Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5 stars

Main Road, 7690 Franschhoek, South Africa

#7 of 20 hotels in Franschhoek

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 102 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Franshhoek Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely Staff, they made our so special. We had a lovely room, with great views of the pool and mountains. The properly is unfortunately on the main road so you do get a bit of noise from that throughout the day, but otherwise it was great location - very close to town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    we had dinner at their restaurant Monneaux which we enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not like the reading lights - they are not at all suitable for reading. the only way I could read in bed was to hold the reading light in my hand close to my book they have a nespresso machine in the room which is great but when I asked if they had decaffeinated coffee could only offer me red espresso which is tea!

    we loved this property and the room is very spacious and well fitted out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    can’t think of any!

    the garden was just lovely and the distance from vineyards was very approachable. we got the big suite overlooking at the garden which was a big bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Great for couples, lovely food and wine, staff were faultless!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing worth mentioning!

    Before booking our stay i had read the reviews and noticed how highly rated the staff were, soon after arriving i understood why. From the moment we arrived to the time we checked out the staff, without exception, were friendly, courteous and couldn't do enough to assist! Genuine service with a smile from staff who really seemed to enjoy their work. Outstanding. Food and drinks selection at the restaurant were also very good, the room was fantastic and the resort generally was very well looked after. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    A Haven Of Peace & Good Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi atrocious. Daily promises of repair never materialised. Not good enough.

    Staff fantastic especially Ann Marie @ Spa. Anastasia & Murphy in Monneaux Restaurant & Breakfast. Suite 22 very comfortable. Shuttle to local gym each morning appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    One of the best places I've ever stayed! The staff do everything they can for you! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't have asked for anything more! Just amazing hotel!

    Absolutely amazing place!!!! The staff are so friendly and so helpful! The rooms are just stunning and the breakfast had so much variety. You get free bottled water and every day between certain times free beer and wine! The restaurant was soooo good and the food is just delicious! They made us feel so welcome and special! They also drop you off wherever you need to go in Franscheok and pick you up whenever you need so no need to book taxis. I liked being out of the hussle and bussle and closer to the winiers! They have bikes you can hire which I would highly recommend!!! I will definitely be back! We stayed here for our honeymoon and there were flowers and champagne in the room and they did the same for our dinner at the restaurant! Really was the best experience and the perfect place for our holiday!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.3
    Amazing staff but disappointed with property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had quite high expectations of this hotel due to its expensive price and unfortunately felt slightly let down with our stay. The hotel overall was quite beautiful however our room was a little dated and our balcony was overlooking the carpark which was a shame as I was hoping we would have a nice view to sip wine and relax. The internet also kept cutting out (my husband really needed to send email and had a lot of difficulty so we went into town). I also had the impression from the photos that the property was very large and we could ride the bikes around the estate however it was quite small and they were only for use to go into town. The dining area was also facing the carpark which I felt was a shame. It would be nicer to dine facing the garden or some greenery.

    Amazing restaurant- seriously fantastic food. We ordered the springbok and the summer salad and a dessert and it really was absolutely delicious. Truly 5 star restaurant. The staff were also very chirpy and friendly. They really made up for us feeling like we had overspent on the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful room,gardens and setting! We felt like royalty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was my Birthday and I was treated with a special gift and card, as well as a special muffin and Birthday candle with message at breakfast. It really made my day extra special. I also loved the rose petals on the bathroom floor that evening :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    An idyllic hotel, calm and friendly in a very pretty town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could be better - the Always on they use is not compatible with some UK devices - expected better access.

    Very friendly staff. The manager Michelle even lent me a novel to read. Staff at meals very attentive. Villas spacious, comfortable and spotless.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    A must for a classy romantic getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.....

    Fabulous accommodations. Hot water bottles to warm the beds at night! Flower petals strewn about the floor our last night there. Very accommodating staff, especially Jasper. Darling place! On premise restaurant is top notch. Try the chef's menu with wine pairing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Great location. Excellent food at the hotel restaurant and our whole stay was wonderful. The most outstanding feature however was that every single staff member with whom we interacted was so polite, professional, helpful and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Tranquil surroundings with many water features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Residue from trees in the parking lot left hardened glue marks on my vehicle which are very difficult to remove.

    Tranquil surroundings with many water features. Room had good privacy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel! Great service! Great facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mosquitoes!

    Breakfasts were great and the staff so accommodating. Villa was spacious and comfortable. Nice that there was a heated pool! Reception certainly friendly and polite

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    A very suitable venue for a weekend escape, very welcoming for both couples and families with young
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Attitude of the person at reception during check in was not of the standard expected. The pre booking for the spa was not recorded, but they tried hard to make up for the lapse.

    Enjoyed every facet of my stay. Had some difficulty getting the music centre to work (thechnophobe)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Attention and care
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately our rooms were facing the restaurant and the busy main road, which were quite spoiled some of our night relaxation. If you want to have a quite vacation, make sure you ask for a room looking to the vineyard, the pool or the patio.

    The most attention and best care ever we got from the staff. We had some issues with the rooms and as soon as we reported, they really listened and tried to solve. Special thanks for that. Breakfast is wonderful, complementary drinks are available by the pool which was a good surprise, hotel restaurant is really great Position of the hotel is good, if you wish to be near the village.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Location with wonderful views on the edge of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel in common with many that we stayed in provides no entertainment in the evening, and you can't walk into town in the evening in the hope of finding something to do. There is a room which would make a wonderful venue for a bar but it is dead with no bar staff after 5.00pm. The television plays sports channels to an empty room. The swimming pool was warm and pleasant but postage stamp size- a lot smaller than the photographs imply.

    Lovely Location with wonderful views on the edge of town. Large and very comfortable accommodation. Very good food and very helpful and charming staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    A great property in Franschoek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Astoundingly, no Mellott by telephone glass, in the middle of wine country, in the hotels very nice restaurant

    A great property in a great location . Wonderful an accommodating stall, and comfortable, we'll appointed accommodation

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    A wonderful place to relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bar closed early but it was always possible to get a drink at the terras of the restaurant

    Staff was very nice and helpfull. Rooms where distinctive and property is clean and wonderfull designed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    We liked everything about the place. Without a doubt one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in and highly recommend the place. Amazing staff particularly nelly. I would say she is a massive asset to the villas...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    beautiful, superb service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A worker painting a wall was not provided with a harness for security!

    amazing service, complimentary ride to the wine tram, everything is done for you

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.6
    Great staff and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a comfortable temperature at night was hard.

    Great staff and rooms. Underfloor heating in the bathroom was perfect. Complimentary shuttle to town was an excellent touch.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.5
    Overated guesthouse ........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed uncomfortable. I specifically asked for a bed with no wooden frame. Request was ignored. Shower in a bathtub in a room that costs R3700/night. Our room was next to the road. Traffic woke us up every morning around 7am. You cant sleep late here......

    The setting and scenery, Breakfast was amazing Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.9
    Nice guest house. But overated and too expensive.......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was located next to the road. Traffic was waking us up very early. Beds not comfortable and have a wooden frame which makes sleeping uncomfortable if you are 6'5. I specifically asked for a bed with no wooden frame but my request was ignored. A room that cost R3700 a night should have a separate shower and not in the tub. Wifi not totally free. No gym on site. You have to pay R60 to visit the gym in town.

    The location was nice. Amazing breakfast. Very lovely setting with beautiful views. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were so helpful and polite, the whole experience from accommodation to the breakfasts etc. was outstanding. Another plus was the use of the shuttle bus that was available to transport us to and from the Country house.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.5
    Lay out of interconnecting rooms for families wasnt ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lay out of interconnecting rooms for families wasnt ideal. Its two separate rooms with an external glass door. Plenty of space for a fold up bed for young teens to share with parents in one room as there is a good size living area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Cannot wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot wait to return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    The staff experience from reception to Ben, GM was exceptional consistently exceeding expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communication between booking.com and hotel.

    exceptional country experience with all the luxury and convenience of the big city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Separate shower

    Bed extra comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    The property is excellent as well as the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in the restaurant was a bit disappointing.

    The property is excellent as well as the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Second time we went there! Staff is exceptional friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Bfast on the balcony!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No issues at all.

    Breakfast was very satisfactory, transfers to town were easy and efficient, rooms large and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    A place we difinitively recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A place in paradise

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    4.6
    below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very old fashioned rooms, breakfast not so good

    not much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful surroundings for a romantic get away
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do for teenagers

    Fantastic breakfast and happy staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay over in luxury and romantic setting. Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Ability to treat my friends in the spacious villa room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    The yummiest buttery mini croissants were served
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Response time to emails to the property

    The yummiest buttery mini croissants were served

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful breakfast and excellent happy hour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast and excellent happy hour. Rooms were lovely and spacious. We also enjoyed the balcony with the beautiful views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service. The transfer system to and from town was very efficient. All staff was extremely friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    A home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single thing

    Attention to detail Smiles Management Food Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Excellent place for a quiet getaway. We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it! The room was great as well as the facilities and the staff was extra attentive! Was great to have the shuttle service!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.2
    Great accomodation - lovely balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting - scenery - very French

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    4.2
    Helpfulness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet wasn't working and payment via CC impossible

    Helpfulness of staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.6
    A superb stay in Franschoek
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    The suite was beautiful. The staff were superb. The food was delicious. An all round excellent stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    Tranquility next to the wine farm tram track
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Get rid of the bright blue temp light on the aircon.

    Wonderful food!Shade.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Well be back, yet again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Flow of water down basin plugs.

    Bed mattress a little too firm.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Nice Swimming pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Street noises during the night

    Nice Swimming pool area. Staff was extremly helpful. We were upgraded at no extra costs.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The service was excellent, the staff couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    3 Nights in Franschhoek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second visit. Very convenient for Franschhoek. Staff always helpful. Fantastic breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfect surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say.. loved our stay!

    Gorgeous decor Inviting cottages Fabulous staff Best breakfast ever!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    relaxing and stress free stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great staff and on site facilities. spacious rooms and setting is magnificent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    Detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Detail Friendly service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.2
    all very clean , friendly and sufficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sound system in room not working all that well.

    all very clean , friendly and sufficient.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Your staffs attention to detail, friendliness and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Preferred the poster bed room you had on the booking.com website when I made the booking and was sad that our room had twin beds

    Your staffs attention to detail, friendliness and cleanliness of the suites

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    8.3
    Loved the size of the villa suite and the welcome bottle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Can't really fault the place!

    Loved the size of the villa suite and the welcome bottle of champagne and snack; a great touch. Breakfast was really fabulous: a wide range of fruit, cereal, pastries, cold meat and cheese as well as a selection of cooked dishes. Wait staff were so helpful and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    10
    We went to this hotel 14 years ago when we were based in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We went to this hotel 14 years ago when we were based in Cameroon. Unfortunately we had to cancel the reservation for personal reasons. We had lunch and took a picture and the staff showed us the room we were supposed to stay. We were so disappointed. We decided to go back to make our dream comes true while living in the DRC. It was extraordinarily remarkable. All staff were polite, helpful and friendly. The room was pleasant. It was just perfect to have a relaxing time and read a book. The entire atmosphere was so lovely. The Monneaux Restaurant was amazingly delicious. We truly enjoyed springbok, duck and kingklip fish. The sauce was heavenly. It was worth going back.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    9.6
    We celebrated our wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We celebrated our wedding anniversary. They made this occasion so special for us. Our room was perfect. The staff was friendly and efficient. We dined at the Monneaux Restaurant on the premises and it was excellent. We enjoyed every minute and would return in the future.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    10
    Staff was great, the rooms and the service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I missed was room service but breakfast on the balcony was lovely.

    Staff was great, the rooms and the service was excellent. Will definitely go again!

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    10
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staying two more days!

    Friendly helpful staff. Courtesy shuttle to town and all local restaurants. Charming comfortable rooms. Great facilities in a stunning setting.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    6.3
    Staff was helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel 30-80m from Main road. Traffic noise all around. No isolating glass/pane in our room. Rooms closer to the road may have double pane. Hotel claims to bring an ultimate experience. It does not. It is OK and then rather high priced.

    Staff was helpful

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    9.2
    Great location, could walk into Franschhoek or the hotel had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perhaps a better bar area?

    Great location, could walk into Franschhoek or the hotel had a shuttle bus. Beautiful suite with large balcony (large bedroom with separate living room and large bathroom with good selection of gels/shampoo etc.). Nice breakfast room with good choice of buffet/cooked food. Two small pools, perfect for cooling off. Friendly staff. Very peaceful hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    8.8
    The ambience of the place and a driver to pick you up and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We requested a specific room by email twice and got no reply! We stayed in that room last year and loved it. Our room this year was a little disappointing.a relaxed

    The ambience of the place and a driver to pick you up and drop you off.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    10
    Can't fault this place for anything, super attentive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Can't fault this place for anything, super attentive staff and excellent experience from Check in to check out. Very good breakfast and although We didn't try the restaurant for dinner it looked very good. This was my second stay in Franschhoek (first time in akademie street boutique hotel) and it is again very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    Liked the varied layout of this property - like a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Liked the varied layout of this property - like a small hamlet. Small cottages interspersed with two story buildings housing standard rooms. Restaurant in separate building was excellent. Service at this property was excellent and appreciated the on-demand shuttle to town centre.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    7.5
    The food was excellent and one staff member in particular,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the treatment room being close to reception and the busy road alongside the establishment - makes it a bit too noisy for a relaxation environment. The establishment could do with more attention to detail - like improved staff uniforms and training. We found empty drink cans in our bathroom cupboards - this could have been avoided by thorough inspection prior to our arrival. There doesn't seem to be a senior manager overlooking all staff. Overall the establishment is lovely but can lack exclusivity if filled to capacity as ALL the suite balconies face the same central garden square. Parking facilities for guest cars can be improved

    The food was excellent and one staff member in particular, Lizette, made our stay a memorable one

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    10
    It was a beautiful stay made better by the location and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The area classed as the 'bar area" is small and located in the best position.

    It was a beautiful stay made better by the location and the hotel, including all the staff who made ever effort to make us welcome.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.6
    The beautiful rooms with all the modcons and luxuries eg:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beautiful rooms with all the modcons and luxuries eg: speakers in the bathroom to listen to the provided selection of music whilst having a bubble bath. The attention to detail - each night a card was placed on our pillow with the weather predictions for the next day. The breakfast each morning was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    8.8
    Authentic quality accommodation with a very professional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The swimming pools could be a bit cleaner.

    Authentic quality accommodation with a very professional approach to giving their clients a pleasurable stay

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.6
    My family and I enjoyed a wonderful evening - from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    My family and I enjoyed a wonderful evening - from the exquisite gardens to the very comfortable large suite - extremely friendly helpful staff - all round it was a wonderful experience and we will definitely be back.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    I absolutely loved the structure of the buildings,the rustic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was exceptional

    I absolutely loved the structure of the buildings,the rustic and romantic look with it's beautiful French furniture and soft and feminine colors in the bedrooms,very luring and attractive, the food was made in heaven, never in our life's have we had such delicious and tasty pasta, it is a must for honeymooners to experience the warmth and great vibes that the Franschoek Country Villas has to offerl. You fall in love from all over again with a night out at this great place

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    The hotel gives true meaning to the term five star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel gives true meaning to the term five star. We were made to feel like valued and important guests from the start of our stay right until the end. No request was too troublesome for the friendly and extremely resourceful staff, who catered to our every whim and more. A fantastic experience.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception stuff were not well organized. Eg. We asked for a booking at Reuben's at 19:00 on the Friday. She made a booking for 20:00 and didn't let us know. We only found out at 19:00 when we called for the shuttle to collect us.

    Beautiful place. The architecture gardens and rooms were amazing. So beautiful in the middle of winter. The hot water bottles in bed at night were just a cherry on top!!!

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.6
    The restaurant was a eye-opener,food was brilliant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was a eye-opener,food was brilliant and delicious and I will never look at service the same way. Our waiter was top class and made the experience even beter. Thank you for a wonderful stay...

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: