Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of L'ermitage - Franschhoek Chateau & Villas 4 stars

Lambrechts Road, 7690 Franschhoek, South Africa

#14 of 20 hotels in Franschhoek

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 380 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the room was very nice it was not the room shown in booking.com and the hotel website showing a balcony and views to the lagoon. That was the main reason to book in that place and it was a bit disappointing. We were really surprised of being charged for the cappuccinos we had at our breakfast. The room has the breakfast included but cappuccino is considered by the hotel “special coffe”. When we complained the answer we received was that they used another machine?? I don’t think a 4 star hotel should charge for a simple coffe on top of the already payed breakfast.

    The location, the quality and comfort of the room. The room is quite big and comes with a kitchen, a living room and dining table. The surroundings of the hotel with the lagoon and the hills are outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bath was not operational nor was the pool due to drought which was unexpected as they indicated that they used natural spring water - would have liked this to be disclosed up front as does other locations. The wellness centre was locked. Room service forgot to bring the drinks ordered (twice). The aircon wasn't operational and was very noisy when put on.

    The hotel is very close to town which is convenient. The lounge areas are very comfortable and a relaxing spot especially when the sun is out. The staff are very friendly and the location is beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible food and awful attitude from the chef when he came out to convince us that 'that's how his desserts are'. Had eaten at many awesome places during this trip so the food here really stuck out for being terrible.

    Great wait staff and receptionist, excellent views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The seal on the bath was coming away, the reception desk appeared grubby and in need of a revamp, the lights were difficult to understand and annoying to use. There was no iron or ironing board available even when we asked reception, we were told to iron on the table. There was no lift. We couldn't close the bathroom window. There was no wine available on the room service menu. We kept getting asked by every member of staff on reception if we needed to check in, after we had checked in.

    Our room was lovely and big with a balcony overlooking the mountains. We had a nice big bathroom and bathtub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My deposit and confirmation email was ignored. Had to pay for specialist coffee. Not enough soaps in bathroom. Dining area could have been cleaner and was short staffed

    Breakfast was good. Location convenient and relaxing. Room was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer service, poor breakfast, limited restaurant menu, insufficient towels in the room and toilet roll, no bottled water despite water shortage, location is far out of town which included access via a highway to walk

    Good Decor and spacious rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The housekeeping and restaurant needs a lot of work. I asked the housekeeper for extra milk and clean towels. She said she was coming back. She never did. For 2 days we had no towels or milk for coffee. Terrible customer service.

    The room was lovely and the gardens well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything. Photos are deceiving. Rooms are old and designed with bathrooms open into room. This was not indicated in booking. Service was very poor. No proper inroom facilities like adapters. broken hairdryer. No water in the room. Charged for bottle water. Got breakfast orders wrong. For the price you charged it was very disappointing. This was meant to be a highlight of our trip!

    The views

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings are minimal and property felt a bit older (ex: one key and had to manually lock outside when leaving and then also inside when in for the evening). It’s just outside of town which is a short walk during the day, but a dark and partly on the highway walk if you are in town after dark. Uber’s were around during the day, but it was very difficult to find Ubers or cabs in the evening after dinner in Franschhoek. It was unclear if the hotel had any sort of shuttle, but we didn’t see one.

    Room/Suites were large and in a very beautiful area just outside of Franschhoek. Breakfast was included and quite good. the staff were all incredibly friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a pool but it wasn't what I would call a normal pool, as it was filled by bore water and was a little murky. I know the Western Cape has serious water shortages so I'm not sure if this is always like that, we therefore didn't use the pool.

    Lovely old building, plenty of character and in picturesque grounds. Massive room with separate dressing area! Food great and breakfast choice varied. Walking distance to the town for all the attractions and shops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirt marks on some of the furniture in our room and dirt marks on the ceiling. The chopped fruit salad at breakfast wasn't fresh.

    Fantastic setting with the most beautiful views. Comfortable room and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don't ask for the babysitter, unless you want somebody who is just "there" and does not interact with the kids. 100% of our orders were delivered wrong. View from Bedroom to parking, no sunbeds on the balcony although it was promoted on the pictures of the room. Worst tomato sauce of room service pasta. Far too expensive

    Nice view and quiet place, but by far too expensive!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to wait for checkin until after 2pm Door lock not working Toilet flush constantly breaking Member of staff knocking on door at 6am to try to give us a bill for a bottle of water. Why this couldn't wait until checkout I don't know

    Location, view, bedroom size

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was good and the patio is lovely. The only thing that missed my expectations was the room was not furnished with any bath towels. So when we went into the showers and use the bathrooms. We had to walk out naked to ring the house keeping to chase after for towels. Housekeeping is fast in delivering the towels but we find it a nuisance to have to order towels after the showers we took

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of a door between the toilet and the bedroom was not ideal. The electronic lighting controls were difficult to see and operate after dark, especially when sleepy.

    Generally very comfortable. Friendly staff. Nice surroundings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was not at all as it was described on the menu and was of a very poor quality. We were late diners on arrival but no excuse for boiled watery vegetables instead of roasted with sole.

    Breakfasts were excellent. Especially so as we are vegetarians. A very good selection of well prepared and presented fruits, cereals and breads..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff and service in general is very poor. They take too long to meet with your demands, and they took 2 or more hours past the check in time to give us the room.

    The place is beautiful, rooms are big and very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had not been used for some time and were stuffy; in the kitchen area quite smelly (probably a drain issue). The room furnishings are quite outdated, well worn and gloomy. The Eggs Benedict for breakfast were awful.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was extremely comfortable. The location perfect for exploring the town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets in villa were filthy and baffled by being told they couldn’t provide an iron as housekeeping was closed. Finally a member of staff did go to housekeeping and get one.

    Beautiful two bedroom villa with lovely breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool very disappointing. Breakfast service was shambolic. Complications with the booking- we did not realise we had only booked for 1 person per rooom and consequently had to pay a lot more money on arrival.

    Beautiful setting Rooms were large and nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place has gone down hill very badly. The linen is beyond threadbare and we had to beg and demand enough pillowcases for the pillows. We were originally told they had run out. I booked 2 double beds but in one room the single beds had just been pushed together. When I asked for it to be changed they just ignored the request. There wasn't even a bottle opener in the apartment. Any concerns raised with the staff were brushed off initially or ignored completely. Breakfast was terrible. This is not a cheap place to stay but they seem disinterested in guest concerns or trying to deliver even a basic level of satisfaction. Would never stay here again.

    The location is beautiful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old! Place is in need of being refurbished. Also, the air con blows directly onto the bed - which was rather unpleasant!

    Spacious, beautiful scenery, decent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is old, room and carpets need renovation, bathroom cabinets are rotted with mold. We are in a wine area and no t even a screwpull !! The ‘swimming pool’ s absolutely not a pool. It was dirty and water absolutely repulsive. This is not due to water restrictions !!! The property is definitely over rated

    The view in spite that the terrace never gets sun, no sunchair to relax either

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Attention needs to be paid to the supply of kitchen/dining equipment. The pool is very small (almost like a enlarged fountain) so that was disappointing. The water in the pool did not look appealing though this is probably due to the water shortages - the leaves should however have been cleared to make it more attractive.

    Our suites were extremely spacious and had views of the lakes and mountains - simply beautiful. When booking I suggest you check that you have a lake view. If you are looking for peace and quiet this is ideal. It is a little further out of town than other hotels but it is worth it for the views. In any event, Ubers/taxis are plentiful and if you have a car it is less than a 5 minute drive. The staff were cheerful and helpful. When our daughter was unwell very late on Christmas eve night they recommended an emergency hospital 25 minutes away. The staff then arranged with a pharmacy for prescriptions to be scanned over and medication delivered by a member of staff on Christmas day - so helpful and kind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff could be dressed more professionally for 4-star. More attentiveness by staff at table. Sanitary towel disposal dispenser required in toilet.

    The room size, design, decor.Warm welcome by attentive young man.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no blinds over the bathroom window so once the sun rose it filled the room with light making it hard to sleep in. The kitchen had no dishcloths.

    The staff was very friendly and the bed and bedding super comfortable. The venue has beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    These units are in "wine" country, and yet there is no corkscrew in the apartments This is about the 4th time we have stayed here, and we have always settled the account on departure, however this time the full payment was taken prior to our arrival!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service at breakfast can be improved upon. Tables were not cleared, one had to ask for cutlery, and wait a long time for coffee or tea.

    The venue location and accommodation was exquisite.Breakfast was sumptuous.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect vistas and friendly staff who were always accommodating. Well located with ample breakfast including omelette made to order. Great getaway for quiet respite from work, family time or romantic interlude. Rooms have balconies for sitting and full living rooms. Heartily recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast option. Hardly any people booked in which resulted in no breakfast buffet. Your options were limited. Dirty cutlery and saw a cocroach leaving our bread basket on the first morning. Reported the problems to assistant manager as manager was not available. Needless to say the next two mornings we had breakfast in town. They were busy upgdading the resort and the constant noise got the better of us. We were given no notification that upgrades are ongoing when the booking was made!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and bathrooms were not always 100% clean. Please change linen; clean bathrooms and vacuum the room everyday; especially when there's children. Secondly please remove the shuttle services that was rude to us on the 21st of August. Jacoline; the lady was very rude; she started swearing at us as customers using vulgar language in front of very young kids. She stopped her car and said we should walk right in the middle of the road in cold; freezing and rainy weather.

    Very comfortable and beautiful stunning views. The estate breakfast is their signature statement. Very delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted better view and not enough cutlery in kitchen for double room accommodation

    Beautiful kitchen and bathrooms and Linen was clean and comfortable bedding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dstv on arrival did not work. It was only after 2 days. The camper cot mattresss provided for baby was poor quality and sunken. They did not have proper bedding for the cot.

    Service was good. Staff were accomodating and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom shower was not very clean and it had broken tiles. Also, there were contractors working on the apartment next door for an entire day and the noise levels was very loud.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating in the 2 bed suite that we booked didn't work. The kids room was so cold, they had to sleep with hats and coats on. We asked for a heater but were told they only had one and they couldn't find it. John Henry Holmes (inventor of the light switch) would be turning in his grave if he saw what they do here. Instead of switches for each room, they have a control panel that you have to find which light you need to turn on. Not fun in the middle of the night trying to find the right bathroom light. Quite ridiculous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was very quiet but our stay was in the middle of winter. A little bit on the edge of town, but only two minutes by car.

    Huge breakfast available, great size of room, and those with mountain view have stunnings vistas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    one of the desk clerks was incompetent ... didn't smile... and nearly costed me a double payment. Didn’t bother to check that my payment already deducted off my cc even though I mentioned my cc notification from earlier. Her colleague checked thankfully.

    cosy and luxurious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs served for breakfast were a bit on the oily side. Parking was not close to the villa we were staying at.

    The villa was a dream, spacious and comfortable. The views from our villa were amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon / heat function was extremely noisy, room needed some general maintenance on ceilings, around windows doors etc , loose tiles around bath tub.

    The size of the room, and decor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    understaffed for a busy sat morning we didnt have hot water in the main suite would be great to have a TV in the main bedroom

    breakfast was very good quality, rooms were beautiful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no wastebins in apartment. would like an extra blanket to use over duvet. a small tv in bedroom would be nice.

    staff are friendly and helpful. The fact that its not just a room was nice. beautiful place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electronic light switches didn't always work or maybe were too complicated to figure out Our room was next to the pump for the lake which was a bit noisy Small issue with payment but it was resolved

    Great location, beautiful views, lovely rooms and a great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cutlery and some crockery found in the kitchen cupboards were not cleaned properly.

    Breakfast was a delight and the villas are beautifully decorated. The villa we stayed in unfortunately did not have great views so be sure to request a villa with views of the dam when making a booking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This property is in need of some TLC. It has SO much potential but sadly seems to have been neglected. The paint was starting to blister in areas of the room and bathroom and the whole place generally felt a bit tired and unloved. The staff were friendly and did try, but lacked any real training. This was most evident on reception where they didn't seem knowledgeable about local activities. The route to the pool was interesting. The building next to the pool, which we believe was the wellness centre, was not open at all during out stay, so we were led to the pool around the side of this building, over air conditioning units and between hedges - this could do with a proper path to say the least! We didn't actually go for a dip as the pool looked as though it hadn't been cleaned in some considerable time. Our room felt quite clean in general, but the carpet didn't appear to have been hoovered. When we put our towels out for changing they forgot to replace the hand towels. Similarly on one day they forgot to replace the toilet roll and unfortunately the only toiletries provided were shower gel and hand soap - we would really expect more from a 4* hotel.

    This hotel has loads of potential. We booked a King suite having read mixed reviews about some of the basic rooms. We were glad we did this. We had a stunning view from our balcony over the lake and the mountains surrounding Fransshoek. The room was very large and light and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My fault and not the restaurant- This falls under " I could have stopped eating" or maybe others can manage a big meal better. I had Bacon, scramble eggs, mushroom breakfast and the portions were big- probably enough for 2 hungry adults or 3x small eaters. (they also have a continental breakfast) I could stop eating but as it was Yummy and so of course finished the lot- recommend walk down to town afterwards and not use vehicle to work of some of the guilt.

    Rented a two bed unit (Villa). We were welcomed at Reception upon arrival with some Sparkling wine. Checking in and out was seamless- booking was done through Booking.com. Unit is huge and beautifully presented and very clean. It consists of dining room, Lounge, Kitchen, two bedrooms- both en- suite (shower and bath) plus a big patio for relaxing outside. Situated in beautiful scenic area with mountain views, close enough to town to walk down to it. Hotel supplied number of Cab company for return trip but also available Tuk Tuks (max 3 x passengers) can drop you back at hotel (good idea especially after a long relaxing lunch or dinner when you do not want to exert yourself afterwards). Rooms are beautifully decorated - main bedroom has huge King-size bed, other room two singles pushed together, plus an extra couch. Crisp linens and extra blankets in case nights turn chilly. Mattresses and pillows were super comfortable. Some toiletries and hairdryers available in room. Kitchen comes stocked with cutlery and crockery plus Fridge, stove should you wish to cook yourself but there is an excellent restaurant on site plus also room service available. Rooms are serviced daily i.e. bed turned down at night, kitchen dishes cleaned , towels replaced .Parking available very close to villa marked with unit number. Wi-Fi available, plus selection of satellite TV channels. The unit is spacious enough for families with small children or teenagers and includes a patio for everyone to relax or play . There are two pools (one a small paddle pool pic included- but we did not make use of them so cannot rate them Had our breakfasts and one room service meal at the hotel- without exception excellent . At restaurant we had teenagers with us, but other families had children ranging from babe in arms to young adult and everyone seemed to be satisfied with the food options available. Staff were very friendly and efficient making it a great, relaxing get away

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    you need to leave at 11am, the reception called us at 11:15am asking us to leave the room

    Big apartment, nice view on the mountain and the lac. Good Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool area was being renovated, so although we could swim, we were surrounded by building materials and there was a smell of damp in the rooms if you didn't put the aircon on. We were also originally put into a villa that overlooked the car park for the same rate as one overlooking the lake. Luckily we were able to move. We would have been very unhappy to pay full price for the original villa. Make sure you ask for a lake-side villa. All in all, a little tired, but fair if you can get a good rate. Location is great and staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Rooms were very spacious with fairly good facilities. If you can get a villa facing the lake, this is first prize.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were living in a building site. Woken up by builders pre 8.15 both days we stayed, popped back after lunch and it was full on drilling right up to 5.30 despite being promised a 5pm finish. My husband stayed back for some rest as planned and was surrounded by drilling, brushing and banging all day. We complained twice + and were told we could have no compensation etc as the desk were only agents for the owners?!- really unacceptable to take no responsibility and only offer a 500R reduction from a 8000R bill- really disappointing and far from what we have come to know and love from SA. There was no indication on booking that we were entering a building site- the flat we had was right in the middle of it all- had we have known we would not have booked. Avoid at all costs at the moment if you want a relaxing time!

    Breakfast was good and room clean and big.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absence of dedicated bellboys.

    The room was well appointed, both that we were in. The establishment and grounds are well maintained. The staff unassuming, very pleasant and helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower in 1st room didn't have cold water. Worm in the shower in 2nd room. Room not serviced until requested. Room not turned down at the end of the day.

    Great breakfast. Tranquil with gorgeous views. Huge rooms. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel advertised a spa but this is no longer available. The hotel does now offer in room Spa treatments. There were a few broken things in the room such as TV, curtain rail, the rubbish bin (lid) and the toilet brush holder. Although a 4 star hotel, there was no mini bar available in the room and I would have liked at least some bottles of water.

    The location was great and the views from the hotel breathtaking. Huge room with a lovely bathroom and a Juliet Balcony. Breakfast was good though service left a little to be desired. The Duty manager Grizelle was very helpful and tried her best to make amends for the issues that we had with our stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having booked late, we took a larger (the only) room than we needed. We found it in poor decorative order, things didn't work and I likened it to a prison. Worst of all, the advertised free Wifi DID NOT Work in V25 and we sought to move to V12 for our final 3 days. This was like chalk and cheese and we duly received a credit on our departure; which sweetened the pill.

    The food was good and the staff were friendly and engaging. Once I had met and spoken to the General Manager, Cynthia Barnard, she solved the below problem and we parted good friends.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Safe not working in the room - had not been checked as a matter of routine. A mile or so walk away from the main street.

    Very large room and bathroom and beautiful views

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows cases stained in both beds. Showers barely working and flooded. Everything run down. Shower times falling off. Rooms so dark and outdated. Curtains broken almost every window. Wifi not working properly hotel ran out of still water! Pool water filthy Room service almost impossible and cold when arrived. Building works at pool side Only 8 sunbeds Towels old and worn Had to ask 3 times for room towels Balconies filthy Room sun beds completely broken

    Some of the Staff tried hard. Location ( some views) stunning. Good size.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More of a duplex setting as opposed to a villa.

    Kitchenette included so you could prepare your own meals if you wanted but why would you when you're in Franschhoek. Located Close enough to the Franschhoek main road which is lined with popular restaurants, boutiques and craft stores.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to pick an improvement, I would have loved bathrobes in the room.

    I loved the setting, the ambiance, the style of the hotel and the privacy our room provided. It is a very romantic location. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scruffy. Needs painting & cleaning up. Has potential to be 5 star but until the owners spend some money on it will remain as tired looking & in need of work

    Staff are lovely

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was well below acceptable! Waited over an hour for food! An one person only got his another 30 min after we finished eating because his food was "Defrosting" 20min plus every time we ordered drinks. Asked for the manager 5 times wich never came. Aircon in room not working.

    Food was great and beautifully presented

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was a paradise! Exceeded all expectations! Breath taking views. Our villa was fit for royalty. Great value for money!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to visit again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had given our villa to someone else using our paperwork - the villa we finally got was dirty - bathroom bin had broken lid and hairs in bath. They did begrudgingly clean it but with having to share one bathroom glass -and with dirty windows and terrace (full ashtray) I won't go there again

    It looked beautiful - vey picturesque

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the bedroom needed work in some areas. The bar area is fine but I thought that the TV in there and the name written everywhere, lowered the tone considerably, compared to the rest of the place. Easily fixed though.

    Beautiful setting, great staff, good food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The timing of when they come to clean the rooms.

    The breakfast and relaxing atposfere.and at night when they come to room to turn down your bed and leaving a chocolate

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really loved the hotel. The room has the view overlooking the valley which was stunning and make you feel so relaxed just by looking at it. The staff was super friendly and attentive, really appreciate all their help on everything.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in bedroom didn't work and aircons didn't work as they should. Both items should not be like this in accommodation of that price.

    Size of accomodation

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not well prepared.Not enough towels.Only one bar of soap and one product in bathroom.Nothing in shower.No cutlery in kitchenette I feel they should give gowns and slippers at a hotel of this caliber.Also no pencil or pen and notebook.

    The staff were very obliging

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is too short for a person over six foot. I am six foot four and slept really uncomfortably. Tall guests should be given the option of having a room without the foot end on the bed or an extra length bed. No mention of this at check-in. I cannot believe they have not had this problem before. I had to sleep with my feet either off the side of the bed or with my knees curled up all night which was really uncomfortable. Not good.

    Excellent setting and ambiance. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing in terms of buffet. Could have done better. Bath tub was not clean but everything else was good

    Room was great. Balcony was great. Private.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot meals and drinks come at additional costs. Those made available were all laid out on a big table and had flies and mosquitos landing on them... I left to have brunch elsewhere.

    Loved the chateau complex and size of the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our villa needed some tlc, with moist seeping through some walls, causing paints/wood to deteriorate, doing "damage" the the rest of the five-star amenities in the villa.

    Very beautiful environment and mountains surrounding, plus the facility extraordinary!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff need training and hostess at the breakfast is required to seat guests and better see to their needs.

    The location and size of the room. Privacy. Beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Distance to main street of town is a little further than we would have liked, however, this was more than compensated by the high standard of the accommodation and the stunning views. Be prepared to use a taxi or ask the hotel to arrange a transfer. Costs are low in comparison to home for transport.

    Breathtaking views from the accommodation over the mountains. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a spacious and wonderful villa. Food in restaurant was welcome with unusually late order possible. Staff try very hard to make you feel welcome and ensure you enjoy your stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The photos on booking.com show rooms of a higher category (honeymoon suite) and we got a much smaller room. Having checked with the duty manager, she confirmed that five of the seven photos on booking.com are from higher grade rooms. This is effectively fraud and we were then upgraded for the second and third night to a fantastic villa. So be careful and perhaps check with the hotel. Other negative point was the swimming "pool" - it really is like swimming round a fountain!

    Staff response to booking problem

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in dire need of an upgrade. Everything felt & looked extremely run down & "tired". Paint was peeling off the walls, door frames were cracked, the curtains were frayed, & the carpets in the bedrooms really need to be cleaned. The shower plug was totally blocked & flooded the floor. The staff were friendly but clueless about service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    equipment in kitchenette was terrible and as a group we had 4 suites where we barely had a 4 place setting between all of us and no bottle opener in the middle of the wine region. One of the suites had a constantly running toilet which meant the shower didn't work and despite requests, nobody came to look at it. There weren't enough towels, a few snags that needed repairing in a few of the rooms and the breakfast was average. It's also quite a walk from town if you can't walk far and don't want to drive.

    Bed was great... pool was nice...stunning, stunning views...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our towels were not fully replaced on our second night.

    The staff. Phindile is an absolute gem and a huge asset to L'Ermitage. Complimentary steaming service was a HUGE bonus. No task is too big or small.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: