Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harbour House Hotel 4 stars

22 Harbour Road, 7200 Hermanus, South Africa

#13 of 19 hotels in Hermanus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 567 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Great breakfast and the staff were very professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not stay here on a weekend as both nights we stayed were a nightmare, blasting music till all hours, drunken screaming till all hours and idiots revving their cars and bikes to the maximum at 02:00 in the morning, we left there totally exhausted. None of this was the hotels fault as the hotel is actually awesome but as it is so close to all the nightclubs makes it a total no go in my opinion

    Great breakfast and the staff were very professional

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable, and would do it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom needed a bit of upgrading, the basin was scratched, the shower corners were stained.

    The friendly atmosphere, the convenience to the water front, comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Loved the location and the rooms were modern and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff to be friendlier on check in Breakfast did not accommodate vegetarians very well

    Loved the location and the rooms were modern and comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic whale watching weekend!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is divided amongst different buildings in the town. Saying that it is not far to walk to the main hotel building and the rooms were really nice and very comfortable.

    The view of the bay from the pool deck could not have been better. Watching the whales in the bay while lying on a deck chair is 1st prize!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Still one of the best in Hermanus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms are getting old and serious consideration must be given to upgrading and refurbishment. Bathrooms needs to be cleaned properly. I had the same comment a year ago. No one likes the smell of old urine, etc. around the toilet, especially at the rate charged.

    Comfortable and great location with excellent views of the bay and Hermanus. Staff are always friendly and very helpful. Rooms with enough space and facilities required.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    3.8
    Terrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sea view. We came 1 hour earlier and could not book in.lady at front office were unfriendly. Generator noise during night. Why we were thrown on the other sid3 of the road was unacceptable as we booked in the other side of the hotel closest to the office. My vehicle are very low and damaged my vehicle base when I came up from the bottom. Didn’t have breakfast last day as it was cold and not fresh previous day.maybe we should have been white.

    Room were clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Bad start to Good ending!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk manager at reception was VERY rude.He was not at all accommdating.There were riots in Hermanus which i was not aware of when booking was done.On arrival we were told room was not ready we went back at 15h00 to book in and was told room still not ready.We were unhappy to hear this as my husband had just come off from a 12hour night shift...and he needed to sleep!We tried to explain this to the gentleman but he got offensive, we then requested a refund so that we can find another hotel where we can get a room immediately-he refused! My husband suggested that he himself go look if room is ready,seeing front desk manager was putting up a fuss as not to being able to leave his desk to go look!!! EVENTUALLY he made a call and a gentleman by the name of "Martin" came to front reception...he was so very helpful offered us a bottle wine so long as they get room ready to accomadate us..we declined the wine but could immediately see "proffesionality" with Martin..he took charge and within 20min we were shown to our room.It was clean and cozy..bottle of champagne in ice as well and yummy choc brownies& strawberries-STUNNING.We had a good stay overall but i felt that you can make changes to your "front desk" manager or teach him to be more proffesional...he could definately learn a thing or two from Martin (finacial manager).

    BATH WAS VERY ROMANTIC AND ROOM COZY!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Great rooms and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have serviced apartments diagonally opposite the hotel and you don't realise until you check in that the view and property type are very different from one another which is not clearly mentioned in the hotel description.

    Great rooms and very friendly staff. Nice location and food in the restaurant is good. Check in and out were smooth.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Not anymore....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above, notbgreat managed, maybe because of off season....

    First was put in a next door apartment block, geberit Toilette broken, there were builders next door with press air hammer. Inward moved into the main apartment block. Nespresso machine in the room, but you have to get your own pods. Management should travel more and look how facilities are run.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    great romantic breakaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    with the heavy rain the A/C leaked and the shower had some mould which was quite disappointing also the shower door rubbers were in bad shape and hanging loose. the drain of the bathroom basin was also slightly clogged.

    beautiful location. It was raining most of the time we were there but that took nothing away from the stay, Hermanus is even stunning in the stormy rain weather, lovely romantic time. On the morning of checkout we got some sunshine and lounged around the pool a little, was amazing. Will definitely be going back in summer too. Breakfast was amazing, fresh produce, more than enough to last you well into the day out, walking around and keeping busy, super friendly staff also. Room was beautiful, bed was comfortable and the ementies in the room was sufficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.0
    terrible and inconvenience 5 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bus groups noise level, kitchen noise from 2am in morning room smell of the curry's being cooked every day for bus groups door banging down stairs by bus group guest.

    beautiful romantic room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.6
    Ocean view and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The romantic room basin had a bad smell. The bed left me with neck bite marks that wasnt a mosquito but something else. The croisants for breakfast was stale. 10 rand per nespresso capsule and no notice that i need to order, had to search for them. How this place has a 9+ rating is beyond me. The room had many broken fittings. Overall not maintained. Waste of money.

    Ocean view and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely great. Harbour house is a great place to escape to.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had great service from the manager and staff. The facility is in a great location and did not feel like leaving. Breakfast and drinks by the pool is a must. The view is incredible. It has some great restaurants on their doorstep with a shop just down the road. Take a bottle of wine with and sit on the balcony and enjoy the view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Location was in city centre close to restaurants and convenient to get around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a separate building which had card key access but the door was a sliding door so it could have been easy for someone to follow us. The elevator was quite noisy and we weren't even next to it. We could hear every time it went up or down. This is no fault of the hotel but there was a triathlon taking place the weekend we stayed there and it was quite loud as the event literally took place outside of our window every morning making it impossible to sleep past 8am.

    Rooms were updated and comfortable. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    2.5
    The stay was a great expereience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above. we would definitely stay there again and recommend it to Family and friends.

    The hotel was excellent. the staff were very professional friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely, clean with great views. The location made it easy to explore the town, beach and find a restaurant for dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed linen and pillows are showing signs of wear and need replacing.

    The position is so central for sightseeing; shopping ; wine estates and shopping. The towels are real bath sheets ! The pool area is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service. Check in time of 15h00. Does not leave much of the day to spend at the pool or enjoy the room. Especially if you book for 1 night. We arrived at 11 and asked if it is possible to have our room ready early. 14h45 it was ready.... o well the service in general was bad.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.4
    Dissapointing expected more from this hotel given the room rate that we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of reception staff Limited tv channels No response from staff when I requested them to fix my tv Late check in No bottled water in room Nespresso machine without pods. Bath room needs upgrade

    Location Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.6
    The croissant where flaky ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains where falling off the rails , no face cloths, no T.V. Had to re program , linen? No Rubbish bin in the bathroom , not value for money , had no idea our accommodation was down the road ? Not great ,not very friendly receptionist?

    The croissant where flaky ,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    The location is fantastic and the room is very comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is fantastic and the room is very comfortable with a lot of extras. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful sea view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    clean and comfortable the rooms
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    Security at night at the main doors of all the units because there where 2 guys at the door outside were we needed to come in and our card did not work to open the door. We did feel unsafe then, because they came closer and talk to us and ask if we do need help? They were not employees of the hotel.

    clean and comfortable the rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Luxury comfort stay 😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room card are very sensitive, had to exchange several times due to magnetic strip issues , should be more seamless...

    Everything was super pleasant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    An awesome place to rest your head in one of the most beautiful little towns in the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi was almost non-existent. We could find the WiFi, but just simply couldn't connect. The Television channels could also do with being re-tuned as they are all over the place.

    The Bed was super comfortable. The Pillows were a bit lumpy but it was no biggy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the WiFi code but couldn’t get this to work, May have been as we were in an annexe. Couldn’t get through to reception to ask what the problem was so gave up. Also problem with getting the TV to work.

    Nice pool in garden with fantastic views. Breakfast good, lots of choice. Room was in an annexe to the main hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    We celebrated my husband's 50th birthday and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    We celebrated my husband's 50th birthday and the staff assisted with arrangements to make him feel special - thank you so much! The Nespresso machine was a bonus. Oh, and of course the view!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water slow draining from shower causing it to go on the floor. Toilet door not closing properly. Toilet should have independent light.

    Pool and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had originally booked (by mistake) the 'Harbour House Square'. We didn't realise how far from the hotel this was and that in those rooms we had no real access to the main hotel and its facilities without walking across the road. This was disappointing as we had to upgrade at a premium to get to stay in the hotel. The rooms are situated in what looks like an office building with little or no view.

    Breakfast was fine with a large selection of hot and cold dishes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.1
    We had a comfortable and pleasing stay for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the feel of the linen. I prefer crisp cotton. I did not like that the light switch and fan for the toilet was connected to the entire open plan bathroom, so a trip to the toilet involved being in total darkness or putting on 5 lights?!

    The Harbour House hotel is situated in a prime spot in Hermanus. Although the facilities were all good, I found the reception staff a little cool. The breakfast room was disappointing although the service there was good. The room ( rather small) was clean and comfortable. All in all we had a short pleasing stay which suited our needs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.5
    Fair. Watrons all black imports racist remark last day at breakfast from male waitron.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsafe conditions.steps we tiles. Parking. Not having sea facing room ( executive suit) sea facing.too many unsafe steps no HEALTH SAFETY MEASURES. Gratuity boxes to make staff salary???. Not getting room that was asked for. Open gate to who come have meals. NO ROOM SERVICE???

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    3.3
    This is the second time we have stayed here and this time it was a huge disappointment. Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no management involvement, grounds were untidy, service at pool area poor, rooms were dirty and the gratuity boxes placed all over the place was a bit tacky

    location great and the breakfasts were good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    Was pleasant
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that it took me having to prove what was on the website and what I had booked was not great and that it took over an hour to get sorted, but credit to the hotel staff it was eventually sorted

    Liked the fact that the staff could sort out the issue with our room as the booking.com website had facilities listed that were not given to us in our original room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    We just loved the view the walking path around the beach area and all the great resturant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After checking in we were taken through the dining area with our bags through to our room and that to us was uncomfortable, moving through while people were eating bumping into tables as we went along. The same was when we left. The amount we paid for that room was too high for that kind of inconvenience. The clerk at the reception did not give us a remote to get out and we spent an unhappy time trying to reverse back down a very steep drive way. the parking in front of the hotel is totally inadequate when checking in we drove around many times just to check in.

    The room was amazing the shower, modern bath all up market. Our room was no 2 and was right near the pool and the view of the ocean. Enjoyed the complimentary water in the room. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    The service was absolutely spot on, friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are only 3 things that I really do think would improve the overall experience. Based on the cost of the rooms, I dont think that it is appropriate to charge customers for nespresso pods. There should at least be one nespresso pod per customer, per a night. The croissants were not fresh and the butter was not real butter. Just some friendly advice from a customer that was quite pleased with her stay.

    The service was absolutely spot on, friendly and efficient. The rooms were perfect, clean with comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel but managers motivates yours workers to service customers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost all workers were not happy to do their job . The atmosphere was bad. We had also problem with the TV and the pillows are bad

    Good logation, nice room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    great and easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    although we got our room early; check in time was only 15h00. this can be tricky for some.

    great staff; great reception by everyone. great setting for breakfast. great rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely guesthouse, great location & friendly, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely guesthouse, great location & friendly, helpful staff. Loved the minimalist interiors & the breakfasts were outstanding. We’ll be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed the overall stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we called reception to ask for help as our keycard didn’t work they forgot about us. We had to wait 20min and eventually go to reception ourselves. The last morning we phoned reception for some toilet paper and had to call again. We waited 30 minutes until we got the paper. There needs to be more attention in that regard to customer care. Otherwise we were central to all the happenings like the markets, sea and restaurants and bars. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back again soon! The breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant in kid friendly enviroment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No emergency lights and now reception or other personnel to assist after the power went off until 12pm. No generator on site and looking around at the other businesses around, this seems to be a regular occurrence in Hermanus.

    best possible position in terms of being on the beach, but with that comes noise till 2pm from nightspots around. The staff was helpful but reception could do better. On booking I would have liked to know the layout of the rooms. We travelled as a family of 4 and should have had a suite with two adjoining rooms but we ended up with to separate rooms on opposite sides of the building as I choose the recommended choice from the Booking.com website.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    All in all very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred to stay in main hotel than self-catering for our purposes. The blackout was an inconvenience...perhaps you should look at some sort of generator

    Yummy toasted sarmies! Lovely view from the pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Property is wonderful with good rooms and views but service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property is wonderful with good rooms and views but service was awful. Power cut caused us to be locked in and took them 20 minutes to manually overide. They forgot we had kids so bed wasnt made then they tried to charge us, the key had to be fixed 3 times to work.... need to improved drastically AND they charged me for rooms after I paid Booking.com

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the bottle of water in the room you assume to be complimentary is not and you are charged when checking out for it There is nothing in the room to tell you this

    Excellent breakfast Lovely pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    It was fine, the rooms are good, the hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi connection in the room we were in (separate from the main hotel). Also the members of staff we saw weren’t that friendly, and not very eager to please/help. There were two acceptions, but in general they were not as helpful/friendly as the other hotels we have visited in SA.

    Good location in the harbour centre, close to restaurants and shops. You can see the ocean from the sun loungers

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Perfect location for being in the bustling heart of Hermanus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sense that staff are left to own devices, and no evidence of there being a masterful hotelier at the helm. Staff were noisy in early morning. Lack of flexibilty for checkin time (our bags were allowed to be sent to our room an hour before we were allowed in. Mini bar fridge not stocked, with claims of a deposit being required, despite holding of our card details through booking.com. For the price we paid, we could not help having felt slightly mugged.

    Perfect location for being in the bustling heart of Hermanus Village. Well appointed room in original hotel building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    Not Good. A surprise for my wifes 50th Birthday to meet her brother who she has not seen for 12 year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were booked into the Harbour House sister hotel and there was a disco on until 2am across the road from us. The whole room was lit up with street lighting and kept us awake as if we had the room lights on. There was no blind etc to block out the light. They moved us to the Harbour House hotel where the room was free of most noise but no air conditioning only a fan and with temperatures over 35 degrees and the mattress was like sleeping on a rock. Breakfast was below average. Would not go back and I am seeking a refund for the first nights stay. Also very over priced as they charge tourist rates and not worth the nearly £150.00 per night to stay.

    The position of the Main Hotel right on the Sea Front.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    The pool area was a lovely place to sit and relax;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very hard for my liking but apart from that nothing.

    The pool area was a lovely place to sit and relax; the view across the bay is stunning! It is a quiet and peaceful hotel and a friendly and safe environment for children.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing planning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful to make sure you're in the main hotel, the second set of rooms are a few minutes walk out and have no views to speak of. Personally disappointed the staff put a family of four in rooms two floors apart

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Lovely location, fantastic room, very friendly staff and nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been a bit better

    They kept a champagne bottle for us on the first night since we were on our honeymoon. Mr. T at the reception also offered a free upgrade to their romantic room. We didn’t feel the need to accept the upgrade because our room was perfect! The location couldn’t have been better too!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.5
    Location in Hermanus perfect, room a nice size. Nothing amazing but does the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pools were ice cold, staff never knew the answer to any questions and always promised to call you back but didn’t. Location of Harbour Square in a much less glamorous location to main Harbour House (make note if you book the luxury suites).

    Room size was excellent, staff were friendly and general facilities and location were superb.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay at the romantic suite with the balcony and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay at the romantic suite with the balcony and the ocean view; spacious room, big shower cabin, nice interior; breakfast was really good! Nice pool - small but was enough for us; you can also rent bikes at the hotel - famous Grotto beach is just 15 min away by bike. Staff was super nice helping us to upgrate the room, arranging a late check out and helping with various bookings in town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Everything went well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great - walking distance to the nearby beach. Could see the ocean from our balcony. The pool was easily accessible. The room was beautiful and trendy and the bed was comfortable to sleep in. All the amenities were in the room that we required. The breakfast was nice and the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.0
    Good stay but issues reported should have been followed up with guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioner did not work despite me reporting and following up I was promised that it would be fixed but checked out after 3 days without aircon been fixed Toilet was leaking and reported These few issues made the stay less pleasant

    Overall stay was good and staff friendly Great views and well positioned

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clear enough when booking through Booking.com that we had been booked into an annex rather than the main hotel, however both the switchboard and especially one of the receptionists were more than accommodating and moved us to the main building upon arrival.

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy A/C no water in ice cube holder in fridge very little stock of coffee etc bacon was a bit hard and tough

    Location fantastic lovely pool nice vibe friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Had a sea view room with perfect sight of the whales from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buses with running motors for hours in front of our room....

    Had a sea view room with perfect sight of the whales from the balcony. Unfortunately only here for one night! Very good location! Modern interior.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect holiday in the centre of Hermanus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location right in the centre of Hermanus, within walking distance of everything. Very spacious and well equipped rooms. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.8
    A very disappointing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of our accommodation was not really at what we thought was the Harbour Hotel according to the Booking.com website but rather at another property off site from the main hotel premises. The thumping Mock Turtle disco kept us awake with music and lights till 2am. Shower head in need of replacement, shower drain needs unblocking, poor water pressure, 3 pm check in time, dodgy elevator, the balcony covered in bird droppings and poor television channel selection and reception.

    Great friendly staff. Le Occitane bathroom amenities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location, very clean room and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought we were getting sea facing room Booking.com should specify before booking is confirmed whether room is sea facing or not Some descriptions of other hotels said some rooms sea facing so I went on to look for other accommodation The blurb on this hotel made it sound as though premier room was sea facing I should have phoned the hotel to check before booking. Our room faced the road and restaurant across the road so privacy was an issue Also the sign outside the hotel offered rooms at much lower rate than we paid so I thought that could have been for standard room and expected ours to be sea facing. Afternoon drink disappointing as we could not get a reasonable and substantial snack with drinks We were told kitchen was closed but all we wanted was a packet of crisps or cheese and biscuits. I was however pleased to hear that certain rooms are pet friendly and for that reason will use the hotel again

    Great location, Very nice clean room, Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Centrally situated to experience the Whale Festival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a balcony.

    Centrally situated to experience the Whale Festival. We could walk to the beachfront, restaurants, do whale watching or just walkabout. Loved the free wi-fi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.0
    Nice Hotel with excellent views & breakfast but no client service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No mini bar in room or room service or dinner at Hotel. When we enquired about dinner we were told we must support the local restaurants. We arrived late from Airport and could not find any kitchen open at any one of the restaurants!! Hotel also need to organize their parking better as It was the Whale Festival in Hermanus and it was chaos around the Hotel with traffic & parking....whenever we left Hotel our parking spot was taken and we had to go and park in another building!!

    Excellent breakfast with good service & friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Our stay at the hotel was splendid. The location of the hotel is cool. We will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warming up water in the pool could encourage others to visit the hotel throughout the year.

    I liked the view of the sea from the pool area. The room with all facilities is really favourable for families. Staff members were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.8
    It was okay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning unit was not working. Had to buy coffee pods I got excited when I saw the coffee machine.. But then I realized I had to go all the way to reception to buy coffee pods

    Close to everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Room was very nice and i loved the bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints as all my needs where met. The rooms where cleaned and there is nothing that we where not happy about.

    Room was very nice and i loved the bath. Food was very nice and a variaty. Will defnitely go again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.7
    Being in an Annex - overlooking an ugly roof of another...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being in an Annex - overlooking an ugly roof of another building . Not what I expected. Having an Espresso machine -but was not offered the chance to buy coffee pods from Reception when we checked in - as we were in a building across the street and not in the main building where Reception was.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    Good position clean,comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room booked with harbour house was actually in harbour square hotel which is managed by them. In this day and age would expect to be able to charge phone or tablet without grovelling under dressing table to access extension socket. Alternative was to move bed to get at only other socket. Reception staff not particularly interested when mentioned to them.

    Good position clean,comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although a nespresso machine in the room, you had to pay extra for the nespresso pods. The club nearby was noisy until very late (but it was a very busy weekend). The elevator's button lights did not work which was very annoying since you weren't sure they are working. I would not recommend the breakfast. My husband ordered eggs benedict that was served with a curdled Hollandaise sauce and my croissant with mushrooms and tomato was tough and dry which was very disappointing since the view was so amazing.

    The location was very central so it was easy to just walk to the amazing restaurants in the area. The room was clean and comfortable. The view from the restaurant is beautiful and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. They called around and booked a whale watching boat trip last minute the evening before for us. The parking they provided was very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger Tv in room 7, tv is too far and too small.

    We enjoyed the location, we never used our van, we were able to walk everywhere. it was a special occasion and the Manager and staff did something special in our room , which we appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in a beautiful situation in Hermanus. Just stunning hotel and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dinner available at hotel

    Stunning location, beautiful decor in the rooms and a wonderful freshly cooked breakfast on the terrace overlooking the infinity pool to the Bay = perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful all around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit of a let down (the food available already ready)

    The bath was amazing, along with the addition of bath salts and a candle and matches.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that we were not in the main building but a little further in the street with a very small view on the bay.

    The location and good quality accommodation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    Booking easily done
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a bit stiff. During the night and very early in the morning there were doors banging and people walking around...a bit unrestful. No secure/covered parking...were a bit worried that our vehicle was safe, although it stood in front of the building.

    Well planned and equipped bedroom. Huge bath! Room was pleasantly warm...even heated towel rail. Very good value for money. B&B for R550 per person. They gave us an upgrade as the hotel was not fully booked. Beautiful views!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.3
    comfortable room - beautifully decorated and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't like that it is separate from the hotel felt excluded ad unsafe no linen for child - had to ask for it

    comfortable room - beautifully decorated and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a power failure in our room due to someone plugging in a hair dryer wrongly in another room and they didn't send anyone to fix it for quite long. We had to freshen up after kayaking in the dark. Also when we called for help with the luggage, they didn't send anyone inspite of saying they will. We tried to get our car into the underground parking so we could use the lift to transfer luggage but the remote didn't work. Finally I had to go to the reception to call for help...the guy helped willing and enthusiastically...think the reception just forgot to inform the staff to come get our luggage from the room.

    Nice comfortable room in a great location but our room overlooked their laundry room so not much to see. We were anyway out most of the time. Parking was just outside the hotel and they also had secured parking underground. Our request for late checkout at the last minute was accepted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Bedding very warm for winter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv channel selection and reception for tv. No separate light switch for bathroom and toilet (all connected to 1 with an exrtractor fan so if you wanted the bathroom light on you heard the extractor fan all the time).

    Bedding very warm for winter. In room facilities.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    It was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - Harbour Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was smaller than I thought, the balcony was not private, took long to check in and had to walk in the rain to breakfast, no cover

    Staff friendly and helpful, room was immaculate & close to sea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location and view from balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average. Restaurant smelt of burning toast, croissants not always fresh. Nespresso machine provided in room without capsules (available at reception for small charge - why bother just charge 20 rand more on the room rate!)

    Great location. Front facing rooms have a great balcony and view. Friendly check in staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: