Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of George Lodge International 3 stars

86 Davidson Street, 6530 George, South Africa

#34 of 37 B&Bs and Inns in George

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 66 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited TV channels. Made me miss home. Our bathroom had no window. An air freshener spray in the bathroom can make a tiny difference, please consider. Especially for family rooms.

    Very beautiful and quiet place. The braai area and pool add a nice touch to the stay. Checking in and out was very smooth.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    every thing needs to be improved

    Small cramped room, very noisy. The bathroom was dirty and not cleaned during our 2 day stay. Had to ask for clean towels. Definitely not value for money and very disappointing. Will not be going back as

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful staff. Breakfast was delicious. I enquirered about the sausage and was told it was made locally. I went to the butchery and bought some to take home. Everything was ver comfortable. If I stay longer, I would like a easy chair to sit in and read. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was put next to smoker, who smoked on the balcony shared with my room (12)

    Quick checking, great bed, satisfying breakfast. Great value for business travel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't represent good value for money. There was no shower, the decor needs upgrading and currently no more than a two star grading.

    It's well located.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I rarely voice my disappointment. But for the cost of the booking I could do way better than what the George Lodge offered. The cleaning staff were having some kind of loud disagreement outside our door when we brought our luggage in I booked a smoking room only to discover it's a non smoking facility The shower should be renamed a dribble, I've had better shower facilities in Sierra Leone, Ghana and Tanzania in the middle of the african bush. The TV only had 4 channels - soccer and local channels - even after unplugging and resetting the decoder. Extremely noisy guests after 22h00 both nights we were there and nothing was done about it I wished that the beds were separated, because the accommodation was booked for my daughter and I There was no air conditioning, seriously I could have booked R1000 cheaper a night for better facilities The towels were really rough, and there was no hand soap The coffee is supplied in a really tiny glass jar, there wasn't even enough to make one cup of coffee the first night we were there Cremora coffee creamer...... Surely they could supply those tiny little sachets of milk instead.

    Breakfast was really excellent The room was sparkling clean Reception was really efficient The beds were comfortable WiFi was good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark. The bathroom was very old. From the pictures of the website we got the wrong idea of the hotel. They are actual pictures of the hotel, but we were expecting something smaller and cosier.

    It is well located, near bars and restaurants. There is parking space.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy traffic. But if I chose a place closd to restaurants, so the traffic I expected

    Close to Restaurants

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    Lovely privacy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom window opens onto the passage where other people can see you.

    Delicious breakfast served on time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homely and very neatly maintained

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locatie.

    Center George. Standaard hotel. Basic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom smelled so bad, urine.

    nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with sofa bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe and quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was very accommodating

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    road noise

    great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For them to increase hospitality towards other religions

    Upgrade the premises and cater for Muslims as well

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was cool and comfortable and as city dwellers the road noise did not disturb us

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing stairs at my age.breakfast okay but slowservice

    Friendly staff, clean facilities

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in time was 2.00pm, we arrived after 3.30 and our room wasn't ready had to wait 10 minutes for it!

    Breakfast was quite nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room set-up was below the standard. Not even a plug on the work table

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi didn't work. Breakfast was poor unfriendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very disappointing. Black is not a good colour in a bedroom. Breakfast Not good

    Position good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room heating

    Friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Conveniently located.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception lady very bland, not particularly courteous. We arrived from Prince Albert at 13:00 and asked if the room was available, stating that we knew we were early, to which she responded "rooms are only available from 14:00, but I will check". The room was available, but her manner was not visitor friendly.

    Clean room, enough space, proximity to restaurants etc

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    we enjoyed a pleasant 3 night stay at the lodge,were assisted by friendly, courteous and helpful staff. Beautiful, tranquil surroundings. stunning garden and pool area. we had to leave one day earlier than anticipated and the staff were very understanding and accomodating

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not a bad experience per se but the receptionist could be a little more welcoming. A smile wouldn't have hurt.

    The stay was pretty pleasant. Everything needed was available.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Equipment no longer modern a bit noisy from the street no air conditioning

    Breakfast. the best omlette in South Afrika Short walk to many restaurants

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very friendly. breakfast was a la carte and high quality. our room was large and comfortable and it was great to have good wifi. They even did our laundry for an amazingly good price.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The entire stay was very comfortable. The location was convenient and within walking distance to a couple restaurants. The breakfast was wonderful and the rooms quite comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Drinking water was not supplied in the rooms. Balcony was not cleaned.

    on arrival the shuttle was already waiting for us. friendly and helpfull staff. the logde is located in the centre. we were supplied with requested plates and kitchen utilities

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Couple

    We werent told that there was room cleaning service, otherwise we would have packed our things out of the way etc.

    Friendly staff, beautiful pool area, comfortable homey room and yummy breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location was great. Staff very friendly. Rooms has all you needed. Nice garden and pool.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was very limited

    Reception very helpful

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room had step which was not obviously identifiable. Wife fell, that step MUST be sorted.

    Breakfast good

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no fridge in the rooms

    The location of the lodge and the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air-conditioning. Was very hot and with only a small fan, very uncomfortable.

    Clean and slept well.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    close to the center, simple but functional, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No bar facilities, no milk for tea in room, curtains hanging off rails, needs updating,

    Breakfast ok but limited

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: