Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. Western Cape hotel reviews
  4. The Crags hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Green Hills Forest Lodge

Reviews of Green Hills Forest Lodge

15 Knysna Road, [N2] The Crags, 6600 The Crags, South Africa

#4 of 7 hotels in The Crags

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 110 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice option for a stopover for our trip through South Africa! Very well equipped place. The owner was super nice and hospitable. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.2
    Nicely decorated, comfy bed, warm (heaters were there), has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can hear noise from the road/highway as it’s nearby.

    Nicely decorated, comfy bed, warm (heaters were there), has everything you need for preparing food. On top of that the view is beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    Amazing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing! Everything went great!

    Lodge was really beautiful, super confortable, super functional. Wi-Fi perfectly working with Netflix available. A lot of contact with the nature. A complete kitchen. And the owner was amazing. It was just PERFECT!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely but cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It wasn't warm enough, but it seems to be a thing here, central heating doesn't seem to exist in south Africa so you have to make do with insufficient blow heaters and the like. Some places we've visited have electric blankets which help a lot. Pillows could be improved.

    Everything else was perfect. We would definatly recommend if it was warmer weather

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Most beautifull view and loved the wild deer on our door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most beautifull view and loved the wild deer on our door step. My daughter was in heaven. Nearby monkey land, birds of eden and the elephant sanctuary and lots more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    10
    The couple that own Green Hill Forest Lodge made a person...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Their wasn't anything I didn't like.

    The couple that own Green Hill Forest Lodge made a person really feel welcome. The place is amazing. Wouldn't hesitate to stay their again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    9.6
    The beautiful Fallow dear stag which ate apples out our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen could have a few bits xtra things for comfort eg side plates, better cutlery. Also better ventilation. But it is very comfortable and well considered in its presentation.

    The beautiful Fallow dear stag which ate apples out our hands!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    10
    Idealic retreat with added bonus of location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All perfect!

    Owners are so friendly, lovely, helpful and understanding (especially when we got lost on our journey from Johannesburg to the Crags. Place was beautiful every little detail from Netflix to biscuits by the kettle. Waking up and seeing deer/ antelope was very beautiful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    Friendly bungalow in the woods with your own private deer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entrance to the property is hard to see from the road. You need gps coordinates to find it.

    A very modern and well equiped bungalow with outside terrace and private braai area. And the deer of course ... who comes to your bungalow and eats apples right out of your hand. Magical moments!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable rooms in a quiet green area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No breakfast but we went to a place called ‘Maple and Moss’ which served delicious breakfast. This is only a 3’ drive away from the guesthouse.

    Clean and comfortable rooms in a quiet green area. Great value for money. We had a nice view on the hills but not every rooms has this. Close to Plettenberg and Nature’s Valley.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, comfortable, bucolic accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not easy to find. Locked gateway with signage excluding 'forest lodge' rather confusing. Rough track from gate to appartment. Not very near to shops, restaurants, etc.

    Beautiful scenic and quiet location. Self contained accommodation is well equipped. Comfortable and cosy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    9.6
    Brand new cottages
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Brand new cottage with all amenities you’d need. Beautiful room, equipped kitchen, nice bedroom, big windows that look out over the garden. Very friendly and helpful owner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    9.6
    Great location,very friendly and very competitive price .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smell of cigarettes first night in bathroom,probably coming from other apartment via central vacuum system . Shower has its own life sometimes 😏

    Very kind owner , great location between the park and Plett . Very cosy apartment . Speedy Wi-Fi and we enjoyed the Netflix possibility when it was raining. Loved the deer in the garden who came around for his daily apple .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    10
    A last minute decision to stay in the area which turned in to one of the best nights of our holiday.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, it was all good.

    The location, facilities and staff were all amazing. They went out of their way to cater to our needs. And to top that of the price have the most amazing value!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very lovely Loft, we had everything we needed for the self-catering, the whole loft was spotless clean, there was even netflix We would come again!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing host, beautiful rooms and a fantastic view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing host, beautiful rooms and a fantastic view. We enjoyed our first stay so much that we booked a second night on our way back.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    Great location near Tsitsikama forrest right on the Garden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location near Tsitsikama forrest right on the Garden route. Awesome apartments with everything you need.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable accommodation. Very nice area with views over the forest.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    10
    Very nice and clean place in a quiet green area near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, everything was perfect!

    Very nice and clean place in a quiet green area near Plettenberg’s Bay! Our host has been absolutely kind to us!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.6
    Convenient and very good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good

    Convenient and very good price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Beautiful location and very cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Beautiful location and very cosy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Eccellente soluzione per monkeyland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Lovely Stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved feeding the deer apples in the mornings!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    10
    Really beautiful and luxurious room with a nice view and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really beautiful and luxurious room with a nice view and possiblity to sit outside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    7.5
    Quiet
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    10
    Relax with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Perfect location with perfect views. A cottage with everything you need.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    9.6
    It was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower kept going between hot and cold.

    Excellent location... nice, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    BEAUTIFUL SETTING
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely comfortable apartment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    7.1
    Calm and relaxing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had problems to regulate the temperature os shower. We all had cold or boiling showers.

    Peacefu place ! Very kind host.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    7.5
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit warm inside especialy on the top floor.

    Very peaceful and secure and friendly people

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    8.3
    Private and pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Private location with deer roaming the garden and victorian's warbler calling from the bushes, very handy for Natures Valley and Plett.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    8.3
    Sign posting from the N2 could be better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sign posting from the N2 could be better.

    Stayed in September 2017

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!