Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hajos Lodge 4 stars

83 Ascot Road, Milnerton, Milnerton, 7441 Cape Town, South Africa

#158 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 110 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking! terribly tight, not wide enough, difficult to get in and out and was even woken up at 4am by a guest who was parked in by another guest. (so too many remotes issued for the number of parking bays.

    All staff were friendly and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, big, clean and comfortable room, in a quiet neighbourhood, overlooking the garden, with air-con. Fully equipped kitchen shared between 5 rooms and the drinks-filled fridge (“honesty bar”) a very nice touch. Sufficient closed parking space, even though probably safe enough to park on the street in front as well. Shopping centre with supermarket 5 min walk away. Warm breakfast freshly prepared, although the cold breakfast could be more and more varied.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not try your breakfast. But will next time. The reception was very friendly and such a awesome person. He was very helpful and friendly. And made everything very clear. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Basil and his colleagues were very friendly and very helpful. He walked with me to the bus station to show me how the public transport works. The apartment was fantastic, and the location nice and quiet. Especially the breakfast was complete, fresh and good. I have had a very good time here and can therefore recommend it strongly to newcomers in Cape Town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't access the wifi from my room, I had to sit outside in the corridor. From there the signal was strong.

    Staff were very friendly, the place was super clean, variety of options at breakfast, secure parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wifi is extremely slow and frustrating, I had to send pictures for business to my Johannesburg branch and email would fail and intermittent connection. The silver lining was I worked from a coffee shop and got to enjoy amazing views If you want to netflix or stream, you wont be able to. My suggestion for this b&b, dont have a standard uncapped account, go for a unshaped account. try get a higher link speed or push for Fiber. Please have a cordless kettle, it would really make life easier for guests to fill up water.

    The property is close to highways and central Close to beaches if you take a short drive Close to shopping centers Breakfast was fantastic and real home feeling. Staff friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom were tiny. The room was located right next to reception and looked out onto a messy backyard. Breakfast was mediocre and the coffee tasted as if the coffee beans were burnt. The duvet on the bed was too small and the pillows very lumpy.

    The aircon worked well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit slow most of the time. Not a big problem though as in the end it was a holiday:) so all good. But in case you are planning to do any kind of online work, make sure to sort out your own internet connection.

    Great location, perfect for relaxing holidays. We especially enjoyed the friendliness of the staff. They were all really helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff was very friendly, efficient and understanding. They arranged for me an early check-in and late check-out without giving me any hassle. They even stretched the breakfast time for me. They really did all in their power to makensure my stay stress free and enjoyable. The breakfast was diverse and delicious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place was clean, neat and really looked good. Staff and manager were both amazing especially the well behaved "Lucky". We will definitely return this year ! Lovely place indeed !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Seriously???

    Nothing! Absolutely horrible! Dirty, un-organised, had to ask them to clean the floor before I checked in, they double booked me and did not give me the room I paid for, pool was green, had to park opposite site or on the road - absolutely terrible - not sure how it got 4 stars??? You need to review your grading criteria

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unbelievably poor facilities. High rating is unjustified (friends?). Located very far from center. For breakfast only fried eggs with bacon during 6 days in a row. Owner is in progress of repairs in the middle of Christmas period: i woke up of banging hammer in front of my window, as if on construction site. Small bathrooms with rusted mirrors (pictures attached). Not recommended to people, who know how 4 star accommodation looks like!

    Only consolation was receptionist: bright guy, who sincerely tried to help...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wonderful guest house, friendly staff, very quite location and central to to most tourist attractions, Ian at reception was wonderful and always ready to help with your questions. A must stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Attention to every need. They go the extra mile!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was well appointed. Breakfast was plentiful. Large communal kitchen available for use of guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was at the other house. Not convient to go to another house for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TOP Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking is a problem. The bathroom can be stocked more

    The staff was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn’t provide value for money in terms of the room standard.

    The location was fine and central.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    aranging of parking. A bit difficult to understand Good breakfast. Staff could be more informative

    Quiet area. Nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing.

    the friendly staff and the breakfast was excellent. I would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower not well cleaned, some one's hair was all over the place

    breakfast was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness and comfort

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness and comfort

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they were changing the sheets until we complaint

    quietness

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    brackfast room , not sitting thogether at one table

    service is ok en staff is frendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    wifi slow

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing, it was ok

    clean, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast,same thing everyday from the kitchen

    The safety and tranquillity

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the comfort and the warmth of the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a problem

    Staff was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the professional and warm service by the staff. The room was very comfy and clean as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast is good, the hotel staff are very enthusiastic, very good, shower room's sewage is a bit blocked, the rest are full

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    amount of parking space and no one assist with my bags

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too Isolated Swimming pool dirty Breakfast no single tables After working hours no one at the front desk to help foreign guests

    Comfort

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of outside seating facilities outside the room's patio doors

    Hotel and rooms were well decorated and clean, staff helpful and polite

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't have breakfast later than 08.00

    Very friendly and helpfull staff! Nice clean and crisp room. Felt like a real hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Both was cool.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful staff and a really good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent! Great service! Clean and friendly reception.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal

    Hospitality was amazing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Excellent Customer Service

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, all good (:

    Went out of there way to help us.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fitness facilities, wifi slow

    Centrally located, comfortable rooms and scrumptious breakfasts

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The truth is that I really could not find any faults. If you are someone who is out to look for some fault, you will find it at the best hotel, but if you are someone who understands that you are visiting a different country and that you have to give a bit but take a bit, you should really have no concerns, certainly not at Hajo's.

    Booked with trepidation, but should not have worried. Excellent accommodation and fantastic facilities. I have stayed, over the years in some really good hotels around the world, but since this was a short break and my first trip to Capetown, I wanted to stay in a small community and take in the ambience, rather than a cold and detached atmosphere of a large hotel. The owner Hajo, could not have done more to see that we were happy. Nothing , but nothing was a problem and always with a smile and a chat. At reception Ian was just as accommodating and happy to help. Would definitely recommend Hajo's Lodge. In fact we intend to revisit Capetown early next year for a longer stay and will be in touch with Hajo.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dog in dining area, tv and satellite needed 3 call outs, no fridge in room, shower head spraying all over, no lunch or dinner served, pool area not well lit at night, aircon not sized sufficiently for the room, small mats beside the bed, room a bit small

    Clean and good finishing touches

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Very friendly staff and always a pleasure to talk to. Good breakfasts. Ian -front of house, super helpful and can give advise on places to see. Relaxed, very safe area. Easy to get to city, far enough away to be relaxing, great access to beaches and water sport spots.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Their service was excellent from book in to departure, they booked a cab for the evening, I had easy access when I got home the evening, Breakfast was good and well served

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Many foerign travelers especially those who travel alone seek for warm atitude and true smiles. If that's what you want stay away from this place especially from Lidya. In my case I was lucky having the privilege to get acquainted with Shaun who is one of the employees there and he is really one of a kind and a real asset to that place. To sum this review I would say that this place is perfect for bussines men but perhaps not suitable for others.

    As to the place itself and its facilities I would rate the place 5 stars if not higher. As to manners of the owner and his staff its 10 out of 10.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dog being allowed inside the property and into the eating area. Had to constantly remind the staff to take it outside - unhygienic and some patrons do not like dogs or even are afraid of them. Please remedy ASAP! Some variation in the main breakfast for longer staying guests. Eating the same meal for a week can be testing.

    The staff was friendly and the place was clean.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free wifi is does not have such a great coverage outside the main b&b (main house).

    the kindness of the staff, willingness to stay up late when arriving late, flexible, excellent service when having breakfast. Good value for money!

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great friendly staff especially Joseph & Donald. Good breakfast, well stocked honesty bar, ice pool area with well kept gardens. Made to feel very welcome by Hajo & his wonderful dog Lucky. Would fully recommend this property

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    i cnt think of anything i ddnt like! lol

    I liked the personalized attention we got from the staff and owner. The food/breakfast was great, all the time. The place is in such a good location we ddn't worry about security. All facilities were very well kept.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed slightly too hard for my personal preferences

    Clean and comfy. Great facilities. Helpful and accommodating staff

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Usually for 4 star the kitchen and lounge area is private per room. There were lot of ants.

    Beds were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The place and the people

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The quiet environment and friendly staff made my stay comfortable. The facilities were standard and I had the freedom to do my work undisturbed.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Receptionist was very sulky, did not come across at all friendly.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Couple

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The place was very clean. And we needed for nothing.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ideally situated for local shopping mall, which had a great steak restaurant. Bus stop literally on doorstep. Perfect location.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: