Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Erinvale Estate Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Lourensford Road, 7130 Somerset West, South Africa

#2 of 6 hotels in Somerset West

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 196 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant did not have much food choice and the portion sizes were quite small considering the description and the price.

    In close proximity to other estates Amazing and comfortable estate Staff are super firendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Terrace Twin
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key card for the door didn’t work. It was not in contact with a cellphone or anything magnetic as the staff had suggested. It was a bit frustrating when it happened every day.

    Nice pub. Beautiful garden. Great sitting outside under the trees with a bottle of wine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Terrace Twin
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Laundry, breakfast and some service

    The Garden Twin room we stayed in was very comfortable although the bathroom was a little dated. However whatever you do please do not use the laundry service, we had major problems with the clothes coming back very creased and then were overcharged on check out (which we corrected!). The service is very variable, particularly at breakfast where in the end for 3 of our 5 days we ate out! We do not like making 4 requests for a simple pot of tea!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room coffee option is poor The golf rate was not explained at check in and subsequently the charge was unacceptable. As locals, our affiliate rates are much lower

    All ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom could have been cleaned a bit more thoroughly and some staff members were friendlier than others. Otherwise no major complaints.

    Beautiful grounds and well designed rooms. Tasty cuisine and fabulous gourmet breakfast buffet. Great location and property surrounded by other beautiful wine estates.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That children at age of 12 aren't alloud in spa

    The scrambled eggs were the best,the room was excellent condition, porter was very friendly,waiters were very nice,gardens are beautiful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machines in both rooms did not work. Despite booking the smart Restaurant and receiving confirmation, was not informed it would be closed and we would eat in pub

    Comfortable. Beautiful accommodation. Spa was good - massages awesome

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Terrace Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    eggs were extra fluffy, the beds were very comfortable, the pillows were made in heaven, the food was delicious especially the Sunday buffet and pub fare, the staff were ever so friendly, but professional, not a speck of dust out of place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Terrace Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    the night was very windy. The sash windows rattled all night and kept me awake. I had a terrible night's sleep.

    the room was very clean with a lovely clean smell. It was wonderful to have a bath tub.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Terrace Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    The eggs were extra fluffy and the beds were like clouds - with perfect pillows, excellent pub fare in Skellig's, divine Sunday buffet with live music, professional staff that are friendly and ready to assist, ensuring a relaxed and comfortable stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check out issues - Staff at check out desk could not change an invoice that was incorrect. Details were taken at check in and not passed on. This was so frustrating. I received the invoice via mail and it was still incorrect. had to have changes made a second time.

    Staff are very welcoming and friendly, especially the breakfast crew. Breakfasts are great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wifi on Friday & Saturday was a problem! Had important mails I needed to retrieve, and it wasn't possible!

    Good staff! Zimbabwean lady who served us in the restaurant on Friday night was superb!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When booking we weren't made aware (or it wasn't clear) that our bathroom came with a disabled access shower instead of a bath - we would have preferred the bath.

    Beautiful location, great food and excellent facilities with a nice little pub.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could have been sleeping in the middle of a highway. What is meant to be a quiet country location had our room backing onto a noisy, busy road. When we told the staff their reaction was "Oh okay." Not good enough.

    It is a pretty location and the gardens are nice. The hairdresser at the facility is very good and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only bad thing was that the golf course was closed even for the golf hotel guests. Next time, I will for sure be granted a teetime before booking the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit stuffy, best to get out and about.

    Close proximity of three vineyards one walking distance. Fantastic market and food and live entertainment on Friday at Lauronsford Vineyard not to be missed. The Erinscourt can be a bit stuffy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had booked for one night but became ill and unable to travel onwards the next morning. Reception staff were very helpful and found another room for us for a 2nd night

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Erinvale is the most beautiful place to stay. The stunning Dutch style thatched buildings create a serene environment. Rooms beautiful, service excellent and good amazing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that our booking.com booking were confirmed but they were sold out when we arrived. Breakfast service: Not enough waiters for the amount of guests.

    Pool, in-room dining. Great food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were happy with everything.

    Room was spacious and very comfortable. Restaurant facilities and menus were perfect for a relaxing stay. Food was delicious. Conveniently situated for golf at Erinvale and for meals at different wine estates.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    early morning moving of patio furniture outside by staff-dragging on ground- please pick up and move rather as it woke us up very early in the morning

    Lovely hotel, excellent breakfast :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have appreciated being told there was a wedding as we were situated right next to the venue and had to move rooms around 9pm in the evening as the noise was disturbing our young children.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Terrace Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a twin garden terrace room which according to pictures and description promised and showed in the photos a garden view. Instead our view was of fire hoses and air conditioning units. False advertising! Definitely not worth the money. Although everything else was good we would not stay there again as we felt let down.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far away from restaurants and in the low season the spa and restaurant was closed

    Suite was very luxurious and a lot of space with own terrace and large grass field

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building (renovations) on premises first day, went on into the evening. My airconditioner did not work and it was very cold and rainy. Staff did however bring a heater.

    Staff and food were great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent cuisine and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staffs, and comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved that place, nice rooms, small but nice pool, good restaurant, good breakfast variety!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Luxury
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    food was great the room was stunning and the views were incredible just an amazing place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar restaurant was not as excellent as the rest of the hotel facilities

    Thoughtful immediate attention to any needs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Fantastic hotel we did like it a lot!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Luxury
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu in erinvale could have been better

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Breakfast was amazing! Staff were great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely, comfortable and clean rooms. Relaxing atmosphere, Beautiful environment. Great breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nithing

    Outstanding. Clean. Beautiful room. Brilliant bed and room facilities. Best hair dryer in any hotel that I've ever used. Shower 10/10

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Bed was comfortable and pillows was very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is expensive if you are just eating porrage or fruit

    Comfortable relaxing environment, clean and very soacious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is under renovation. Not all TV channels were working, poor selection.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have preferred to stay longer - will definitely come back

    heavenly king size bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting

    Great location and great food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe another restaurant option

    Location Staff very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    very neat, staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very nice Very good food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing, everything was great !

    Everything....what a wonderful friendly Hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great. No complaints

    Very comfortable stay with friendly and helpful staff. Dinner was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath was dirty

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thatched roof because I am arlergic to it and I was sick. Some staff were rude

    The location was next to the business place I was attending

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Luxury
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great golf course, good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom can be upgraded.

    Efficient helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely architecture and gardens and the best breakfast buffet we've ever had in all our travels!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a double bed, was given twin. Coffee station was not stocked.

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of attitude with the girls serving

    Foot was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have liked more seats at the pool

    Accommodation amazing breakfast good reduced rates at amazing golf course

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    All liked except dinner was limited to the pub bar, main restaurant closed. Food choice 6/10 Food quality 7/10.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Luxury
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and friendly staff. Breakfast was great too!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was just an awesome family vacation and the staff were amazing. I would definatly recomend this hotel to everyone visiting Cape Town!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit dated decor. Cheap plastic toilet seat.

    Rustic charm, friendly staff and beautiful milieu.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a better pool and pool area?

    All the staff were extremely polite and efficient made the stay a totally amazing experience!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Newly finished room was very nice except for the fumes from the carpets and new paint

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Loft Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old terrible white towels No two point plug for cell phone charger Only two coffee sachet Old room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Luxury
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Loved it

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extra blankets.

    Staff were exceptional. Very helpful and professional

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decoration is tired and the hotel needs modernization. The food sub-standard. But worst of all: when we came to pay, the first night was as we expected, around 1800ZAR, the second night charged at 2300ZAR - 500ZAR more than the first. When we queried this we were told that rates fluctuate daily ("as with airlines'). We were not notified of this when booking, nor when checking in.

    The staff were friendly and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was nothing we did not like

    Food was great /service exceptional -accommodation very comfortable - could have upgrades in certain areas -generally a good stay

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Family with older children

    nothing really

    excellent food in skelligs pub as well as delicious breakfast buffet - friendly and professional staff - warm towel rail - clean and comfortable bed - fresh flowers and paintings in reception and lounge area - beautiful and well kept gardens - fresh fruit to take away - thoroughly enjoyed our stay - excellent setting - can't wait to go back

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room service from the pub gave us both indigestion

    Staff accommodated us in a ground floor room as my husband was on crutches. Trust was very helpful and we loved the historical buildings.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ran out of small amenities (coffee for rooms, etc) very busy, not surficiant staff for all guests.

    Friendly helpful front desk staff, cleaning staff, location, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely peaceful location, immaculate grounds. Friendly staff, good food. Breakfast and dinner served on the outside patio overlooking the lush gardens. Superb wineries on the doorstep.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had the most wonderful week at Erinvale. It is a great option for families traveling with little children. The rooms are big enough for a toddler to play in during the heat of the day, and then we could sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine and dinner from the pub on our patio once we had put our little one to sleep at night. The staff were all wonderful and so accommodating. Our table with a high chair was ready and waiting for us at breakfast every morning. We will be back!

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the food I had did not meet a 4 star standard - average quality - tough burger, chewy chicken stew and dried out cheesecake

    peace and quiet, nice gardens, spacious room

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely and peaceful estate with stunning gardens. Our room was spacious and convenient. Excellent breakfast and great service from the friendly and helpful staff across the board.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    think they forgot to turn on the electrics before we got there... not enough hot water for two showers, towel rail not heated up but was sorted immediately next morning when reported.

    tranquil very comfortable stay. good location. excellent brkfst

There are also 68 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: