Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Fairways on the Bay 4 stars

Corner of The Fairway & Victoria Road, Camps Bay, 8005 Cape Town, South Africa

#193 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 98 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortably but the TV had a poor quality in it the shower is not wide enough for two ppl more especially are accompanied by the partner otherwise the rest was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having seen the photos online, I was expecting that we would have some class of a view from our window. the first room we were shown had zero view, in fact, the window was opaque as it was ground floor. I raised the issue with reception and was offered a choice of two other rooms, which both had lovely views. We chose a room with views of the sea and Lion Head. the location of the hotel is perfect, right on Camps Bay beach so no uphill climb as with some other accommodations. Very comfortable room. Breakfast coupon for the adjoining cafe which had a lovely breakfast. Would recommend this hotel. A little expensive, but that is primarily due to the location so can't really complain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or means of room service. Yes, I know it’s a guest house but the local supermarket does not sell alcohol so this would be a bonus for supplies in room. Bathroom a little tired but bedroom lovely. We did not get a balcony which I prefer to have for my cup of coffee in morning and pre drinks.

    Location fabulous!! Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised to find no towel rails, tissues,cottonwood plus nowhere to put ones toiletries or make up,and very poor lighting in bathroom. Surprised,no DSTV,poor television programmes. I expected more for the price charged for a room per night.

    Position which is close to the beach and variety of restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady that helped me with the booking over the phone was really helpful and went out of her way to make my stay better (it was my wife's birthday). Also the staff in general were really friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise, lots of steps to get to the rooms and reception.

    Very convenient right on the beachfront next to all restaurants and yet only 10 mins from the city. Staff very pleasant and extreamly helpful.very

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we were allocated was very "tired". Receptionist was very kind in giving us another much nicer room. Location is unbeatable but the only main reason to prefer this hotel. Nothing bad but nothing exceptional either.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in Camps Bay. Room had a nice view of Lionhead and a slice of the beach. We also enjoyed the breakfast vouchers for the Mynt Cafe around the corner. Room was nicely appointed. Used the coffee maker by the front door.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meh everything was just ok, rooms were old and even when clean they didn't seem very clean, a lot of noise coming from the pipes in the rooms, was hard to sleep.

    Good location and cheap

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could use a make-over and the complex itself something looks a little bit old and can use an update as well.

    Breakfast was very good (although you get vouchers for a restaurant next to the hotel. Location is perfect, you are at the beach just by crossing the street. Room was big and had a comfortable bed. Reception is in the Place on the Bay hotel but they are friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff rude on check in. You have to be buzzed into the building by staff, twice we could not gain access to our room and had to jump over the outside gate to get in.

    Good location, breakfast at the nearby cafe was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic and the furniture is out dated and scraggy. Maintenance is overdue. Breakfast is not served on the premises and the voucher limits you to the essentials. You need to budget extra to accomodate a full breakfast.

    Excellent location, with in walking distance from the beach and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hair dryer didn't work. Access at bottom gate was questionable. Coffee machine down stairs no water in machine. Used water jug to fill it. Then found milk was sour.

    Room was neat and tidy. Bed was very comfortable. Problem hair dryer didn't work. Coffee machine in reception area no water & milk was sour. My id was left in copy machine only called by reception next day when back home. ID was sent to me via per registered mail. Thanks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water system.it was difficult to shower with water not coming out proper.

    I think the accommodation was great. However travelling from far its lovely to get a room with a view hence i then asked to be moved

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Definitely not worth the money. We were given a room overlooking a wall, while the picture on Booking.com had a beautiful sea or mountain view. It looks like the whole place would need to be renovated and I think it changed management recently. Definitely NOT the kind of service and amenities you would expect from a 4-star hotel! Problem with the tap in the bath (water was splashing from the tube and it was hard washing my hair) and broken rack in the bathroom, so there was no space whatsoever to lay our things on. There was also a problem with the door - hard to close - and all night long a strong light was coming from the corridor. Also the breakfast was disappointing: we were given vouchers to use at the bar next to the hotel, and we could only spend 120 R each, and the bar opened at 9 am so if you want to start your day with an early breakfast, you simply can't! A big disappointment to end our South Africa trip with!

    Nice position close to Camps Bay beautiful beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had a blocked drain for the entire stay. We had to brush our teeth in the bath. The staff were informed but nothing was done. Very overpriced for what we got. The cleaning staff were great

    The parking facility

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked a little tatty and needed a reprint. Breakfast was included but had to be obtained from restaurant next door which was nice but voucher only covered some options , we felt the vouchers could have been more generous so we could have a main and a drink. The walls were also incredibly thin we could hear all conversations from the room next door.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the reception staff wasn't very friendly and quite abrupt. I found house keeping a bit rude too. There's no restaurant on site, so regardless if you're a single traveller, you can't get any food on site but there is a restaurant right around the corner

    Very comfortable bed and rooms, lovely views of the 12 apostles and a bit of the ocean, most staff were lovely and friendly!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and room was very comfortable. We went to cafe next door for breakfast which was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Great view. Excellent value for money. Breakfast at the mynth was superb

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location right on the beach, great cafe next door with amazing breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Poor lighting over coffee making area

    Friendly staff, Large rooms, Great views, Close to beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in the back of the property with not very good light. No fridge facilities or international conversion plugs. No bar.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, dusty, shower was shabby,

    The location, big room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was dated and in need of upgrade.

    Location. Spaciousness of room. Breakfast voucher for Mynt Cafe (next door)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work in the rooms. All the facilities were dated. We left a day early.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not before 09:00!!!

    Value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    would have been nice if there was dstv

    they gave us vouchers to use at the restaurant next door Mynt. Delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom.

    The apartment was beautiful and the furniture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The vouchers to Mynt. The views. The proximity to the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, super friendly staff & comfortable rooms less than 1 minute walk to Camps Bay Beach & fabulous restaurants!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's closing soon for good

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast

    Convenience

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much

    The bed was most comfortable and bedding first class.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The check in process was a bit complicated because you need to go into the building next door (which is a sister hotel)

    The location is excellent, right by the beach and main road of Camps Bay

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1.The ancient bathroom 2. Always being made to feel like the establishment next door (Place on the Bay) took precedent over guests staying at Fairways on the Bay 3. Lack of Parking

    Liked the breakfast vouchers, at the restaurant that faced the beach

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could've been more selection for breakfast. However what we had was very nice.

    Staff were very friendly. Rooms were amazing. Very comfortable. Beds were 1st class.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Couple

    The timing of serving the dishes at b/fast. The fruit wasn't served early enough to then enjoy the hot plate.

    Being near the bay we cud walk early before b/fast and then sit in the courtyard having b/fast and looking at the sea.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Swimming pool dirty no service around the pool we had to use pool at next door hotel this ok but not ideal. No balconies certainly not for our room.

    Location was excellent

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needed milk for tea in the room in the mornings not only coffee creamer ??? Nespresso machine would have turned it into a 5 star experience.

    comfy bed breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location. Comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everthing was fantastic. Only thing they must be more spesific with the breakfast arrangements. We missed our breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Incredible location, fantastic staff, great facilities. Overall... superb, I would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift to room

    Very comfortable room and bed. Staff were amazing. Could not have been more helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely stay

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathrooms a little dated

    comfy and large room

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfectly located, very clean and comfy rooms and very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was comfy and clean

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating!

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything!!

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not great.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    It is a very friendly and efficient place with excellent staff. We will definitely return.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: