Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Forest Edge

Farm 118, Edge of the Goudveld Forest, 6576 Rheenendal, South Africa

#3 of 4 hotels in Rheenendal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 22 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    We loved the hospitality and location of Forest Edge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Cottage - FoxGlove
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the hospitality and location of Forest Edge. Close to the forest edge and attention to detail made the stay a memorable one. Danie and Amanda as hosts were warm and welcoming making sure that all our needs were cared for. I would highly recommend a visit to Forest Edge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    As honeymooners, we enjoyed our cute cottage, the friendly staff and the beautiful nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Cottage - FireFly
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee at breakfast was not filter coffee but instant coffee so I think if that was supplied, it would have made the yummy breakfast perfect.

    The cottage was comfortable and had everything that we needed. We loved the outside shower as well! Danie and his team made us feel so welcome and they were very hospitable and also helped my new wife feel appreciated with their hamper and extras that they put out for us. She was blown away. We also loved the privacy as the cottages are far away from each other so we felt like we were the only ones there which was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Nice relaxing, hiking, biking, family time stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basically liked my stay.

    Quite safe place where young kids can be entertained. Also close to hiking and mountain biking routes. alternatively stay indoor and come out for a braai at night : )

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    Nature lovers retreat-out of the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Cottage - FroggyPond
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold dark and gloomy very small rooms too many notes telling you what to do and not do overpriced and overhyped. Great and wonderful if you are a nature lover and better out doors with a braai (and a note...) garden furniture overlooking a pond.

    Birds frogs trees flowers

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    We will definitely be back!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Cottage - FairyDen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we didn't like!

    We loved everything. The accommodation is clean and has everything you need to be comfortable. It's quiet and peaceful. The forest walks are amazing. And watching the fireflies in the garden at night makes this place quite magical.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Excellent location and facilities with the forest at your doorstep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too short a stay.

    Perfect location for exploring the Knysna forests. Beautiful setting and very comfortable accomodation. Friendly staff and owners who will make any effort to make your stay satisfactory.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Very peaceful and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Cottage - FroggyPond
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very peaceful and cosy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Cottage - FireFly
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hosts. Beautiful and peaceful location. Lovely, well stocked cottage.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    This whole place is perfect, its real, its unique, its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING!!!!

    This whole place is perfect, its real, its unique, its peaceful and gentle. The staff are unbelievably accommodating....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Most pleasant and comfortable and quite stay with bird songs in the morning waking youy up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No shop facility on the site

    Being a self catering venue was a plus point.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.5
    Great place to stay for walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi

    Cosy and well appointed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable and imaculated conditioncabin . well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extra duvet for picnic complementary wood picnic basket

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dankie julle! Baie geniet !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    10
    There was nothing that we didn't enjoy during our stay!
    • Couple

    There was nothing that we didn't enjoy during our stay!

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14