Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of GuBas De Hoek meet eat sleep 4 stars

45 Reitz Street, 6705 Robertson, South Africa

#8 of 13 B&Bs and Inns in Robertson

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 233 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delightful hosts - Günter & Balbina - who were very professional, friendly and "hands on". Comfortable room. Excellent breakfasts. Secure parking. Only 10 minutes on foot from town centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A road was very close, and was disturbing while relaxing. The dinner at evening was very delicious, but in my opinion 20-30% overpriced to local prices.

    The room was great equipped and beautiful furbished. The owners are very friendly. We loved the garden. The breakfast was the best we had on our journey.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage - 16 Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ad was misleading. Not clear when we booked that the allocated room was was next door, away from the garden & pool, self-catering, no breakfast included, extra cost R150! NOT a 'home away from home'. Interior cold & bare, not cozy, poorly designed. Garden surrounded by vibrocrete walls, not old & established as in the pics.

    Nothing. I saw none of the staff so can't rate them in fairness but that's not an option.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    This is a clean, well-run B&B in a quiet part of town. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and I particularly appreciated the pleasant garden. Thoroughly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft with Private Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although you have to go through what looks like a dodgy area on the way there don't let this put you off. It was perfectly safe for us & the team also suggested good local taxi operators in case you wish to spend time at the Four Cousins, sampling a few of their excellent wines. Also don't visit the Robertson winery expecting a quaint old building as it's mass production on a large scale from a very industrialised unit.

    Great service from the team who even let us borrow their bicycles for a short Sunday morning ride round Robertson. After I'd sorted out a puncture. Fabulous breakfast as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inadequate Lighting in bathroom, and towels were hard. Single basin in a double room. Basic TV- no DSTV

    Clean, comfortable room leading onto lovely garden and pool, and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft with Private Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhat noisy in the morning due to the property being on one of the bigger streets in the centre of Robertson

    The lady owner - Balbina - was very friendly, helpful and informative (re wineries near and in Robertson, as well as hikes, restaurants etc. She suggested that we eat in a restaurant walking distance away (in "Small Robertson Hotel"), which was superb. The swimming pool! Big enough to do 7 or 8 strokes, unusual colour and conserving the heat with a cover when nobody swims! Our bedroom (No. 9)! Spacious, very clean, lovely linen and all sorts of little but helpful "things": books to read; shelves, objects of art etc. and lovely bathroom The hearty and very tasty breakfast with "plunger" coffee

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I genuinely have no complaints, our hostess, Balbina, gave us a very friendly send off

    I particularly liked the garden, it was a pleasant and peaceful area to relax I

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage - 16 Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work. The parking made turning round difficult. The price of the breakfast was way over the top.

    The room was pleasant and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast closed at 10am and was at the breakfast room at 09H30, he refused to make warm breakfast 🙄🙄🙄 The host just got bad attitude 😏

    Outside sitting area Information give by the lady at breakfast about what to see in the area was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft with Private Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisyin morning, but located on town, so traffic noise to be expected

    Owners very friendly, great room and gardens . Brilliant breakfast outside in gardens.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect

    Nice and cleaned swimming pool Quiet and very welcoming place (welcoming drink) Very friendly owner and staff who gave us very adapted advices (wine list included;) Big rooms, very cleaned

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 rasher of bacon for breakfast is a little poor (possibly may have been able to ask for more). No bug spray or mosquito repellent in room hampered sleep a little it was definitely mosquito season.

    The owner is super accommodating and helpful and really goes the extra mile to keep guests comfortable. Very good shower. Very comfortable bed. Super relaxed environment. Nice outside sitting areas. Excellent breakfast, nice variety of fruit, cold cuts, and breads, which preceded the warm breakfast. Very friendly helpful wait staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft with Private Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gu Bas was fabulous in every department. We loved it. Great staff, food wonderful. Room fabulous, far exceeded our expectations. We had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattress was not comfortable at all.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good Breakfast and very nice French toast - thanks to the chef. The kitchen and fridge for guests is a excellent idea.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Perfect place to stay, lovely garden and swimming pool, rooms are beautiful. Friendly owners and staff, great breakfast. Will definitely recommend!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft with Private Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much we didn't like, if I had to say, the shower was nice and big but shower head and pressure was not the greatest.

    Stayed in the loft room which was lovely, very comfortable beds and lovely private balcony. Hosts always go out of their way and staff very friendly as always. Outside area with pool beautiful to relax in during the summer with some drinks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was a set dinner, we were not offered a choice, we didn't think it was very good value

    We were welcomed very nicely when we arrived. The room was clean comfortable the heating had been put on in the room as it was a bit cold which was very welcoming, the breakfast was very nice and the staff excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole ambience was delightful, from the moment we walked in the door we were made to feel at home. I would heartily recommend staying here and I would certainly stay again if I visit the area again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single beds pushed together as double. Mattresses hard. Single bed duvets provided. Every time I turned, I was open and woken up. We separated the beds. Every time I turned I was afraid I'll fall off the bed. Towels were sparse and rough. My neck was sore from the pillows provided. Blood marks on duvet inner. Yuck!

    The inclusive breakfast was value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage - 16 Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really basic furnishings with no frills. For overseas tourists, a washing machine would be useful. Breakfast a little too pricey.

    Very private. Nice pool area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan in the room was too small to be as defective as it might have been

    Breakfast was excellent. Seating areas round pool were lovely. Staff were very friendly. Great selection of wines available

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage - 16 Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly and helpful staff, good advice from Balbina about things to do in the surroundings. Gunther cooks great meals!! We had a lovely and spacious and very clean garden cottage with a private terrace and garden in front of it and a little sandbox and little waterbox was placed for our 1- and 3-year old to play with, which they did non-stop! We had a lovely time and hope we can go back some day!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was not very attractive...no window..very very small bathroom..room opening on a yard where people can meet and be noisy..

    the owner is a very helpful and nice <madame>.I would have prefer a room near the pool...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good welcome, good breakfast and friendly staff. I appreciate the sharing of knowledge of what to do in the region too. Really good recommendations.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were hard, not nice and fluffy

    Very nice place,excellent welcome with a welcoming drink,good breakfast healthy options available, beautiful area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Loft with Private Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room's decor appears jaded, e.g. side table looks like a 60s item. Curtains barely covered windows. Only two coffee sachets and two milks. We like coffee before going to bed as well as first thing in the morning.

    Very friendly owner and staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was a bit too firm for my liking

    Collen, our host was amazing & served us beyond the normal B&B! He welcomed us with a smile, booked us dinners, lunches, a tasting, a boat trip even a spa treatment. To top it all, he sang me a breath taking happy birthday song! We loved GuBas De Hoek thanks to Collen. Will definitely return to our NEW "home" as often as possible. Highly recommend visiting this gem of a place. Spurgeon

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed had two small single duvets which is not very nice for couples especially on those cold nights...this however was quickly changed when we asked to have a double. The shower was very large and did not have a door, hence the floor got very wet. The floors throughout the room and bathroom were ice-cold and in general room was also very cold despite leaving wall heater on all day.

    The staff were extremely friendly and we received a lovely warm welcome from Su-Allen who made sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was amazing and in the summer can imagine the pool and outdoor braai facilities to be very lovely. Very accomodating hosts who even brought us breakfast in bed as we were too cold to get up! Perfect location for visiting all the wine farms!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were outdated and dark. A tiny bathroom with only a shower , and basically like an outhouse or staff quarters . We did not have hot water . So no shower in the evening. There is only 1 room with a bath in the whole place , There is no dstv - only SABC and mnet .

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was nice and clean. The friendly staff welcomed us and it was the little extras that made it special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very basic and dated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception and communication at GuBas was excellent. We were made at home from the word GO.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very attentive hosts and quality food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space bit cramped

    Safe and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has everything one requires right down to the magazines

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Nice clean and spacious rooms with secure parking for vehicle. Also great breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful garden, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage - 16 Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor braai ficilities in Family unit

    Pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft with Private Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rough towels.

    Lovely breakfast and really big comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The uprgade from a single to a double, was too expensive, in my opinion.

    The setting and Balbina is an excellent hostess

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a well-run property in a charming town. The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Peaceful location, private gardens.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roomy and clean accommodation. Friendly and personal service. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place. The staff and owners are very helpful and friendly. It’s nice to sit in the garden. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Breakfast was served in the beautiful garden. Staff very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and in a pristine condition.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hosts and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House - 16 White House
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely accomodation...spacious

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point maybe but the towels were very hard

    Good location nice pool in the middle of the town only a 10 min walk to the restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, the host was 1St class

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft with Private Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee bit to strong

    Everything was nice staff was friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft with Private Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The charm and helpfulness of the staff and owners. Nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage - 16 Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe and secure. Very beautiful and an awesome pool.

    It was nice and modern and had everything we needed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and professional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was stunning - best in the Western Cape

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom window was next to the walkway so I had to have it curtained all the time.

    The open shower was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent! Real gem of a place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation

    Pool area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. All fantastic

    There was an excellent welcome. The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nancy and Su-Allen were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft with Private Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single mattresses, request for double/queen size bed. Property close to busy rd, hence traffic noise.

    Staff friendly. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage - 16 Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. We were very happy

    The cottages are just wonderful. We presented with so much space and lovely yard with toys for our kids. We just loved it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    willing ness to make dinner though not on menu!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft with Private Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The friendliness of the owners and staff. The beautiful gardens. The room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage - 16 Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft with Private Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent quality food and service. Very gracious hosts

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is very tight!

    Comfortable & spacious-home from home.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Located on a very busy & noisy road spoiling the relaxing atmosphere

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was weak and no DSTV.

    Ambience, relaxed atmosphere, very welcoming, food excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners & staff couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed too little time.

    Felt like good friends rather than visitors

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic accommodation with great staff. Loved staying there.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: