Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elephant's Nest

874 Oorwinning Street, 1270 Graskop, South Africa

#4 of 12 B&Bs and Inns in Graskop

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 151 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Elephant's Nest was a lovely place to stay. It isn't in the centre of town, so you do have to drive to go to the restaurants, but it's not far and this didn't bother us at all.

    Our hosts were exceptionally welcoming and gave good advice for sightseeing and restaurants in town. The room was lovely and looked out in to a very well maintained garden. We were left little treats in the room (pastries and wine). The bed was very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first when we got there,there was nobody around we sat outside for about half an hour before someone showed up.

    I liked the friendly people and the cosy inviroment. The rooms are very neatly organised for a comfortable stay and they clean it for you every morning. There are major improvements still ahead we've been told,to make it even better,but overall exactly what we needed for a weekend away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hosts, beautiful garden, excellent breakfast, nice room, coffee/tea/sugar in the room, local sweets and liquor for greeting was really cool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Room, very clean and with beautiful view on the garden. The housekeeper was very nice and the contest was very quiet. Really liked the private bathroom, the big bedroom and also wifi was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - no problems.

    Very comfortable and quiet stay. Our second time at Elephant's Nest. Would go again, without a doubt, and would recommend to others.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the owner and his wife are very friendly. the room was comfortable and clean. We got some free water and sweets, which was very nice and welcoming. the place is safe, parking is no problem at all and the breakfast was sufficient with a choice of everything. the garden is beautiful and the hosts can give you any advice you would like to know - thank you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to enter here

    Beds were very comfortable Amenities rather pleasant - we liked the good-night sherry Owners took a lot of care to feel welcomed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the attention yo details! Delicious south african delight and liquor was waiting for us in the room. The host was super friendly and helpfull. Very clean. comfortable bed! The photos of the property in booking dont reflect the real thing, I recommend to the owner to change them. We were surprised to see that it was much better then the photos! Thank you! I added a photo of the view from the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi is turned on around 7:30 and then off around 9pm. I think.

    We were there only for one night. We arrived before the time to check-in and Daniel was really sweet letting us get in to the room two hours earlier. We basically only slept there, so I have not much to say. We did not have breakfast there, because there are nice places to eat just down the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have offered package as B & B. ie integrate breakfast with price.

    The layout, the little touches here & there. ( typical SA food, Koeksisters & sweeties ) Was a cold evening when we arrived & the Old Brown Sherry was SO welcome !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a lovely stay at Elephant's Nest -- breakfast was delicious, the rooms were comfortable and clean, the location was perfect, and the owners are extremely nice and welcoming! Would definitely stay here again if we are in the area!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is fine, but I did not have a great experience. First, we reserved and when we arrived, no one was expecting us. The owners were out and the guy in charge did not have a phone and he was about to leave for several days! After we checked in, we went out and that was the last time I saw the guy. At night, no one was around, we were the only room at the place and there was no water!! So I went out to see what I could do. It was raining and I found a bucket and filled it, at least for the bathroom. I looked for a house water faucet buy I couldn't find any. Finally, very late at night I started to hear the water running through the pipes. So I can imagine that if the owners are around it is a nice place, but unfortunately it was not my case.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner was extremely helpful and advised us of local restaurants etc - we were only there a few hours as we had to leave at 5.30 am but Nico was happy to get up to operate the electric gates.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the parking but it was raining... Larger towels would be appreciated

    Availability of heaters in the middle of summer while it was rainy weather

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wi-fi in own room. Owners were not there when we reached the property; we rung the bell for 10 minutes and, after that, a guy greeted us. He was surprised to see us, he said he waited for anyone! Then he found our reservation. Old bathroom and no TV but we knew about that. I would suggest to beautify the garden because our impression was that it was abandoned. Kitchen dirty and full of stuff like blankets, pillows etc.

    Just 2 minutes from Graskop's restaurants and shops. A low-cost stay on our road trip from the Blyde River Canyon to Kruger National Park. Value for money. Boiler for tea and coffee. Radiator for cold nights. Big room with access to a small garden, table and chairs to relax. For 1 night only it could be a good accommodation. Quite location. The owner sent me directions to reach the property some days before our stay, very useful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    The place is a really cozy house with big windows looking at a garden. It's nearby all the attractions in the area and the people are awesomely nice and helpful. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The roof needs to be fixed as some water are dripping in when the rain were pouring during the night.

    Love the extra touches of the kitchen, especially the old farm style stoves and kitchenware. The place feels like home, comfortable and welcoming. Both the hosts and the staff is super friendly, willing to accommodate whenever possible. Bedroom and bathroom are clean and has everything we need.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very poor. They gave each of us one nutriday smooth yogurt, I could believe it. There's no option of how you want your eggs and there's no fruit at breakfast. It was definitely not worth the price.

    The place is very clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Layout of all rooms in a row meant no privacy unless all curtains were drawn (so then you get no light). Door to bathroom was so rusty and squeaky we didn't use it. Bed was so used you could feel the dip where everyone else had slept. There was no wifi for 3 days (not even in the main house where they said there would be) - and phone signal only worked 5m out of the gate (and the whole of the rest of the town!). Lastly the main house had a beautiful living room but we could never use it because it was locked all the time and to open it we had to go and disturb the manager- which we weren't comfortable to do at 10pm and no lights were on. Why can't guests simply get a key for the salon door and lock it themselves when they come and go?

    Breakfast was good, garden was beautiful, decor was nice, treats like a muffin and some sherry and the hot water bottle were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable and the owner of the guest house was very nice and receptive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely comfy spot, friendly owners and awesome small touches like providing an umbrella and torch. Highly recommended value for money option.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t mad about the breakfast

    Very nice friendly host

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky bathroom door

    Beds were comfortable, host very friendly and talkative. Very close to town and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was not airy

    nice hospitality

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to most things in and around Graskop

    Service and condition was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    French press coffee machine in the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was very dated. The towels were old. I did not think that it was good value for money.

    The host was very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not very large,

    Comfy bed,attentive owner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely stay. Very friendly staff and management.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was super comfy and there were a number of treats that were provided for free - which was unexpected and a nice touch

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was great. Rooms were very nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were very friendly and helpful They gave us good suggestions for restaurants and places to go

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good advice from the owner about what to do in the area. Thank you

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The little extra details made all the difference - schnapps, muffins, handwash... Thank you very much.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little bit outdated

    The location, the nice garden, the friendliness of the owner

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secure environment

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blide river canyon

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean,bed was very comfortable,beautiful view from the garden,owner very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    comfortable. good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room small and dark

    It was peaceful and quite with god view outside the room. Breakfast enjoyable and tasty

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is not available in the room, you have to go to the lounge.

    Location, decoration, comfort, owners is very kind

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would like better internet in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very comfortable rooms, lovely garden view, very kind owners. You are made to feel part of the family.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good suggestions for hikes, restaurants, et cetera.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great and friendly staff. And great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no wi fi in room, hotspot available in lounge but had to ask for it to be unlocked in the evening

    owner very helpful and knowlegable about local attractions

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great help and welcome from the owners Nico and his wife. Quiet location with a lovely garden. They happily accommodated my request for a vegan breakfast. Recommended!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No heating during first night of our stay. Room is very basic but everything you need was there.

    Very helpful host, always willing to give you tips! Nice location to visit the canyon and driving the panorama route.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing at all.

    The welcome was great and the owner was very knowledgeable. He gave us advice on where to visit, and not visit and where to eat in the evening. The rooms were beautiful and looked out onto a beautiful tropical garden. The night was peaceful and we all slept very well. Breakfast was great and our departure was stress free. Overall the perfect, charming b&b and could not have asked for more.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed giving in

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not available in rooms.

    Great value for the price, owner was very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - nothing

    - small attentions of our hosts - warm welcome and advice - everything else (room, ...)

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You can find here whatever you need. Nice staff. The best part is the position, close to all the attraction of this zone

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice garden. Safe parking. Yummi restaurants close by.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect one night stop over to see the region. Good breakfast and great host.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Security based on electric fence which has not functioned for a very long time.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely large comfortable bed and linen. Helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again (we met people who were there for the 3rd time).

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a really nice time all perfect

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    .

    Perfect stop on the way to Kruger. Relaxing place for a honeymoon Warm welcome

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly owners with useful tips for sightseeing! Good breakfast. Enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location,the price and Niko

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly welcome and helpful owners .

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly owners always willing to go out of their way to offer help and suggestions.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really

    Comfotable and clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi didnt work

    Great location, friendly staff, delicious breakfest

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: