Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Durban Hotel 5 stars

12-14 Walnut Road, 4001 Durban, South Africa

#11 of 54 hotels in Durban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2520 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The stay at Hilton was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the free WiFi code could be given as part of the keys especially because not all of us carry laptops and would like to use the free WiFi with our smart phones. I'll reserve my discontent with Booking.com for them, as their failure to submit my booking to the hotel and refusing to supply the required information to the hotel on request almost meant sleeping in the car or forking out more that what I'd been offered by them. Perhaps Hilton Durban can have a work with Booking.com on this failure and improve their relationship such that us customers aren't disadvantaged by Booking.com's failures.

    The staff at the reception/check in were absolutely wonderful, considering the failure of Booking.com to submit my booking to the hotel. They kept updating and checking on us as we were waiting for Booking.com to confirm our booking, which they didn't. The hotel eventually offered us the same rate as given to us by Booking.com even though the hotel rates at the time were higher, effectively absorbing a loss brought about by Booking.com's failure to do their job. Of course everything about the room was top class.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Best comfy beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one shampoo and conditioner to share between 2 people. The extra charge for room service made eating in expensive. The shop could stock a few more items supporting community shops. The double glazing windows didn’t seal properly.

    The room and especially the bed was super comfy! It was excellent value for money! I would definitely stay there again! Best hotel bed I stayed in so far and I stayed in a single which was lovely and wide. Great comfy bedding!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Best place to stay near ICC
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was not enough shampoo and other stuff in the room - one of each item, when we were staying there two of us. The water always spilled over from the shower, thus making a little flood in the bathroom, especially in front of the toilet.

    The best beds I have ever met in any hotel all over world. So comfortable, so nice to sleep in. Wide range of meals to choose for buffet dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    mind blowing
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Your menu (breakfast) was everyday the same. I was there for 4nights, can you imagine- No fried chips, no smoked russians...bad :-(. i dont like pork sausages, nor beef sausages and I had nothing else to choose from except from those sausages.

    i liked Cranberry juice ohhhhhh it was to die for. i also enjoyed your cream cheese hmmmm. It is safe, you cant just go/use the lift to your room or anyones room without an access key card- i liked that. We would leave the room untidy but late after the convention we would find it spotless. Thank you so much for that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Excellent and enjoyable stay will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The room was spacious and comfortable, Met my expectations. Housekeeping as very good and the staff were amazing. The reception area was so clean and beautiful such a great ambience. Breakfast was tasty and delicious and there was a large variety of everything to taste.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Eric
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hilton Deluxe King Room - Mobility Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to many restaurant with in walking distance.

    Very comfortable room, the breakfast included was unbelievable with selection, not just cereal and pastries. Service was second to none!! Outstanding value for the money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not address a room issue during a 4 night stay. Allocated a smoking room, we were moved to a twin and told there was not another king available during our 4 night stay!! We could upgrade. Very disappointing, even if they moved us on the Monday for 2 nights when the hotel was clearly much quieter.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    4.2
    Dissapointing Holiday at the Hotel Durban
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception *FIRST IMAGE OF A HOTEL* was terrible. While booking in I already told my Wife that it will the first and last time that we are going to book into this hotel and we did not even see the rest of the hotel yet.

    Food, breakfast and dinner, was satisfactory, but not what I expected from a "5star" hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.4
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a non smoking room but we were allocated a smoking room that smelled like old cigarettes. The room was not fresh. Our bar fridge was locked on the second night. Not sure why

    Location and staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    The welcome by the staff was awesome, the cleanliness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcoming and the friendly staff

    The welcome by the staff was awesome, the cleanliness of the rooms and corridors was excellent, the breakfast was nice and tasty everything was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hilton Deluxe King Room - Mobility Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was however disappointed with the dinner on sunday the 29th July. We Decided to have my mother's birthday dinner at the hotel restaurant instead of going out. The food was really bad, I still regret having dined there.

    The accommodation was lovely, comfortable and very clean. The rooms are very spacious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Parking fees should be charged upfront in order to prevent surprising fees on departure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Room was excellent with big king bed and very clean. There is a variety on the breakfast menu to enjoy the buffet, and for the 2 days spent, the meals were awesome!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    All in all l was very much happy with everything except the pool other than that it was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool... to be honest l was very disappointed, the location of the pool next to the dinning hall huh huh.. you have to go pass the people at the dinning hall on your swim suit to get to the smallest pool l've ever seen it's just not comfortable. That was a big NAY for me.

    Everything was just BRAVO!....The beauty of the room, the luxury, the food was out of this world, the staff be so amazing and very friendly and they worked so hard to meet every single requirements we had. The place be so clean and very organized. I mean! The whole experience was just amazing! I can't wait to go back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Clean, friendly, good service, food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our next door neighbour was very loud and we complained about it but nothing was done about it. Most of the night with them talking loud and playing music was very annoying considering we were travelling with a child.

    Clean, friendly, good service, food was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    It was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was too much noise, there was like construction banging at 00:00. The parking system is inconvenient, you have to request parking validation every time you drive out.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    No turn down
    • Family with young children
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No turn down Did not get our water in the room as specified I had a food tray that was left over which no one took out the room Requested room service for breakfast for Kids and was told to go to breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay food could of been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked at vasco restaurant .buffet limited ..more vegetables than anything

    It was my husband an my birthday they set up.room to accommodate us with rose petals on the bed, bathroom.looked stunning.my husband was in awe .with box of linda chocolates ..stunning view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Comfort you expect, but shows signs of wear and tear. Time for a new hotel on the beach front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shows signs of wear: carpet needs an upgrade, Doors of the tv/bar cabinet start Coming loose, must between the shower tiles. And small rations of complimentary shower gell.

    Very comfy bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Have stayed in better hotels
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed at Hennesey park hotel in Mauritius was definitely better than Hilton Rooms were bigger and more comfortable Staff were very helpful compared to Hilton Hilton should invest in a phone charger for guests who have forgotten theirs other hotels offer this had to go out at night to buy one Guess you just paying for the name no real luxury or comfort They only offer one veg dish for their breakfast,disappointing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.0
    Cockroach in the room and clogged sink
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is cockroach in my room, the sink was clogged and the water shower was inconsistent. Cold water comes in between the hot water.

    The room service foods are good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Sweet wedding night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey room service... But I don't think it's fair to complain about that. I imagine it's the same in most hotels.

    Comfortable bed and amazing breakfast. Informed the hotel it was my wedding night and they decorated the room and laid some Lindt to eat. Also on checkout, they gave us what we consumed from the bar fridge on the house.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Great rooms and nice staff, except for the manager at the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hilton Deluxe King Room - Mobility Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel car to take us to the airport was late, not ready at the booked time, and we had to stop for gasoline on the way as the tank was empty. The manager at the Big Easy restaurant was quite arrogant and did not listen to our complaint that our steak ordered medium rare, was served well done. He could have given us a small complimentary desert for example.

    Great rooms and nice staff, except for the manager at the Big Easy restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient location. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast restaurant (vascos) used to have better decor with a more African theme.The breakfast spread was also much better previously. Carpets are a bit tired and worn in places. Parking charges should be waived if you stay a week. Overall I’ll be back but for international charge rates you expect premiums.

    The staff at reception are amazing and deliver a world class service. The parking is super convenient. One of the waiters at breakfast (Tiny) goes out of his way to assist and get you anything you want. Well done he’s great. They provided ice after a large marathon that we’d completed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    The rooms were big and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't happy with the fact that they charge you to use the wifi - every other 5 star hotel provides it free of charge. Very surprised considering the hotel is used frequently by business people - not cool Hilton

    The rooms were big and very comfortable. I liked the fact you had a shower and a bath. The staff were very friendly and cannot fault the hospitality provided. Great location for the Comrades marathon Up run.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed my stay great location comfortable and enjoyed the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pasta portion sizes in lobby restaurant on the small side. Considering most people where trying to carbo load for comrades. I was charged R12 for glass of hot water with lemon

    Comfortable bed. Shower water temp just right. Great choice for carbo loading for Comrades nite before race. Happy with overall food quality. Would recommend the hotel, great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.8
    It was a walking distance to the Comrades Expo in Durban.
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They can give us water everyday ( apparently you only receive free water on arrival ) and they need to fix their drainage system, you shower with a pool of dirty/soapy water on the floor. I booked for two, two months in advance and requested for a king size bed but we were give two single beds. They then promised to combine the beds on Saturday which they didn't until I reminded them. The classic was when they combined the beds and put a blanket inside the duvet inner. This really ticked me off, I will stick with Tsogo Sun.

    It was a walking distance to the Comrades Expo in Durban.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Luxury and comfort galore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was exhausted arrived at midday and I don’t know how but even though they knew I was waiting the room only got ready at 5pm.

    That changed my booking of double beds to a king bed upon seeing that I’m with my husband and ofcourse they consulted me first.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    The room was good but food was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered the trio of bunnies and a butter chicken pizza. The pizza was excellent, but the bread from the bunnies were stale. I spoke to Lorraine and she said she will tell the chef, but i didnt get any further feedback. It was disappointing because i paid alot of money for the food that wasnt up to standard. Would have also liked to see the pricelists for the mini bar. And also bubble bath should have been available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Nothing much
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hilton hotel is a very good hotel and everything is safe even your car is safe. The only thing about the hotel is expensive but good though. For someone who will what to stay there i will say a big yes because it is very safe and clean and classic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Hilton is so far the best for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was perfect, its a classy and very beautiful Hotel only the location of the Hotel isn't tht perfect, we struggled to find good and safer Shopping Malls around the Hotel but otherwise we are way too happy. Thank you

    I loved the furniture and the linen in the rooms. The coffee shop sells fresh cake slices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Will be back shortly
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Hilton Deluxe King Room - Mobility Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bill was quiet high already so we skipped breakfast and got something to eat on the road.

    The ease of making a booking and settling of the account. The dinner was good but a bit pricy for what one had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable quiet retreat from the busy world of the adjacent convention centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very little.

    Clean, quiet, and easy to get to my conference in the DCCC next door. I loved the helpful staff who were always polite and courteous. I arrived at the hotel after a long trip and had lost my hair comb, the staff however, on asking, produced one for me in short order. This simple response to my need set the tone for my whole experience at the hotel. With a group of colleagues attending the conference, we dined in the Big Easy. The food was excellent and the staff accommodating when we wanted to split the bill ten ways among us all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Durban Hilton Experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the organisation of transportation was messy. We booked the tranpostation but ended up we had to wait at the airport for more than 45 minutes as our order was lost.

    the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    3.5
    We did have a nice view!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did have a nice view! We expected more as The name Hilton is big but were little bit disappointed. Nothing special. Deja vu. The second day, the bed was done around 4-5 pm!...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Clean, good wifi, helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Executive Room with Access to Business Lounge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything I didn't like

    Without exception all the staff were very friendly and helpful. I had an executive room which allowed access to the lounge throughout the day, including breakfast The room was clean and well appointed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.2
    wouldnt reccommed any of my clients to stay at hilton for there honeymoon night. its just not specia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not enjoy the fact that nothing special was done for us despite the fact that it was our honeymoon. Breakfast was not included into our nights stay either even tho it said it was but when i got there they said we had to pay extra. We decided to move to elangeni which was way better,rooms were the same like yours and cheaper but a buffet breakfast was included and champagne and the whole room was set up for us from there side... Hilton is good for the name but i feel its over rated but they didnt go out of there way to make sure we were comfortable and also there was no one to take our bags up to the room and on the night we got married we had to carry it up. hilton is a good place but just expected more from them thats all.

    The room was clean and neat wich was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.4
    It was a very disappointing stay for a Hilton Hotel. Be
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath mats were given in place of hand towels. Body lotion not replaced in three days. Hair in the shower drain from previous guest on check-in. Room not remade or cleaned by 16h45 on 11th.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    OK, but it was just hard to get anything organised or to get help with simple things
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were disorganised, unresponsive, unreliable and a bit impatient - training and supervision needed!

    The Executive Lounge is nice and the staff there were very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    great service and experice, thankyou all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the omelette is the best

    the Chef, and the waiters. because I am regularly in Durban on Business. they have got to know me better and I am happy with their service and mannerism. the Chef and I call each other bothers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    See you next year
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hilton Hotel Durban is a fabulous venue to attend a conference at the ICC. The doormen are absolutely brilliant and really take care - intact the entire concierge front office and restaurant staff are amazing. Response times by housekeeping and management on the floor is impressive. The revamped hotel is probably the best business hotel in Durban.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service and conveniently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From check-in to check-out we received excellent service from the staff. The late night room service was fast and our food and drinks order was hot and delicious. At breakfast the next morning the restaurant did not have green tea, but our very friendly hostess got some green tea bags from another department so that I did not miss my morning cup of tea. The hotel is most conveniently situated next to the Durban ICC which makes it very convenient when you're attending shows and concerts at the ICC.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Short stay, but the hotel was very functional, tidy and clean. Staff were of great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful and facilities were very good. Varied choice of food and staff in the restaurants were very pleasant and helpful. Not far from the beach, 15 minute walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.4
    Just average. Maybe ok for business but not for leisure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not ready on time. Poor check in service. Seemed chaotic at reception. No free Wi-Fi. Definitely not a 5 star experience. Should be rated a 4 star hotel to be fair.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Unhappy and not welcome in someone else’s house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not upgrade my friends room before arrival .thus we did not use the business Lounge? Big easy restaurant over priced? Functions/ parties in the lobby. My oats porridge and eggs early morning before my cycle race was un eatable.

    Location and excellent staff,buffet restaurant was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Awesome place. Must visit!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I pre-booked and received confirmation for a higher floor, end room with a sea-view. Upon arrival the attendant who checked me in did not care to consider this. Completely ignored and continued to check us in to a room of his choice which was the complete opposite of my pre-booking request. The reception desk was the only annoyance with the stay. Everything else went well.

    The welcome staff were super awesome. The facilities were clean and 5 star as advertised. The food at the Big Easy was amazing. I loved my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Mediocre service - nothing to shout about or remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary water daily - two little bottles supplied on arrival -

    Need to improve staff friendliness- staff did their job - no attempt to make you feel welcome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful Staff, Reception, Cleaning Service, Security and Room Service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can rip off international clients with the prices of the mini-bar, but this is a complete rip-off and completely unethical.

    International Standards for local value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.5
    Not too bad but could be better by making parking free for your guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms allocation, we asked our rooms to be next to each other such that we could easily check on our kids or they come to us if they wish to do so, only finding the rooms in different floors despite reconfirming through the call a day or two before we visited. We then had to spent an hour or so for compromising arrangement for the night, resulting into not being provided with welcoming orientation. Whilst the mini bar is meant to provide that convenience, I don’t think there is any value add to sell a 250ml for R50.00, I found that exorbitant.

    Breakfast was incredible, and allowing kids to eat for free

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    Not the best, at that price, expected better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and reception not great Concierge was slow Housekeeping phone rang forever Food prices are high versus quality Breakfast was a nightmare, staff seemed overwhelmed with number of guests

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    I am a very happy customer. I cant wait to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the parking is a bit small and with lots of pillars

    The room was very spacious and the bed was massive and very comfortable pillows and duvet. The place was very quiet. I had an amazing time and the check out time was twelve. Thank you so much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Was only there for a night so didn’t have an opportunity to experience the hotel and surrounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a room with a king bed but were given one with two singles which were eventually put together.

    The ground floor restaurant where we had breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Horrible . An informed decision equals never returning , reporting safety violations etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hilton Deluxe King Room - Mobility Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Engrained culture of dishonesty from security to duty manager . I will be reporting health and safety violations which led to my car being damaged

    Staff were blatantly dishonest and lied. Christine N promised to call back the next day and did not ( did not expect her to call) My car was damaged . Was told that I had no booking Etc etc . According to the duty manager Akash, rules such as over booking and downgrading rooms without informing customers are part of the SOPs . He promised to email me the policy. Akash and the security company claimed that Akash was the General Manger. When I “caught them out “ , they apologised . I can go on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.0
    Highly recommend this place for comfort and safety
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have the air conditioning working in rooms. Both our rooms had A/C but non-functioning. Our only but very important complaint is the lack of A/C in a hot city like Durban

    A very spacious lobby and courteous staff. Rooms were large and well furnished and a large bathroom. Coffe was good. Not very close to the beach but walkable in 15 minutes. Concierge and bell hops very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed my stay although it was too short, hoping to visit Hilton Hotel before the end of the year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the room was poor, stock was not replenished (tea/coffee, sugar, milk) no cutlery (teaspoons)

    My room had a city view & could see Moses Mabhida Stadium. Bed was very comfy. Staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was freezing cold due to the air-cons we had to seat outside for dinner on saturday night it was a bit dark outside.

    The staff was friendly and welcoming but my birthday was not special because was promised a cake but no one said anything i had to request it...otherwise everything else was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    2.9
    first of all when i arrived at the check in reception i was...
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    first of all when i arrived at the check in reception i was never told about the charges of alcohol and other staff inside the bar fridge in my room as i was under the impression that its part of the high price i paid. and when i asked the manager she said i should have seen the notice inside the fridge and i felt like it was a trap to reap off more money for those ridiculous prices, secondly i asked the manager if she can change us to a room with the see view, she never got back to me as she promised she would. oooh Gosh there's lot more i did not appreciate. the hotel is ridiculously expensive for nothing. for such a high price i paid my expectations were high.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    It was a relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told I didn't include breakfast when I made booking yet I know I did even the consultant who assisted with the upgrading of rooms told me he included breakfast.It was so embarassing to be told you didn't pay for breakfast infront of other guests.That I didn't like after I paid R7230

    Buffet breakfast was excellent,Rooms homely,bed and bedlinen comfortaand.Porters very polite and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    great location if your attending event at the Durban ICC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Located in city centre not safe

    great location if your attending event at the Durban ICC. Breakfast was good, rooms are spacious clean and comfy. the gym is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.2
    I will not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel business or leisure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi No parking ticket for duration of stay, must get a new one every day Breakfast was terrible & Price exorbitant Never an available parking Bay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.4
    My expetation was not met
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hilton Deluxe King Room - Mobility Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was not planned properly, in one of my days I came late only to find out I had no parking had to drive myself to the parking of ICC without anyone giving me a direction to come back and in the morning was rushing to church only to find out exit card were not organized it took me 30 minutes to get an exit card

    None it is only the name nothing differs to the other hotels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Convenient and pleasant ignore you don’t consider the 3 things I didn’t like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a letter addressed to to a prior guest. Content of that same letter was dated 2017..? Long blonde hair left behind in the shower drain which I thought was terribly gross Fast was very disappointing at breakfast - not worth the R190 pp.

    Very convenient location as we attended a wedding at the ICC We spent a lot of time at the bar having drinks and found our waiter, Vuyo, extremely accommodating and friendly. He went out of his way to make us comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Apart from breakfast experience and parking where i have to use ICC, i have enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast services at business launch and the parking was not available. i have to use ICC parking which did give me much of confort.

    In Business luanch breakfast, the staff were overloaded with work. I was expecting the business luanch services to be better than the one at R floor. R floor got better services than business launch. i will be happy if the service can be improve at business launch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Convenient, everything you could need for a quick stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel, good facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had a enjoyable meal in the Ernie Els restaurant. Would definitely recommend if you are visiting Durban.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Clean, easy access to pool and gym, friendly staff, quick...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, not walking distance to the beach, lack of enough parking, difficulty with the booking application

    Clean, easy access to pool and gym, friendly staff, quick response to requests, happy with the option of paying when you arrive at the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the business lounge was extremely slow. Some of the staff members kept on forgetting our orders. There was no manager to monitor the service.

    The executive suite was very spacious and sparkling clean. The staff at the reception and house keeping were friendly and professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    It was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Mobility Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the rate was better 😁 we would have loved to stay and extra night or two, that would have been lovely

    My special recommendation was respected and my wife was very happy with the surprise on how you guys did the room, it really made her feel special, thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great Hotel 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing bad to say only compliments. Highly recommended.

    i realy give this hotel a 5 star on every aspect: food great and the facility great. will say there in the future again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine but I had bad moment in the Restaurant where another woman come to me to ask if I did pay the bill, it was surprising for me coz it felt like I could leave without paying

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    i personally liked your reception, made us to feel at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    i liked everything from reception, staff, food, facilities and the rooms, very ni ce indeed, if i can be called now, i can fly in no time just to be there, keep it up

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Average for a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Parking exit is not marked adequately. It is quite a mission to find your way out. 2) Airconditioning in the rooms (1305 and 1217) was not operating to standards, even after maintenance ‘serviced’ same. 3) Valet parking and some flowers or plants could be added to the rooms, just that small touch. It is a 5 star property after all.

    1) Doorman at reception is fantastic! 2) Worth the upgrade to the executive floors with business lounge access. Decent breakfast and canapés, as well as lots of drinks included in the upgrade. 3) Beds were amazing, and some of the best pillows I’ve had in hotels. 4) Rooms, bathrooms and public areas are very clean. 5) Stylish decor throughout the whole property with ample seating areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Everything was great except the parking issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had problems with parking that we paid for....my partner had to park at Icc and walk back to the hotel in the middle of the night. The hotel gave our parking to the wedding guest....we were so not happy about that

    It's very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.3
    Terrible. I would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in very poor condition and the staff were very rude and did not answer questions properly. They tried on three occasions to scam additional money out of us, eg asking us to pay for breakfast when it was already included in the room rate and we had an email confirming this.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    fantastico
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv station should have all music chanels and the mini bar content are over charged like 3 times their outside price . The shower needs to be re-done cos water slip out when showering

    everything in the room is perfect and comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Fun, comfortable spontaneous getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very spacious and comfortable. The in-house bar and restaurant was brilliant with very friendly staff and a great atmosphere. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great gym.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.8
    We loved the overall service from the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower overflows to the bathroom floor it became almost level with water, the street noise of cars and trucks was very clear despite us being in the 7th floor and having the window shut, we didnt sleep well as a result of that.

    We loved the overall service from the staff

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hilton Durban Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: