Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harfield Guest Villa 4 stars

26 1st Avenue, Claremont, Claremont, 7700 Cape Town, South Africa

#72 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 56 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely country, lovely people and can't wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Due to the water shortage the pool was out of action and the garden was sadly losing all the lovely plants and flowers Obviously this was something the owners couldn't change. The actual villa is very comfortable and welcoming but we would have preferred it to be more central.

    breakfast was very good and there was plenty. Staff very obliging . Lots of hot water for showers even tho there is a big problem with the water reserves. Although we arrived in the early hours (due to us getting lost!) Graham, the proprietor, was very patient and understanding, albeit tired! There is a very friendly and happy relationship amongst the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    A charming place, delicious home-cooked food, good value, very friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the awkwardness of the shower. It was in the bath and due to it being a charming attic style room with sloped roof and our own heights, it was therefore a bit cramped for us when showering. This was the only issue we had though in an otherwise comfortable stay.

    Breakfasts were delicious! Freshly baked bread muffins fresh fruit etc. Great cooked breakfasts too. Lovely service. Lots of character. Charming and helpful host and staff. Bed was very comfy. Beautiful mountain view from windows.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful host. Home from home feel. Wonderful breakfast. Perfect position - walked everywhere. Parked car when arrived and got into car when left (2 nights) Highly receommendable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Love this place to stay, we will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The swimming pool is not really in fonction but it was enough to put our feet on it :-)

    VERY GOOD SERVICE AND FACILITIES - FRIENDLY PEOPLE WE REALLY ENJOYED TO STAY THERE

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Perfect convenient safe luxury stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool looked dingy but it wasn't swimming weather The snacks in the room. They were so tempting I ate them all -nearly.

    The kitchenette. The floors. The breakfast menu the secure parking the fireplace. The breakfast. The supper. Yvette.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Superb country comfort in the Mother City.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi did not reach all the rooms, but wasn't a huge issue.

    The host Graham is a legend, the omelettes we had for breakfast were unreal! The assistant manager Yvonne was quick to settle us into our cottage and everything was in order.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Hospitality at its best
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Exceptional service from owner and all his team. Nothing was too much trouble and it was like being a house guest staying with friends. I went to Cape Town for medical reasons and Harfield Guest Villa was walking distance to the Kingsbury and other Claremont-area hospitals. It's also conveniently situated for the good eateries in Harfield Village, the sports venues of Newlands and Kenilworth and Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden. Excellent breakfasts, freshly prepared.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Simply The Best.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was Simply The Best. The Spacious Rooms, The Breakfast served on Time, The Sparkling Cleanliness of everything. The Beautiful and Peaceful Resting Place on top of the Swimming Pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.3
    Warm and friendly and in a perfect position for our needs this trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having a shower over the bathtub with a shower curtain ineffective. Having to park on the street each night as parking bays all taken

    The friendliness and competency of all the staff and owner. The warmth and character of each room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    Feels like home!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Graham is one of the best hosts I have ever experienced - he did everything to make sure we were comfortable and felt welcomed. We stayed in Cottage 3 - perfect for those who want extra space. Everything was decorated according to the area so we felt like we were staying in a local home. Don't miss the restaurants around the block on 2nd Avenue for dinner. Breakfast was wonderful - a great buffet and then a choice of a hot breakfast selection.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    3rd time we used it...very satisfying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful compound in Capetown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hostess, very nice breakfast, large accommodation. I wish we could have stayed longer than 1 night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Look forward to my next stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff went out of their way to assist and to make the stay pleasant and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    Service and staff were excellent. Very comfortable. Needs a bit of freshening up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decor could be freshened up a bit

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Friendly Home from Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the host prepared one tastiest breakfast ever and was super friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Lovely place and very well loved and cared for which makes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely place and very well loved and cared for which makes mine (and I suspect everyone's) stay great. I will return there....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Definitely a place to recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the Claremont area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very pleasant stay. Staff is very friendly, the cottage lovely and cosy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely all-round!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.3
    Very peaceful and resting. Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality and friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Short but good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enjoyed the homely and friendly atmosphere and good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    A hidden "gem" in Harfield Village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cottage decor could have been brighter/lighter.

    Great breakfast options, served in a friendly ambience.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was outstanding - almost have anything you felt like and the welcome was very warm and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Home from Home

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely spacious room....super friendly staff. ...will definitely use again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Friendly hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero

    The location is great and the staff delightful and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Evening meals great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.8
    Fantastically friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and owner were magnificent and incredibly helpful. I have already booked my next stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    5.8
    Friendly and helpful female staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Darkness no colour

    Friendly and helpful female staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    10
    Friendly and attentive staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    9.2
    Such a great staff team, lovely accommodation and a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just can't think of anything that I didn't like. Was very happy!

    Such a great staff team, lovely accommodation and a great breakfast. A very relaxing overnight stay. Walking distance to the selection of restaurants on 2nd Avenue. Nice, quiet, safe area. Nice touches like free sherry in the room and a chocolate on the bed when I arrived. Lots of outdoor seating spaces and a lovely view of the mountain on the first floor. The pool looked lovely but didn't try it out. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Cape Town who wanted to be based in the Southern Suburbs.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    10
    The staff were all extremely helpful in suggesting things to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were all extremely helpful in suggesting things to see, making reservations, and making our stay very enjoyable. Also, the breakfasts were wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    9.2
    The lodge was extremely comfortable and it was easy to come...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lodge was extremely comfortable and it was easy to come in and out during the day and night without any hassles. The staff was super-friendly and were willing to go out of their way if need be. Their breakfast was great as well- there were quite a few choices for the continental breakfast which was served buffet style and the hot options (from the menu) were sufficient as well.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    10
    Fantastic attention to detail
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It may have been just an off day, but the WiFi was really poor. If I was on holiday it would not have been an issue.

    Fantastic attention to detail lovely breakfast well decorated rooms private parking and entrance great shower comfortable bed Lovely Staff

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    i liked everything of the place and the staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The length of the bed in the room, The Classic, was not suffifient like the other rooms i have stayed in before.

    i liked everything of the place and the staff was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    9.2
    The friendly staff and the view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit espensive

    The friendly staff and the view

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast, room, team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far from all.

    Breakfast, room, team.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    10
    It's a really cute and comfortable place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a really cute and comfortable place.The staff are very friendly & hospitable. I had a lovely stay! I would come again.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking

    Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    10
    Nice cosy very welcoming and tranquil place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Nice cosy very welcoming and tranquil place. Understated elegance

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    Staff, service, walking distance to restaurants, packed...
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of heat in bedrooms

    Staff, service, walking distance to restaurants, packed breakfast, cute details in room

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    8.3
    I love the Harfield Guest Villa services, from the welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    none

    I love the Harfield Guest Villa services, from the welcome. it was just a perfect place, well mannered and professionals.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: