Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Walmont at Graceland 4 stars

eMbalenhle Road , 2302 Secunda, South Africa

#4 of 4 hotels in Secunda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 34 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Perhaps the property place in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is quite pricey, but I could not find fault with the facilities. Also, four star accommodation is rather scarce in this area. A very small matter - In terms of attention to detail: I did miss a hotel information document: Most hotels have an information guide in the room, including important phone numbers, in-room dining menu, check-out times etc. I have requested one from reception, but it was not delivered to my room. I suspect that my request might have been misunderstood.

    The rooms were very spacious and the check-in staff very friendly. Parking is free (unlike many other hotels in South Africa). The breakfast was good and compared well with other four-star breakfasts. I did enjoy the hotel and will stay there again, should I ever have to visit the area again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.4
    Close to where I had meetings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpets, dirty couches, marks all over the carpets, beef in breakfast tastes horrible and restaurants didn’t have prawns for dinner as they had shown in their menu

    Close to where I had meetings

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    Okay but could have been a better experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room service - I only ordered one thing i.e. a bucket of ice. I ordered it on Saturday afternoon at around 4pm. At 5;30pm it still hadn't arrived so I called again to order - By the time I checked out the following day, I never received the ice. The web-site advertised golf and accommodation packages but when I tried to book, there wasn't any available so I booked the accommodation through booking.com. When I arrived there, packages were still available but according to the receptionist, I could not take it because I had booked already. False advertising in my mind!!!

    The golf course and the service received from the Pro shop was excellent. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Definitely will not be back in a hurry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is definitely not a 5 star hotel. The loungers at the pool were filthy. There were no pool towels. My husband asked someone to get some towels. When they still had not brought them after 30 minutrs I went to fetch the room towels. Suddenly someone appeared and told us no way could we use room towels. Then we got pool towels - about an hour later. At the restaurant I signed the bill and then was called about 30 mins later ti pay as I could not sign to the room. We were also woken up in the early hours with huge noise in the room next. It went on for hours with clearly drunken people swearing and shouting. Nothing was done until 5 in the morning when we were leaving anyway as we were running a race.

    The room and bed were comfortable. Breakfast was good and staff friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    Probably the best choice for a stay in Secunda.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air-con was a bit noisy but I did not need it as weather was cool. Breakfast selection could be better but OK. Music outside at times too loud, pool side.

    very good value for money and interesting place for a few days. Wifi was good and there is a choice of restaurants. Enjoyed the Augusta Club Lounge. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.1
    Buffet at Blu Byyou was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is not a 4star as advertised. Its is in desperate need of painting the outside. A 4 star should have more spacious rooms and better selection of tv channels. And a big no no is thd 1940 type shower in the bath...please I did not know that those type op showers still excist?

    Buffet at Blu Byyou was nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    4.2
    No value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was not welcoming. The tv quality is not good. It wasnt a pleasant stay because of the cold welcome.

    I liked the view of the gold course and pool. The food was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in the middle of no where. I would recommend it anytime. Very pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered a glass of wine and requested it to be included in my hotel bill. Only to be told that its cash basis. The booking was confirmed on a certain amount, but when I checked in, the amount was different i.e more than on confirmation. It was a good thing I had my confirmation slip with to show at the reception.

    The ambience was good and we were never rushed to check out. Very comfortable beds. We did not make use of the restaurants nor the pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    Good relaxing stay. Smoking in public areas was a problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoking section doors remained open and the heavy smoke smell leached into the non smoking section. Staff didn't tell smokers not to smoke in the non smoking section, even at the casino tables.

    Breakfast was good. Most of the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.7
    A casino palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View of huge domes with smoke/fire nearby.

    Nice looking hotel, big golf course, good breakfast. Good place for those who likes casino and that kind of atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly reception staff!
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attitude of the lady cleaning the room. She let us know that the late check-out which we had requested at the time of making the booking was an inconvenience .

    Very friendly reception staff! Our request for an extra early breakfast (at 04h45 due to running a marathon at 06h00) was absolutely no problem. Very welcoming and accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.1
    Short and sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The long delay to sort out the discrepancy with the amendment to pensions rate with Booking.com. at reception.

    Relaxing in the lounge. The friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Overall the friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security isn’t visible

    Overall the friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    No water bottle in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water bottle in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.0
    This is not a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4 star hotel. Overpriced. Stayed at lake umuzi the next night with much better service and facilities for just over half the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Good stay. Friendly staff and really good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in a bath tub combo never works for me. Pick one or install them separately.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and effecient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small choclate at night.

    Comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Very attractive apperance of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outdated rooms

    Buffed dinner, lively place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    10
    The beds were incredibly comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were incredibly comfortable. We ordered room service twice and they were also super fast with the delivery. All the staff that we encountered from the front desk to the cleaners were so friendly and regularly asked if we needed anything. Totally recommendable. :)

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    7.1
    Lovely hotel.
    • Couple

    We were not informed about all the other entrances being closed early. We had to call the reception desk for them to open for us as we had not been informed that the main entrance was open. Also find it a bit invasive to our privacy that if we stay at the hotel we have go through the casino in order to get to our room. The gentleman that let us in on the 2nd night wasn't very apologetic about the situation. And nothing was done in the firm of an apology to reassure us that he was genuinely sorry. Breakfast was very limited and the lamb sausages were not edible ...

    Lovely hotel. Nice spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    reception was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    reception was good room service excellent cleanliness of the rooms breakfast pack excellent especialy for diebetics like myself, the pack has a full diet

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    7.9
    we ate at the the one restaurant on the Wednesday night even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    we ate at the the one restaurant on the Wednesday night even though the stakes were tender they were cold and looked like the stove was not hot enough and the chips were the same.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    7.5
    Was just on our way to another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The possibilities of a dinner, the receptionist and on the homepage it says 3 restaurant, there was actually just one (in my opinion fast food). It's a big hotel with a casino, if that is what you want it's ok. In my opinion they try to compete with american hotel chains.

    Was just on our way to another hotel. The personell was really friendly and the breakfast buffet was amazing

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    Spacious and comfortable room with excellent lighting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room service was not real. I still had to go down and pay immediately with my credit card and wait again for food to be sent up. I could have dined alone as such.

    Spacious and comfortable room with excellent lighting

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    5.4
    convenient to Sasol offices and better than the other hotels...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor quality if lighting in the room means it is impossible to sit in bed and read a book. Lacks power points to use laptops, charge phones, kindle etc. Not set up for business traveller and yet that must be the target market for the majority of the guests

    convenient to Sasol offices and better than the other hotels in Secunda

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    8.8
    The staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. The staff promised to call me when my room is ready and that never happened. 2. I requested a king size bed and I got 2 beds

    The staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.2
    The place is beautiful, very clean & spacious rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Didn't have any so far.

    The place is beautiful, very clean & spacious rooms. We had a lovely stay! Breakfast also with a variety of fresh meals!! Was awesome!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    The breakfast spread was more than enough, but a very small...
    • Family with older children

    The air conditioner didn't work properly

    The breakfast spread was more than enough, but a very small variety of fruit was available.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    free breakfast with lots of variety, luxurious room
    • Solo traveller

    Finger foods at the bar are not available

    free breakfast with lots of variety, luxurious room

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    all good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems

    all good

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    Food was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food was excellent. Staff was very very good

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    10
    Breakfast variety excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The electric point for charging of phones not convenient.

    Breakfast variety excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    6.7
    rooms were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    restaurant food was dire

    rooms were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    5.8
    Location, staff
    • Couple

    Outdated, entertainment and eating choice limited, pool in wrong area, upgrade patio and breakfast room

    Location, staff

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    7.9
    staff, golf club house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    location (closed to a coal power plant)

    staff, golf club house

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    8.3
    Enjoyed omelette, delicious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Enjoyed omelette, delicious!

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    8.3
    the buffet restaurant excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    maddison restaurant much to be desired in fact lousy

    the buffet restaurant excellent

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.6
    Its was relaxed and enjoyable with good privacy
    • Couple

    People were very loud in the passages while trying to sleep.

    Its was relaxed and enjoyable with good privacy

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    6.7
    Casino and golf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food was bad

    Casino and golf

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.1
    air conditioners and quiet sound proof room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant menu was very poor and staff not too available.

    air conditioners and quiet sound proof room

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    7.5
    Pool , rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool , rooms

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    6.7
    good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    On line I booked a double bed room on my arrival I was given a double single bed room.

    good location.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.8
    The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious and cosy.Friendly staff and a warm welcoming atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    9.2
    The hospitality of the staff at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hospitality of the staff at reception. IE. Jabulele and Thepelo. Room service was very friendly and accommodating to our requirements.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    Good service, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good service, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.6
    Great breakfast, despite renovations!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Casino unnecessarily "stingy"... Limited play available?

    Great breakfast, despite renovations! Friendly + efficient members of staff

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.5
    breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    8.3
    Staff, facilities, food, rooms were all what I expected and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff, facilities, food, rooms were all what I expected and more. Perfect for what I needed.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    everything

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    10
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    10
    All round good service and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All round good service and facilities. The food was loverly. Staff had a smile

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    8.8
    Room comfortable and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of parking closer to the hotel

    Room comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast spread was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No covered parking. Limited options for Vegetarian diners.

    Breakfast spread was excellent. Golf course looked good. Will return to play.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: