Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge 4 stars

Cherry Lane, Welbedacht, 6570 Knysna, South Africa

#31 of 79 B&Bs and Inns in Knysna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 59 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lagoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts are very attentive and helpful. The breakfast is fresh, delicious and they offer a great variety for breakfast. We also recommend the cheese platter that you can order to your room. When we departed we received a goody bag for the road - gestures like these make you feel taken care of and appreciated. We stayed only one night, but would return for more. And we definitely can recommend staying in the Elephant Hide Guest Lodge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lagoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts are very attentive and helpful. The breakfast is fresh, delicious and they offer a great variety for breakfast. We also recommend the cheese platter that you can order to your room. When we departed we received a goody bag for the road - gestures like these make you feel taken care of and appreciated. We stayed only one night, but would return for more. And we definitely can recommend staying in the Elephant Hide Guest Lodge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's driving distance to the town centre so we needed to get a taxi for dinner, but I was happy to be a little further away in exchange for the views.

    A lovely place to stay, amazing views to wake up to every morning. Would highly recommend it. Breakfast was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You do need a car or be prepared to take a taxi to local restaurants but we did not have a problem with that. The rooms were fine - perhaps some better heating in the bathroom which could also have done with a bit of a refresh.

    The view from our very pleasant room was excellent, the staff very friendly and the included breakfast was a great start to the day (and made lunch unnecessary given its generosity). A great place to stay for a few days.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the beds rather hard but that is a personal thing.

    Elephant Hide Lodge was a wonderful place. We enjoyed our two days here very much. The staff were really friendly. The meals excellent. The cottages were large, well equipped and had a nice outlook as well as a balcony. Nicely set out for privacy. Close to great shopping, attractions and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautifully location with an amazing view, rooms are spacious and secluded, friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast.... We will definitely be going back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so helpful and kind. Rooms are spacious, clean and with a lot of light. Breakfast was unbelievable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    path to the room

    perfect location with excellent views. Rooms were spacious and well laid out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi, Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb

    Absolutely loved our stay here. View was fantastic as was the space.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    outstanding staff, nice view over the lagoon, wonderful breakfast, a feeling of a safari lodge

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lagoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    nice view, very friendly service and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views are fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ahhh, I dunno!

    Superb views!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spectacular view from the room and the spa bar

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can hear the traffic from the main road passing by.

    The place, the staff and the breakfast had been awesome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so accommodating. The breakfast was delicious. The location is quiet and secluded. The rooms are beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful and secluded setting. Loved our lodge jacuzzi overlooking the lagoon. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    5km out of kynsna, which with a car isn't a problem. Staff very smiley and happy to help. Great breakfasts too!!

    Beautiful views over the lagoon

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lagoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing views. Very private and staff couldn't do more for us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The vanity area in the bedroom is very poor, it is dark, cramped and very little wardrobe space, very inferior.

    The location is beautiful and the staff lovely

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms need some updating (electricity, double glassing for the noisy street, better products for the bath room, etc).

    The view is amazing and the staff takes really care of you.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    very friendly staff and the owners are great. Mandy helps you with all your needs! The view is stunning and the breakfast was best! We ll come back, for sure!

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This lodge is beautifully set overlooking the lagune of Knysna with breath taking views. Very friendly staff, very well designed bungalows and the owners family is looking after you and give you excellent recommandations for restaurants and thinks to do in this area.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The cottages are designed for families with young children - the second bedroom opens up into the main bedroom to access the shared bathroom. Not good for travellers with adult children, but excellent to make sure the little ones don't disappear. It depends on the family unit whether you can use the second room or not.

    Location is excellent. A bit hard to find on the first drive (Google maps got it), but after that really easy. Just a 5 minute drive outside of Knysna but gives you a feel of being tucked away. We were looking for a rustic feel and we got it. Lots of small touches such as a wooden bowl for candles with bath salts to relax in the big bath. Bathroom and main bedroom both very spacious. The owner is very knowledgable on the local area and a font of knowledge. We relied on him pitching up at breakfast to give us our daily recommendations and book restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price was a bit high, but I suppose that's what you get in Knysna at Christmas. They only serve breakfast, unless you request lunch or dinner in advance (but they did go out of their way for us with lunch one day, so hats off to the owners and staff).

    Bed was awesome and breakfast was great. Very clean, turn down service, and quiet facility. Staff were amazing.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent beds,comfort and atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A very lovely stay. Personal touch with passion in a quiet area.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing stay, beautiful cabins ad stunning views!

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing.

    Great location overlooking the lagoon, friendly and helpful service.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: