Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Zimbali Lodge

Zimbali Estate, 4390 Ballito, South Africa

#4 of 9 hotels in Ballito

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 62 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Good experience overall but lack of info at time of booking on location of the room vs facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    * Being obliged to take a bus to the restaurant for breakfast (located in another hotel) does not make sense at all, was not clearly brought to my attention at time of reservation (online), and was very annoying as you loose time and it also breaks the flow of your holiday. * Room was far away from everything, you need to call the reception to send you a buggy to pick you up from your room to the reception of the lodge, and then you need to take the bus of the resort to go to main hotel where all the restaurants+spa+access to the beach are. * Noise early morning that woke me up everyday, as of 7:00 am, the noise was coming from the golf (sound of a machine that cuts the grass and/or blow leaves).

    * Great pools * Delicious and affordable F&B * Excellent and friendly staff, always happy to assist and really-really great. 10/10 ! * Spacious and clean room, with a great balcony that offers an amazing view to the forest

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Fairtytale Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beach is rather far and requires a 3 km walk through the forest. However, if you are one for scenic routes and good dose of physical activity, then you will find it an absolute pleasure. You must be warned that the beach is not a swimming beach and you therefore need to be careful of the current, tides and marine life.

    This property offers both a feeling of leisure and luxury. The property is perfectly set in the middle of what I would describe as a fairytale forest. It is quiet and tranquil. The staff are very friendly and respond to every request with politeness and urgency. Our room, which I believe is a standard room, was incredibly spacious. The sleeping area opens into a spacious vanity area and then the bathroom, with both a shower and bathtub. I loved this concept. The property offers a lot, including a lovely hiking trail to the beach through the forest.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    the bed was extra comfy, the room and bathroom furniture...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view from our room wasn't very pleasant to wake up to. The dead palms needed to be cleaned out, especially considering the lower rooms.

    the bed was extra comfy, the room and bathroom furniture were beautiful. the outdoor furniture could do with a bit more work. the cart drivers were extra great, friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.4
    The Fairmont Resort is a shot drive away by shuttle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I book a lodge thats rated 5 star on the internet, and charges 5 star rates, I expect a certain level of service. Perhaps 5 Star service. Instead reception and check-in staff chose to correct me by saying that the lodge was 3 star, instead of "upping" the service level. My booking was not received and this all had to be sorted when I arrived to check-in. A late check-out grace period of 1 hour was granted when I asked. And this could only be approved at 8.30am on day of check-out.

    The Fairmont Resort is a shot drive away by shuttle. The shuttle staff are friendly and very helpful. The resort is very nice, although not everything is open during low season. The lodge and views from the room was beautiful. The infinity pool is stunning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3x negatives: rooms accessed by golf cart only as hill quite steep to walk up, wifi very slow. Rooms in forest and absolutely no view. Downstairs rooms too dark

    Spacious and clean. Good value for money at booking.com rates. Otherwise overpriced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    3.8
    They do not clean their rooms, the sink in the bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They do not clean their rooms, the sink in the bathroom was so dirty and so was the shower and toilet. We stayed for 2 nights and during this period the room was not cleaned. All they did was to just make the bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    the experience was extraordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the place was very exclusive and beautiful. privacy was will thought out and the services were on point, i could not ask for more and i'm definitely coming back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    The bed is huge, and super comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The state of the bath is shocking, the mini fridge doesn't event have a ice tray. I had to ask for a waste paper bin for both paper and to discard tea bags. The TV didn't work. The Aircon/ heater didn't work. The lodge has such beautiful Bali furnishings and it is so sad to see how the property is now being neglected. Such a once beautiful estate and now abandoned. It will be sad to see the point where the gardens are no longer manicured. Definitely not worth R2300 per night!!!

    The bed is huge, and super comfortable. The lodge is quiet with very little noise. The golf cart time around time is brilliant and their driving is good. The turnaround time for the shuttle bus from the lodge to the hotel is very good and the drivers are very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    Sad to see a waste of a hotel that is really in a great venue setting.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This venue can't be recommended for the price they advertise! It is rundown and tired. You have to shuttle up to the main hotel for restaurants and which are all overpriced. Rather book the main hotel for the price, saves a lot of hassle!

    The staff at the lodge and hotel, are great , friendly and try really hard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    The facilities are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge rooms were not up to the Zimbali standard There were ants on the coffee/tea station daily The room was just lacking. Our rooms were split and quite far from each other,even though this was a key request. Breakfast is a real task when you are staying at the lodge

    The facilities are great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Was a great stay overall!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The female receptionist was not very friendly. We were told that the shuttle operated 24 hours a day but on the day that we left, we had to wait for an hour for someone to answer the reception phone. The service at the hotel breakfast room was below standard and there was not enough indoor seating on the cold days.

    The room was massive and was in immaculate condition. The Valley of the Pools was great as well since there was a the heated pool and the weather wasn't great on the day that we went.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Breathtaking views. The place was amazing overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know the lodge is situated in like a sub-forest area. My wife and I bought a meal only to find ants all over the packet in the morning. The packet was sealed and all doors were closed. The bar fridge was totally empty. Also I can't seem to understand why zimbali doesnt have a fully fledged restaurant for halaal foods that are certified by an approved halaal trust body to cater for those that eat halaal only and don't drink and smoke. Very disappointing we had to drive to ballito junction.

    Everything else was on par. My wife and I loved it. We really enjoyed ourselves at the lodge as well as the V.O.P

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    We will be back, but not for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast at main hotel is over priced @ R245 per person when we only eat small breakfasts. ie fruit salad, croissant and coffee is R245. no option of a continental breakfast.

    A lovely spot. Well kept, lovely efficient staff. Peaceful and safe. Close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing but in high season I imagine it's lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location felt very isolated which was made even worse by the lack of a restaurant or bar. The mini bar was empty!

    The room was very comfortable and the property was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a party for the Durban July that weekend so it was a bit noisy.

    The rooms had a beautiful view of the sea. The rooms are big, the beds are very comfortable and kept very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    We were upgraded from the lodge to the resort, this was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The after hours menu and salad ordered was a disaster. Was not happy with the service at 31% either. The shower instructions and mechanics didn’t make sense and therefore not user friendly.

    We were upgraded from the lodge to the resort, this was a great experience. Leroy at reception had great customer service and the porters.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Zimbali Lodge is the Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service is excellent, calls are answered immediately and request met timely. The Staff are friendly and helpful, there are enough facilities for leisure needs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    This is a lovely place but needs some intervention from the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable although I think that the bathroom needs an upgrade. Mold on the silicone sealer in the basin is not what i want to look at whilst brushing my teeth.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    The quick shuttle service, the peace and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some fragrance in the rooms would be great..the rooms smell a bit stuffy, the aircon doesn't warm up..it felt like it is an abandoned lodge.

    The quick shuttle service, the peace and quiet..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Access to the units are only by golf cart. You have to park your vehicle at a central point. Not under cover. You are then transported to and from your unit by golf cart. this creates a problem when transferring luggage to and from unit. It is often a nuisance not having your vehicle close to you. Sometimes you have to wait quite long for a porter to pick you up in a golf cart. We asked for an extra blanket numerous times., but never received one.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely time and will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable and porters were friendly and helpful. It was a lovely place to stay at. Breakfast at poolside was a nice surprise as we couldn't have breakfast at the lodge as they don't do breakfasts anymore.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Serene, beautiful, peaceful & relaxing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough restaurants at the lodge. No entertainment for children. Room not thoroughly cleaned - dust.

    Serene, beautiful, peaceful & relaxing place. Great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    it was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room service, the food was awful and when we called to complain about it the service was very bad and the fact that our booking was confirmed for 3 nights but when we got there it was only for 2 nights.

    the view was great and i slept peacefully on a comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Very peaceful and safe place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very cold at night. No heating. Aircon heating was not working.No extra blankets. Had to ask for a heater for the room.

    Very peaceful and safe place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Good environment and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overhead shower water flow was inadequate - we had to use the hand held nozzle. No dustbin in room.

    Large room, bathroom and balcony. Clean facilities and friendly staff who attended to everything we needed with a smile.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant, good value for what we paid, the staff were amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in dress room was burnt and could have been replaced as it was a small carpet, there was a simba chip left under the pedastil next to bed, the wall in the toilet was dirty. I think the plug where the kettle is should be higher so u don’t have to put the kettle in the floor and I think Ciro coffee is horrible.

    Staff were amazing, beds were great, good towels, comfortable room . Decent hairdryer, had an iron.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t very friendly

    The scenery and luxury of the resort

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no noise,clean room,the bed was so comfortable and big.. I enjoyed every moment of my stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    I liked everything about the place, the staff is amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about the place, the staff is amazing they treat you like ROYALTY*.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no view from the room as it is surrounded by trees.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Great when playing golf at Zimbali for a short stay but not recommended for a long stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast available and could not check out on last night.

    Location and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Had great, more relaxed holiday, except for the weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were too soft, made me uncomfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.8
    Standards have dropped considerably. Staff not up to scratch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were shocking. Asked to be moved and without checking we were told that the property was full. Barely slept due to the condition of the beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Fetl like I’m in Heaven,you know what I mean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fetl like I’m in Heaven,you know what I mean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    Setting was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had no vegan options on any of there restaurant menus

    Setting was beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    2.9
    My room stinked, like no one had been there for ages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room stinked, like no one had been there for ages

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    My stay at Zimbali Lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a room with a view of just trees

    I asked for a pool near to the pool.. I didn't get that

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor security control at entrances. Poor control over people having parties in the lodges. No dustbins in the room. Among other things...

    Staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    It was an excellent stay and I would do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything except that the shuttle service is not well structured for days when it's not busy it takes too long

    Excellent stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money. Stunning location and scenery and the rooms very spacious and neat. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for valley of the pools

    Nice setting

    Stayed in June 2018

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: