Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hobbit Boutique Hotel 4 stars

19 President Steyn Avenue, Brandwag, 9301 Bloemfontein, South Africa

Review score

Based on 67 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Short not so confortable stay but overall not a bad establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The narrow stairs going up to the first floor. Not very practical nor safe if carrying a big suitcase and travelling with a 1yr old. The wooden structure doesn't allow for much privacy. I could hear all the movements and sounds of guests in the room adjacent. The bath shower wasn't good. An obvious afterthought. The bed frame loose and noisy at every move. Being a light sleeper this woke me up throughout the night besides my neighbors. Cot had to arranged after arrival even though booking specified we were travelling with a 1yr old. I was told they expected the baby would be sleeping with us on the double bed.

    Nice reception. Parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Very much recommended for people who love books and antiques
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice furnished Antique 🛀 Very comfortable beds Spacious rooms Very nice decoration Wonderful garden/ pool No restaurant on site but excellent New York restaurant around the corner- recommended by owner The house is not just named after Tolkien, but is his birthplace - with heritage sign in lobby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.6
    Comfortable table bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy pool. Hobbit bar Which is one of the big attractions was closed. Air condition leaked onto our clothes and furniture. Unvacuumed carpets in bathroom

    Comfortable table bed. Nice theme. Lovely furniture

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    One night in Bloemfontein on our way to the south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's location is good, loads of restaurants within walking distance. The room was super big and comfortable. The lord of the ring decoration is great. The staff was really nice and gave us good tips about where to continue our roadtrip through South Africa.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    thoroughly enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interiors were beautifully decorated hobbit-style and extremely comfy. Me and my kids all loved the place. To take it to the next notch up i would recommend a more Tolkien-aligned outside/exterior - especially at the front of the building . . .. other than that it was all great :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    Well bt bedroom need lots of attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No television. No aircon. No mirror how am I suppose to apply make up. No chair actually there was a bed and wardrobe only in that room for that amount really.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Third time back, and we will be back!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seems as if there may be a bit of a slide in housekeeping. But we learnt that the previous owner passed away recently, so it can be understood. So sorry for their loss!

    Love the atmosphere. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Hobbit House
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its an old house so the floors and doors creak a lot so no tip-toeing to the bathroom at night! Furnishings are old solid wood pieces in keeping with the theme so if you like ultra modern hotels don't stay here. Our room was upstairs and the house has narrow passages and doorways, I wouldn't recommend this hotel if your are in a wheelchair.

    The old Victorian bath and giant showerhead were brilliant! Towels were fresh and clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was served between 7.30 and 9.30 and we were offered an option of an English breakfast, French toast or omelettes - all were delicious and served hot. Particular mention must be made to the friendly, helpful lady receptionist currently studying at the local university, unfortunately I didn't get her name but her smiling face and open communication made our stay extra special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Quaint getaway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was hard to use. Shower was hand held...I couldn't do it very well! I guess I just thought it would be a little bit more themed to the whole Hobbit idea. I thought it was the former home of Tolkein, but it's not...just a marketing tool!

    The receptionists were awesome! The place is very cute and quaint...good location, near restaurants, pubs, etc. Outside gardens are lovely. The bar is very cute and hobbit-ish.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.3
    Old hotel that needs to be renewed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came a wedding was on the way that occupied everything. The manager forgot to inform us about this. We cancelled our stay and left next morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    Cute and Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No espresso coffee :)

    Lovely helpful staff, beautiful room, quiet yet close to main Avenue, and staff recommended the best steak I had in ages chez 'New York' next door

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.0
    Staff and their welcome was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We travelled in December and it was very hot. We were so looking forward to a swim, but the pool was not clean and it looked like the area around the pool has not been cleaned in a while. That was disappointing.

    Staff and their welcome was great. The decor in rooms were comfortable and my son who is a Hobbit fan, loved the idea off staying in the twins room. Teddy Bears were a great addition. Beds were so comfortable. Breakfast was great, we recommend the omelettes.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    6.3
    Overall it was a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming Pool was dirty. We expected a little more than what we got. The breakfast that were included in the price was poor

    Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 4Star Hotel we expected to have little holders of shampoo/lotion in the bathroom The fridge was not stocked The brochure is outdated and some of the info in the brochure is no longer applicable

    The location made it easy to dine out within walking distance. The décor is what we find attractive about the hotel Friendliness and assistance of the staff were excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    ZZZZ at the Hobbit Boutique Hotel for a Fabulous Stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More attention to cleaning small things like the kettle and iron. Rather invest in a stainless steel iron. Nothing sticks to it. The kettle needs kettle cleaner and good scrub.or buy new one.

    The staff, entrance hall, sleeping quarters and furniture. Dining room and breakfast. Parking perfect. Enjoyed staying at this hotel. Have a great day

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    5.0
    Very dirty bathroom and outdated furniture
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely dirty bathroom, moldy shower, soap of previous guests on the shower door, poo of the previous guest in toilet.

    Breakfast was good. Staff is friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    An awesome boutique hotel ...we will definitely be back !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Debbie went out of her way to make us feel welcome ...even lifting us to & from the rugby test match ...free of charge !! :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Only breakfast served but made to order and done well
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe some other meals could be offered in-house

    Only breakfast served but made to order and done well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    I'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The authentic decor was brilliant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Lovely spacious room, very comfy bed and incredibly helpful,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely spacious room, very comfy bed and incredibly helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and cozy hotel. Lovely interior. Beautiful courtyard. Rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Super cute hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the kitchen

    Hobbit decor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent and worth revisiting
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was excellent

    It was quaint and spacious, well serviced and positioned close to everything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    My stay was pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wi-fi in the room.

    Bed was comfy and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful setting. Beautifully themed rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    great break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    centrally located, nice ambiance, friendly efficient staff, great breakfast. close to restaurants

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was extremely friendly helpful and obliging

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    4.6
    Not really up to my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness not up to standard

    Privacy and tranquility

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Very friendly staff, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was under renovation.

    Although the hotel was under renovation, the decor was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    It was like staying in a museum of antique furniture.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like staying in a museum of antique furniture. My wife accompanied me. Staff most obliging. Breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our weekend there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    The bed was instead extra comfy and breakfast was out of this world.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    A touch of fairytale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website says supper is available which is not so.

    Unique and homely. Staff go out of the way to assist you

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast and service at breakfast time is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't watch much television, but for catching up on the news the TV is rather small.

    The breakfast and service at breakfast time is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The rooms were warn; it was silent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    Not disappointing really
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in the room too smal with poor reception, please improve it

    Good location and quite enough for travellers who prefer tranquility.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    Top of the hobbit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light bulbs

    Very friendly, and helpfully staff. Good restaurants near by .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.3
    room was spacious and comfortable, nicely decorated
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was spacious and comfortable, nicely decorated

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent boutique hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi router near my room did not work. Maid put pressure on me to leave before checkout time.

    All around excellent place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Run out of beverages.

    Interesting interior. Large rooms. great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    It was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden ,the breakfast served by friendly staff we had a great time.Thank you

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Quirky hotel with spacious rooms and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely, friendly staff. Large, comfortable rooms. Quirky decor. Good location with nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Quirky boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky hotel with Tolkien themed room decor. Lovely breakfast. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    The omelet was fluffy and delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The omelet was fluffy and delicious. The staff was very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    The staff and the atmosphere of the motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the atmosphere of the motel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    6.3
    The idea behind the Hotel is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room wasn't very neat. Wires hanging everywhere and the floor wasn't clean in the corners of the room. The electric blanket did not work, the bathtub cannot drain properly and there was a little water inside when we got there. The toilet keeps running as well. It's uncomfortable to come and go as someone from reception needs to come and unlock the gate for you.

    The idea behind the Hotel is great. I love the history. The breakfast was also very good.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    6.3
    We were on a rather dark and depressing room with depressing...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    We were on a rather dark and depressing room with depressing worn out wallpaper. The wardrobe nearly fell on me. It is not well settled, it is probably on a sloppy surface.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hobbit house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hobbit house. The service was exceptional with very friend reception staff that went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was good and rooms were clean. Hobbit House highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    8.8
    Excellent service from friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor is currently looking a bit 'tired'.

    Excellent service from friendly staff. Good location near the centre of town. Clean and comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    5.4
    The electric blanket, the linen and the bath tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The furniture, the bedroom floors make noise. the old TV with the remote which does not work. the fridge makes noise, one wakes up every time it start running. We booked a luxury room but it was worse than standard room we know. Lunch and dinner not served.

    The electric blanket, the linen and the bath tub. The breakfast was not bad.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    6.7
    Liked the theme which was reflected in the room and other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room and especially the bathroom need an upgrade and the garden looks neglected. Expected more!

    Liked the theme which was reflected in the room and other areas. Best omelette ever!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.2
    Thank you to the friendly staff who had treated us with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Thank you to the friendly staff who had treated us with a special breakfast on mothers day without extra cost. Highly recommended as a relaxed and cosy hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    7.9
    Interesting building quite centrally located in Bloemfontein
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shame you had to book in advance for the restaurant - it would've been nice to sample the food - the local restaurants are a bit bland otherwise.

    Interesting building quite centrally located in Bloemfontein

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    5.4
    Stayed there 6 years ago and loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs a facelift and spruce up. Do not serve dinner anymore, had to go to a restaurant in walking distance. Would try another hotel if in Bloemfontein.

    Stayed there 6 years ago and loved it. Very quaint, loved the vintage feel of it. Breakfast good and staff nice

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Felt like home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Felt like home

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    6.7
    No shampoo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No shampoo.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    8.3
    The welcome was great, the food was tasty and sufficient and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I personally don't like showers over a bath.

    The welcome was great, the food was tasty and sufficient and the staff friendly and attentitive.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.2
    The rooms are very spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool was dirty

    The rooms are very spacious

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    7.5
    Character and décor/ ambiance made it special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Character and décor/ ambiance made it special

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    7.9
    Friendliness of Owners and Staff.
    • Couple

    None

    Friendliness of Owners and Staff. Breakfast was impressive with huge variety and great presentation.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    8.8
    Staff friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff friendliness.Lots of character.Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.2
    Extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    Everything about Hobbit Boutique Hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything about Hobbit Boutique Hotel!

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    7.5
    Location, bar, private parking, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Limited WiFi area. The shower wasn't good.

    Location, bar, private parking, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    6.7
    Locality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms run down

    Locality

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    LIkes the spacious sitting roomseperate from the bedroom and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    LIkes the spacious sitting roomseperate from the bedroom and the warm old worlde feel of the decor

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    5.0
    Once this was the pride of Bloemfontein.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Once this was the pride of Bloemfontein. It saddened me to see the regres. This is defenatly not a boutique hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    10
    Personel are very Friedland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Personel are very Friedland.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    9.6
    Friendly receptionist and lovely decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast could have been fresher

    Friendly receptionist and lovely decor

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: