankle deep in water once you had completed your shower. It is also quite a trek to cart luggage to your bungalow if you are in the ones at the far side of the resort. A little bit of TLC and upgrading of equipment will turn this from mediocre to excellent

    Overall good value for money room was comfortable but there are areas that they can improve

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shops and restaurants are far and you have to drive on the gravel road.But is well maintained.

    The African traditional and originality.Room were very specious and everything was in good working condition

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Overnight stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions on the lodge site were very misleading and I took about 90 minutes to locate the property from Hluhluwe

    Rural setting with the calls of bird-life to wake up to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    3.8
    Well below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked on the basis that we will have a traditional dinner at the property.We were disgusted to find out that the kitchen will be closed on the day of arrival as there were not enough guests that day.We had to travel about 40 km to Hluhluwe to have dinner.No breakfast was served either.The cultural experience we were told lasts for some 90 minutes.It actually went on for 45 minutes.Parking is a long walk to the room.No porter services were offered.It drizzled on the day and no attempt was made to provide us with any assistance against the weather.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Perfect for our needs. Reception staff need training in being more friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were unfriendly. They didn't show us to our room, just pointed in the general direction and it was dark so we were wandering around with all our luggage and a 4 year old trying to find our room. The electrics is faulty - the shower was shocking me.

    The cleaners were friendly. Lots of space. Clean, perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.0
    The dishes were not clean in the kitchen and the kitchen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dishes were not clean in the kitchen and the kitchen cupboards were dirty as well. Other guests continued with noise at the fire area way after 11pm and there was no one that I could complain to.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    5.0
    First and Last Visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general maintenance of the place was poor. The pool and kids playing area are dilapitated. The television in the rooms were old and snowy, I must make it clear that we were not there to watch TV but one needs to watch the news which was impossible. I called the maintenance to come fix...not once, twice but three times. On the 3rd time I was told "the signal is poor". The bathrooms need a serious revamp. Despite the revamp, they were not washed properly and the shower curtain was disgustingly dirty! First night we had a very nice staff that treated us well at the resturant area as i explained earlier but second night we had the oppossite. My 7 year old daughter went to ask the lady who was manning the buffet area for desert. The lady flatly ignore my child and instead went to attend a couple who found my daughter. this went on for close to 7 minutes. When i stood up to rescuse the situation to assist my daughter with desert, the lady rudely gave me bad look without me uttering a single word. this was utter unproffesional and rude to my family. This act made my stay horrible because the next day for breakfast we had the same lady manning the buffer area. Will never go back there again! Since it was new years eve i was also expecting that will have a celebration or zulu activity planned since this is a "Zulu" village but it was as dead as cemetry.

    The traditional food were delicious.Even though we checked in late which was past the resturant closing time, the Chef prepared a good meal which made our first night very special. Also the receptionist was in contact with us all the way from Joburg to ensure we were safe and found our way easier to Dumazulu Lodge.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.3
    Great family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not sure if we could light our fire crackers and so that was a disappointment, and the staff was not sure.

    The staff was very warm and welcimubg.they made sure that we felt at home. The rooms were spacious and had air-conditioning which was so wonderful. We enjoyed our stay and we look forward to going back again with our friends and family. Thank you so much

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.3
    Value for money family stay close to Hluhluwe Game Reserve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of maintenance. The toilet and drainage for the water from the shower and hand basin were left to collect behind the unit creating a serious health issue. Our fridge was swopped out with a bar fridge because a large family group arrived and allegedly 3 of their fridges and 2 air conditioners didn't work. The price of drinks including soft drinks was exorbitant!

    The unit was very comfortable. The aircon worked beautifully (41 degrees when we arrived). A couple of comfy chairs would have been great! The dining room staff were fantastic! Definitely 5 star treatment from them!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Supurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic stay and people

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    It was clean and neat, with great braai facilities, a Boma...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and neat, with great braai facilities, a Boma for fire and a kids area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    value for money, near hluluwe game reserve and st lucia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    value for money, near hluluwe game reserve and st lucia

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.2
    Room was not up to standard. When we woke up their was no lights. Noone at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poorly managed.

    Beautiful Area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice concept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities in need of attention. Croc ponds dirty, giftshop looks old and dingy. Pool needs attention

    Nice concept. Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great time, we were happy with the facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Quiet peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs more facilities such as a childrens games room with snooker table

    Quiet peaceful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Good value budget accommodation and self catering. Don't expect staff to go out of their way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were disengaged, did not help with luggage

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.3
    I roof had a leak it was terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I roof had a leak it was terrible

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.7
    I loved the chalets and staff were great
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is the best. Directions and visibility of signage was not there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    6.3
    The property is part of a little cultural village so easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't the most attentive

    The property is part of a little cultural village so easy for something to do

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Wood Zulu village
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zulu style was interesting for me

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    Value for money but would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was not open

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.7
    The zulu atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant.. Expensive but small buffet

    The zulu atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Awesome family getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more tv channels for kids

    Spacious room with all that we needed in the kitchen & bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Infrustructure

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Infrastructure,cleanliness,quietness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    Perfect place for a getaway from the city life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about this place, I will be coming back.

    Great place to relax & unwind.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    relaxing environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 pools

    Queiteness

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    5.4
    The included meals, dinner and breakfast were wonderful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had difficulty finding the hotel. The address was not locate able using GPS. We had to phone the office and get directions which had to be done in two stages.We also had difficulty leaving the property early in the morning to go to Enfolozi park.we were given a code to get out but it didn't work. We waited about 45 mins to get out.. The shower was just a trickle of water.

    The included meals, dinner and breakfast were wonderful and very tasty.we liked the cute Zulu houses, that were very roomy and the animal park on site. It was very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    Staff were fantastic and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were fantastic and very helpful. The facilities were great and there was lots to do and see, We went for a family celebration and the experience offered fitted the bill exactly,

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    9.6
    Awesome place , friendly staff , food was good , overall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Aircon wasn't powerful .

    Awesome place , friendly staff , food was good , overall value for money .

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    6.3
    Good restaurant, friendly staff except reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unwelcoming receptionist, poor maintenance

    Good restaurant, friendly staff except reception.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.2
    Information received about Zulu culture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Information received about Zulu culture. Pleasant staff tried hard to make our stay a memorable one.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: