Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ginnegaap Guesthouse

54 4th Avenue, Melville, 2090 Johannesburg, South Africa

#17 of 77 Holiday rentals in Johannesburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 240 apartment reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely garden setting and nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No full-length mirror in the room

    Lovely garden setting and nice staff. Also: A daily newspaper in the breakfast room! The jasmin was in full bloom and the garden felt safe and peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    - Staff was very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Staff was very friendly and helpful - nice and clean rooms - good and quiet location, with 2+ restaurants nearby - we enjoyed a tasty breakfast in the beautiful garden - good starting point to discover Johannesburg or for a short break before the next trip

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Great host. Really enjoyed our short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host Corlien and her staff were so helpful, from organizing our airport transportation to catering to our needs and providing a delicious vegan breakfast. Others members of the family enjoyed the wonderful regular breakfast. The location was excellent for shops bars and restaurants. We only had to walk a few blocks. We also enjoyed relaxing in the lovely gardens.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.1
    Noisy rooms, but splendid breakfast & the neighbourhood of Meville make up for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was rather noisy, no isolation. When there were people chatting in the corridor during the night (11 PM), it was as if there were no walls at all. Bathroom is rather small & dark, which does not give a "clean" impression. This was still acceptable for me, but rather disturbing for my girlfriend. Our room in general (room 2) is a bit small for 2 adults & their luggage. I think the other rooms might be bigger, so a good tip to try & go for the other rooms.

    Breakfast is excellent. It consists of a basic buffet, combined with à la carte orders of the most delicious meals (special eggs, splendid advocado toast, etc.) They organize activities from the B&B, which is useful. The host had a chat with the guests in the morning, to see how everybody is doing & to advise in their travel plans.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    An oasis in Melville
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were right at the back of the property towards another road, so it was a little noisy at night. We were wanting some assistance a few times and couldn’t find anyone around.

    We arrived quite late at night but we were able to organise a transfer which made everything really stress-free. The guesthouse also helped us out with getting to and from the soccer one night. We also loved Melville! What a great neighbourhood, we felt safe walking around, even at night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    The location and service and cleanliness of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of breakfast preparations - being inside the house was a bit distracting

    The location and service and cleanliness of the property. Great breakfast too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    Great staff but room and location were a problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The room was okay, but the ceiling fan was too noisy (seriously) and the bed was not comfortable. My room was located near the breakfast room so I would wake up very early with the noise of people setting the tables. - Just as a note (this is not a complaint, since I could have made a better job checking the room details): it said "air conditioning" on the overall description but the rooms I saw didnt have air conditioning. - There isnt a gym nearby, if that's your thing. - Melville region is cool (great bars, restaurants and young people) but I didnt feel safe. The streets are dirty, badly conservated and at night were very dark. Also, there are some weird people at the street checking you out. I didnt feel safe walking around (and I am a man! I wonder what a woman would feel) - There is a nearby supermarket (sometimes people call it "mall") but the actual mall is farther away.

    The hosts are excellent. Breakfast was amazing and I had some incredible scrambles eggs. Also, there are some great restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Tasty stay in Melville, Johanesburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guesthouse is very comfortable and exactly what we I expected. We stayed for one night, but even for longer stay it is excellent place! The neighborhood is safe and clean. There are many of bars and restaurants close to it, but you will not be disturbed by any noise. Staff was very welcome. All the three bedrooms where comfortable and clean. Some shower cabins would need small refurbishments but in total everything is good. In the morning we didn't have electricity, but despite of that our breakfast was on time and very tasty!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    Okay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hospitality of the staff and that the alarm kept on going off on Sunday. No great selection of coffee, no fridge and the hair dryer didn't work.

    Great bed and shower gels

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staffing (advise about restaurants, take away lunch...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dark room, shower in bath without curtain and possibity to hang shower, not private since talking in next room was almost understandable by the word, noise from street (playing children and shouting workers early in the morning)

    Friendly staffing (advise about restaurants, take away lunch, parking after check out), good bed, spacious room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    A nice place to stay with an excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were no screens on the windows which allowed an occasional one to pester us all night. We had a very good room but the staff was outside our window working in the afternoon and a bit noisy. Also the kitchen crew started at 6:30am for breakfast and our room was besides the kitchen.

    The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable, two nice chairs and a small table and the breakfast was very good. The staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Charming little walled garden to sit in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charming little walled garden to sit in. Close to great eating places with lots of atmosphere. I was given as self-contained flatlet at no extra cost.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Room was well equipped, clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to wait outside the gate for someone to let me in on arrival, with the entrance not clearly marked. Was told there is free Wifi but was never given the pin.

    Room was well equipped, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Very cosy and quiet Guesthouse, with a great host in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cosy and quiet Guesthouse, with a great host in the middle of Melville. Great to have a first impression of Joburg. Very friendly staff. Lots of flexibility.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Happy in Melville
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has different room types (size, layout, aspect, etc) and Corlien was obliging when we asked for a room change from our first night. So you may like to check on the room details when you book.

    Room 1 inside the main house met all our needs - comfortable, spacious and clean. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Corlien provided loads of local information and contacts for activities. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    It was good and worth the money I paid.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that I got was secluded and the door was facing the gate and people on the streets were able to see me while opening the door.

    The room is spacious and has also the fridge and the microwave which is not availabel at other accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Service Excellence
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I am disabled I would like to see a ramp to reception. Otherwise every need taken care of, a great place to stay - highly recommended 😊

    The excellent service, room with patio so comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Ginnegaap little gem in Mellville
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quick and excellent service and facility to have easy access via call button to manager on duty. Also like the availability of iron facilities. Breakfast was great !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    I liked the location, the staff was very welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Very place.
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little restricted in terms of options of what to eat. But otherwise alright.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. They accommodated all my needs. I really felt welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant house in a safe neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the main house, and we could hear our neighbors coming and talking late at night.

    Very pleasant house in a safe neighborhood. It was very nice to sleep on a comfortable bed after a long flight.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    8.3
    Charming property, good value, peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom didn't have a shower — instead it was a tub with a shower hose, and the lack of shower curtain made the bathroom a bit wet.

    The property is very peaceful and attractive, and is in a very safe and pleasant residential neighborhood, but still walking distance to the shops, restaurants and nightlife of Joburg's Melville district. The price makes it even more attractive. Melville is a great location for people who prefer a safe and upscale — yet also rather Bohemian and fun — ambiance, and this is a great choice for anyone who likes the small-scale B&B feel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.8
    Good choice in Johannesburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The haidryer provided didn't plug into the outlets (and not in my adapter). The (free) wifi directed me constantly back to the sign-in page but otherwise good.

    Good and safe location, close to restaurants and shops, and easy to find your way into Johannesburg. Comfy bed, safe and (in room #3 small) fridge in the room. Outstanding breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    What A Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mosquitoes? But that's hardly their fault. Comes with the territory when you have lush surroundings. Also, mosquito repellent was provided.

    Apart from our room being airy, well furnished (wine glasses hello??), my favourite place about Ginnegaap were the small touches. Coming back from a leisurely walk in the sweltering heat to a clean room with the air con on? Priceless! The breakfast is beyond average. You literally can have something deliciously different everyday of the week. The pool area is beautiful. Location, location, location! We drove in at check-in and out on check-out. Inbetween we walked everywhere. Clubs, dinner, shops. Literally a 10 minute walk max to anywhere.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    5.0
    breakfast and cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff was unpolite or disappeared when called. they put us in a bedroom (number 4) that was pretty much next door to the kitchen so the noisy began at 7am everyday. the manager also turned on loud music in her radio while we were trying to sleep in the morning and when we asked her if she could it turn down she said just "ok". when we pressed the button (there was one in each room and in the main gate and we were told to press it if we had any request or question concerning the guest house) in the evening before we leave the guest house to ask where we should leave the keys they ignored us. so I went to press the bell in the main gate and she attended. I apologized for disturbing her and asked if she could come to our room for us to get our receipt and ask about the keys. she just ignored and didn't come. another sad incident happened when we left our personal belongs in the room and went to the breakfast area to eat. a guy from the staff entered in our room while we were eating without telling us and removed both part of the TV and its remote control.

    breakfast and cleaning

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    Ginnegap...is an idealic urban get aware..a true value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I can't fault the host..because these issues is beyond their control.The taxi rides is a bit steep...tourist rate!!!Hire a car!!!😮 and the pavements' around the restaurants' lots of uneven surfaces...wear sensiblefootwear

    The Hostess and staff...cordial,receptive, informative ,helpful and the breakfast tasty & delicious.The fusion rustic and contemporary look of the place gives the place ambient feel...of perfect get away.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.9
    Nice little place in central melville
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are quite thin, if you have a room in the main house you'll hear the people talking outside quite easily. Maybe if they could do something with the soundproofing, then the place would be perfect!!

    The guesthouse is really nice furnished and the place is in the centre of melville. The breakfast was good and the atmosphere personal. Nice quality for the low price!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.6
    Had a very nice stay at ginegaap in early November (booked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The budget rooms are in the main buildig close to the reception, so if you mind being woken up by a noisy group of frenchmen checking out maybe go for the other room type (happened to us on the first night, all other mornings were fine)

    Had a very nice stay at ginegaap in early November (booked one of the budget rooms which are in the main complex, definitely worth their price! ). Staff was super friendly and helpful (they offer 24h of support by staff members on site) and breakfast is great! The location super handy and everything is 15 min by car, plus you have loads of restaurants and bars in walking distance (we'd recommend leopard, hell's kitchen and picobella)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely place to stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful (one of the guys dealt swiftly with a big spider!) my room was nice and big and the bed super comfy. All felt very luxurious after a camping trip in the bush!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    4.2
    A bad stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no air in it. It was hot and I struggled to sleep. The pillows were hard. The fan made a lot of noise. I didn't stay for breakfast

    Nice garden and accessible

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    I liked everything about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about this place. Rooms were big and gorgeously decorated. Breakfast was delicious. Staff were helpful and friendly. If I ever go back to Johannesburg, this is where I'll stay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice and comfortable stay in Melville
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room in the main house and it was a bit noisy. Lots of leaves in the swimming pool. Water pressure could be better.

    Room was spacious, the manager Patrick was friendly and attentive. Great that we were able to check out a few hours later. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For now I am happy

    Other employees like Patrick are good. Keep up the good work,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Slow WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow WiFi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location/establishment. Strongly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect service ( late arrival) Good breakfast Safe carpark Very close from very pleasant area ( 7th street)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay in Johannesburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location could not be better, close to restaurants and cafes, we could walk there even at night. Very safe area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Good location the bars and restaurants of Melville.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay @ Ginnegaap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self-Catering Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed the staff friendliness, the excellent breakfast variety and the piece and quite at Ginnegaap. Thanks so much - we will be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self-Catering Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was alittle awkward but adequate

    Quiet, private and close to amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    delicious breakfast!, beautiful rooms, finely decorated!, beautiful garden, good neighbourhood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Excellent place, this for years running!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Super friendly staff, great vibe to the house without it losing its function, that wonderful garden

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, clean and comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, clean and comfy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    6.7
    it was rememarable
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Serene.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serene.....close to shops

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Excellent breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfasts. Warm,friendly hospitality. Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff and lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp, musty smell in room.

    Friendly staff and lovely breakfast. Nice garden to relax in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom counter a bit outdated

    Awesome breakfast, great value

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    The staff were great from the night manager who opened the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were great from the night manager who opened the gate for us in the wee hours of the morning and still managed to smile.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous and safe stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hospitality from the host.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Great full breakfast included in price.
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great full breakfast included in price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    The place was excellent .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was excellent .would definitely visit again.great reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    2.5
    Shower had zero hot water and was like a watering can.
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had zero hot water and was like a watering can.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Overall everyone is friendly. Breakfast is the best
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2 was small and we didn't have cups

    Room 4 is the best room to be in, my partner lived the free WiFi and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Service Excellence- Highly Recommend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Quiet.
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking spaces are very narrow.

    The breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant small guest house within walking distance of restaurants in Melville.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Decoration and comfort of rooms, pleasant garden area, proximity to Melville. The owner was helpful and offered useful advice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    I had a pleasant stay, the staff is quite friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was terrible

    The shower, the dstv, and the heater. Also the bedding and bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    The House is at a nice Spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The House is at a nice Spot. The Staff is really friendly and its very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Neat and tidy good welcoming
    • People with friends
    • Self-Catering Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Neat and tidy good welcoming

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Easy to stay at, workers are friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was a bit small, but nice water pressure

    the place is closer to my destination at Auckland park, Quiet and neat

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    FRIENDLY AND EASY SERVICES.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    VARIETY OF BREAKFAST OPTIONS

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Melville stay was too short
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self-Catering Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self contained flat was private. Location is great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.1
    Good value guest house close to 7th St with many bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast. The guest house sorted driver for us to take us into the city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    Very comfy beds.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of

    Very comfy beds. Great breakfast in the garden. Walking distance to bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy place, clean, nice staff, great location in Melville, walkable and safe to the main Melville strip.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.3
    VERY helpful owner, who helped us set up much of our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    VERY helpful owner, who helped us set up much of our programme before we arrived.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff, owner super friendly. Great location, it has everything you need.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    great host, great place, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self-Catering Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great host, great place, great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money guesthouse in the heart of Melville
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor shower, kettle didn't work.

    Good: location, breakfast, staff, bed, wifi, garden, tv channels selection.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    fantastic place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi. they give you 1 GB per day.

    The breakfast was delicious, the garden fantastic and the staff, fabulous

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.8
    Too bad we only stayed for one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very comfortable and clean, loved the breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Best guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff, good breakfast, amazing garden. clean and cheap.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.9
    Great location, in one of the best neighbourhoods of...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It can be a bit cold at night, as there is no central heating system. The management provides you with small portable heaters anyway.

    Great location, in one of the best neighbourhoods of Johannesburg. The guesthouse garden is simply fantastic to relax, read a book or just enjoy the sun. Rooms are spacious, clean and well furnished, with TV, tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast is tasty.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    10
    Super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Super friendly and helpful. My parents were leaving on an evening flight and so they helped make arrangements for a day trip with a driver who eventually delivered them to the airport as well. We all slept great and breakfast was fantastic!

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: